Origins • Out of Trouble • Masks

rated 3.9(140 reviews)

Average Rating.3.9
Would buy this product again.77%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 gentlemom on 1/22/2015 3:35:00 AM more reviews by gentlemom

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Blue    

This mask does what it promises; it remediates skin that has already broken out. I use it mainly as a spot treatment, to stop little pimples from getting ambitious, and for that purpose it's unbeatable.

Let's take a moment to think about that. I mean, how many products, procedures, and infomercials promise to be effective against acne? Scads. And if you've suffered from acne, as I have for 30+ years, you know that most non-prescription acne treatments are nothing but cruel jokes. Not so, Origins' Clear Improvement, at least for my skin.

Because there are so many ways to waste money when fighting acne, and because acne disproportionately affects the young, who tend to have tight budgets, I want to make clear what my skin type is and how I've successfully used this product. After all, the fact that it's helped me doesn't guarantee results for everyone.

I'm 44 years old, with extremely fair, sensitive skin. I began breaking out when I first entered adolescence, back in the 5th grade. It was predictable that I'd have teenage acne, as both my parents did, and my older brother had severe acne. I'm also naturally high-strung and the home I grew up was unhappy and stressful. The upshot is that until I moved out, at age 17, my acne was bad to severe. From there it improved to moderate overall, with monthly, hormone-driven flare-ups. That continued, without any effective treatment, until my early 20s. Then I decided to take matters into my own hands and do what I'd always fantasized about as a high-schooler--go to a dermatologist for prescriptions of Retin-A and oral antibiotics, like all the pampered kids had done. Prescription medications cleared up about 80% of my acne, so I used them for more than a decade, but they have real, negative side effects, including photosensitivity (already a big issue for me) and antibiotic-induced bacterial resistance.

With age, my skin became much less oily. (It had been awful, with my facialist saying I had the oiliest skin she'd ever encountered. Gee, thanks.) By my late 30s, my acne had subsided to the point where I could give up prescription treatments, but it did continue to dog me with T-zone blackheads and, most days, one or two pimples trying to emerge. That's where this mask helps. Each night, after using a cleanser, softener, and moisturizer, I apply a thick but tightly localized dab on any discernible bump. By morning, the bump is usually gone, and, if not, its size and life-expectancy is reduced. This regimen requires discipline, as it's important to resist the urge to fiddle with a bump. Forget all notions of "helping" a pimple to heal by touching it. Just dab this stuff on and forget about it.

It's been years since I've used this mask more broadly, applying it to entire areas, and I don't recall ever using it on my entire face, but if I were still a teenager I would. I first purchased it a good 8 years ago, and back then I sometimes applied it to my entire forehead or chin, if they were breaking out. The result was greatly reduced oiliness and smaller, faster-healing bumps.

I don't use this mask all over my face or on a preventive basis (on skin that's presently clear), because I've always felt that my skin's too old to take it's drying effect. The brutal reality is that one can get wrinkles and pimples at the same time, but, with my skin, the balance has tipped; wrinkles are my biggest complexion issue.

On that note, I do have some very good news for young people suffering through oily, acne-prone skin, and that is your skin should age relatively well. My mother's skin was--and is--remarkably young-looking, which she attributes to its natural oiliness. I, too, am told that I look very young for my age, which is remarkable given the repeated, blistering sunburns I incurred as a child. These days I even get compliments on my complexion, which for many years was inconceivable. So, if your acne is causing you agony now, keep your chin up and know that better times are coming.

And, when possible, always take matters into your own hands. I've never regretted doing so.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 rebeccarukes on 1/15/2015 11:18:00 PM more reviews by rebeccarukes

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

See I have mixed reviews on this, I personally have acne prone oily skin, i used to think combination skin now I'm not too sure. Nonetheless, I recently as of three months ago broke out all over my face and been trying to find some "miracle cure". One night I used it and it felt matte after and not sure if I was just being hopefully but my pimples seemed a bit smaller. The next day though my face was oily again. Next time seemed as if I broke out a little, not sure if its because I was overusing tea tree oil and rubbing alcohol on my face that week that maybe my skin just couldn't take it. Tonight I'm trying it as a spot treatment on two pretty large pimples I have. I will definitely right a review if that works because if it shrinks I would clearly notice a difference.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 MRayne23 on 12/15/2014 4:34:00 PM more reviews by MRayne23

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

Let me start out by saying that I have been a loyal Origins customer for many years, and this is one of the only things I've ever been disappointed with.

