Origins Out of Trouble

3.9

147 reviews

77% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Water (Aqua Purificata) Purified, Cetyl Esters, Zinc Oxide, Titanium Dioxide, Cetyl Alcohol, Cetearyl Alcohol, Glycerin, Glyceryl Stearate, Peg-100 Stearate, Camphor, Ceteareth-20, Salicylic Acid, Colloidal Sulfur, Butylene Glycol, Bentoniate


on 8/26/2015 3:51:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Blue

This is great for pimples as it really reduces redness and makes the face less oily. It minimises the look of pores around my nose area and cheeks. Sometimes I don't feel as if it does a lot for big pimples but for smaller ones it works well!



on 8/23/2015 12:01:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Gosh, I've gone through more than five tubes of this and I can't believe I haven't written a review for this life-changing product.

This mask does exactly what it says. It keeps your skin trouble-free.

Thankfully, I do not suffer from severe acne, but come that time of the month, my skin has a tendency to go crazy and that's when I breakout the most.

This just helps to soothe the skin, and I think I've got a slight camphor addiction... The mask smells wonderful to me, and my skin feels so clean after each use! I use this religiously twice a week, and I follow up with the Origins Dr Andrew Weil Mega Mushroom Face Mask immediately after, as Out of Trouble does dry my skin out... In a good way.

Thanks to this, my breakouts are always kept under control, and I have far fewer blackheads than I used to.

Having used this for a good 10 years now, I cannot see myself without this. Ever.


on 8/3/2015 5:03:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Green

I got given a pod of this from my local origins consultant, as soon as I got given it I could wait to give it a go. I have only used this once and loved the results. It completely minimised my spots and also reduced redness. It has also made my skin feel silky smooth. You could also use this as a quick spot fix if a spot popped up in announced then you could apply this to the problem area for a 10 mins and it will dramatically reduce the size and redness.


on 7/19/2015 12:57:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

This mask is pretty amazing. I've used it on and off for years, and my skin has changed over the years as well. After 3 (foolish) rounds of accutane and a vegan diet, my skin has done almost a total 180. I used to have extremely persistent cystic acne, which now has gone thanks to my lifestyle changes. I used this mask back then and it certainly helped minimize breakouts and treat my existing cystic, nodular acne. However, we all know masks and products don't cure the underlying problem causing the acne. Anyways, now that my skin is on the drier, and clearer side, I now only get the occasional breakout of only a pimple or two at a time, that are usually very small. This mask zaps those almost overnight. The thing about this mask is that it somehow soothes my sensitive, easily irritated, and dry skin at the same time as treating any acne. I mostly use it now just to minimize and unclog my pores, or to treat acne if I do get any spots. The mask has a strong, medicinal smell, and is thick and pasty in texture. It's bright white, and gets harder as it dries as usual clay masks do. I love that this mask doesn't dry out my skin like most clay masks, but still unclogs my pores. The price is pretty good, too ! When you compare it to GlamGlow, or other brands they carry at Sephora, it is actually quite cheap. HG mask :) I use it once a week and it works wonders ! Highly recommend.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 7/7/2015 11:46:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

If you have cyst
Acne this baby it doesn't make it go
Away instant but man does it lower
That sucker!

Normal
Acne gone next morning I love this stuff


Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Love it so much :) I have quite bad keratosis pilaris (red face/arms with small red and white bumps) and nothing seemed to be working, not even things my dermatologist recommended. Finally a co-worker recommended this face mask and I think I'm in love. The smell is a bit odd but I find it quite nice. I apply it all over my face and occasionally arms 3-4 times a week 10-20 minutes before I get in the shower. About once or twice a week I use it as an overnight mask and wash it off in the morning (I always do it on the weekend when I have no where to be because it can be a little hard to wash off when it's dried so much, and can leave some white residue on the face that's hard to notice at first) After the first 2 washes I noticed a big difference in the redness of my skin. 2 months later It's almost completely healed! All the bumps are gone and my skin feels so so smooth. There's still occasional redness but it's hardly noticeable and only on bad skin days. It helps with my acne (which is very mild) and I find myself with none at all. So happy I found this! Really recommend it.


on 3/4/2015 2:59:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Very Dry, Medium, Neutral

