E.L.F. • Studio Pressed Powder • Powder

rated 3.5(38 reviews)

Average Rating.3.5
Would buy this product again.63%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 1 of 5 SilviH on 9/19/2013 4:49:00 PM more reviews by SilviH

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I started out with "almond", but it had waaaay to many reddish undertones for me. It looks nice in the package, but after I aplied it, it turned orange. I thought I could give it another shot and try a lighter shade - next one was "caramel" and I LOVED it. The coverage was great! Too bad it broke me out like CRAZY after I used it for a few more days. I have to go to the doctor in order to fix this mess and I wouldn't use it again. :(((

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 joanne150406 on 6/14/2013 12:24:00 AM more reviews by joanne150406

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Black, Relaxed, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I've had this for a couple weeks and I love it - HG status.

I was looking for a cheaper alternative to my much-loved (but very expensive MAC studio fix powder + foundation which is nearly $50 in Australia!!!) and I bought this ELF pressed powder with quite low expectations. But boy oh boy, this DID NOT DISAPPOINT - it is seriously a great dupe!

I', a NC25/C3.5 in MAC and the shade porcelain is great for me. It is considerably less product than the MAC studio fix powder but for 1/8th of the price - I'm not complaining. I use this as a setting powder and to blot up excess oil during the day at work.

Like with all ELF packaging, it isn't as slick as your higher end brands, but I am not complaining considering the price and quality! It offers great coverage, not cakely looking at all and very finely milled - a complete winner and I will repurchase :)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 MakeupAlleyJunkie on 4/24/2013 12:51:00 AM more reviews by MakeupAlleyJunkie

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

The perfect face powder for Oompa Loompas! This stuff is so orange! The shade "Porcelain" which is suppose to be extremely fair is sooooo dark! I hate how cakey this powder is too. Such a horrible product I can't even. I recommend this to no one. Terrible.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 ChristinaLianne on 3/4/2013 3:27:00 AM more reviews by ChristinaLianne

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I have extremely sensitive skin & even MAC couldn't have done the damaged this product did. After I used it once or twice my skin broke out into a SEVERE rash! I had to go to the doctor & get a prescription cream to clear it up! I've never been so embarrassed by my skin & through this product out right away. Maybe I was allergic, or if your face isn't sensitive this is an awesome powder that provides A LOT of coverage.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 AlasseM on 2/25/2013 7:02:00 AM more reviews by AlasseM

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Other, Kinky, Fine   Eyes: Black    

I've been trying this powder. It gives a very nice finish. Depending on how you apply it, it can give you various coverage. If applied lightly with a powder brush, it gives a nice light coverage and I feel like my face looks healthy afterwards. I apply it with the ELF complexion brush. Now the real test was when I went to the gym and applied it the same way I usually do. It stayed the same way when I first applied it, after my work out. But take note that I have combination to dry skin. It's closer to dry. Also, I don't sweat much, so when I look at myself in the mirror, I was like OMG my skin looks glowy and amazing. I only have undereye concealer; no blush or highlight. This will be a great powder on hot days or days that I don't feel like wearing much.

There is a reviewer who said this oxidizes on her. I don't see it so far. But if I do, this will then go down to a 1 lippie.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 mortal557 on 2/5/2013 5:18:00 PM more reviews by mortal557

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I was hoping for so much from this product but alas this was not the product for me for a few simple reasons. Despite buying the product in porcelain this is about as far away from a porcelain colour as you can get this is way too dark I have no idea what E.L.F was thinking?! I gave it a try as best I could despite the dark tone. The product seems to offer a lot of coverage but as soon as it went on it was quite cakey but I sheered it down as much as possible and got it to look acceptable texture wise however within about an hour I was an oily mess!! this made me over produce oil like never before I have no idea what ingredient makes this happen but I need to know so I can avoid it at all costs. This product should work for you if you have a normal skin type and are of a medium skin tone or darker.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 luverchick on 1/15/2013 11:56:00 PM more reviews by luverchick

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

i love this powder but too bad it break me out...i have super sensative skin and this powder gives me smalls pimples here and there...it also doesnt have the best color selection out there....:( if it wasnt for that i would of loved this powder...stays pretty matte and have pretty great coverage....

