NYX Eyeshadow Base in White

3.5

99 reviews

59% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.4

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.4

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

*Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride, *Mineral Oil, Microcrystalline Wax, *Silica (and) Methicone, BHT, Dipentaerythrityl Hexahydroxystearate/Hexastearate/HexarosinateRicinus Communic (Castor) Seed Oil, *Sorbitan Sesquioleate, Octyldodecyl Myristate, Polyethylene, Fragrance, Butylparaben, Nylon-66, Ceresin,*Tocopheryl Acetate, Polyethylene, Titanium Dioxide (CI 77891)


on 6/20/2015 11:18:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

Does not go on evenly and fades quickly.



on 6/10/2015 12:51:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

Reading so many reviews on this and I must say that I don't have any issues with this product and in fact love using it to make colorful shadows (MUFE Artist Palette #2, Sleek Acid, UD Electric, ABH Artist Palette, etc) really POP. I do use a primer, usually UDPP or TFSI, and allow to set for a couple of minutes and then apply this as a base. It is an eye shadow base and not a primer, so without a primer this alone will not prevent creasing. I blend this lightly from lash to brow and then apply my shadow. When I want to line my eyes with a vibrant shadow, I smudge some of this under my lower lashes and dab a bit more at my upper lash line and apply shadow right over it. I have experienced that an open jar can get a bit dry so I always store my jar products (eyeliners, cream shadows, cream blushes, concealers, color correctors, etc) upside down and it really does help keep them moist and usable much longer than storing upright. I read that tip somewhere and have been doing it since and immediately noticed a huge difference with my cream and gel eyeliners, eventually started doing it with all my cream and gel makeup that comes in jars.


on 6/9/2015 11:31:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Medium Brown, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Ok, so I brought this product from Target for about $6.00 two days ago. I was super excited and could not wait to try it out. Sadly I became very disappointed the following day because the NYC white eyeshadow primer did not do the most basic function I needed it to do
(Intensify my eye shadow!!!) =(

#1.The primer was oily and creamy, I had to reapply it multiple time just for the white to show

#2. It did Not intensify any color

#3. Eyeshadow did not apply smoothly, it looked weird

#4. Over time my eyeshadow looked all cracked up

#5.Every time I applied the NYC white primer it did not stay put. My lids were not oily and I tried two different applications, 1with a clean dry makeup brush and a clean dry finger, both showed the same result.

#6. My entire eyelid burned, broke out within 6hr.

" This product mat have an ingredient that I'm allergic to." So #6 may not happen to you"

I wish I loved this product but sorry I won't buy again.


on 6/1/2015 10:42:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

I don't think this works like a eyeshadow primer. But it's a nice base and helps the shadows become mor pigmented. I don't think I'm going to buy this product again.


on 5/29/2015 2:03:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

For its intended purpose, I'm sure this sucks. I have the pearl version and used it on my eyes for a long time before realizing how totally awful it looked, and how it eliminated any shading/depth in my eye shadows, not to mention being slippery. But I don't use this for eyes. And because of that, this is my new favorite thing ever and I really hope they don't discontinue it. Here's the thing: I'm very fair skinned, and I have trouble creating any highlight or "illuminated" effects. Enter THIS. I use it (sparingly, mind you) under my brow, on my cheekbones, and under my eyes (on that sad, puffy/saggy under eye area) and then put foundation over it, and my makeup looks SOOO much better, you guys. Like, whole other level better. I can't even tell you how much smoother and more bright my face looks after using this. I have a feeling this won't be around for much longer and I have half a mind to just buy up every single jar I can find... (And for any fair-skinned girls who might've tried the lavender concealer by Nyx for a similar purpose, I can tell you this works 100 times better than that.)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 5/2/2015 10:21:00 AM

Age: Unknown

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

I would be nice if this actually worked as a primer too. My eyeshadow was a creased mess after 4 hours. So you need a primer under this. I do like the white base very much. I apply it with a brush.


on 4/15/2015 10:25:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brown, Other, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I have slightly oily lids, I can get by with Estee Lauder, Mac, Dior eye shadow even without primer.

Don't know why I bought this, guess it is the sales talk. Anyways, this does nothing to prime my lids, even so, it makes my lids oilier and crease my shadows like crazy.

Another waste of my money...


on 3/18/2015 2:03:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

I love this. You can bring it up to your brow bone for a nice highlight. It holds the eyeshadow really well and let's the color be as true possible. Even the sheerest of shades look really opaque with this. No where locally to me carries it so I have to buy online but I don't mind. It's a great item and I swear by it. Just make sure even the parts you highlight with this you use a powder to set because it CAN and will crease on you.
My biggest critique is how hard it is to get the product out if you've been using it for a while.


on 3/7/2015 6:08:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I don't know what all the negativity is about... But I love this thing. I wear a primer underneath and put this on top as a base because that's what it is. It makes my eyeshadows have a better color payoff and makes them look more vibrant .. I use the primer to prevent creasing :)


Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Medium Brown, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

The very first eyeshadow base that I have. I don't really play make up for eyes, so this product just seems ok to me. Also, I wear it only for special ocassion when I need eye make up.


Back to Top