E.L.F. • Lip Balm SPF 15 • Lip Treatments

rated 3.6(27 reviews)

Average Rating.3.6
Would buy this product again.62%
Ingredients


rated 2 of 5 vaivut on 11/13/2014 4:13:00 PM more reviews by vaivut

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I got this in Peach, but it's not a subtle peach colour. The balm is very pigmented, not particularly moisturising and has this minty effect, which I am not a fan of... It makes your lips feel quite cool, but not in a nice way. I don't think I'd buy this again just for this reason. Packaging is nice though there isn't that much product in there.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* SHeust on 1/21/2014 10:43:00 PM more reviews by SHeust

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I got this in Pink because the shade band looked like a nice, subtle mauve. The actual tint was quite different - a brighter, true pink and not what I was looking for. Flattering for some skin tones I'm sure but a bit too bold for me.

The balm wasn't especially creamy or moisturizing. The stick is a super narrow cylinder - I was surprised how small this was when I pulled it out of the box and even more surprised at how tiny the tube of balm itself is.

Mostly matte finish that doesn't sink wonderfully, but sits on top just enough to look like like cheap lipstick.

One of the few ELF products I've been disappointed by.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 DrGMart on 1/16/2014 10:47:00 PM more reviews by DrGMart

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I got this for three bucks, in the shade nude - it's a shimmery beige-ish colour, and comes off with quite a bit of pigmentation. It's very hydrating, and has a minty and cooling feeling. I love it! Aside from the color - if I were to get another one (which I probably will), it would not be in nude.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Randomowlreader on 1/16/2014 6:08:00 PM more reviews by Randomowlreader

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I like these, I have it in the nude one called- wait for it... "Nude" yup. Original. But anyway I love this one. I don't like nudes on me (I only think nudes look nice if the wearer has fair skin) I couldn't see another one so I got it. I have pigmented lips so I assumed it wouldn't show and it didn't. I find it VERY faintly shimmery and really hydrating. Ever smelled those little chocolate-mints at Olive Garden? Well it smells like those. It's not a heavy scent at all but if your sensitive to that don't get it because to my knowledge they all smell like that. It's smooth and thick and kind of with the texture of a lip butter but with a more chap-stick feel mixed in. It doesn't feel heavy and it tingles a bit. Overall I love it, but many people may not like it. Also, I love the packaging. Sleek and matte with a little ring around the middle tinted to the color

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 asianpandaloves on 10/5/2013 10:27:00 PM more reviews by asianpandaloves

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Very Oily, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I needed a lip balm quickly and saw this first on the makeup aisle. Great pigmentation, good amount of shine, and long lasting. Then...the smell. Perhaps it's the SPF part but it smelled strongly of chemicals! The packaging was so sleek and simple, great for traveling. The smell stays on, though. The smell does not fade when applied! It leaves a fuzzy/cool(?) and heavy feeling on your lips after you apply it. Shame the color was so pretty (I got nude). <:( Not very moisturizing, either.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Decobalgal on 8/28/2013 3:43:00 PM more reviews by Decobalgal

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Medium   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I'm surprised these aren't more popular. I just received these in a few shades and I've been impressed. The packaging is pretty cool for a cheap lip balm. Feels heavy and made of a satin black metal. So far it feels very nice on my lips. Soft, smooth, non-sticky, and non-stinky. They also do a decent job of lasting. The color is on the subtle side, but still noticeable. I'm wearing Rose today, and my lips feel like heaven.

9/12/13 UPDATE: NEVERMIND!! I have a bad reaction to these. I've never before had a nasty reaction to any product. Ever. After the first few days of wear, I would get a tingly persistent sensation on my lips. Then I noticed serious dry skin on the outer edge of my lips that would not go away . No matter how much balm (other brands) I put on, it would not soften. It was almost like there was some deeper damage to the skin. I never connected that to these balms. Finally the perma-dryness-roughness went away. I keep a tube of these in my desk at work, and I put some on earlier this week and I got some weird lingering tingly sensation on my lips. After a few minutes, I wiped away this balm and the tingly discomfort went away immediately.

