Aveda Control Paste

4.2

84 reviews

82% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



on 8/24/2014 2:46:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

Works great on my side-swept bangs, but must be used sparingly, otherwise you might as well wash it out and start over. I never leave home without it!



Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I bought this to help with flyways and control those stubborn "baby hairs" that stick straight up on my hairline. It didn't really work for either- it seemed to just slip out of my fingers. The smell reminded me of men's cologne and the color was odd- a light orange, maybe? I think this would be better for people with short haircuts as I think it would probably help with getting a "piece-y" look. It just didn't work for what I needed. Would not repurchase.


on 12/16/2011 10:10:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I love this stuff! It works wonders on my short, fine hair and smells lovely and herbally to me. My parents, however, think it smells like an outhouse at Bonnaroo. My only issue with this very firm wax is that I have to wash my hair the day after using it because it becomes a little too separated and slick. Nonetheless, this is the best wax I have ever used, and will repurchase until a better alternative comes into existence.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 9/1/2011 12:33:00 PM

Age: Unknown

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

While I love the way this product smells and it has no greasy feel in your hair, it just doesn't have any holding power whatsoever for me on my bangs. I mean absolutely nothing.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 7/26/2011 8:28:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I have a question for someone with experience using this. I just recently got my hair cut into a shorter layered cut. I wanted something for definition, and thanks to all the great reviews I picked this up. And I love Aveda stuff, so it was a no-brainer. However, I am having a frustrating learning curve with this. When I do as instructed and rub it in my hands to warm, it does not 'emulsify' in any way, and does not really have any 'slip', so I really can't run it through my hair without it pulling and tugging. I really can only seem to rub over the top of my hair, which still works ok, but I am wondering if this is normal with this product? I do really like it, and it works ok as I'm using it, but would greatly appreciate any helpful tips from some experienced MUA users. Thank you!


on 4/4/2011 3:34:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

This stuff is freakin amazing. Out of all the styling products I've tried, this is the only one that gives me a hot piecey look, while also removing all the frizziness in my hair. I think the name of this stuff isn't quite right though, because it doesn't offer much for hold. That's not why I bought it though, I just wanted definition to my hair. I use hair spray for hold.


on 11/21/2010 6:40:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

Does a good job of smoothing the poofiness that my wavy hair gets when it's cut short, and gives it a piecy look without looking greasy or product-y. I think it smells great, but it is definitely an Aveda-y scent. I scrape out just a tiny bit (pea-sized? less?) with the top of my fingernail, rub it into my palm, and then add a bit of water to make it easier to apply. My husband likes to use this too to give his hair some control and a little pieciness (although I prefer the scent of the Aveda Men's Grooming Clay on him).


Age: 36-43

Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

This product has worked out for me wonderfully so far. I only use Aveda hair products and have never had a problem with them. I don't know if I have gotten use to there "earthy" scent but I found this product to not smell as strong as some of the others. Personally I wish it did!
I have recently cut my hair from a chin length bob to a pixie (google Erin O'Connor).
I use a dime size amount of Confixer and once my hair is dry I use a dime size or less of Control Paste. Swirl it around and I am done.
Easily hair style I have had in a long time.


on 4/9/2010 2:24:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Not adding anything new here except I want to stress that the smell of this product is way overpowering. I've had the same tub of product for over a year. It's great in how it separates and gives definition to hair -- my hair is thick and coarse, and tends to look like a helmet, so I have to use product to break it up. While this works, I can't take the smell. I used it years ago, but I was a smoker then and evidently couldn't smell the fragrance; today, I can't take it. I also wonder if it smells as strong to other people, so I quit using it. If Aveda made this is an unfragranced version, I'd buy it. Until then, my partially used tub will continue to sit unused in my cabinet. It's so expensive, can't bring myself to throw it away.


on 3/31/2010 3:59:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I got this at the actual Aveda salon when I had to get my hair fixed after a hair cutting incident with super cuts. I love the smell and the product and I still have a lot of it left (its been a couple years since i got it)




Top Rated Aveda Products

image

Lip Saver

104 reviews
Back to Top