Hair: Black, Curly, Coarse

Eyes: Black

I think this is a great mask. Now, I have extremely dry, sensitive skin due to illness so I was a little wary of using this product, but it turned out just fine (and my love affair with Origins continues). I don't actually use this all over my face, but as a spot treatment on spots. I have skin that is virtually perfect 99% of the time, however very occasionally I'll get the odd spot or two. This is what use to treat them and it's very effective. Now, I don't have tough acne thank goodness, so I can't vouch for how it would work on very tough acne, but I would definitely try it. I do, however, have very difficult skin in terms of dryness (you know, flakiness and patches... it's attractive) and sensitivity and find this doesn't bother me as a spot treatment. I would never use it all over my face because it would probably destroy my skin, but I am sure people with less sensitive skin could. Overall, I definitely recommend this, it's a really solid product.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Medium Brown, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Works amazingly well, but smells like menthol. A must have to rid skin of pimples and excessive oil. I love it and would repurchase in the future.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 2/12/2015 9:25:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I love this mask! I am 16 and I have combination to oily acne prone skin and this mask helped my skin a lot. I like to mix it with the clear improvements charcoal mask for an intense treatment in case my skin is breaking out, I do this treatment technique 2 a month. But I use the mask at least once or twice a week.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 1/22/2015 3:35:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

This mask does what it promises; it remediates skin that has already broken out. I use it mainly as a spot treatment, to stop little pimples from getting ambitious, and for that purpose it's unbeatable.

Let's take a moment to think about that. I mean, how many products and procedures promise to be effective against acne? Scads. And if you've suffered from acne, as I have for 30+ years, you know that most non-prescription acne treatments are nothing but cruel jokes. Not so, Origins' Out of Trouble, at least for my skin.

Because there are so many ways to waste money fighting acne, and because acne disproportionately affects the young, who tend to have tight budgets, I want to make clear what my skin type is and how I've successfully used this product. After all, the fact that it's helped me doesn't guarantee results for everyone.

I'm 44 years old, with extremely fair, sensitive skin. I began breaking out when I first entered adolescence, back in the 5th grade. It was predictable that I'd have teenage acne, as both my parents had had it, and my older brother suffered with severe acne. I'm also naturally high-strung and the home where I grew up was unhappy and stressful. The upshot is that until I moved out, at age 17, my acne was bad to severe. From there it improved to moderate overall, with monthly, hormone-driven flare-ups. That continued, without any effective treatment, until my early 20s. Then I decided to take matters into my own hands and do what I'd always fantasized about as a high-schooler--go to a dermatologist for prescriptions of Retin-A and oral antibiotics, as pampered peers had done. Prescription medications cleared up about 80% of my acne, so I used them for more than a decade, but they have considerable negative side effects, including photosensitivity (already a big issue for me) and antibiotic-induced bacterial resistance.

With age, my skin became much less oily. (It had been awful, with my facialist saying I had the oiliest skin she'd ever encountered. Gee, thanks.) By my late 30s, my acne had subsided to the point where I could give up prescription treatments, but it does continue to dog me with T-zone blackheads and, most days, one or two pimples trying to emerge. That's where this mask helps. Each night, after using a cleanser, softener, and moisturizer, I apply a thick but tightly localized dab on any discernible bump. By morning, the bump is usually gone, and, if not, its size and life-expectancy is reduced. This regimen requires discipline, as it's important to resist the urge to fiddle with a bump. Forget all notions of "helping" a pimple to heal by touching it. Just dab this stuff on and then leave the nasty little things to live out their short, miserable lives in solitude.

It's been years since I've used this mask more broadly, applying it to entire areas, and I don't recall ever using it on my entire face, but if I were still a teenager I undoubtedly would. I first purchased it a good 8 years ago or more, and back then I sometimes applied it to my entire forehead or chin, if they were breaking out. The result was greatly reduced oiliness and smaller, faster-healing bumps.

I don't use this mask all over my face or on a preventive basis (on skin that's presently clear), because I've always felt that my skin's too old to take its drying effect. The brutal reality is that one can get wrinkles and pimples at the same time, but, with my skin, the balance has tipped; wrinkles are my biggest complexion issue.

On that note, I do have some very good news for young people suffering through oily, acne-prone skin: your skin should age relatively well. My mother's skin was--and is--remarkably young-looking, which she attributes to its comparative oiliness. I, too, am told that I look very young for my age, which is remarkable given the repeated, blistering sunburns I incurred as a child. These days I even get compliments on my complexion, which for many years was inconceivable. So, if your acne is causing you agony now, keep your chin up and know that better times are coming.

And, whenever possible, take matters into your own hands. I've never regretted doing so.

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.


Popular Masks


Mint Julep Masque
Mint Julep Masque
4231 Reviews
Aspirin Mask
Aspirin Mask
2241 Reviews
Back to Top