Aveda • Control Paste • Styling Products

rated 4.2(83 reviews)

Average Rating.4.2
Would buy this product again.81%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 2 of 5 mandicandi412 on 2/19/2012 2:02:00 PM more reviews by mandicandi412

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I bought this to help with flyways and control those stubborn "baby hairs" that stick straight up on my hairline. It didn't really work for either- it seemed to just slip out of my fingers. The smell reminded me of men's cologne and the color was odd- a light orange, maybe? I think this would be better for people with short haircuts as I think it would probably help with getting a "piece-y" look. It just didn't work for what I needed. Would not repurchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* garstrieper on 12/16/2011 10:10:00 AM more reviews by garstrieper

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Blue    

I love this stuff! It works wonders on my short, fine hair and smells lovely and herbally to me. My parents, however, think it smells like an outhouse at Bonnaroo. My only issue with this very firm wax is that I have to wash my hair the day after using it because it becomes a little too separated and slick. Nonetheless, this is the best wax I have ever used, and will repurchase until a better alternative comes into existence.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* geographer on 9/1/2011 12:33:00 PM more reviews by geographer

Age: Unknown   Skin: Other   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

While I love the way this product smells and it has no greasy feel in your hair, it just doesn't have any holding power whatsoever for me on my bangs. I mean absolutely nothing.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 covenant on 7/26/2011 8:28:00 AM more reviews by covenant

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I have a question for someone with experience using this. I just recently got my hair cut into a shorter layered cut. I wanted something for definition, and thanks to all the great reviews I picked this up. And I love Aveda stuff, so it was a no-brainer. However, I am having a frustrating learning curve with this. When I do as instructed and rub it in my hands to warm, it does not 'emulsify' in any way, and does not really have any 'slip', so I really can't run it through my hair without it pulling and tugging. I really can only seem to rub over the top of my hair, which still works ok, but I am wondering if this is normal with this product? I do really like it, and it works ok as I'm using it, but would greatly appreciate any helpful tips from some experienced MUA users. Thank you!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 dezyttt on 4/4/2011 3:34:00 AM more reviews by dezyttt

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

This stuff is freakin amazing. Out of all the styling products I've tried, this is the only one that gives me a hot piecey look, while also removing all the frizziness in my hair. I think the name of this stuff isn't quite right though, because it doesn't offer much for hold. That's not why I bought it though, I just wanted definition to my hair. I use hair spray for hold.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 cms0958 on 11/21/2010 6:40:00 PM more reviews by cms0958

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Does a good job of smoothing the poofiness that my wavy hair gets when it's cut short, and gives it a piecy look without looking greasy or product-y. I think it smells great, but it is definitely an Aveda-y scent. I scrape out just a tiny bit (pea-sized? less?) with the top of my fingernail, rub it into my palm, and then add a bit of water to make it easier to apply. My husband likes to use this too to give his hair some control and a little pieciness (although I prefer the scent of the Aveda Men's Grooming Clay on him).

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 searchanddestroy on 8/10/2010 2:58:00 PM more reviews by searchanddestroy

Age: 36-43   Skin: Very Oily, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Green    

This product has worked out for me wonderfully so far. I only use Aveda hair products and have never had a problem with them. I don't know if I have gotten use to there "earthy" scent but I found this product to not smell as strong as some of the others. Personally I wish it did!
I have recently cut my hair from a chin length bob to a pixie (google Erin O'Connor).
I use a dime size amount of Confixer and once my hair is dry I use a dime size or less of Control Paste. Swirl it around and I am done.
Easily hair style I have had in a long time.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Susan2148 on 4/9/2010 2:24:00 PM more reviews by Susan2148

Age: 44-55   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Not adding anything new here except I want to stress that the smell of this product is way overpowering. I've had the same tub of product for over a year. It's great in how it separates and gives definition to hair -- my hair is thick and coarse, and tends to look like a helmet, so I have to use product to break it up. While this works, I can't take the smell. I used it years ago, but I was a smoker then and evidently couldn't smell the fragrance; today, I can't take it. I also wonder if it smells as strong to other people, so I quit using it. If Aveda made this is an unfragranced version, I'd buy it. Until then, my partially used tub will continue to sit unused in my cabinet. It's so expensive, can't bring myself to throw it away.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Kusuriurii on 3/31/2010 3:59:00 PM more reviews by Kusuriurii

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I got this at the actual Aveda salon when I had to get my hair fixed after a hair cutting incident with super cuts. I love the smell and the product and I still have a lot of it left (its been a couple years since i got it)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* singwritenow on 3/9/2010 5:57:00 PM more reviews by singwritenow

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

If this stuff could talk it would yell. It is waaaay too loud, the scent waaaay too overpowering. It smells like my dad's deordorant! What were you thinking, Aveda? I purchased this at the new hair salon I've been going to who uses Aveda products. I didn't try it until I got it home and unfortunately, can't take it back. Not only is the scent too strong, but it makes my hair look greasy. Bleahkkkk. Open this up and smell this before you decide to buy it!!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Aveda products

More Styling Products products