Paul Mitchell Lemon Sage Thickening Conditioner

4.3

11 reviews

81% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.3

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.3

Price: $$$

Not tested on animals

INGREDIENTS



Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

For me the conditioner is quite average. Maybe it does thicken the hair a bit, but alongside with this it weighs my hair down. Even though the product has a consistency of light lotion, after using it the hair lacks volume.
The good thing is the smell - fresh and energizing.



on 5/18/2014 7:45:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Oily, Medium, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Brown

This is a very good light-weight conditioner that pairs wonderfully with the matching shampoo. It does provide volume for me and it smells fresh and lemony. It could be a tad more moisturizing for me, but does help with detangling and softening my hair. Sometimes I need a break from heavy conditioning and this is suitable to use when I need something light. It doesn't leave any build-up and it doesn't dry out my ends. My hair still maintains its curl pattern after with minor surface frizz which is fine. I have many styling products that can sleek down the frizzy parts. Overall, this is nice to use for those with fine-to-medium textured hair.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 4/20/2014 10:00:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

I have lots of straight, fine, highlighted, dark blonde hair and have been on the hunt for a great light-weight conditioner for years now (ever since Matrix reformulated my old HG conditioner, The Detangler). I purchased Paul Mitchell's Lemon Sage Thickening Conditioner along w/ the Lemon Sage Thickening Shampoo (which I reviewed separately). Boy, have I been impressed w/ the results! Tons of body & texture and my hair looks very full, healthy & shiny. I also decided to try pairing the Lemon Sage Thickening Conditioner w/ one of my longtime favorite's, Matrix Biolage Hydratherapie/Hydrating Shampoo, & the results have been great!

With fine hair, it's very difficult to find a weightless conditioner that offers enough moisture to smooth and detangle hair and prevent static that also doesn't weigh down the hair and make it look greasy. For me, PM Lemon Sage Thickening Conditioner achieves just that.

Pros: lightweight "conditioning", doesn't weigh hair down thus adds volume, clean, lemon scent, not ridiculously expensive for a higher-end conditioner

Cons: may not provide enough moisture for some, the scent may be an issue for some, pricey compared to DS products, the packaging is not great as the bottle is too rigid to effectively squeeze product out of

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 12/24/2012 12:26:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

this is the best thickening conditioner I've tried so far! I used it with the shampoo. The conditioner is amazing at detangling hair, I was very surprised that I used a tiny bit and didn't have to put a leave-in conditioner afterwards. I combed my hair with a couple of strokes no problems at all (and my hair takes forever to untangle).
As for volume, it does give a good boost (not as good as Abba), hair is very sleek and not dry at all.



ps: I'm posting several reviews on thickening at the same time but I just finished with 'testing'.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 12/21/2012 10:17:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

I have fine /thin hair and I bought this conditioner in hope that it will make my hair to look thicker. At the same time, I expected it will moisturize enough so I could stop using leave-in creams.
By now Iíve used this conditioner few times (without applying leave in creams) and I really wanted to like it but I couldnít. And here are the reasons why:
1) the conditioner does not thick my hair. Moreover, it makes it too soft and less manageable. After I had used this conditioner and went out when the weather was rainy, my hair started to look like a fluffy nest because of the humidity. And it was definitely not the way I wanted to get the volume!
2) it doesnít make my hair smooth enough. If I just touch my hair it feels silky but when I look in the mirror I still see the frizzes that I hate so much. :/
So in the long run I started to use my nourishing leave-in creams again to make my hair look healthy, smoother and more manageable.
The only thing that I like about this conditioner is its' soothing lavender-lemony scent. That's it.
I bought it for 17.50 euro and I donít think it was worth it.
Edit: I am using this conditioner for over a month now. For one reason or another only now I started to notice that it truly slightly thickens my hair. Anyway, I won't buy it again as it is a very poor moisturizer for my hair.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 6/11/2012 5:46:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I haven't actually used this conditioner without the matching shampoo, so I can't be sure how good its own effect is, but in combination, the products work REALLY well. Unfortunately, the shampoo is ridiculously drying and makes my skin feel scratchy and tight. I don't know what I'm going to do about this, because even though I've only been using the products for a few days so far, my hair has never looked better than this. Expensive, but the effect speaks for itself.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 5/10/2011 3:47:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I really do love this conditioner. It's a lightweight conditioner. The smell of this is AMAZING. So fresh and clean. This does an amazing job when I only want a little moisture in my hair, so I tend to use this only in summer (If I want more moisture in winter I like the Redken Smooth Down conditioner) This is perfect for my hair with the Paul Mitchell;- Lavender and Mint Shampoo. I love love this conditioner! i tried the Lavender and Mint conditioner but i didn't like it as much as this. This is perfect, I use this along with the L'Oreal absolut repair conditioner in summer.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

My hair: fine, normal, thick, wavy.

Wonderful daily conditioner, although the shampoo was too drying. The scent is just right. Very lemony and fresh without smelling at all like a household cleaning product--that's the problem I tend to find with lemon-scented body care.

Very light but helps with frizzies and makes my hair look and feel smooth and silky.

Update: after a few weeks of use, I am noticing my hair feeling dryer. Oh, well. It still smells nice.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 10/11/2010 1:46:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Normal, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

I bought this in the liter size so it had the pump which was really convenient. I actually liked this a lot, the smell was lighter than the shampoo and it left my hair really soft. It has also changed the appearance of my hair once it air dries. My hair is slightly more wavy and its prettier than it is with other conditioners.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 7/25/2010 8:58:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Dry, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

This smells amazing! It conditions my hair without weighing it down and adds lots of shine and body. It's pricey but worth it!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.




Top Rated Paul Mitchell Products

image

Tea Tree line

161 reviews
Back to Top