Origins Out of Trouble

3.9

142 reviews

77% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Water (Aqua Purificata) Purified, Cetyl Esters, Zinc Oxide, Titanium Dioxide, Cetyl Alcohol, Cetearyl Alcohol, Glycerin, Glyceryl Stearate, Peg-100 Stearate, Camphor, Ceteareth-20, Salicylic Acid, Colloidal Sulfur, Butylene Glycol, Bentoniate


Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Love it so much :) I have quite bad keratosis pilaris (red face/arms with small red and white bumps) and nothing seemed to be working, not even things my dermatologist recommended. Finally a co-worker recommended this face mask and I think I'm in love. The smell is a bit odd but I find it quite nice. I apply it all over my face and occasionally arms 3-4 times a week 10-20 minutes before I get in the shower. About once or twice a week I use it as an overnight mask and wash it off in the morning (I always do it on the weekend when I have no where to be because it can be a little hard to wash off when it's dried so much, and can leave some white residue on the face that's hard to notice at first) After the first 2 washes I noticed a big difference in the redness of my skin. 2 months later It's almost completely healed! All the bumps are gone and my skin feels so so smooth. There's still occasional redness but it's hardly noticeable and only on bad skin days. It helps with my acne (which is very mild) and I find myself with none at all. So happy I found this! Really recommend it.



on 3/4/2015 2:59:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Very Dry, Medium, Neutral

Hair: Black, Curly, Coarse

Eyes: Black

I think this is a great mask. Now, I have extremely dry, sensitive skin due to illness so I was a little wary of using this product, but it turned out just fine (and my love affair with Origins continues). I don't actually use this all over my face, but as a spot treatment on spots. I have skin that is virtually perfect 99% of the time, however very occasionally I'll get the odd spot or two. This is what use to treat them and it's very effective. Now, I don't have tough acne thank goodness, so I can't vouch for how it would work on very tough acne, but I would definitely try it. I do, however, have very difficult skin in terms of dryness (you know, flakiness and patches... it's attractive) and sensitivity and find this doesn't bother me as a spot treatment. I would never use it all over my face because it would probably destroy my skin, but I am sure people with less sensitive skin could. Overall, I definitely recommend this, it's a really solid product.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Medium Brown, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Works amazingly well, but smells like menthol. A must have to rid skin of pimples and excessive oil. I love it and would repurchase in the future.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 2/12/2015 9:25:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I love this mask! I am 16 and I have combination to oily acne prone skin and this mask helped my skin a lot. I like to mix it with the clear improvements charcoal mask for an intense treatment in case my skin is breaking out, I do this treatment technique 2 a month. But I use the mask at least once or twice a week.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 1/22/2015 3:35:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

This mask does what it promises; it remediates skin that has already broken out. I use it mainly as a spot treatment, to stop little pimples from getting ambitious, and for that purpose it's unbeatable.

Let's take a moment to think about that. I mean, how many products and procedures promise to be effective against acne? Scads. And if you've suffered from acne, as I have for 30+ years, you know that most non-prescription acne treatments are nothing but cruel jokes. Not so, Origins' Out of Trouble, at least for my skin.

Because there are so many ways to waste money fighting acne, and because acne disproportionately affects the young, who tend to have tight budgets, I want to make clear what my skin type is and how I've successfully used this product. After all, the fact that it's helped me doesn't guarantee results for everyone.

I'm 44 years old, with extremely fair, sensitive skin. I began breaking out when I first entered adolescence, back in the 5th grade. It was predictable that I'd have teenage acne, as both my parents had had it, and my older brother suffered with severe acne. I'm also naturally high-strung and the home where I grew up was unhappy and stressful. The upshot is that until I moved out, at age 17, my acne was bad to severe. From there it improved to moderate overall, with monthly, hormone-driven flare-ups. That continued, without any effective treatment, until my early 20s. Then I decided to take matters into my own hands and do what I'd always fantasized about as a high-schooler--go to a dermatologist for prescriptions of Retin-A and oral antibiotics, as pampered peers had done. Prescription medications cleared up about 80% of my acne, so I used them for more than a decade, but they have considerable negative side effects, including photosensitivity (already a big issue for me) and antibiotic-induced bacterial resistance.