Today I put some on again, and this time my lips (the same outer edges) burned. I wiped the balm away, and the burn went away immediately.

I have no scientific evidence to link these balms to my lip discomfort/burn or that persistent dry, rough skin on my lips. All I can tell you is that this is the only new lip product I've tried in the last month, and I've never before experienced these discomforts. Also, I paid closer attention the last week and noticed immediate discomfort when I put this on, and immediate relief when I took it off.

All 4 of my tubes will be tossed.

ANOTHER UPDATE 9/27/2013: after sadly tossing my 4 tubes, I realized that the lip dryness and discomfort I was experiencing could not have been caused by these. I'm having a reaction to something that I can't pinpoint. Since I'm since I'm still having this reaction after not using the ELF balms, they could not have been the culprit. Perhaps the spf in these was making my lips feel worse once already inflamed by something else, but these did not cause my bad lip reaction.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 mskittenmittens on 4/13/2013 10:40:00 AM more reviews by mskittenmittens

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this in Rose, a dark color, so I don't know if the lighter colors work well. Rose is easy to layer so you can get the desired intensity you want, from a just-bitten red to a deeper red (though not too deep). It stays on for several hours, and doesn't dry out my lips; it's quite hydrating, actually. There's even a tingly sensation after applying, which is nice. Love it!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 ontopofacloud on 3/10/2013 11:22:00 PM more reviews by ontopofacloud

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I bought this lip balm in "peach". It's orange, I thought it would be more lighter. It has sparkles. When I put it on, it didn't feel like it was moisturizing. When I took it off, it made my lips dry and my "lip condition" came. Since I was in 8th grade, if my lips got irritated, my lips would turn swollen, red bumps would come, and then the worst part: they will burst and leave an orangish layer. Its nasty and unpleasant. I will not use it because what happen. For some reason E.L.F lip treatments make my lips irritated, but their lipsticks don't. I like how the lip balm packaging shows the color of the lip balm. It didn't work for me, but for others it can. I would recommend this product for someone who doesn't have a lip problem and doesn't want to waste a lot of money.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 beautypiano on 3/4/2013 6:30:00 PM more reviews by beautypiano

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Very Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I have this product in "Pink" and "Rose"--I originally bought the pink one, but it looked way too cool-toned/mod/60s on my yellow-toned skin. I'd say only buy that if a) you're super fair-skinned, with pink undertones, or b) you're okay with Nicki Minaj-pink lips. *shudder* Anyhow, the rose shade is a lovely, slightly sheer red with a bit of coral undertone. It can be built up to medium-full opacity, or just swiped on once for a "bitten" red flush to the lips.


I would say this is one of the nicer tinted lip balms out there right now. I've tried both the Maybelline Baby Lips line and the L'Oreal Le Balm line, and neither of them had the staying power, visibility, or softening properties of this little 3-buck powerhouse! I can get a wear time of about two hours out of this, while the Maybelline and L'Oreal products barely lasted for an hour--their textures were just too thin and slick to stay on long. And this E.L.F. lip balm genuinely leaves my lips feeling soft and plush for almost an hour more after it wears away, which neither one of the other two brands did for me. The texture does feel a bit thicker and drier upon application than you might be used to with lip balms, but that's what enables it to stay on longer than other balms! Once it's on the lips, it doesn't feel drying at all.


The product doesn't really have much of a scent if you try to sniff it in the tube, but once it's on your lips you'll become aware of a very, very slight minty fragrance and sensation. To my nose it's very light and pleasant, but be aware of that if your lips are sensitive to fragrance.


Overall, this is a wonderful product if you're looking for a nice, visible flush of color in a product that heals your dry lips. Go pick some up! It's worth it!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* missn74 on 1/15/2013 4:00:00 AM more reviews by missn74

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

It depends on the color you get, but these are pigmented and moisturizing lip balm. The darker shades like the rose and plum show. The lighter shades doesn't show well up on the lips if you have naturally pigmented lips and also the color goes on splotchy. It has a slight glossy finish and because it is moisturizing it will feather out the lips.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More E.L.F. products

More Lip Treatments products