Avon • Skin So Soft Bug Guard Plus SPF 30 • Lotions/ Creams

rated 3.5(24 reviews)

Average Rating.3.5
Would buy this product again.66%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 1 of 5 VioletOrchid on 8/15/2013 7:00:00 PM more reviews by VioletOrchid

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Dry   Hair: Red   Eyes: Violet    

This stuff is awful. (What are people reviewingby the way? This is a lotion in a squeeze bottle, not a spray). So greasy that I was afraid of getting it on my clothes, didn't repel anything, and a smell so potent it made me queasy, a sensation I haven't had since I was pregnant. Not a pleasant product.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* spaflam on 5/15/2013 8:51:00 AM more reviews by spaflam

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

A coworker sells Avon and I needed some bugspray with SPF abnyway so for $7.99 (usually it's $9.99, I think) I got the 4 oz. aerosol can of this.


Unscented - so it smells neutral (like propellant??) to me and so far it seems to be working.


I will update my review once we go to the beach.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Jubilee on 7/15/2011 10:58:00 AM more reviews by Jubilee

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

This stuff was pretty good. I now live in Florida where bugs and sun are a daily concern. I would put this on in the morning and then would go to theme park for a few hours and I wouldn't get burnt or bit. I even wore this for an hour on the beach this week and the half of me that was covered by this (I ran out halfway through application) didn't get burnt. My complaints are it's a bit on the sticky side, and it does not layer well under makeup. But other than that it's a fairly decent sunblock and bug protector.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Multismudge on 4/27/2009 5:45:00 AM more reviews by Multismudge

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Other    

I live in Australia and we have warm weather pretty constantly, with a little bit of winter, (no snow, only in the mountains) in Melbourne. Our summers are pretty severe.
I and a lot of others really LOVE this product! We believe it does work.
When "Charlottes Web" remake was made in Victoria, Australia, the cast actually used this product.
This is really good for little people (children).
Perfume is absolutely great and you do not feel greasy after application.
As a sunscreen you need to apply a couple of hours apart so as not to let the sun get to unprotected skin, like any other sunscreen.
Cost wise, really good when on special, stock up.
Only 2 things Avon could do to make it better.
Larger bottle and a tiny bit thicker lotion. It is convenient enough size to put into your handbag to take anywhere and fragrance could actually be a perfume.
As I said absolutely LOVE IT.
Hope you all have a good summer as we are going into winter.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* unseelie_fae on 11/11/2008 3:06:00 PM more reviews by unseelie_fae

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Does not work! I totally got eaten alive by bugs!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Chigal on 6/1/2006 5:25:00 PM more reviews by Chigal

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

I purchased this for the first time a few years ago, when my then-baby's sensitive skin couldn't handle any other sunscreen (besides Clarins, which is sadly too expensive for us). I liked the fact that, in addition to a good SPF factor, this contained protection from bugs as well.

I've been using it on my kids (now ages 3 and 6) with absolutely no complaints. Initially, I bought the "Cool Blue" style, but honestly, it makes a terrible mess and smells sickly sweet. The regular style (white bottle with orange cap) is fine. It's very easy to put on a good layer of it. You do have to be careful (as with any other product) to avoid getting it into eyes (last summer my then-two-year-old kept rubbing it into them by accident and he'd be miserable). However, I can honestly say my kids have (a) never had a negative skin reaction to it, and (b) have never gotten sunburnt or bug-bitten while wearing it.

I do advise (as with any other sun product) reapplication after swimming and/or a long period of time in the sun. But this product holds up really well to my active boys, and the price is really reasonable. The tube looks small but lasts quite some time. I tend to purchase four tubes in May and they usually last me for most of the summer (I keep one or two at home, one in the diaper bag, etc.).

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Trinity_Jane on 2/24/2006 7:01:00 AM more reviews by Trinity_Jane

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry   Hair: Red   Eyes: Blue    

I'm highly allergic to DET (the main ingredient in almost all bug repellents) and this works wonderfully. It is runny but for not having any bug bites, it's a compromise.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* dusty333 on 6/28/2005 4:53:00 PM more reviews by dusty333

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Red, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Blue    

LOVE THIS STUFF!!!! It comes in a pump or a spray can. You can get it super cheap on sale. I use the can with the kids at school and it is not greasy at all. Perfect and easy. The pump I use on my own varmints at home at at the pool. It is oily like the SSS oil, but it stays on very well and has a pleasent scent. This is the best stuff ever. If the pump is too greasy try the can.......

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* rowenaaine on 6/28/2005 1:52:00 PM more reviews by rowenaaine

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I'm sure as far as SPF goes this will protect your skin, but I could not get past the greasy, sticky feel. I couldn't bear to use it more than twice, and gave it away to a friend.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* missamerica32 on 6/19/2005 12:12:00 AM more reviews by missamerica32

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I LOVE this stuff! It is Deet free, so I can put it on my baby, and I can hold my baby while wearing it without the worry of poisoning him. It keeps the bugs off. The pump does have a greasy feel, but it's not so bad to me, but the aerosol is GREAT! It doesn't leave that greasy feel at all & works just as good!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Avon products

More Lotions/ Creams products