With age, my skin became much less oily. (It had been awful, with my facialist saying I had the oiliest skin she'd ever encountered. Gee, thanks.) By my late 30s, my acne had subsided to the point where I could give up prescription treatments, but it does continue to dog me with T-zone blackheads and, most days, one or two pimples trying to emerge. That's where this mask helps. Each night, after using a cleanser, softener, and moisturizer, I apply a thick but tightly localized dab on any discernible bump. By morning, the bump is usually gone, and, if not, its size and life-expectancy is reduced. This regimen requires discipline, as it's important to resist the urge to fiddle with a bump. Forget all notions of "helping" a pimple to heal by touching it. Just dab this stuff on and then leave the nasty little things to live out their short, miserable lives in solitude.

It's been years since I've used this mask more broadly, applying it to entire areas, and I don't recall ever using it on my entire face, but if I were still a teenager I undoubtedly would. I first purchased it a good 8 years ago or more, and back then I sometimes applied it to my entire forehead or chin, if they were breaking out. The result was greatly reduced oiliness and smaller, faster-healing bumps.

I don't use this mask all over my face or on a preventive basis (on skin that's presently clear), because I've always felt that my skin's too old to take its drying effect. The brutal reality is that one can get wrinkles and pimples at the same time, but, with my skin, the balance has tipped; wrinkles are my biggest complexion issue.

On that note, I do have some very good news for young people suffering through oily, acne-prone skin: your skin should age relatively well. My mother's skin was--and is--remarkably young-looking, which she attributes to its comparative oiliness. I, too, am told that I look very young for my age, which is remarkable given the repeated, blistering sunburns I incurred as a child. These days I even get compliments on my complexion, which for many years was inconceivable. So, if your acne is causing you agony now, keep your chin up and know that better times are coming.

And, whenever possible, take matters into your own hands. I've never regretted doing so.

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.


on 1/15/2015 11:18:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

See I have mixed reviews on this, I personally have acne prone oily skin, i used to think combination skin now I'm not too sure. Nonetheless, I recently as of three months ago broke out all over my face and been trying to find some "miracle cure". One night I used it and it felt matte after and not sure if I was just being hopefully but my pimples seemed a bit smaller. The next day though my face was oily again. Next time seemed as if I broke out a little, not sure if its because I was overusing tea tree oil and rubbing alcohol on my face that week that maybe my skin just couldn't take it. Tonight I'm trying it as a spot treatment on two pretty large pimples I have. I will definitely right a review if that works because if it shrinks I would clearly notice a difference.


on 12/15/2014 4:34:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

Let me start out by saying that I have been a loyal Origins customer for many years, and this is one of the only things I've ever been disappointed with.

I normally use the active charcoal mask from them, but they were out, so I purchased this one. I figured, hey, both masks from origins for oily skin, so how bad could it be??


First of all, overall they're both VERY thick, come in a squeeze tube, which I love because it's more hygenic than scooping stuff out of a jar, and both they work best in the shower or bath with the steam....BUT the difference with this one is....

First off, smell, oh my word! I guess its the camphor in it, but it is so strong!! It gives a slight tingly feeling on your skin, but the smell just permeates your pores, so even after you wash it off, it's there for a few hours. Even my boyfriend complained that my face "smelled weird" nice. Haha!!

Secondly, it made me breakout!! Badly! I only had 2 small blemishes the night used it, on my cheek and chin....and woke up that next day to THREE CYSTIC breakouts on my forehead, jawline and cheek!! I'm using my Mario Badescu Buffering lotion on them and they're getting better (but that's another review)

Anyway, I know most of the reviews for this product are good, so maybe it's just my skin....but I will stick to their "Clear Improvement" Active Charcoal mask from now on.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 12/11/2014 2:35:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Other, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This product was recommended to me by a SA at Sephora, I was looking for something to cure/stop my acne on face. I have been using this at night as a spot treatment and two to three times a week I apply it all over my face as a mask, it leaves my skin feeling soft and refreshed, and I have noticed that it is shrinking the acne and lessening the redness which is really good... I'm glad I got it...am happy with it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 9/14/2014 10:33:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I received a small sample at sephora and I absolutely love it. I have extremely sensitive and acne prone skin and I use this as a spot treatment. Anytime I get a new pimple especially the hormonal ones on my chin, I put some of the product on and leave it overnight and it helps so much! Also, if you have the bad habit of popping pimples, this really helps with the redness associated after a popped pimple. Great product and definitely recommend to those with sensitive skin as well

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 9/3/2014 12:09:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

Love this product! I tried it out last night for the first time after dealing with acne around my chin and my lips. My other products didn't work, but after trying this mask my acne shrunk and my skin felt softer and clearer! I would definitely purchase this product again and recommend it for my fellow acne-oily skin friends

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Popular Masks


Mint Julep Masque
4215 Reviews
Back to Top