Unlisted Brand • Balea Cleansing Cloths • Cleansers

rated 3.8(18 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.72%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 4 of 5 AshUnderhill13 on 11/13/2013 9:05:00 PM more reviews by AshUnderhill13

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I buy these whenever they go on sale at Shoppers because they are the best deal for your money (56 cloths in a pack!). I also enjoy how they stay wet in the hard case package (even when they are not in the case, they are pretty good). The only negative thing is that they tend to leave a weird residue on my face, but it goes away after a few short minutes. They can remove waterproof mascara, but it takes a few tries.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* SparkleBunny37 on 5/16/2013 9:37:00 PM more reviews by SparkleBunny37

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Balea is the home brand of the Canadian drugstore Shopper's Drug Mart. My friend Steph sent me a packet of their 3-in-1 Cleansing Cloths in a swap a few months ago. I think out of the whole box this was one of the products that excited me the most, I love trying new skincare. Balea describes their 3-in-1 Cleansing Cloths as "an easy and effective way to maintain a complete skincare regimen in just one step. They gently deep clean the skin to remove makeup, minimize pores, and moisturize the skin. Hypoallergenic, oil free, dermatologist and ophthalmologist tested. Gentle on eyes and safe for contact lens wearers". Balea also promises that these cleansing cloths contain good for you ingredients like chamomile, vitamin e, and triple tea complex. My packet contains 15 wipes. I'm unsure of this product's retail price. Balea products are not tested on animals. Ironically, these wipes were made in America.
I love the packaging for these wipes. They come in a pretty blue packet. The Balea logo, product name, and a quick description are printed in silver font of the sticky flap (which actually stays closed!). A longer product description, directions, and a full ingredient list can also be found on the packet in both English and French. The packaging isn't really extraordinary in any way, I just really love the color of the packet.
These cleansing wipes are awesome, really awesome. Each of Balea's 3-in-1 Cleansing Cloths measures 15.2cm x 18.5cm (6x7in), so they're pretty average in size. Each towelette is quite moist. My one and only complain about this product is the scent, which kinda reminds of me licorice. Even that isn't a big deal at all. Balea's 3-in-1 Cleansing Cloths remove every speck of a full faceo f makeup without needing to pre-moisten my face or rub it raw. Balea's towelettes can ever remove mascara, which is quite a feat. The best part is that these wipes are super gentle. So many facial towelettes have left my skin feeling tight or otherwise irritated, but not Balea's, they actually make my skin feel good!
I really love Balea's 3-in-1 Cleansing Cloths, they're a new favorite! I've used cleansing towelettes in the past that could remove all of my face makeup, but never one that could remove my eye makeup so well. Some eye makeup removes can't even compete with these wipes. My only minor annoyance is the licorice like scent, but I don't mind it too much. Balea's 3-in-1 Cleansing Cloths are gentle and effective, I really couldn't ask for more. I want more of these wipes so bad! I've always wanted to go to Canada, and when I do get there I'm gonna stock up on these cloths. If you live near a Shopper's Drug Mart you must try Balea's 3-in-1 Cleansing Cloths!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Angelsweet on 4/6/2013 1:24:00 AM more reviews by Angelsweet

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I tried out Balea because it was on sale. I've used it here and there and noticed some itching after using. I disregard it because I thought it might have been my new moisturizer. The past couple weeks I've been pretty busy and on the go so I've been using the wipes daily. I started breaking out really badly and my face was itching like crazy and broke out in hives. I won't be buying this again. I'm using the rest of the wipes to wipe my counters. The only plus about it is the plastic box packaging which is quite nice.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Jenabee333 on 10/20/2012 7:14:00 PM more reviews by Jenabee333

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy   Eyes: Blue    

My HG of facial wipes! someone mentioned that they might not be the most environmentally friendly product if you use them every day, but I think they may actually equal less waste than a cotton pad and bottle of eye makeup remover, which is what I would otherwise use to remove my makeup. Plus, I just buy the refills ans skip the plastic box.
I also agree that the wipes themselves have changed numerous times over the years. They used to have a sort of corrugated side that exfoliated a bit and the other side was smooth for areas like your eyes that need a more gentle touch. Those were my favourite version.
Overall, though, they do a great job at cleansing and removing makeup. The price is right, too as I can get a double pack for just under $10 when they're on sale at Shoppers.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* secondadonna on 9/17/2012 10:56:00 PM more reviews by secondadonna

