Unlisted Brand • Invisible Zinc - Face & Body Sunscreen SPF 30+ • Sunscreen

rated 2.7(12 reviews)

Average Rating.2.7
Would buy this product again.50%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 1 of 5 shanx on 8/7/2013 2:03:00 AM more reviews by shanx

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I really hated this sunscreen. After using for one day I broke out in blackheads all over my face, I am waaaay past the teenage stage. It also made my six year old break out on her nose.
Luckily my other daughter had no reaction so she will use it up. It is good for sun protection IF you don't have a reaction, personally would not touch again with a barge pole.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 melly845 on 3/13/2013 1:54:00 AM more reviews by melly845

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I don't find this leaves a white cast if you rub it in properly. I also have acne-prone skin and this doesn't break me out. So I'm not sure what everyone is complaining about, unless they have recently improved the formula. It's not overly thick and rubs in easily, but being zinc you do need to rub it in a little more vigorously than normal sunscreen. It is also extremely effective, one application will last hours and you won't get burnt at all even in very hot direct sunlight/high UV. Highly recommended and will repurchase.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Mum85 on 1/16/2013 6:12:00 PM more reviews by Mum85

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Oily, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this because iv taken sun protect alittle more seriously and other brands have broken me out everywhere,I was recommended this brand and iv never looked back,yes it's alittle greasy but at least I don't get breakouts from it,it doesn't leave a white cast on me and I'm tan medium.its alittle hard to wash off I have to double cleanse,the tube and flip top lid is easy to use,the texture is alittle hard to spread but warm it between your hands and it'll work better when putting it on,I haven't tanned or burnt while having this stuff on,in still my original winter shade and we'r right in the middle of summer here in Australia.the price is what puts me off and the fact the it's got a self life of only 6 months even with preservative in it,weird most things are 12months.but overall I would re purchase again because it goes well with my skin type

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 rosaleen1 on 11/10/2012 9:58:00 PM more reviews by rosaleen1

Age: 30-35   Skin: Other, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

The good stuff: this is an excellent cover for the body, starting perhaps with the shoulders/decolletage down, and gives a reliable defense against the most piercing Australian sunshine. The zinc is finely milled (if that's the word) so it's not really that visible.

The not-good stuff: there is no way anyone would want to put this on their face. It has a thick, gluey texture which leaves a discernible white sheen. I'm not surprised at reviews which state that it made the reviewer break out.

Also, it is drying & difficult to get off.

Why I'd buy it again: I live in Australia, and although Melbourne is cooler than other parts of the country, we still get some stinging hot weather and, on really hot days, sunshine that fries pale skin within minutes. With this stuff on, it's like my skin is warmed by the sun but not touched by it, if that makes sense.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 anhydo on 12/31/2011 10:34:00 AM more reviews by anhydo

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Is not "invisible " , thick to apply , difficult to wash off and very drying on my skin , will definelty not buy this product again !!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 leea on 11/26/2011 12:50:00 AM more reviews by leea

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

Protection: If you are very serious about health and sun protection, then this is possibly the safest, most effective sunscreen you can find. There is a good reason why Invisible Zinc use zinc oxide as the sole active sunscreen agent in their products. Studies have shown that some organic compounds commonly used in sunscreens (namely, oxybenzone, benzophenone, octocrylene and octylmethoxycinnamate) can react under sunlight and form free radicals, which can damage DNA and potentially cause cancer. Zinc oxide and titanium dioxide, on the other hand, are inorganic compounds and are very stable. However, titanium dioxide is inferior to zinc oxide only because it doesn't provide good protection in the UVA spectrum. Zinc oxide provides broad spectrum UVA/UVB protection. And that is why zinc oxide is such a suitable active ingredient for use in sunscreens. For those who are unaware, 30+ is the highest SPF rating allowed in Australia.