I normally use the active charcoal mask from them, but they were out, so I purchased this one. I figured, hey, both masks from origins for oily skin, so how bad could it be??


First of all, overall they're both VERY thick, come in a squeeze tube, which I love because it's more hygenic than scooping stuff out of a jar, and both they work best in the shower or bath with the steam....BUT the difference with this one is....

First off, smell, oh my word! I guess its the camphor in it, but it is so strong!! It gives a slight tingly feeling on your skin, but the smell just permeates your pores, so even after you wash it off, it's there for a few hours. Even my boyfriend complained that my face "smelled weird" nice. Haha!!

Secondly, it made me breakout!! Badly! I only had 2 small blemishes the night used it, on my cheek and chin....and woke up that next day to THREE CYSTIC breakouts on my forehead, jawline and cheek!! I'm using my Mario Badescu Buffering lotion on them and they're getting better (but that's another review)

Anyway, I know most of the reviews for this product are good, so maybe it's just my skin....but I will stick to their "Clear Improvement" Active Charcoal mask from now on.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Sugar84 on 12/11/2014 2:35:00 PM more reviews by Sugar84

Age: 30-35   Skin: Other, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This product was recommended to me by a SA at Sephora, I was looking for something to cure/stop my acne on face. I have been using this at night as a spot treatment and two to three times a week I apply it all over my face as a mask, it leaves my skin feeling soft and refreshed, and I have noticed that it is shrinking the acne and lessening the redness which is really good... I'm glad I got it...am happy with it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Lillyxoxo on 9/14/2014 10:33:00 PM more reviews by Lillyxoxo

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I received a small sample at sephora and I absolutely love it. I have extremely sensitive and acne prone skin and I use this as a spot treatment. Anytime I get a new pimple especially the hormonal ones on my chin, I put some of the product on and leave it overnight and it helps so much! Also, if you have the bad habit of popping pimples, this really helps with the redness associated after a popped pimple. Great product and definitely recommend to those with sensitive skin as well

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 tangenttoyou on 9/3/2014 12:09:00 PM more reviews by tangenttoyou

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

Love this product! I tried it out last night for the first time after dealing with acne around my chin and my lips. My other products didn't work, but after trying this mask my acne shrunk and my skin felt softer and clearer! I would definitely purchase this product again and recommend it for my fellow acne-oily skin friends

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* laumar27 on 8/17/2014 5:51:00 PM more reviews by laumar27

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

This mask has helped my skin during hormonal breakouts. I use it as a spot treatment and while it's no miracle product, it definitely does help dry out breakouts and has occasionally made emerging ones disappear. I haven't used it as a mask as I think there are some potential aggravating ingredients in here, but it works very well as a spot treatment. I leave on overnight and remove with a damp cotton pad.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Carallll on 7/31/2014 2:42:00 PM more reviews by Carallll

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

Absolutely love this for my blemish prone skin. If I'm having a bad skin day I'll pop this on over those areas for 10 minutes and it clears it up that same day. It's amazing

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 jleecooper on 7/7/2014 3:51:00 AM more reviews by jleecooper

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Olive   Hair: Black   Eyes: Green    

I purchased this product on a whim. I started using a new face wash that was doing WONDERS but during that time of the month I would get one or two break outs. My skin has the tendency to get red as a fire engine around a break out even if I leave it alone and don't touch it so I try to nip these in the butt sooner than later. I liked that this product was relatively natural, I avoid most harsh chemicals since I already have dry skin. When I feel a breakout coming on I use this more as a spot treatment over night than an actual mask (but I have done both) and let me tell you the difference the next day is drastic. It's amazing how much the redness and size goes down. Thanks to this I hardly ever have breakouts that actually reach the surface. This will continue to be a staple in my skin routine as long as it's around. I highly recommend.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 peggytsui on 6/17/2014 10:25:00 PM more reviews by peggytsui

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I love love love this mask, if you suffer from breakouts you need to get this. Every month when that time of the month rolls around, my face just goes out of control. And every time I use this mask, it always calms my acne down. It speeds up the healing process. I don't know what is in this, but it is truly amazing. The smell is kind of weird, but it's worth bearing with. I leave it on for about an hour, and it works great.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Origins products

More Masks products