Illamasqua • all in general • Eye Shadow

rated 4.6(8 reviews)

Average Rating.4.6
Would buy this product again.100%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* paneradfisk on 12/15/2012 7:05:00 PM more reviews by paneradfisk

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair, Warm   Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Illamasqua carry mostly matte eyeshadows, the best eyeshadows I know of.
Good matte eyeshadows are the hardest to find, so that is a great thing.


The colour selection isn't huge but well selected with mostly unique, bright shades, but also some neutral shades.


These are greatly pigmented and easy to blend, no fall out, not chalky or powdery at all. They all feel really buttery to the touch, much like MAC's Matte2 formula.


My favourites are Servant which is a pale eggshell/nude eyeshadow, lovely as a base for other neutral eyeshadows, making everything easier to blend together. CanCan which is a bright, light lavender/lilac shade, I love to pair it with a dark purple like MakeUpForEver 92.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* artemistzitzikilakis on 6/12/2012 8:45:00 AM more reviews by artemistzitzikilakis

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

These are the shadows I have been waiting for! It is a combination of the formulation (they just glide on, but tap your brush first), pigment (awesome) and a really great color group. I know MUFE is great but my local Sephora in SF just doesn't carry that many. Illamasqua has a smaller collection, but very well edited. I think these actually have more pigment then MUFE and remind me of the new UD but without the glitter (sometimes I don't want the sparkle). I have Pivot (very light, bright green that looks good on dark green eyes), Agua and Can Can. With Lorac primer these don't budge.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Kizzy69 on 9/7/2011 6:23:00 PM more reviews by Kizzy69

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Oily, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Green    

I love their shadows!!! I particularly seem to fall for their brights - I've got:

Angst - a cranberry colour that I love on the browbone with gold on the lid. Very pigmented and blendable and I think it would suit most skintones.

Predator - bright red they call it but I don't think it's that bright or pigmented. My least favourite.

Vapour - the most amazing orangey-yellow. This is my favourite as I haven't seen anyone else with one quite like it and it's SO bright!

Yes! - a lemon yellow. Probably the most wearable yellow I have - better than any of my MAC yellows and great for blending out vapour.

Dare - pea green. Lovely colour but haven't worked out how to wear it yet!

Maybe I should add some neutrals to my collection?!?

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 rawcus on 8/13/2010 9:44:00 AM more reviews by rawcus

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

Sigh, my love affair with Illamasqua's shadows, liners and lipsticks continues. What pigment! What application! What lengevity! What colours!

I have never been disappointed by an Illamasqua eyeshadow. My favourite is Bronx which is a strong. almost Egyptian-esque gold, that makes my blue eyes pop. I sweep it over my lid, into the corner of my eyes and wet it and use it on my upper and lower lid as a liner. Wow.

These eyeshadows don't budge. I always use a primer or some foundation to make them grip but I bet they'd be pretty good without. As the pigments are pretty strong I tend to wear them for special occassions, so not even remotely close to hitting pan. But a little goes a very long way, so for 15...yes it's pricey but get the right colour and it's yours forever.

I like UD shadows too, especially their palates, but Illamasqua is the black horse in the race.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 loz1992 on 8/7/2010 4:25:00 PM more reviews by loz1992

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I also brought this in my 1st trip to my local illamasqua counter after the make up artist used this on my and i loved it, the colour i brought is GIMP, a dark navy blue colour.

This shadow is matte and is great for creating a smokey eye and is a good alternative to always using black (which i used to do). The make up artist applied this shadow in combination with an Illamasqua pigment called MARVEL which is a yellow gold shade, these 2 colours work great together.

The shadow is highly pigmented, applies great and lasts ages. If i were t compare this to MAC (as a lot of you have probably tried MAC eyeshadows) its is deffinatly as good as, if not better.

The reason i gave this product 4/5 is because of the price, from Illamasqua counters in the UK it is 15, which is reasonable good value as you get enough to last almost forever but is still pretty pricey.

The illamasqua packaging i really like, its simple black with their logo on top and colour and description on the bottom, but what i like most is the shape, its a strange square type shape (have a look and you will know what i mean).

Overall great product and i would buy it again if i ever ran out, which i doubt i will :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 aggiemaye on 5/8/2010 1:29:00 PM more reviews by aggiemaye

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I bought a single shadow in "Jules", which is a pretty,matte, warm chocolate brown colour, and i think i'm in love!
The eyeshadow itself is pigmented, but also very blendable and the thing i love about it most is that it isn't chalky at all, which is usually the case with DS matte shadows. It has a nice feel on the skin - it's quite silky.
This shade is great for a day look and defines (or creates, for me) the crease perfectly. It stays on for the whole day, doesn't crease or fade. It should suit most skintones, and most importantly it is buildable- you can apply just a little bit for a soft shadow, or easily apply more for a really defined eye.
I do like the packaging (although it doesn't really matter that much, I know)- it is very simple and doesn't fall apart and break (that's a plus, cause i'm sooo clumsy) .
It is a little expensive, BUT it is worth it- if you don't have problems with cheaper matte shadows and found your HG mattes, stick with them, but for me this one beats them all. It's now a key item in my makeup collection.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Emma0007 on 4/9/2010 8:47:00 AM more reviews by Emma0007

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I bought my first illamasqua eyeshadow about a week ago...and i LOVE it!! i bought the colour Intense, like a bluey greeny colour. LOve it!! it goes with all my brown earthy tones which i love. I can't wait to try another colour from this brand :P

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* gna on 12/11/2009 11:15:00 PM more reviews by gna

Age: 30-35   Skin: Other   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I've grown very fond of Illamasqua's eye shadows. I like the selection of mostly matte shades, as I like to use Illamasqua's Illuminators to alter the finish of my eye makeup. The biggest selling point for me is that the shadows are great for VERY sensitive eyes. There's little to no fallout, unlike other high or mid-end brands that make their matte & shimmer shadows unnaturally silky--and irritating. Some of Illamasqua's shadows are more pigmented than others, but most can be layered easily for pigment. I really like a line that offers an extensive range of matte shadows. It's a breath of fresh air. I'd rather have mattes I can build up than overly pigmented, chalky matte shadows.

I find that the shadow is pigmented once I get past the first layer, which I wipe off.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No




More Illamasqua products

More Eye Shadow products