Philip Kingsley Elasticizer

4.4

87 reviews

83% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$$$

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$$$

INGREDIENTS

Aqua (Water), Ricinus Communis (Castor) Seed Oil, Glycerin, Propylene Glycol, Cetearyl Alcohol, Ethylhexyl Dimethyl PABA, Olea Europaea (Olive) Husk Oil, Cetylpyridinium Chloride, Amodimethicone, Diazolidinyl Urea, Hydrolyzed Elastin, Methylparaben, Cetrimonium Chloride, Trideceth-12, Propylparaben, Sodium Benzoate.


on 6/21/2015 8:27:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I feel stupid shelling out for this. It made my hair feel very dry - which is opposite to how it feels with a bog standard conditioner. Cost £28 with cap. I prefer the mega cheap coconut oil mask from Superdrug which I have reviewed, that is a tenth of the price of this one, and ten times more effective. Not sure how this became so well thought of.



on 5/29/2015 11:14:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Black

One word - Godsend.

Seriously, this product has saved my life. Let me start with the dire state of my hair. First, I'm asian, so that means my hair itself is coarse. I also have natural curls/waves (which are NOT neat) and I live in Singapore, where the humidity is like 98% ALL the time. This means my hair is literally a walking frizz ball.

Last year, I went to perm my hair and I had thought that the lady did an exceptionally good job of not making it damaged from the perming. So I had false confidence on the condition of my hair and went on a spree of dyeing my hair to touch up the roots every 1.5 months after the perm. Bad idea. Coupled with using the diffuser every night to set the curls, it was Road To Disaster. True enough, just about 2 months ago (after maybe like 4 dyeing sessions), my hair started becoming extremely (and I mean extremely) dry. Regardless of my usual save-the-day conditioners, it wouldn't improve. I got a fright one day when I ran my fingers through my hair and found nothing but damaged ends, kinks and all those horrible things (somehow only on certain sections, I suspect most damaged by the hairdryer).

Solution? Snip. I thought cutting off some length would do it. However, to my horror, it did not get better. I did not realise how far up my hair the damage had gone. I had chopped off at least 3 inches and STILL my hair was in a horrible state. I could not see the shape of the new hair cut simply because the hair was so damaged and dry that it was literally hard and stick straight. There was zero movement to my hair and I was just so upset.

By now I was desperate, but being a miser, I refused to spend $200 a month on a hair treatment. I asked friends for recommendations and the Philip Kingsley Elasticizer came up. It finally arrived last night, and needless to say, I immediately put it to the test.

It's AMAZING. I left it on for 40 minutes instead of the recommended 10-20, and then proceeded as directed with the shampooing after. I left my hair to air dry without adding on my usual styling oil. This morning - soft, shiny hair I swear I have not seen for MONTHS. It's earned a permanent place in my shower and I will continue to use it regularly (I hear it only gets better with each use). The next round, I'm going to add on a heated cap.

If it's good enough for Audrey Hepburn...

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 5/2/2015 3:50:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I'm a big fan of this for giving my dry damaged hair a good treat! It leaves my hair so much softer and improves the condition so it is my number one mask. If there was one negative it's the process of putting it on - for a lazy girl like me having to wet my hair, then put it on, then shampoo off etc, means I don't use it just as much as I would like


on 3/22/2015 10:04:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

After reading all the rave reviews I thought my dry frizzy damaged color treated blond highlighted fine hair could use this. I was underwhelmed, my hair was left a little bit softer but nothing my other conditioners at less then half the price cannot do. Even applying castor oil and avocado oils before washing my hair has helped and delivered better results than this product (and only cost $8 each) I think this product is completely overpriced and Overrated.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 11/27/2014 8:41:00 PM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Very Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I didn't realize that I'd not reviewed this previously.


Before I get to my hair, and why I love this so much, let me add an excerpt from the Philip Kingsley website:

"The story behind Elasticizer is truly remarkable involving one of the world’s greatest beauty icons, Audrey Hepburn. She initially sought Philip’s advice in his London Clinic in 1974, concerned that her hair was in bad condition due to over processing and constant styling on set. Upon her request, Philip went to work in his Green St. Laboratory and formulated Elasticizer – the world’s first pre-shampoo conditioning treatment."


Now, getting back to my hair...

I have wavy, dry, somewhat coarse, color treated hair. The natural color has always faded easily, so even though I'm technically a medium dark brunette at the roots, by time it reaches any length at all it has a lot of red and golden tones. And, the whole natural highlights thing was a-okay until I started to get really grey at the top and around my face.