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

These are my standby wipe, but every few months they seem to change them, and it's never for the better. The packaging and the texture of the actual wipe have definitely gone downhill. But the formula is definitely one of the better wipes out there. No harsh fragrance and nothing comedogenic. Every other brand I've tried has either broken me out or stung my eyes. Not sufficient for removing really serious waterproof mascara, but they take off all other makeup quite well. Sometimes I follow up with a toner if I've been wearing a ton of makeup or very heavy SS.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* hoku on 9/16/2012 6:13:00 PM more reviews by hoku

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Overall: 4

Price: 3 (Got these on sale; $7.50 for the box; $11.60 for 2x refills)

Packaging: 3

Buy again: yes

---------------------------------------------------------

I've used these for many years, and are the best that I've seen for the price. I use these usually only if I'm travelling or camping (I use the small 15pack for travelling), OR if the weather changes/cooler weather when my skin is intolerant of wash-off facial cleansers. I think the value is really great; most cleansing cloths only come in packs of 30 pcs, but these are 56! So it's great. And it comes in a box which really does help keep the cloths moist, and is refillable. I don't really trust the sticker seal after several uses (that's just me) so I usually keep the pack in a zip lock bag to keep it as airtight as possible.


I have found that all the cloths are adequately drenched in the cleansing solution; as long as it doesn't take me too long to use up the pack or if I keep it in the zip lock bag, I never have a problem with them drying out. I've used these to remove eye and face makeup and it does a great job without pulling or scratching. I usually wear Japanese sunscreen, BB cream or mineral makeup, so I can't attest to the removal of heavy duty makeup (Like Revlon ColorStay). When I wear waterproof mascara I usually remove that first with an oil-based makeup remover.


I have acne-prone, combination skin that can be sensitive at times, so I use the Sensitive skin version. They don't break me out, and leave my skin feeling fresh and not dry, which is great for me in the fall/winter months when regular face washing makes my skin SO uncomfortably taut. I still apply moisturizer on top though.


These aren't exactly environmentally friendly, since you use a cloth and throw it out... but like I said, I only use these cloths for travel or winter months. Granted, Fall and Winter here in Toronto/Canada does occupy like 7 months of the year... but I try to limit these to once a day (evening) and splash plain water on my face in the AM.


I would (and have) recommend these cloths to anyone who is looking for good, economical face wipes.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 razzberryjr on 3/18/2012 6:37:00 PM more reviews by razzberryjr

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

These are okay. They remove most (not all) of my makeup. The main problem is they just aren't wet enough. Instead of gliding smoothly over your skin, you have to press hard and rub them around, which can't be good for your face. These aren't terrible but they could be better. I prefer dry cloths that you add water to, they feel way better on your face and clean better too.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 chelsia on 2/3/2012 10:27:00 PM more reviews by chelsia

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

LOVE THESE!! I usually am lazy after work since I work til 12am or coming home after class & just wanna refresh. THESE take off everything!! I mean my foundation, eye makeup waterproof, lipstick etc. This takes off such stubborn makeup within 1-2 wipes. I'll usually use these to take off most of my makeup then do a wash because I hate taking off my makeup but this makes it a bit easier for my busy schedule. It's also a refreshing wash cloth in the morning or whenever. Everyone should have these, after using these I can't picture using anything else. Only issue I have with these is the price.. 13.99 for a lot butt I tend to use them everyday so it'll prob last me a month out of 120 wipes. I would say my other issue is the package but now Balea has come out with new containers for these which is nice but I'm just worried about them drying.. I will purchase & edit this in the future on the packaging.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 1986tee on 1/21/2012 10:06:00 PM more reviews by 1986tee

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm   Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

Review for the sensitive skin formula. I use this every day to remove my makeup. It is considered a cleanser, but I always cleanse after. This takes off all my makeup, including mascara, without having to rub. I have sensitive skin, and these cloths do not irritate. The cloths will not stay moistened if you leave them right side up, so I always store them upside down. It is also good to purchase the plastic box to store them in and then buy the refills (on sale of course).

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 mic1968 on 8/2/2011 11:43:00 AM more reviews by mic1968

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I starting using these wipes and I also had severe swelling of the eyes, face and neck area...didn't know what caused it at first. I went away for a week or so and didn't take them with me..My face cleared up while I was gone...when I got home I used them again and I got the allergic reaction again so I knew that it was this product as I used nothing else... after the swelling would go away I am left with very dry skin on my face and eyelids...so much that it looks like psoriasis on my eyelids ..Have never had any trouble before...I am back to using the oil of olay facial wipes....

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Unlisted Brand products

More Cleansers products