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* AndreaJunelle on 10/1/2012 2:00:00 AM more reviews by AndreaJunelle

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I have to say, I'm a little surprised this has a 3.7 rating (which isn't totally awesome, but much higher than I expected after my experiences with this..)
For reference, my review is based on the "Porcelain" shade only. I'm just a hair lighter than NC15 (MAC StudioFix), and I try to only review products that I enjoy, and I try not to leave too many negative ones because I'm usually the proof that one gal's garbage is another gal's gold (I tend to like a lot of products -usually the inexpensive ones that other MUA'ers dislike lol) -but this just would not work for me. I was on a major ELF kick over the past 6 months, and the majority of ELF products I've tried I've been pleased with, until this..
As I said above, I got the shade Porcelain which is the same shade I wear in the ELF Tinted Moisturizer (which I do like). I even slid the compact out of the box in my Target store just to take a peek and make sure it looked like a good match in the pan, and indeed it did. I got home and couldn't wait to try it. I usually kind of "test" new face product's by wearing them around the house on days that I'm not going anywhere to see how they look and hold up, and that is exactally what I did with this as well. From the moment I swiped the puff on my face I had an orange streak, but I continued to apply and blend and apply and blend and figured if it still looked orange when I was done I would try topping it with a little baby powder (J&J Cornstarch Baby Powder usually leaves me more pale than I already am) but no amount of blending OR mixing with lighter powders would work..it was terrible :( Having fair skin I've become used to a lot of powders being a tad too dark for me so this being dark wasn't a total and complete shock, and that's not the reason for my negative review, it's because this was more than a tad too dark, it was *way* too dark, and was the first time that I was completely and totally unable to make a pressed powder work for me.
Other than the fact that a shade called Porcelain was extremely too dark for an NC15 skintone, it is also a bit cakey and chalky/very apparent that there was powder on my skin.
I tried this a total of 4 times, applying it a different way each time to try to lighten it up and tone down the orange-ness while at the same time working on taking away the powdery look, but unfortunately never had success. My final straw with this product was when my husband walked downstairs and said "You know that your makeup is like, 10 shades too dark for your face right? Or are you testing out a new bronzer for summer or something? -Either way, I'm not trying to hurt your feelings, but your makeup is way too dark sweetie..." (And this is from a man that thinks all of my lipsticks look red Lol ;D) After that I never tried it again and actually gave it away. Needless to say I haven't tried any other shades to say if they all have orange undertones or lean dark, but for an NC15, Porcelain is *extremely* too dark, too orange toned, and not to mention the heavy powdery look it left behind :(
Before I gave this product away, I read the reviews here I noticed that another reviewer with fair skin (several reviews below) found this to be too dark as well, but was still able to make this work as a bronzer, so I tried that method, and it *may* have worked if it had not been so orange. It didn't give me a sunkissed/bronzed look, it was more of an oompa loompa look :(
On a positive note, during it's 4 uses this did not give me any breakouts or clogged pores (I have finicky skin) and I also really loved the compact/packaging. The puff has a seperate compartment under the powder which I love, and the puff it came with was also quite soft and fluffy!
I personally will not repurchase and wouldn't reccomend to anyone with pale skin like mine, but given the amount of positive reviews from MUA'ers it is quite possible that the other shades may not lean as dark or orange as Porcelain does..?

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 pelini on 9/12/2012 12:16:00 AM more reviews by pelini

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This has a smooth texture and works as well as Estee Lauder's matte powder for my combination skin for a fraction of the price.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 sarazoes on 5/13/2012 9:14:00 PM more reviews by sarazoes

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

About Me: I'm very fair skinned, beauty obsessed, and find myself trying new products frequently.

I purchased this on a whim when I saw it at my local dollar tree. The only color available was buff, and I am around NC10-15 skin tone. This color is much too dark for my face but makes the perfect bronzer!

It is light/medium coverage but build-able, which is great for my super pale skin. My only complaint is that the formula is extremely powdery and I can only press my brush into the product rather than swirl. But other than that, I love it and find myself reaching for it over my other bronzers (Nars Laguna and /NYC Sunny)! Hope this helps.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More E.L.F. products

More Powder products