Orly Nail Rescue

4.4

19 reviews

94% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.6

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.6

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

Saved my nails. I have nails that are prone to splitting, horizontally, right where the white of the nail starts. I used to use nail glue and a section of tea bag, but the glue I had just wasn't great and the patch was always visible. It also didn't last long. This stuff is easy to use, and lasts! It's difficult to fix a split that starts on the side of the nail, but this stuff does an awesome job once you can get the hang of it. The "hard" part is getting a thin coat of the glue to go only where you want to patch, so avoiding your skin. Then buff it smooth and apply nail polish. I use gel polish over it and it seems to use a bit more base coat, but my nails are completely smooth after applying the top coat. It saved two nails just this week (I type a lot). I highly recommend this to ANYONE as it is possible to accidentally break a nail, so as long as it's still holding on, you can fix it with this stuff :)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



on 1/10/2015 2:28:00 PM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Green

This is one of my few holy grails. I have a nail that has been vertically split half-way to the cuticle for years, and nothing would repair it. I tried nail hardeners and paper patches. Nail hardeners only work for me if they are on the nail - in other words, my naked nails aren't stronger after wearing the nail hardeners. The nail hardeners simply provide a protective cover, and any cheap nail polish does that.

The Nail Rescue is pretty easy to use. I don't worry about the appearance because I'm so grateful that it provides protection. I've apply it twice to the area and have kept it on for several months as the crack grows out and is replaced by healthy nail. I put opaque polish over it so the product is not very visible.

The only caution I'll offer is that it's easy to spill the powder, which will fly everywhere. And it takes effort to remove the product. I'm very careful in order not to split the nail again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 1/2/2015 7:40:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

There is definitely a learning curve and it does not look flawless when finished, BUT it is the best thing I have found for broken nails, and it's a million times better than nothing, so totally worth it!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 1/2/2015 6:35:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

i had nail break well into the quick. i used the kit to repair, and it's been holding for almost 2 weeks. it's not seamless. it really does need a good bit of work with a nail buffer, and polish - but that's fine for me. i'm very happy to have this on hand. i assume i'll need to replace this work, but that's ok. i'm hoping this nail will last until it grows out for a few more weeks.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I LOVE this product. It was $6.99 at Sallys and worth every penny! I had a small tear on my thumb nail and I tried to fix it using just nail glue, which held for a couple days before I caught it on something. Then my nail ripped almost 3/4 of the way across! :( I think the instructions tell you to put the glue on your entire nail but I only put it over the tear. I did use the buffing square that comes with it but I had to use my own buffer to smooth it out even more. The only thing I'm curious about is how healthy this is for your natural nail...

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This has literally saved my nail. I had a nail break halfway across. Normally I use a tea bag patch, but decided to use this when I changed my polish cause the patch was failing. That was a week ago and it's still holding. I followed the instructions but used my buffing block instead of the square that came with it. After applying my ridge filler, base, color and top coat it looked like the rest of my nails. With this I'll be able to grow out the break. From now on tea bag patches are only going to be used for emergency repairs until I get home to my Orly Nail Rescue. Since there's a lot of product it's going to last me awhile. When I run out I will be getting more. If you have breaks and torn nail get this. I got it at Sally's and it was pretty cheap.


on 1/19/2013 2:50:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I had broken one of my nails WAY down into the quick on each side, and the goal was trying to save it and keep it from tearing until it grew out long enough to trim. I tried clear polish and a piece of a teabag, and crazy glue, but the nail kept tearing more. I went to Sally's and the friendly sales lady recommended a one step brush on treatment that was much cheaper than Orly Nail Rescue. After checking the reviews on the website, I found that the Orly Nail Rescue had gotten much higher reviews from users. I took back my original purchase and bought the Orly instead. I followed the easy directions exactly, brushing on the liquid, then dipping my nail into the powder. After buffing until smooth, and then repeating the whole process again, the results were great. It put a smooth coating over the torn places, and they no longer snagged or felt uneven. After putting my regular polish over the repaired nail, the flaws were completely undetectable! I took one point off for packaging, because the brush on liquid comes in a narrow oval-shaped bottle, which would be easily tipped over and spilled.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 4/15/2012 7:59:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Olive, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Black

Let me just start this review off by saying that I get peelies in the worst way. Even with using my Nailtiques formula 2 (which strengthens them like a rock) somehow my nails always manage to start peeling from the sides. Whenever they'd get past 2mm in length I would always just cut all my nails to nubs to avoid any breaks. Orly nail rescue changed all that.


Before my quick fix used to be Krazy Glue, but even that wouldn't keep the nail from breaking if I hit it against something. With the brush applicated glue and the nail powder, it's strengthened my nails and held both sides together (even despite a few hard snags/hits) until the peels grow out completely.


My only complaint is that you have to time it just right when dipping your nail in the powder, otherwise it will get all lumpy and even with buffing, it makes it hard for you to wear creme or frost polishes. I currently have 4 nails that have started peeling, but thanks to Nail Rescue I don't have to cut my nails down to nubs.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 2/12/2012 7:29:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Very Oily, Dark, Warm

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This did not rescue a damn thing. It lasted for about 3 days on me (yes, I followed the directions to the letter). It cracked on both fingers I put it on and the nail I was trying to rescue went with it. Never again.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 12/18/2011 9:52:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

This stuff is the shizznit--I will never be without this in my arsenal.

I'm posting this review because I had a little crack in my thumbnail, horizontal, right beside the cuticle and below the quick. I repaired it with this about a month and a half ago and I Can. Not. Find. the crack now. I know for a fact it hasn't just grown off because it was pretty far back.

It has stayed on through I don't know how many manis, through removal and cleanup with acetone, through everything. It doesn't show at all, not through polish, not on my naked nail.

This is how I used it, which is a little different from the way the directions tell you to use it:

-Painted a little of the glue over just the cracked area
-Sprinkled some of the powder over the glue till it was densely covered
-Waited till it was fully hard and dry
-Buffed off the excess with a buffing block
-Continued about my manicuring business as usual

ROCK SOLID and as I said, I can't find the crack now. Get you some, just in case.

One warning, be neat about how you work with the glue and brush, because if you get the glue all over the bottle neck it will glue itself shut and you have to go buy a new box. It didn't happen to me, but it happened to someone here and unfortunately she didn't discover the problem until she really needed to use it, so be careful with the glue.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


Top Rated Orly Products

image

Rage

51 reviews
image

Bare Rose

31 reviews
Back to Top