Essie Midnight Cami

4.2

31 reviews

74% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



on 3/19/2015 5:37:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I love essie and I wanted the blue balck polish so i wound the perfect colour is applys easy but it does stein even if you use base coat I am in love with this colour it only takes one coat for ful cover, removel is easy but after revoval I had toe use dark to hide the rest. but this colour I would definitely buy again it did not chip that fast just after 3 weeks I noticed that it started to chip I will recommend it to anybody looking for a blue black polish.



on 1/12/2015 2:13:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Normal, Other, Warm

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I can't add anything else that hasn't already been said. This is a very beautiful blue. As for the staining, I feel like many others here who don't really mind it because the polish is so nice. Just have a buffer block on hand to help you out if you encounter staining on your nails.


on 7/23/2014 7:46:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

Midnight cami is my go to colour! Looks great with my fair skin and amazing with my fake tans! I found a similar colour in shellac and wanted a normal polish of my own. Essie was not available where I lived until recently and I'm so glad! Dries quickly, no streaks and great shine! Only issue, as said by others, colour stains and runs to cuticles. I love the colour too much to care though! Will be repurchasing this colour and others in the future


on 5/29/2014 5:47:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

this nailpolish is a PITA, because it stains your nails after removal, and if you don't take good care of your cuticles before putting it on, it stains your cuticles and is awful to work with

However

It's worth it to prep your nails beforehand, and carefully put midnight cami on, because it is GORGEOUS!

this is the blue version of my all time fave np, OPI's lincoln park after dark. It is similar in the fact that it's a very vampy, almost black from far away, shade. I first discovered this in a nail salon. I got a mani and another customer remarked how classy/pretty the shade was.

Midnight cami has a fine microshimmer that is really only visible in sunlight.

Perfect dark dark blue vampy nailpolish. This is definitely one of Essie's must haves.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 1/12/2014 1:43:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Other, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I have a love/hate relationship with this color. The deep midnight blue black with subtle shimmer is so beautiful. But the formula...! It's a pain. Which makes me not reach for it.

It's thin and floods my cuticles and skin if I'm not careful. I really have to put in the effort to maneuver the product on my nails. On the other hand, it is a one-coater (though I always use two coats).

It's also quite a stainer compared to other dark blues that I have. That doesn't bother me that much but thought I'd mention it.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


Age: 44-55

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool

Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

I got this on recommendation because I wanted a deep blue with what I think of as "hidden" shimmer, that is, the polish is dark but in certain lighting, shows a deep, lit-from-within flash of colour. And this polish definitely fits the bill on that count. A test of this polish on some white cardboard and some comparison to other dark blue polishes shows me that this one is definitely what I'd call "midnight blue" as opposed to navy or indigo (blurple).

I can get away with one coat of this, pretty much, because it's got great coverage and depth of colour. I definitely would not wear this without a base coat, however; heavily pigmented, dark polishes like this tend to stain, and while I haven't had problems with that, I wouldn't want to try it to find out.

No problems with removal, happily (sometimes dark polishes can be a pain to remove, but this was entirely fine).

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 12/12/2013 9:51:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Normal, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

This is probably my favorite deep blue polish next to Chanel Blue Satin. It's a rich inky blue that has a subtle shimmer. While this is about as dark as it gets for a navy blue, it still manages to stop just short of looking black. The shimmer is very soft which I prefer to a full on frost. The formula on this one is outstanding. It applies like butter and gives full coverage after two thin coats. Definitely one worthy of having for vamp lovers!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 9/30/2013 11:19:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This is my 2nd bottle of this color and I love it! Super dark navy with shimmer....u really only see the shimmer in the bright light but still very pretty. I like that it almost looks black due to I don't really like a blue nail on my finger tips but u gotta get this one!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I recently bought this color after being very frustrated with the dark nail color i previously had on. The application was very nice and smooth. The formula is the perfect blend of liquid and cream. The polish was opaque at one coat, however I used two just to ensure longer wear. The one weird thing about this polish was the smell, it smelled almost like wet cement. But this polish is worth the grab!

As huge of a fan I am of this polish however, you really need a base coat and a top coat. It chips super easily and stains very strongly.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 3/1/2013 9:12:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

I was looking for a dark blue polish for a very long time and when I came across Essie's Midnight Cami, I immediately had to purchase it to give it a try! It is a nice colour, but as others have mentioned, it chips fairly easily (that being said I didn't use a topcoat, but compared to OPI polish in which I also don't use a topcoat, Essie's lasting power was much shorter)- but the most significant disappoint of mine in this product is that it has certainly stained my nails blue! I often like to remove one polish and give my nails a break from polish for a few days to breathe, but after removing this one, I had to immediately apply another polish to mask the sickly blue tint of my nails!

As another reviewer mentioned - a base coat maybe would solve this issue, but I for one, am rather low maintenance and don't often bother with either base or top coats.




Top Rated Essie Products

image

A-List

29 reviews
image

Lady Like

64 reviews
image

Watermelon

48 reviews
image

Chinchilly

134 reviews
Back to Top