E.L.F. • Mineral Infused Face Primer • Primer/ Corrector

rated 3.5(346 reviews)

Average Rating.3.5
Would buy this product again.61%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 Andilynn11 on 1/30/2015 11:55:00 AM more reviews by Andilynn11

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I have the Lavender tinted one, but it basically goes on clear, which is fine because I only bought it because it was marked down and I already knew from experience with the green tinted one, that I would not be getting any color on my face. This works really well under powder to smooth out flakey areas and keep oil at bay. I have to blot my shiny face less times a day now and my makeup stays fresher looking. The amount you get though is a ripoff, because you get just under half an ounce whereas most primers you get at least one full ounce, making the price of $6 not so great. That's my only complaint though. I would pick up another bottle, especially if it's marked down!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Pixiemakeup on 1/27/2015 4:59:00 PM more reviews by Pixiemakeup

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

The only reason i won't buy this primer again is that i feel theres not much in the bottle, I've only had it for just over a month and its run out! now i don't use that much of it when i apply it so I'm not very impressed!

overall though it was a good primer with a nice velvety feel to it, smells like tea tree oil and goes on smoothly. I didn't find it hugely diminished my pores.

For girls who are buying a primer for the first time i would recommend this one as it is hugely affordable!
But if your looking for a new primer because you've run out of your old one, i would give this a miss!
xxx

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* daisyismydog on 1/19/2015 1:43:00 AM more reviews by daisyismydog

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

For reference, I have dehydrated-normal acne-prone flaky skin with textural unevenness. I find ELF's primer (in clear) makes my foundation apply more smoothly and there is a difference in the size of my pores when I use it. With my dehydrated skin, sometimes my makeup will get patchy throughout the day however this primer helps prevent that. It also decreases the appearance of flakiness and is effective at all of its claims.

For me personally though, I find that I get similar results with emollient moisturizers and sunscreens. They may not have as silky a feel as ELF's primer but they perform similarly. This designated primer is better at disguising flakiness throughout the day so if I am extra flaky I will reach for it but most of the time it doesn't have a place in my routine.

The packaging is bulky. Occasionally the pump sputters, but it does the job. I do want to point out that while this product is $6, it contains .49 fl oz (according to ELF's website) which means it comes out to $12/ounce. Still much cheaper than many mid-range options but without a sale it is on par with other drugstore options.

Overall, on my dehydrated-normal skin I find this effective at everything it claims to do. However, as I regularly use emollient moisturizers and sunscreens in my daily routine that perform as primers I don't reach for it often. For anyone who currently uses similar products, I think they could do without this ELF primer.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 msyu on 1/12/2015 3:58:00 AM more reviews by msyu

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Black    

I don't know if this works to decrease the look of my pores or even prolong makeup wear time, sometimes I think, I don't even need a primer during the fall/winter. Colorless, odorless and pump style.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 fawkesy on 1/1/2015 12:02:00 PM more reviews by fawkesy

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Other   Eyes: Green    

This is a beautiful primer, but the pump broke on the first try! I don't know if this is a common problem, but I love the product so much(and don't want to waste it) that I unscrew the lid and use a clean makeup brush to take some out every morning. It makes my skin appear much smoother-textured, and helps my base last longer. The gold-colored one provides a beautiful(not oily) glow.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 mgtfelicen on 12/29/2014 7:35:00 AM more reviews by mgtfelicen

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I don't know if it's only me but I HATE the smell of this primer. But other than that, I love love LOVE this stuff! And besides when I put on my foundation, the smell goes away. It's a little more expensive here where I live I bought it at $11 but man this is some quality primer. Gives my foundation an airbrush like finish and helps it stay put the whole day!! And may pores look smaller (btw I have really big pores) Been using this for a while now and haven't had any breakouts! I just love this so much. This is definitely HG material.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 aprillia on 12/28/2014 4:28:00 PM more reviews by aprillia

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Fail. Left me itchy, clogged, and did not remain smooth. Tried it numerous ways over a 2 week period. I had to dig out an enormous blackhead which is directly attributable to this. I have no problems with primer or cones. This just did bad things for me. Too bad because they usually hit it out of the park.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ti4nna on 12/19/2014 2:13:00 AM more reviews by ti4nna

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Medium Brown   Hair: Black   Eyes: Other    

Before this product, I've really never used primer. Now I'm on my second tube of this stuff. I love the way it goes on my face, my skin honestly does feel silky smooth and my foundation goes on perfectly. it eliminates any dry patches I have. when I ran out of the first bottle it took my a couple days to grab a new one... boy did I miss it. Noticed significant differences in the way my foundation looked w/o it... more cakey, clung to dry patches etc. For $8 I can't complain. def. my HG primer.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Chanel1993 on 12/2/2014 3:24:00 AM more reviews by Chanel1993

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I'm sorry but elf missed me with this product I didn't like it at all i brought the green toned one to even out redness I didn't see no difference and it didn't keep my makeup on long my face got oily after like 4 hours of wearing it I mean for the price it was that bad I only spent $6 but I prefer the Rimmel primer and about the same price and way better

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 amymb on 10/22/2014 9:42:00 PM more reviews by amymb

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This has a very similar formula to the popular Smashbox Photofinish primer, but at a fraction of the cost and better performance. This seems a bit thicker than Smashbox and I feel like it lasts a lot longer and doesn’t cause oiliness. My foundation goes on so smoothly and doesn’t dissolve with this underneath. Also having a pump on the container makes it easier to get just the amount you need.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More E.L.F. products

More Primer/ Corrector products