OPI Designer Series - DS Mystery

3.4

30 reviews

33% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.3

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.3

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



on 9/7/2014 11:34:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

I LOVE OPI, but this is a meh for me. I was after this polish for a year and finally got it. It doesn't look deep purple to me, its more deep maroon/brown to me and it's just not that impressive as it appears.

It chips so fast, I don't know why. I suspect it might be the micro glitter but I am not sure. I never have probs with OPI but this one is a miss for me. My favorite brands are OPI, Zoya, & ORLY. I rarely ever have problems with these brands. They are well worth the money almost every time. Skip DS Mystery, it's not worth it. Zoya just came out with a similar color called Sansa I think I will grab to replace this.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



on 1/31/2014 3:13:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Very pretty polish! It is a really dark vampy purple with gold shimmer in it. It goes on smoothly and is opaque in two coats. I don't know if you can get this shade anymore, but I would repurchase it.


on 11/26/2013 2:43:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool

Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

I love jelly polishes, I love dark polishes, I love glitter-in-jelly polishes. I totally expected to love this polish, but I just don't. This is a deep purple jelly in which is suspended prismatic microglitter. I had to paint some of it onto a piece of white cardboard to really tell it was purple (though I suspected it was) and to really tell that the microglitter was prismatic (multi-coloured, holo, whatever you want to call it). On the nails, this polish looks deep plum or black, and the glitter really doesn't stand up to the base, sadly.

I don't hate this polish, but it's pretty ordinary. The glitter is meh, the colour is okay but mostly bleah, and the dry surface is kind of weirdly lumpy. Top coat brings out the glitter somewhat, but not greatly. I tried this layered over a lighter purple (I used OPI A Grape Fit) but the base of DS Mystery is too thick for the under-colour to make much difference.

Basically, for me, this is an entirely mediocre nail polish. It's not horrible, but it's not as interesting as, say, OPI Merry Midnight or Orly Fowl Play (both purple jellies with glitter), it's not as glittery as, well, most glittery polishes, the depth of colour is not really that good... It's okay, but only okay, and only barely.

If you want a very dark jelly polish with very subtle glitter, you might very well enjoy this polish. It's nice quality, decent formula, dries well, and if you don't have any dark-with-glitter polishes, this might well do the trick, but otherwise, I'd say you're not missing anything here. This is a nice alternative to a standard nearly-black creme, but that's about it.

I really expected more of this polish. My experience of the OPI DS line has been very good, which is why I didn't hesitate to buy this, but this really falls flat. For the higher price and the DS name, I really thought it would be more than just a mediocre dark jelly with mediocre glitter. I put this one in my "give away" bin.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 10/25/2013 11:34:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Oily, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

Really disappointed with this color. I love purple and glitter but once this is on, it just looks lumpy and very uninteresting. I have others in the DS line and this is my least favorite.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I purchased this product from my usual salon on a 5 for $20 sale. So for me the price was right but the retail value for this polish where I live is $15.75 so a little on the pricey side. the polish itself has a very nice formula, it is a dark purple jelly base with flakes of little gold glitters. I must admit the polish looks better in the bottle, and it doesn't look purple it looks black and the glitters don't really come out unless you are in the sunlight. But when you are in the sun, it is a gorgeous colour!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

I recently had this put on my nails at the salon. The best nail polish colour I have ever used - hands down. I love the colour because it is not as harsh as black, and when you're in the sunshine you can see the dark purple tint. The gold sparkles are not too overwhelming yet they are still present. I can't tell you if this chips or not because I have acrylic nails and all nailpolish stays on acrylic without chipping. The downside is that this nailpolish is so expensive. It retails for around $25 here in Australia. Still, a great polish and I will make the purchase when I have $25 to blow on a nailpolish.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 7/14/2013 3:09:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Brown, Kinky, Medium

Eyes: Black

It's a shame, because I liked 3/5 of my DS collection so far, and this one is at the bottom.
Blackish purple with gold flecks in it... I think it works best with short - like, non-existing tips length, any longer than that it'll probably resemble talons. Normally don't reach for it unless I feel as depressed as this colour...


on 11/13/2012 4:06:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I absolutely LOVE the color! Think Cherry Chutney with gold glitter. The only issue with this nail polish is that it chips MUCH faster then the normal OPI polishes do. Perhaps it's because of the glitter, but out of 5 or 6 times I've used this polish, it never lasts longer than 2 days before chipping. This is with Sache Vite base and top coats. My normal OPI colors last me around 5 days before chipping. I wouldn't buy again just because it's a few more dollars than normal, and the wear just doesn't last long enough for me.


on 7/6/2012 10:40:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Normal, Other, Warm

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Meh. I feel mostly ripped off after buying this and wish I had just passed. My sentiments pretty much echo all the negative ones here.


on 7/6/2012 10:02:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Grey

The formula is on the thick side, easy to apply but it dries AGES! The first layer is streaky but second one makes it look fine. But I just don't seem to get on with OPIs anyway... The color is like black with gold/browny sparkles and its just so difficult to get off the nails! I have the sparkle all around the cuticles afterwards and the worst is- I can't remove it easily.


Popular Polishes


Miracle Gel
Miracle Gel
140 Reviews
Ballet Slippers
Ballet Slippers
346 Reviews
Bubble Bath
Bubble Bath
359 Reviews
Dior Nail Glow
Dior Nail Glow
37 Reviews


Top Rated OPI Products

image

Koala Bear-y

75 reviews
image

Malaga Wine

154 reviews
image

Over The Taupe

73 reviews
image

Dutch Tulips

77 reviews
Back to Top