Texture and application: It takes a bit of work to blend, leaves a white cast and proves difficult to remove. But again, if you are very concerned about proper sun protection, then you may be able to overlook this since a good sunscreen needs to be dense in order to provide full protection. A good sunscreen should also last on the skin and not rub off immediately. Although you can certainly use this on the face, most people would find this too thick. If that is your concern, there are other products in the range specifically formulated for the face which feel more comfortable on the face. I personally don't use this on my face unless I know I will be exposed to the sun for a prolonged period of time and require the best protection I can get. For daily use on the face, I am looking at powder sunscreens (i.e. Peter Thomas Roth Mineral Instant SPF) since traditional sunscreens such as this one have greasy bases.

Overall, this is a heavy duty sunscreen that offers very good sun protection. Probably too heavy for most people on a daily basis but a good one to have for extended outdoor activities.

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 snailmail on 9/11/2011 8:22:00 PM more reviews by snailmail

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

When you try to apply this product, it feels really slippery and is very hard to rub in. The protection factor is OK, but you can get that with the non-zinc varieties with much less effort. The other major problem I found with this product, particularly when using it on the face, is the fact that it is extremely hard to wash off. I used an exfoliating cream because I had some difficulty previously getting the zinc off my face. Despite this, I still had traces of makeup and zinc left on my face. I just don't think its worth the effort really.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* tinkerrbelle on 12/22/2010 12:50:00 AM more reviews by tinkerrbelle

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

The name "Invisible" is a mis-nomer because it leaves a sticky white caste on my skin (I am very fair). It "melts" into a liquid sticky thick oily mess when you get into the hot skin, even when I thought I had rubbed it well in before.
No-one I know likes the strong sickly baby powder fragrance. None of my friends will let me make a gift it to them, the just say it stinks and wrinkle their nose - and they are the ones that usually have their hands out for any beauty product going! Men especially express strong disgust at it.


HIGHLY COMEDOGENIC. I got masses of itching hard clogged pores, bumps and some pimples. On my face, on my chest, neck and arms, even behind my ears and inside my elbows! The worse was a rough patch of 50 or so behind each ear. I have never experienced anything this bad in all the creams I have ever used on my skin in my entire life.


The last note I want to say is its impossible to completely wash this stuff off. After a day using this face and body, I used tons of soap and cleanser, then exfoliated all over face and body, and STILL i could see white dots of clogged sunblock sitting in my skin and a white caste all over. Probably that is why I got all those comedones (like a raised blackhead that looks white as it hasn't had time to oxidise). They probably know its hard to remove too, as they try to sell you a companion heavy-duty cleanser to remove the stuff. No other sunblock I've ever heard of needs that. Would not recommend.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Jstar2009 on 7/28/2010 8:26:00 PM more reviews by Jstar2009

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

CIBA gives this a PPD of 9.1. It does leave a white cast, and is quite thick. However, the formulation is quite malleable so you can rub this in and it will diminish the white cast so you can wear it day to day. Also, for such a high percentage of zinc (18%) it is quite moisturizing and I have dry skin (for example, my skin CANNOT stand Dermalogica Super Sensitive spf 30- think sahara). I would buy it again.

UPDATE: They have reformulated this and it is officially my HG sunscreen! Its much creamier and easier to apply. Smells like a lovely baby cream. Continuous use of this has also evened out my skin tone. It's also great for my eye area, chemical sunscreens make me feel baggy- not with this though! Awesome for my dry skin, too. LOVE LOVE LOVE!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* rtauschke2 on 3/15/2010 10:19:00 PM more reviews by rtauschke2

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

No I'm not happy with this at all. I wore this everyday for 6 days whilst on holidays and returned covered in freckles and even got burnt one day! The protection factor is very questionable. Also, this is extremely thick, too thick to use on your body. It takes too much work to rub it in which feels damaging to my skin from pulling etc. It leaves a very noticeable white cast. This clogs my pores like a mofo and seems to dry my skin out somewhat. It may be chemical free and non nano, but no its not a good option at all.

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Unlisted Brand products

More Sunscreen products