OPI • Designer Series - DS Mystery • Polishes

rated 3.4(29 reviews)

Average Rating.3.4
Would buy this product again.34%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* prettygirlmo on 1/31/2014 3:13:00 AM more reviews by prettygirlmo

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I love OPI polishes, but this one was a miss for me. It's a really dark black/purple with gold micro glitter. It sounds like it would be really pretty, but in reality it isn't that great of a color. I think it chips faster than regular OPI polishes because of the micro glitter. I wear it on my toes once in a blue moon, but I won't be repurchasing.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* bonniherself on 11/26/2013 2:43:00 AM more reviews by bonniherself

Age: 44-55   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I love jelly polishes, I love dark polishes, I love glitter-in-jelly polishes. I totally expected to love this polish, but I just don't. This is a deep purple jelly in which is suspended prismatic microglitter. I had to paint some of it onto a piece of white cardboard to really tell it was purple (though I suspected it was) and to really tell that the microglitter was prismatic (multi-coloured, holo, whatever you want to call it). On the nails, this polish looks deep plum or black, and the glitter really doesn't stand up to the base, sadly.

I don't hate this polish, but it's pretty ordinary. The glitter is meh, the colour is okay but mostly bleah, and the dry surface is kind of weirdly lumpy. Top coat brings out the glitter somewhat, but not greatly. I tried this layered over a lighter purple (I used OPI A Grape Fit) but the base of DS Mystery is too thick for the under-colour to make much difference.

Basically, for me, this is an entirely mediocre nail polish. It's not horrible, but it's not as interesting as, say, OPI Merry Midnight or Orly Fowl Play (both purple jellies with glitter), it's not as glittery as, well, most glittery polishes, the depth of colour is not really that good... It's okay, but only okay.

If you want a very dark jelly polish with very subtle glitter, you might very well enjoy this polish. It's nice quality, decent formula, dries well, and if you don't have any dark-with-glitter polishes, this might well do the trick, but otherwise, I'd say you're not missing anything here. This is a nice alternative to a standard nearly-black creme, but that's about it.

I really expected more of this polish. My experience of the OPI DS line has been very good, which is why I didn't hesitate to buy this, but this really falls flat. For the higher price and the DS name, I really thought it would be more than just a mediocre dark jelly with mediocre glitter.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 jmcmill475 on 10/25/2013 11:34:00 PM more reviews by jmcmill475

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

Really disappointed with this color. I love purple and glitter but once this is on, it just looks lumpy and very uninteresting. I have others in the DS line and this is my least favorite.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 nailaddict1895 on 10/1/2013 2:53:00 PM more reviews by nailaddict1895

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Blue    

I purchased this product from my usual salon on a 5 for $20 sale. So for me the price was right but the retail value for this polish where I live is $15.75 so a little on the pricey side. the polish itself has a very nice formula, it is a dark purple jelly base with flakes of little gold glitters. I must admit the polish looks better in the bottle, and it doesn't look purple it looks black and the glitters don't really come out unless you are in the sunlight. But when you are in the sun, it is a gorgeous colour!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 beabeautyqueen on 7/24/2013 2:00:00 AM more reviews by beabeautyqueen

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I recently had this put on my nails at the salon. The best nail polish colour I have ever used - hands down. I love the colour because it is not as harsh as black, and when you're in the sunshine you can see the dark purple tint. The gold sparkles are not too overwhelming yet they are still present. I can't tell you if this chips or not because I have acrylic nails and all nailpolish stays on acrylic without chipping. The downside is that this nailpolish is so expensive. It retails for around $25 here in Australia. Still, a great polish and I will make the purchase when I have $25 to blow on a nailpolish.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Cherrybello on 7/14/2013 3:09:00 PM more reviews by Cherrybello

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brown, Kinky, Medium   Eyes: Black    

It's a shame, because I liked 3/5 of my DS collection so far, and this one is at the bottom.
Blackish purple with gold flecks in it... I think it works best with short - like, non-existing tips length, any longer than that it'll probably resemble talons. Normally don't reach for it unless I feel as depressed as this colour...

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 AmberSkyz on 11/13/2012 4:06:00 PM more reviews by AmberSkyz

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I absolutely LOVE the color! Think Cherry Chutney with gold glitter. The only issue with this nail polish is that it chips MUCH faster then the normal OPI polishes do. Perhaps it's because of the glitter, but out of 5 or 6 times I've used this polish, it never lasts longer than 2 days before chipping. This is with Sache Vite base and top coats. My normal OPI colors last me around 5 days before chipping. I wouldn't buy again just because it's a few more dollars than normal, and the wear just doesn't last long enough for me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* MAChostage on 7/6/2012 10:40:00 PM more reviews by MAChostage

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Warm   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Meh. I feel mostly ripped off after buying this and wish I had just passed. My sentiments pretty much echo all the negative ones here.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* GrRoxxy on 7/6/2012 10:02:00 PM more reviews by GrRoxxy

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Grey    

The formula is on the thick side, easy to apply but it dries AGES! The first layer is streaky but second one makes it look fine. But I just don't seem to get on with OPIs anyway... The color is like black with gold/browny sparkles and its just so difficult to get off the nails! I have the sparkle all around the cuticles afterwards and the worst is- I can't remove it easily.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 malinjoiedevivre on 5/27/2012 9:47:00 AM more reviews by malinjoiedevivre

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy   Eyes: Blue    

Its a really nice color, but a bit average. Its basically black with a bit of gold in it. I use it whenever i feel like something dark but not just plain black, it goes with pretty much anything so its always a safe choice. Nothing too special about it

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More OPI products

More Polishes products