E.L.F. Studio Pressed Powder

3.4

45 reviews

60% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $

INGREDIENTS

Talc, Zinc Stearate, Titanium Dioxide, Silica, Boron Nitride, Triethoxycaprylylsilane, Dimethicone, Phenyltrimethicone, Hydrogenated Polyisobutene, Sodium Dehydroacetate, Iron Oxides (CI 77491), Iron Oxides (CI 77492), Iron Oxides (CI 77499).


on 3/29/2015 3:38:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Grey

The only disappointment I had w this was that there isn't a lot of product there but I think it may be a little deceiving coz it's only $3!! But i got Porcelain which matches Porcelain acne foundation from elf gr8! This is a good powder, finely milled & coverage can be controlled if u want it to be sheered out or heavier it's up to u. The packaging is neat w the pad hidden inside & reminiscent of Nars w the sleek black packaging. I just love this powder, no problems w oxidation or breaking out. I do have to order this online as I've never seen it in a store (yet), but I find that porcelain is a good match for me (Loreal N3/MAC NC15ish/EL Dawn), this powder is amazing!! I've got 2 on order coming to me en route!!



on 2/13/2015 6:30:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I got this in Buff, it looked very nice in packaging and came with a thin puff. After I applied it started to turn peach and the more I applied the darker and reder it became. If elf reformulated this I might consider repurchasing but till then DONT WASTE YOUR MONEY.


on 1/14/2015 1:58:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

I purchased this hoping it would be a cheap alternative to my M.A.C studio fix in NC30. I bought the shade Sand. I was really excited to try it - you get a good amount of product for a really good price, plus you also get a little powder puff with it - I actually like using these more than I like using a brush. I find when I put it on my face, like a previous poster said, it oxidizes really quickly. I found it made my skin really red, I didn't like this at all! I wore it once and gave it a chance, I tried again and I just couldn't. I was about to be out the door and completely took it off and re-did my makeup. I can't speak for any of the other shades, but steer clear of Sand, lol.


on 8/15/2014 8:44:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I got this powder along with two other brands of pressed powder after my favorite Maybelline Stay Matte Pressed Powder was discontinued, but this doesn't match up to it at all. It has a soft matte finish and great coverage, but I feel like it oxidizes right when it comes into contact with my skin! I bought the Sand shade since it had the most yellowish undertone (for reference, my skintone is NC25-30 with yellow undertone), but after patting it on my skin it seems to turn to a peach shade and even looks orange after I look at it on the included sponge. I thought at first it might be my foundation or BB cream coming off onto the sponge, but I even wore this pressed powder by itself without any other base makeup, and yup--it still oxidizes to orange both on my face and on the sponge.

Will be exploring other powder options.


on 8/8/2014 3:35:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Let me say that I wear Mac studio fix powder in NC 35... Perfect match in porcelain shade the sand color looked like a good match but after an hour it oxidized and turned me orange horrible!!! The coverage is really good for the pressed powder and it is better value. I liked it at first after 3 days of using it my face started to break out like crazy my skin is so bumpy so I quickly returned to Mac studio fix powder and my skin is healing mode... Never ever again using this cheap made in China crap again Mac is expensive but I rather put something that's more high quality on my face than cheap stuff .... Ugh worst decision ever !!!?


on 6/29/2014 12:34:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

This is currently my favorite powder. Great pigmentation, and extremely affordable. The compact does not contain a lot of product, but it is to be expected for the price. I would buy two at a time. The colors a quite dark, I use Porcelain, and am NC20-25 in MAC. Also be careful when using a brush, it is easy to pick up a lot of product.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 5/12/2014 7:05:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I've been using the MUFE Duo Mat Powder Foundation for a couple of years. I was informed recently by a (Canadian) Sephora rep that MUFE is in the process of discontinuing Duo Mat in the near future, date unknown. Before panic mode set in, I started casually looking for an alternative and hoping to not spend the Cdn $40 I normally do. I picked up the ELF Pressed Powder in Sand at Winners over the weekend for Cdn $5, not having much hope. I am surprised how good it is. Compared to the MUFE DM, the ELF PP provides almost the same amount of coverage. I fluff it on my face with a large kabuki brush and the finish is pretty darn close, doesn't cake or settle into lines or the corners of my nose, and can be used wet or dry. However, swirling the kabuki brush across the product does seem to kick up a lot of waste, so in future I'll lightly press the brush into the powder. The amount of ELF PP is comparable: 0.317 oz (0.9 g) versus the MUFE DM which is 0.35 oz (1.0 g). Both the ELF PP and MUFE DM contain talc. The ELF PP packaging is pretty basic: a matte, square-shaped compact with a built-in small mirror and a traditional square applicator hidden underneath the powder. Would re-purchase.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 9/19/2013 4:49:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I started out with "almond", but it had waaaay to many reddish undertones for me. It looks nice in the package, but after I aplied it, it turned orange. I thought I could give it another shot and try a lighter shade - next one was "caramel" and I LOVED it. The coverage was great! Too bad it broke me out like CRAZY after I used it for a few more days. I have to go to the doctor in order to fix this mess and I wouldn't use it again. :(((

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 6/14/2013 12:24:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Black, Relaxed, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I've had this for a couple weeks and I love it - HG status.

I was looking for a cheaper alternative to my much-loved (but very expensive MAC studio fix powder + foundation which is nearly $50 in Australia!!!) and I bought this ELF pressed powder with quite low expectations. But boy oh boy, this DID NOT DISAPPOINT - it is seriously a great dupe!

I', a NC25/C3.5 in MAC and the shade porcelain is great for me. It is considerably less product than the MAC studio fix powder but for 1/8th of the price - I'm not complaining. I use this as a setting powder and to blot up excess oil during the day at work.

Like with all ELF packaging, it isn't as slick as your higher end brands, but I am not complaining considering the price and quality! It offers great coverage, not cakely looking at all and very finely milled - a complete winner and I will repurchase :)

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Dry, Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

The perfect face powder for Oompa Loompas! This stuff is so orange! The shade "Porcelain" which is suppose to be extremely fair is sooooo dark! I hate how cakey this powder is too. Such a horrible product I can't even. I recommend this to no one. Terrible.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Back to Top