Essie • Midnight Cami • Polishes

rated 4.1(29 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.72%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 hannahros3 on 7/23/2014 7:46:00 AM more reviews by hannahros3

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

Midnight cami is my go to colour! Looks great with my fair skin and amazing with my fake tans! I found a similar colour in shellac and wanted a normal polish of my own. Essie was not available where I lived until recently and I'm so glad! Dries quickly, no streaks and great shine! Only issue, as said by others, colour stains and runs to cuticles. I love the colour too much to care though! Will be repurchasing this colour and others in the future

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Cactus_Pear on 5/29/2014 5:47:00 AM more reviews by Cactus_Pear

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

this nailpolish is a PITA, because it stains your nails after removal, and if you don't take good care of your cuticles before putting it on, it stains your cuticles and is awful to work with

However

It's worth it to prep your nails beforehand, and carefully put midnight cami on, because it is GORGEOUS!

this is the blue version of my all time fave np, OPI's lincoln park after dark. It is similar in the fact that it's a very vampy, almost black from far away, shade. I first discovered this in a nail salon. I got a mani and another customer remarked how classy/pretty the shade was.

Midnight cami has a fine microshimmer that is really only visible in sunlight.

Perfect dark dark blue vampy nailpolish. This is definitely one of Essie's must haves.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* GacktCamui on 1/12/2014 1:43:00 AM more reviews by GacktCamui

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I have a love/hate relationship with this color. The deep midnight blue black with subtle shimmer is so beautiful. But the formula...! It's a pain. Which makes me not reach for it.

It's thin and floods my cuticles and skin if I'm not careful. I really have to put in the effort to maneuver the product on my nails. On the other hand, it is a one-coater (though I always use two coats).

It's also quite a stainer compared to other dark blues that I have. That doesn't bother me that much but thought I'd mention it.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* bonniherself on 1/6/2014 1:37:00 AM more reviews by bonniherself

Age: 44-55   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I got this on recommendation because I wanted a deep blue with what I think of as "hidden" shimmer, that is, the polish is dark but in certain lighting, shows a deep, lit-from-within flash of colour. And this polish definitely fits the bill on that count. A test of this polish on some white cardboard and some comparison to other dark blue polishes shows me that this one is definitely what I'd call "midnight blue" as opposed to navy or indigo (blurple).

I can get away with one coat of this, pretty much, because it's got great coverage and depth of colour. I definitely would not wear this without a base coat, however; heavily pigmented, dark polishes like this tend to stain, and while I haven't had problems with that, I wouldn't want to try it to find out.

No problems with removal, happily (sometimes dark polishes can be a pain to remove, but this was entirely fine).

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* niclyf on 12/12/2013 9:51:00 AM more reviews by niclyf

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This is probably my favorite deep blue polish next to Chanel Blue Satin. It's a rich inky blue that has a subtle shimmer. While this is about as dark as it gets for a navy blue, it still manages to stop just short of looking black. The shimmer is very soft which I prefer to a full on frost. The formula on this one is outstanding. It applies like butter and gives full coverage after two thin coats. Definitely one worthy of having for vamp lovers!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 BADKITTY13 on 9/30/2013 11:19:00 PM more reviews by BADKITTY13

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This is my 2nd bottle of this color and I love it! Super dark navy with shimmer....u really only see the shimmer in the bright light but still very pretty. I like that it almost looks black due to I don't really like a blue nail on my finger tips but u gotta get this one!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 withlovemelanie on 7/25/2013 10:44:00 PM more reviews by withlovemelanie

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Olive   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I recently bought this color after being very frustrated with the dark nail color i previously had on. The application was very nice and smooth. The formula is the perfect blend of liquid and cream. The polish was opaque at one coat, however I used two just to ensure longer wear. The one weird thing about this polish was the smell, it smelled almost like wet cement. But this polish is worth the grab!

As huge of a fan I am of this polish however, you really need a base coat and a top coat. It chips super easily and stains very strongly.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 roselo on 3/1/2013 9:12:00 PM more reviews by roselo

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I was looking for a dark blue polish for a very long time and when I came across Essie's Midnight Cami, I immediately had to purchase it to give it a try! It is a nice colour, but as others have mentioned, it chips fairly easily (that being said I didn't use a topcoat, but compared to OPI polish in which I also don't use a topcoat, Essie's lasting power was much shorter)- but the most significant disappoint of mine in this product is that it has certainly stained my nails blue! I often like to remove one polish and give my nails a break from polish for a few days to breathe, but after removing this one, I had to immediately apply another polish to mask the sickly blue tint of my nails!

As another reviewer mentioned - a base coat maybe would solve this issue, but I for one, am rather low maintenance and don't often bother with either base or top coats.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Bunnyisms on 3/1/2013 1:46:00 AM more reviews by Bunnyisms

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This polish is such a pretty color. In poor lighting, it can look almost black, but in sunlight, it's such a pretty shimmery deep, dark blue. One thing I like about it is it has a fairly thin formula that goes on very smoothly. Another thing is that it's intense enough that one does not need to use much more than 1-2 coats. In contrast, many deeper polishes tend to look a bit anemic if one does not use a second coat. In addition, with my usual base/top coats, this color lasted on my nails nearly two weeks without chipping despite the fact that I only used one coat rather than my usual two. Everyone's nails are different so how long it lasts varies, but for me, this works really well.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 periwinklebow on 2/28/2013 9:15:00 AM more reviews by periwinklebow

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

After eyeing this colour for quite some time, I decided to finally go out and purchase it a little while ago. I love the way the colour looks! Although this colour is gorgeous, the lasting power was very bad. I use Essie Good To Go topcoat which works really well and it started chipping after two days. If you really like this colour, and want to wear it, I would suggest applying a layer of black (Essie Licorice is great!) which will extend the life of the nail polish.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Essie products

More Polishes products