E.L.F. • Mineral Infused Face Primer • Primer/ Corrector

rated 3.5(337 reviews)

Average Rating.3.5
Would buy this product again.61%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 amymb on 10/22/2014 9:42:00 PM more reviews by amymb

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This has a very similar formula to the popular Smashbox Photofinish primer, but at a fraction of the cost and better performance. This seems a bit thicker than Smashbox and I feel like it lasts a lot longer and doesn’t cause oiliness. My foundation goes on so smoothly and doesn’t dissolve with this underneath. Also having a pump on the container makes it easier to get just the amount you need.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 FeminineWoman on 10/19/2014 10:54:00 AM more reviews by FeminineWoman

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Hazel    

When I spotted this at Target while walking down the makeup aisle, wasn't looking for a specific brand or type of makeup. However, this little pump container with its green lining jumped out at me. My skin has red undertones on cheeks, nose and forehead, and decided to give this a try. Fdtn usually covers the red undertone, but see no problem with getting extra help. Target has a return policy, and primer is only $6. Nothing to lose purchasing this product.

The texture of this primer/corrector is that of a mousse/gel/satin combo. It feels very soft and hydrating on my face. Really like the feel of this primer.

It only takes a minute, two minutes at most, for this primer/corrector to work its magic. It cuts out the red undertone very well.

I have never been a fan of using a primer because I perceive it as a useless product co's have promoted to earn extra $$$, and to be honest, still feel that way. Makeup lasts a bit longer with primer, but I have used this only as a color corrector for a year or more, and am pleased with the results.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 frippery on 10/19/2014 6:42:00 AM more reviews by frippery

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Other, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Other    

This is the first time I've used primer and still a little unsure of how to properly use this. I wouldn't use this type of thing every day, but it really does make a difference when I want to put in a little more effort. I really like the satin finish. It doesn't seem to play well w/ the undereye concealer I use, though. It congeals and looks cakey/patchy when I apply this underneath. Not really sure if the ingredients are clashing, or if I'm not letting this dry long enough, or uaing too much.

In any case, it's the highest rated primer I could find at this price point ($6).

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 FeenFeenFeen on 10/17/2014 2:13:00 AM more reviews by FeenFeenFeen

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I absolutely LOVE this primer! I can't believe it actually took me this long to finally buy it after all the mixed reviews.

I got it from Kmart in New Zealand for $15. I bought the green one because there was none left of he clear one. I found the green did nothing for my very minimal redness (don't even need a tone adjuster anyway). BUUUUUUTTT..... it was fantastic in every other way possible. My main pro was the fact it made my makeup look so nice and airbrushed. I have tried so many foundations and they all seem to look like theyre sitting on my skin and sliding around. They always looked streaky and scaly on my skin. But that is now fixed just with this primer and now I'm super excited to try out all those "bad" foundations again!

Pros:

* A very small amount goes a long way (which is good because there's not much in the bottle)
* Goes on so smoothly and glides like silk
* Makes my makeup look amazing and smooth
* I found it controlled oil around my nose and my makeup still looked the same at the end of my day (as a nurse)
* It actually made my pores smaller! and helped hide those little dots under your eyes
* I find liquid foundations are always tacky and sticky and I end up piling on the powder to make it matte, this primer made my foundation lose the stickiness and made it dry, so i now only need the powder for setting as opposed to drying up my foundation! :)
* I use less powder now because of this taking away the tacky-ness of foundations
* I didn't breakout, (normally everything makes me breakout)

Cons:

and yes, there are some.... :(.
* its all packaging and no product. The bottle makes it look like there is heaps, but thats actually a green container, inside the foggy clear container, so there's very little product which is a shame.
* this doesn't bother me, but the green tone adjusting version does nothing for red marks from old pimples or any broken capillaries etc from what I found. I didn't buy it for the tone adjusting, the shop just had none of the clear one and i figured if it works it works, if not then I dont mind.

Overall:

Basically I love this primer and I should have bought it over a year ago when I first became aware of it. All my complaints I've always had about my face and how my makeup looks etc is now solved and i've never been happier. I alway thought it was my makeup an that I had bad skin, but if I can fix that and feel happy with how I look just with a $15 primer then I say it's liquid gold! Hopefully all those "bad" foundations will take me back! They need a second chance now. It may not work for everyone, but it solved all my problems I've had so I think this is a great addition to my skin regime :)

XXX

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 vaivut on 10/11/2014 3:32:00 PM more reviews by vaivut

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I'm on my second tube of this primer and have just ordered another two. It makes my skin feel silky smooth and when I put my mineral foundation on it looks more even. It is now a part of my daily makeup routine and I cannot imagine it without this primer. Best thing - it doesn't break me out. Also, it's great value for money.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 yumsworth on 10/9/2014 2:14:00 PM more reviews by yumsworth

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Although it made my face feel silky smooth, it also made my foundation looked cakey and patchy, I don't know why. I didn't even noticed any brightening effect. But it did hold up my foundation. I also got breakouts from trying this. But I am willing to give this a second chance with a different kind of foundation and then I'll decide if I should toss it out.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 MyoTHlaing on 9/30/2014 1:01:00 AM more reviews by MyoTHlaing

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Black    

It's so cheap. But it has really goodness. I cant imagine how it is good

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 kinta80s on 9/25/2014 3:50:00 PM more reviews by kinta80s

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Black    

I bought this 2-3 years ago after one of my friends bought the same one. Back then my skin has always been very oily, and recently it has turned into combo ever since I got pregnant. The amount of matte primers in my makeup stash is infinite, thank god I found this somewhere in the corner of the pile. The other primers (dermalogica, clarins, lumene) are mattifying that the foundation starts clinging onto the dry spot. But this primer on top of eucerin aquaphor has helped solve the cracked cheeks problems. Doesn't really make it dewy, but I still wouldn't use this on my whole face for fear that it wouldn't control excess oil at all on my T-zone (tried it before years ago) so I still need to pair this up with another primer on my T-zone. One huge minus is the packaging. The pump is very hard to control (like everyone of elf's pumps - one of them that I have problems with is also the studio cream blush). Wouldn't really repurchase after I run out of this for the impracticality that I have to buy another product. But for solving my winter nightmare, this would do :)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Danielleox on 9/25/2014 3:36:00 AM more reviews by Danielleox

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I love using this primer. It goes on silky and smooth. Non - greasy and doesn't cause my makeup to slip and slide. It stays in place all day and improves the look of my makeup for a flawless finish. I also love that this is affordable at $12.00. Before using this I was purchasing the Body Shops Matte It primer, which was a tiny tube for $23.95. They are fairly similar so I have now been purchasing E.L.F's primer. I also love the packaging.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* guitarheroine91 on 9/21/2014 12:42:00 AM more reviews by guitarheroine91

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

Apparently this is a good dupe for the Smashbox Photofinish primer. I wouldn't know anything about that, not having tried the Photofinish, but I will say that this is the best of the primers I have tried, and also the cheapest. It smooths my face instantly, feels silky without being greasy, and causes my makeup to apply flawlessly and stay that way all day. I've tried the Hard Candy Skin Perfecting Primer (I do like that one and keep it in my purse as the tube packaging is more convenient for travel) and Maybelline Baby Skin which I did not like at all. It was greasy and made my makeup slide all over my face.

I'm interested in trying the colour correcting one next time, I currently have the clear. I have redness on my cheeks so anything that can reduce that is a must for me! I also want to try their raved about tone correcting powder. With E.L.F. the products are so inexpensive and are usually great quality, you honestly can't afford NOT to buy them! Go E.L.F!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More E.L.F. products

More Primer/ Corrector products