OPI Merry Midnight

4.5

51 reviews

84% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.6

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.6

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



on 5/31/2012 3:49:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Medium Brown, Warm

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

The most memorable nail polish I have ever worn. Merry Midnight is a purple jelly packed full of these magical holographic copper flakies and multi glitter. The bigger flecks flash every colour of the rainbow and look absolutely dazzling within the purple. This polish does require a few careful coats but it is so very worth the effort. I could not stop staring at my nails when I had a mani with this.

I am a pretty conservative chick when it comes to nail polish colours so it takes a lot for me to branch out to a glitter. I tend to like my simple reds, pinks, and nudes. This colour is just so flashy and gorgeous I can't resist. Must obtain a bottle...



on 3/22/2012 10:08:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Like a lot of other people, I got a little crazy about duochrome flakies. When I saw this polish from OPI, I just had to have it. Unfortunately, it didn't live up to expectations.

I can barely see the flakies at all when I put it on. This is disappointing, because inside the bottle they look great. It in no way compares to other polishes like Koh's Blue Universe or anything Nfu Oh is putting out.

It's a nice vampy colour to wear for a special night out, but the reason I bought it was for the ton of flakies in the bottle and they don't really show up that well if I'm not outdoors in direct sunlight. I've barely used it since I bought it and will not need another bottle.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

Ahh the Merry Midnight polish. A gorgeous purple polish filled with rainbow flakies. On the downside, it is HTF and expensive, but ORLY Fowl Play is a dupe.


on 10/28/2011 10:44:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Black

Possibly one of the best OPI shades I own. the very first time I wore this, I received so many compliments! Formula was great, no issues with application. I was extremely lucky to pick this up for about $4.50 on clearance sale! should have bought the other 2 or 3 bottles left as back up ... oh well. There is honestly no nail polish in the world like it, so sad to know that it is discontinued and now rare to find. I would definitely repurchase if I could.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Blue

OMG gorgeous. This is one of my most precious polishes. I have a few bottles in back-up, because it's fantastic.

Dark purple jelly-like base with glitter, glass flecked and, tada tada, flakies. I love flakies soooo much.

I always use one coat of MM on some dark, creme polish (usually OPI's Siberian Nights or Essence's Thelma). And with it MM looks soooooo great. Solo MM needs three layers and ain't look as good as on dark base. So yes, MM is my favorite layering polish :)))

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 11/13/2010 1:06:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

Just to chime in with the crowd - wow. I kept seeing this on the nb, and I finally threw up my hands and said, "I have to have it!" After a little bit of searching, it's mine and it's LOVE! :)

MM is one of the most complex polishes I've ever seen, with flakes, glitter, microglitter and shimmer all packed into it, with rainbow colors from blue, purple, pink, gold - it looks like a lit-up (purple) Christmas tree! I'm now terrified of running out and not being able to find another bottle, so I use it sparingly by layering over other polishes. Zoya Casey gives MM a much redder, grapeish tone, which is pretty, but next time I think I'll try something a little cooler like Louvre Me, Louvre Me Not, which seems closer to the base color of MM.

Application is great - I love the Pro-Wide brush, and the flakes behave themselves during app as long as you wait a couple minutes between coats to give them time to settle in their place on the nail. I couldn't wait the first time, and ended up with a gloppy mess at the tip of my nail. Oops. :) Patience, grasshopper...

Overall, I just can't stress how fantastic this polish is. A+!


on 10/18/2010 5:33:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Brown

OMG Got this in a swap what a great polish so much bling. This screams look at me. I love it. Has a nice plum not to dark color you can tell its got purple in it. lots of gold flakes and you can see them when yout inside love that.


on 8/20/2010 11:11:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Dark, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Kinky, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I bought this color on clearance after the holiday season half off. I had more glitter than expected and I had to apply three coats, but it was worth it. It's a nice fall/winter color.


on 8/20/2010 10:29:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

oooohhhh....i just spent 21 bucks on this on ebay,im sure there are better prices now but if the price is lower then they get you for the shipping...i had to have it though!!! too pretty with the red flecks in the deep purple...and staying power i just love it!!


on 7/19/2010 6:51:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Reading the other reviews made me wonder just how much the price had gone up on this item...I checked eBay and it retails for about $16! I had no idea just how limited this color would be! I don't think I paid more than $8 myself. Price aside, this color is amazing, but I only gave it a four-lipstick rating because it takes a little extra effort to get the proper opacity. I really am not crazy about how this looks when it's sheer because the glitter can make it look cheap. Wear this with two or three good coats...or, better yet, layer it over a dark blue (Merry Midnight over Russian Navy is my favorite nail combination). This color is a must-have for winter, but I am wearing it right now!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Popular Polishes


Miracle Gel
Miracle Gel
149 Reviews
Ballet Slippers
Ballet Slippers
347 Reviews
Bubble Bath
Bubble Bath
360 Reviews
Dior Nail Glow
Dior Nail Glow
38 Reviews


Top Rated OPI Products

image

Koala Bear-y

77 reviews
image

Malaga Wine

154 reviews
image

Over The Taupe

73 reviews
image

Dutch Tulips

77 reviews
Back to Top