The contrast between warm and cool isn't all that flattering, and so I've been coloring my hair for close to 20 years, either by a professional or at home—which brings me to this product.

It has absolutely saved my hair on a number of occasions.

Yes, it is a "nice" conditioner when used on wet hair, and left on for a few minutes before shampooing. But, it is an AWESOME, nothing even compares conditioner, when used on almost dry , just damp hair, (not dripping wet) with heat added for a half hour or so.

(And, if you don't have a heated treatment cap, just do yourself a favor and get one! They're affordable and make maintaining hair at home so much easier!)


I think it would be great to leave on overnight, and the company does recommend this in a video they produced, but I've had problems in the past with allergic reactions (itching, swollen lymph nodes) when I try leaving any conditioner in my hair and sleeping in it. It just doesn't work for me, although I've never tried it with this exact product.

It isn't that easy to obtain Elasticizer in the US. Although it currently is available on Amazon. I've ordered directly from the manufacturer in the past... I don't particularly like the large tub size with the pump, just because the product is so thick that the pump does not work that well, and I end up scooping up with my fingers anyway.

Used as it is intended to be used, it is just incredible. I've used high end products that I love (almost anything Oribe) mid range ones that are favorites too, such as One n' Only, and some drugstore hair products But none of them compare with the results I get with this pre-shampoo conditioner. It totally rocks.

Remember to use it no closer than 48 hours before or after color or other chemical processing. If used at the same time, it could possibly interfere with hair taking/keeping color. I try to make the effort to use both before and after, especially when higher volume bleach is involved.

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.


on 9/25/2014 12:07:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Good product but the Elasticizer Extreme blows this out of the water. I have bought and used both of them, and compared to the Extreme version I think the original Elasticizer is a decent pre-shampoo treatment but its results are not as impressive or noticeable as Extreme's. My hair looked and felt okay (actually better than okay) after using this but there was no "wow factor". It didn't seem worth the extra effort and expense. Unlike the Elasticizer Extreme- that's a product that I will buy again and again!
For reference my hair is thick, dry, wavy-texture, color-treated, and I heat-style it regularly. So it needs a little extra TLC from time to time. I will stick to buying the Elasticizer Extreme.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.


on 9/10/2014 11:36:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I love this product! My mushy slimy bleached hair actually looks and feels like human hair just after one use. I just had my hair bleached twice at a salon last week and to say it was damaged is an understatement. FYI I had medium brown hair that was bleached, colored and toned to a pretty level 10 cool blonde. Nice color but now my hair is fried. I purchased this philip kingsley elasticizer hoping for a miracle and got one. Will def repurchase and felt this product blows kerastse mask out of the water in terms of delivering results. The other saving grace products (in case there is someone else in the same boat and I can help) was a Aphogee two step protein treatment from Sally beauty, joico k pack reconstructor, pure argon oil, and infusium spray in treatment.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 5/24/2014 10:54:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

Disappointment. I have fine hair and with this product makes it waaaay too soft. Will not buy again


on 5/22/2014 8:41:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

I purchased a small tube of this when I decided to try some of the PK line. I had to laugh when I saw the ingredients - it's mainly castor oil. My husband swears by castor oil, he uses it once a week and is the only male in his family to still have all of his hair. I occasionally nab some for my eyelashes, and despite curling every day they never fall out. So, I'm sure this is great for hair, because castor oil is great for hair. I'll use it up but I won't repurchase because it's much cheaper to do a hot oil treatment with the oil itself.

5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.


on 5/5/2014 8:30:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

I recently ran out of Elasticizer Extreme, so thought I would try this instead - was I ever glad I did. I am fortunate to have many of the high end products, Kerastase, Joico, Pureology etc, but nothing beats the original Elasticizer. I am a single process blond with bra strap length hair that I have been growing. My hair is porous and prone to damage and breakage. This product has transformed my hair into beautiful shimmering silk and the effects last. My ends even look smooth and this is amazing for me, even if I don't blow dry ( I am trying to reduce heat on my hair where possible). I use as recommended, wet hair, massage in the product, pop in a plastic cap and leave for around an hour. Rinse and shampoo twice to remove. My hair feels so light and swingy, I have also noticed previous areas of breakage are starting to grow down, I ended up with unwanted layers due to extension damage, now even these are gaining length. I am very fussy about hair products and their often miraculous claims, but I have found this really works and it will help me grow my hair even longer. This product comes in small sizes so you can try it before investing in a large size.

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.




Top Rated Philip Kingsley Products

image

Elasticizer

87 reviews
Back to Top