Illamasqua • Brink • Lipstick

rated 4.1(9 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.66%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 3 of 5 georginags on 12/19/2013 6:04:00 PM more reviews by georginags

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I probably own every coral and orange lipstick under the sun because I am truly obsessed with orange.

I read a few reviews on brink online and some have been good while others have been bad. Because most orange and coral shades show up more to the red side on my lips, I thought brink might be different given what some reviewers had said.

Formula wise, it is probably the WORST lipstick I own. One reviewer said it was 'creamy'. Incorrect. It's dry and chalky. People have even snapped the lipstick due to its dry formula. Colour wise, it is exactly what I was looking for.

When I first tried it, I was extremely disappointed. I tried it on its own with no base and then again over my mac primer. Still horrible. The only way I can successfully wear it is if I wear a lipgloss : balm as a base. The best combination I've used is philosophy's kiss me tonight balm with brink right over it. I don't overdo it with the philosophy balm, I just dip my finger into the pot, dab it onto my lips and then put brink on top.

Two things, you need to exfoliate your lips before you use it - even if you've got a balm under it. Brink really does show all the imperfections in your lips.

Second, don't even bother using a brush for this lipstick if you are wearing a lipgloss or balm as a base. I found that application was even harder when using a brush. Dab it on or just swipe it a few times on the lips. You won't snap the lipstick if you have a nice base on because it should just glide on the lips.

Despite the problems, I think this is my most used lipstick. The colour is amazing! You just need to use it right.



    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* saphiric on 8/2/2012 8:53:00 PM more reviews by saphiric

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Red, Medium   Eyes: Other    

This is a beautiful coral peach color. On my very pigmented lips it looks more orange than peach but on lighter lips it'd look like a true peach. This is very similar to MAC Reel Sexy (was $15 before it was sold out, but it is now from $30+) and YSL Peach Passion and Faubourg Peach ($34). They're all a peachy coral with hints of pink. So if you're looking for something around those colors Brink would be the cheapest of the bunch ($22)--not to mention it is .14 oz as oppose to .12 oz.
An even cheaper dupe is Barry M #147 (~$11 on ebay, and cheaper if you live in the UK). It is a tad more pink than Brink but I actually like it better because it gives me a more nudy lip than Brink does.
Overall, 147 and Brink has the same matte, dry-ish texture with 147 more drying, but it's nothing a lip balm underneath and a gloss on top can't fix.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* cheetah7 on 9/18/2011 1:29:00 AM more reviews by cheetah7

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Olive, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Brink is definitely a peachy/orange coral as opposed to a pink coral. I love corals in general; from red corals to peachy corals and I try to get my hands on as many variations of it as possible. It is a beautiful color that instantly brightens up my tan complexion and picks up the natural peachy-pink flush of my cheeks. The coverage is opaque which is a plus for pigmented lips like mine. This product is matte and very pigmented so because of that, it tends to be drying so a good lip balm underneath is a must. I don't swipe it on full bore because it will be too thick and settle in lip lines.. I dab it on my lips or use a lip brush to get a thin layer. I then apply clear gloss on top. Done this way it last quite a long time and alleviates some of the dry feeling, not to mention it looks a lot better. I can get about 6-7 hrs of wear but tends to fade some after eating. At the end of the day it does leave my lips feeling dry and in need of more balm. Overall: A good orange coral color best suited for warm skin tones but very drying.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 afshort on 7/12/2011 9:31:00 PM more reviews by afshort

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

i bought brink a couple of years ago and had immediately noticed what everything elsew comments on: it's matte to the point of being drying, it tends to settle if applied to quickly, and you need smooth lips for it to work properly. however! these days i use brink almost every time i wear makeup.
brink doesn't just work for the lips - because it's so matte i blend it in to my cheeks as a blush. i have lightish, olive-toned skin, so i can't say if it would work on other skin colours/undertones, but it does on me. when i wear it on my lips i do have to moisturise them, but the longevity once brink is applied properly (a thin layer - it's very opaque - with a lip pencil underneath) is astounding, it lasts literally all day. through eating, talking, kisses, everything. it can also be sheered down, through blending (on the cheeks) or with a gloss or balm (on the lips). it can be mixed with other colours as well, it makes a great undertone.
i wanted lilac lips the other day so i took this, illamasqua's intense lipgloss in gender (a blue), a clear gloss, and a purple eyeshadow. lasted all day. the things that might seem bad at first with brink can definitely be worked to a person's advantage. i don't own any of their other lipsticks, but i assume it's the same for them.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 SevenDeadlySins on 6/23/2010 2:09:00 PM more reviews by SevenDeadlySins

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Other   Eyes: Hazel    

I saw a few swatches of this and it looked really pretty. Like a light pink/orange. Its very drying and matte, so its hard to work with. I exfoliate and apply lipbalm, and it STILL looks horrible. Its not creamy at all, so its very hard to blend on my lips. Its almost pure orange on me. Its not bright neon orange, but its noticeable orange. Almost nothing like the swatches ive seen. The names on the bottom of the lipsticks wear off, so if i didnt remember, i wouldnt know wtf its called. In all, this is a horrible lipstick for me. Texture and color wise. I gave it 2 stars because it is a pretty color for some, just not on me

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 missartsy on 6/13/2010 2:26:00 PM more reviews by missartsy

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Other   Eyes: Hazel    

I've always wanted a bright coral lipstick, but could never find one that looked good on me, but this is it! Its very pigmented, but also chalky and drying. I exfoliate my lips, apply a layer of lipbalm, apply a little bit of myth lipstick then i apply Brink. Its so perfect! I also apply a little bit of clear gloss over this since its drying. Its the PERFECT Summer shade! I wish it didnt take a lot to make it work though.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 StarbucksAndSunglasses on 5/27/2010 7:15:00 PM more reviews by StarbucksAndSunglasses

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Other   Eyes: Hazel    

Since i am tan now, i wanted a coral/slight orange lipstick for the Summer! This is perfect! It is matte, and VERY drying, but i exfoliate + apply lipbalm before and after i apply this lipstick. It has more slight orange tones than coral, but somehow, it looks really good. Its very pigmented, which is good since its kinda expensive. I wish the packaging was more colorful, and im not a fan of the lipstick shape, but the color is gorgeous so ill deal with it!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 HauntedCarnival on 5/2/2010 4:31:00 PM more reviews by HauntedCarnival

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Other   Eyes: Hazel    

I have always loved the idea of a orange lipstick, but pure orange looks horrible on most people. I knew illamasqua had amazing theatrical makeup, so i went looking at the lipsticks. I searched a few other colors, but this one caught my eye. It looked orange/coral in the photos, but i was hoping it would turn out more orange based on my lips, and i was right. This is stunning. Its a cool toned orange with a slight hint of coral. It's drying, but that is to be expected with such a pigmented shade.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* liz91 on 12/1/2009 7:24:00 PM more reviews by liz91

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I love the Illamasqua lipsticks, and I now have 4 of them. Brink is a corally-orange color. I've posted a pic of it above with it on my lips with NYX smokey look gloss over it. It is slightly lighter than Over lipstick, but very similar. These lipsticks are very chalky and pigmented and do not look good without a gloss. But they are long-lasting. I really love them. The colors are special and unique. I did not have any lipstick color similar to Brink. These are expensive, but I love them. I will repurchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No




More Illamasqua products

More Lipstick products