Essie Mint Candy Apple

4.2

239 reviews

79% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.3

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.3

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



on 6/18/2015 5:31:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Dry, Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I don't know where the name came from because it's not a mint at all. I would describe it as a bright blue with maybe a hint of green. I love the color, it's bright and gorgeous, and screams spring and summer.. The formula is a little difficult and it can take two or even three coats to cover completely. In my opinion, it's worth if for the color. I'm on my first first bottle, but since it's a favorite I am planning to repurchase.



on 6/13/2015 1:23:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Dry, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Mint? It looks just pastel blue to me. I find this polish very streaky and application is very difficult with the thin brush. It takes forever to dry. I loved it when applied by a professional at the salon but I can't get a good result by myself at home, although I'm quite a veteran nail painter. I won't repurchase.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 6/12/2015 10:42:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

This is THE perfect mint color!!! My fave color is mint/turquoise. MCA is definitely more on the "mint" colored side (doesn't really show up blue toned on my nails). I purchased this when it first came out so I'm not sure if the color has been tweaked since then. It has great opacity as well. I was initially worried that I would need to slap on multiple layers (like a lot of pastel colors i have tried - not from Essie though). I can usually get away with applying 2 coats of this. It gives me a nice solid color. This is my first Essie purchase, and I was always hesitant due to the price tag, but I would definitely be purchasing more!!! It dries fast and stays nice and shiny!! It's been 2 days and so far no chipping!


on 6/8/2015 3:11:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Blue

Hightly pigmented! You can get away with one coat. Average as far as chipping/longevity goes. Very flattering colour that stands out and will score you some compliments!


on 5/1/2015 7:08:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This is a must-have Essie polish! It is a perfectly opaque, stark, minty light-blue. Because it really does look more blue than green, the name is misleading. This is an absolutely gorgeous pastel, it doesn't look chalky or dull. Excellent formula as well, no problems with application or wear.
I love the way this polish looks and I'd definitely buy it again.
Recommended!


on 4/26/2015 9:22:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

This is an amazing colour. .especially for summer. I do love it but other reviewers were right wen they mentioned Careful application. .I applied base coat, two thin layers then top coat this morning and my nails looked great! But after only a few hours four nails are chipped already so I took a star off for that. Still in love with the colour though


Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Grey

I really like the color of this nail polish, but compared to my other Essie polishes, it's quite difficult to apply. The first coat was sheer and very streaky, but I always apply two coats of polish anyway, however I found that when I applied a second coat, the polish would drag and kind of just slide around on my nail. I would say that you need about three coats for this to look decent. Overall, I'd recommend Mint Candy Apple because it's a lovely color, but it does take some time and effort to apply it nicely.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 1/27/2015 9:43:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

Streaktastic, leaving bald spots. :-(

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 11/21/2014 2:14:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Green

I hate to be a downer, but I'm not really all that impressed with this nail polish. First and foremost is the color. It's called "Mint Candy Apple" but on me, there's absolutely nothing mint about it. It's a basic pastel blue color on my nails. Some pictures online show it to be more of the minty pastel green shade you would expect, but most look like more of a robin's egg blue. (On me, it's not even as bright or pigmented as robin's egg blue.) In reading the reviews, ALL of the older ones refer to it as a minty pastel green color. One even said it's like the color of mint chocolate chip ice cream, which has absolutely no blue in it at all! But when you look at the newer reviews, the vast majority of people say it's just a pastel blue. Did the formula change over the years? There's not even the slightest hint of green in mine. It's a basic, average, fairly dull pastel blue. On the plus side, it applies very easily and has a great formula. Some Essies can be pretty tricky to work with but this one was super easy. I also own Barry M Gelly Hi-Shine Nail Paint in Sugar Apple and that's a dupe-but-better for MCA. It's identical except for the fact that it's got that ever-so-slight hint of green that gives it a truly minty look and is much more opaque. I would not repurchase this shade, as I don't feel it's unique or particularly flattering. ETA: Shortly after I posted this review I purchased butter London's "Fiver" Nail Lacquer, and it's much much closer to what I thought MCA would be. I highly recommend that one!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 11/18/2014 6:21:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool

Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

This is a pale, slightly milky mint green creme, and it leans decidedly blue. In some warm lighting, and on me, it looks like a pale baby blue or a pale blue-leaning turquoise. It's not a colour I would have chosen for myself, because I'm fair and cool-toned (pink and blue undertones) and pastels are usually pretty unpleasant on me. I was surprised by this one, though, as it looks quite fresh and nice. (I got it as a surprise gift from a fellow polish-loving friend.)

The formula is pretty hard to work with, unfortunately. I'm used to pastels being streaky, especially on the first coat, but this is not only streaky, it's far too easy to drag, leaving "bald spots" if you're not super careful (and a bit lucky, I suspect). I rarely have to use more than two coats, but for this polish, I had to use three on a couple of fingers, only to cover up the places where the polish got dragged. It seems to dry slowly, so extra patience is required between coats to avoid bubbling.

Overall, I like this polish, and I hope to come to grips with the formula eventually. I probably won't be wearing it a lot (it's not really my usual style, but good for an occasional change of pace), but it is nice and I'm glad to have it in my collection. It's good to have a pastel I can actually wear.

The polish is opaque with two coats (assuming you can get two coats without any bald spots that require a third coat to fix),

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


Popular Polishes


Miracle Gel
131 Reviews
Bubble Bath
359 Reviews
Ballet Slippers
345 Reviews
Nail Polish
213 Reviews


Top Rated Essie Products

image

A-List

29 reviews
image

Watermelon

52 reviews
image

Lady Like

66 reviews
image

Chinchilly

135 reviews
Back to Top