Elizabeth Arden Eight Hour Cream - Intensive Daily Moisturizer for Face SPF 15

4.1

21 reviews

66% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I got a tube of this in a Christmas Gift pack. I was pleasantly surprised. Now that I am 40, my skin doesn't respond so well to the Irish cold winters with cold winds.
I found myself lathering this on in the evenings when I would take the dog out walking. The only reason not to use it all day is because I have a BR (Biologique Recherche) cream and tinted Spf moisturiser to use.
The cream is thick- I like this, but it sinks in well. To me it acts as a non greasy moisturising barrier. It would definitely use a serum under this moisturiser - I doubt it has anti-aging or skin correction properties. Its a nice non-irritating skin raincoat.

I do not really like the 'lemony/medicinal smell' as someone else has described. But it is affordable and good value in a gift set. The reason I would not buy it again is because I prefer my BR cream.



on 2/3/2015 4:26:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Grey

This is quite a thick consistency but sinks in well. I like this cream for use in winter. I have red sensitive skin and this seems to help it. I have noticed that when my skin is particularly sensitive it does make my eyes water sometimes.


on 1/3/2015 9:51:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Black

Amazing. Have been using this for years and try to constantly find a cheaper replacement but none can compare! The smell is so fresh & natural (green tee I think) and goes on like a dream. I have combination skin and find this just sinks in without any grease. Perfect base for make up or on its own. Love, love, love it


on 9/17/2013 8:16:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Relaxed, Medium

Eyes: Black

This is my current favourite right now and it's products like these that make me wonder why I don't have more Elizabeth Arden products (other than my beloved 8 hour cream of course!).

This product just feels so nice on the skin. It seems thick when you squeeze it out (yay for hygienic tube packaging!) but it spreads evenly on the skin and makes it oh so soft and ready for foundation. While it doesn't control my oil, it doesn't really matter because it doesn't claim to and neither does any moisteriser that I have ever tried. That being said though, I am using this right now in Spring and I imagine it would be good for all year around! (It also has SPF 15 which is a plus)

I also quite enjoy the lemony herbal smell which is surprisingly pleasant but fades upon application.

For reference, I have oily, acne prone and sensitive skin (I sound so blessed don't I? ;) )

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 5/9/2013 3:13:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I ADORE this product. I am a skin care junkie and I constantly try new products (I would buy 20 new products on average a month in the medium to high price bracket) even when I'm not dissatisfied with my current product. Saying that this is the one product I will buy consistently. I've used it for years and it ticks all the right boxes.
It is thick and luxurious with a pleasant smell and is long lasting.
From the sounds of it the people that wrote negative reviews about this product might have been using the 8 hour cream and not the 8 hour moisturising cream (as the 8 hour cream is not a facial moisturiser and would be almost impossible to spread on your face but would be perfect as a lip balm-sorry if I'm wrong!)
I would highly recommend this product-it's my favourite item in my cosmetics cupboard!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 1/5/2013 6:24:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Oily, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I love this!! Iv tried every moisturiser from cheap, mid range to high end and none have done the job like this one! I was recommended to use it by a friend as my skin became dry in the winter. I have spot prone skin. Some moisturisers make this worth but since I have used this I have had great skin and I feels nice to touch through out the day! It hasn't clogged my pores as previous reviews imply. I would defo recommended. It is quite expensive but if you look you can find it around at a reasonable price!!!!


Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

As a face moisturizer? Oh hell no! As a lip treasure? Yessss... 5 stars for the lips, really none for my face (I can only imagine the clog-power this stuff must contain lol!), but it is the only -- and I genuinely mean The Only -- product that keeps my lips smooth and fresher than I ever thought they could be! I received a deluxe sample size in a GWP but I'll be dragging myself into the store and pay the over-inflated price it probably costs because for my lips the financial amount is worth it, it truly is. Nothing else comes close!


on 7/24/2012 1:21:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

LOVE LOVE LOVE LOVE LOVE LOVE LOVE this product ! As I have oily skin I find it hard to find daily moisturisers wich don't break me out. This product doesn't and leaves my skin looking healthy and flawless. It has a SPF of 15 which is perfect or me as I live in England and we rarely have huge amounts of sun. I love the smell of this product. It smells really fresh and clean. I apply this every morning before my primer and it helps keep my skin hydrated. I was a bit hesitant about purchasing this as it is quite pricey for such a small tube. Over 4 year I think I have purchased two and one is still going strong ! Will defiantly be repurchasing once it's eventually used up ! I also really like the packaging as it is a tube. I hate pot products with a passion as I feel they are a breeding ground for germs !! Couldn't reccomend this product more. Love love love it ,,,

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 3/20/2012 7:31:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Tan, Warm

Hair: Black, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Brown

If you have dry skin even in summer, then this moisturiser is for you. I have sensitive combo skin and althought this cream is super thick it sinks in quite well. It's summer where I live, and yet I have had no problems with greasiness. Its not a miracle cream or something but it hydrates really well. I have not had any irritation since using it. The packaging is in a tube which ensure the hygiene of the product. The lemony smell? I don't know but it reminds me slightly of an ointment though not unpleasant. They should upgrade the SPF to something higher like an SPF 30 or something. Overall I'll give it 4 lippies-if you don't have amazing expectations and you just want something to moisturise your face, then please buy this.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 9/19/2011 3:12:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Other

Eyes: Brown

It's an ok moisturizer. I don't feel much difference compared to my old moisturizer (Avene Hydrance Optimale), just that it's a bit more expensive. I thought the smell was a bit strong at first, but now I got used to it. My skin feels comfortable when I'm wearing this stuff, and it lasts for hours. I was happy that this one came with SPF, which is one thing I'm always looking in a moisturizer, though I would liked if it was higher (it's only SPF 15). But I guess it's hard to find a good moisturizer with a high SPF (if you want that kind of protection then you have to look for a sunscreen, apparently).

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Back to Top