Essie Mint Candy Apple

4.2

245 reviews

79% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.3

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.3

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



on 8/21/2015 8:07:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Mint Candy Apple is a beautiful mint green. It is a pastel colour, but has an excellent formula. It is opaque in two coats and I do not find it to be streaky. It looks flattering on my hands (NC20 for reference) but I think it may not be flattering to those with pink hands. The colour looks good on both long and short nails, and it looks good all year around. It dries quickly too, and has good staying power. This colour is a cult favourite and with good reason. I do not find it to be baby blue at all, unlike some other reviewers, so maybe there is a bad batch around... My colour is truly a mint green, like peppermint candies. It is unique and gorgeous.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



on 8/12/2015 9:44:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Oily, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Beware! My local CVS has this shade in the front of the store, in a special seasonal display of Essie polishes, and in the back with the year round collection. The one in the front of the store is a pale mint green, and the one in the back of the store is pale baby blue. I checked and checked, held them side by side, made sure I had the right ones. I am guessing this polish is supposed to be green, hence the "mint", so if you bought blue - well, presumably you bought it for the color to your eye and not the name, but know that you probably did not buy the real Mint Candy Apple.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 8/12/2015 9:23:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Just purchased this with a $3 off coupon after I've been eyeing it up for some time. I wish I didn't toss my receipt, I'd be exchanging it for a different color if I had it. The color is really pretty, it is a light blue, there are no hints of mint to it. The formula is so bad, so bad, that I can't believe essie would even selling it. The first and second coats streak on, the third will leave areas still not covered. It takes me four coats to get this looking just ok on my nails. It also severely chipped within 24 hours, and I wasn't even doing anything when I wore it, just a lazy weekend home. Save your money, Sallie Hanson makes a similar color that goes on and stays on much better than this for a fraction of the price.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This nail Polish is a GORGEOUS mint green color! I love this color especially during spring and summer. Love this nail polish!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 7/18/2015 12:10:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

Last year I bought this colour and I LOVED it because it was the perfect mint 'green'.. And it was 100% green when I purchase it. This summer I put it on and it is definitely BLUE now. I compared my nails to a new bottle in the store and the difference in colour is night and day. It sucks that over time the colour does change from green to blue. That is why some people think it's blue and some think it's green, it depends how old the bottle is. Hope this helps solve the mystery for some!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 7/12/2015 9:09:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

I am one of those people that will google image polish colors to see how they look before buying. Photos do not do this color justice! This is my favorite mint nail color out there, plus Essie polishes tend to last a little longer than other brands. Love..definitely recommend!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 6/18/2015 5:31:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Dry, Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I don't know where the name came from because it's not a mint at all. I would describe it as a bright blue with maybe a hint of green. I love the color, it's bright and gorgeous, and screams spring and summer.. The formula is a little difficult and it can take two or even three coats to cover completely. In my opinion, it's worth if for the color. I'm on my first first bottle, but since it's a favorite I am planning to repurchase.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 6/13/2015 1:23:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Dry, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Mint? It looks just pastel blue to me. I find this polish very streaky and application is very difficult with the thin brush. It takes forever to dry. I loved it when applied by a professional at the salon but I can't get a good result by myself at home, although I'm quite a veteran nail painter. I won't repurchase.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 6/12/2015 10:42:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

This is THE perfect mint color!!! My fave color is mint/turquoise. MCA is definitely more on the "mint" colored side (doesn't really show up blue toned on my nails). I purchased this when it first came out so I'm not sure if the color has been tweaked since then. It has great opacity as well. I was initially worried that I would need to slap on multiple layers (like a lot of pastel colors i have tried - not from Essie though). I can usually get away with applying 2 coats of this. It gives me a nice solid color. This is my first Essie purchase, and I was always hesitant due to the price tag, but I would definitely be purchasing more!!! It dries fast and stays nice and shiny!! It's been 2 days and so far no chipping!


on 6/8/2015 3:11:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Blue

Hightly pigmented! You can get away with one coat. Average as far as chipping/longevity goes. Very flattering colour that stands out and will score you some compliments!


Popular Polishes


Miracle Gel
Miracle Gel
150 Reviews
Ballet Slippers
Ballet Slippers
347 Reviews
Bubble Bath
Bubble Bath
360 Reviews
Mademoiselle
Mademoiselle
390 Reviews


Top Rated Essie Products

image

Lollipop

40 reviews
image

Lady Like

66 reviews
image

Chinchilly

135 reviews
image

Watermelon

55 reviews
Back to Top