Hard Candy • Ginormous Lash Volumizing Mascara • Mascara

rated 3.5(77 reviews)

Average Rating.3.5
Would buy this product again.59%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* fierymermaid on 8/23/2014 10:49:00 AM more reviews by fierymermaid

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Green    

If you're the type of person who prefers different mascaras for daytime versus night time, then this might be up your alley. I wouldn't call this "Ginormous Lashes" so much as "Practical Lashes." It darkens, lengthens a bit, doesn't clump, and thickens just a tad. For me, this translates to safe and boring. Boo.

The brush is a nice football shape, able to get into the corners fairly well. The tube's opening is very narrow, cleaning off any and all excess from the brush, contributing to it's clump free application. So, those are pros.

The con is that it just doesn't do much. If you are in a professional environment and have average-to-long lashes naturally, this would perhaps be a good choice, as it doesn't look over-the-top. It just helps you look finished and polished. If you have short lashes, I don't think this will do much for you at all other than darkening them.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 rapsong on 7/24/2014 1:01:00 AM more reviews by rapsong

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Other    

I really like this mascara! I have long lashes but they're pretty thin and this stuff does the trick, making them look full and super black. Doesn't smudge or flake much on me. It's affordable and I like how hard candy reminds me of middle school. Gud stuff.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* goddessofthegalaxy on 1/8/2014 9:12:00 AM more reviews by goddessofthegalaxy

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

This mascara was ok. It was great for building up and making super thick lashes but it took lot for me to achieve the look I wanted. It's a pretty dark heavily pigmented mascara but it did a whole lot of flaking. Maybe I got a bad tube because everyone else seems to love it. Who knows. I'm contemplating on a repurchase of this mascara to give it another go and ill update as soon as I do so but as of now it's just an average mascara. Nothing special.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 alphaxideltalove on 12/31/2013 6:10:00 AM more reviews by alphaxideltalove

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I personally consider myself a mascara connoisseur because in my 23 years of being alive I have gone through LOTS of mascara. It's my favorite makeup item to buy currently on hand I have 23 mascaras. Why? because I like to use them together.

I also have a love affair with Hard Candy since I've been purchasing their cosmetics since they were in Sephora many years ago. Anywho Hard Candy does MANY things really good but overall their mascaras are full of more misses than hits. I will only recommend 3 out of their like 10(est.) different mascaras they have available. Ginormaous Lash and Flat to Fab are Fantastic Volumizing mascaras! the other that I enjoy but would have to be ranked 3rd would be the 1000 lash primer mascara.

Ginormous Lash makes them ginormous! it makes them extremely full and no clumps! at least did this mascara really well which makes up for the others that can be a huge disappointment. If you've been turned off from trying the bad HC mascaras Give this one a try, if you're going to judge it, it should be with tryingh at least the best , assuming you've tried their worst as well.

In conclusion if you're considering buying HC mascara get this one!! It's very volumizing and lifted. One I will definitely rebuy!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 karenthebear on 12/16/2013 12:25:00 PM more reviews by karenthebear

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I recently bought this mascara mainly because the packaging looked pretty. When I got home I applied it and left it on the remainder of the day to test it out. When you first apply it, it does seem not as thick but it dries pretty good. It didn't smudge and after applying 3 layers of the product my lashes still felt soft (not hard and heavy). My eyes tend to get watery and begin to cry and even when that did happen, the mascara didn't run! I have to say this is one of my favorite drugstore mascaras because it does it's job and it doesn't have one of those plastic wands (which personally I dislike). And the tube has a lot of product and it's really black.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 ButterflyD on 11/27/2013 12:11:00 PM more reviews by ButterflyD

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Curly   Eyes: Blue    

While I have taught myself a lot about makeup, I still am at that point where I would rather try out drugstore brands to see what works for me before I buy pricey/high-end makeup products. So far I have found some good makeup in Hard Candy.

Hence I decided to test Hard Candy's mascara. For this mascara, I got the Carbon Black one.

For the packaging, someone noted in their review that "anyone could try this on in the store and you wouldn't know." I do not agree with that. The mascara comes in a tube, with a plastic label cover. The plastic cover is there for sealing purposes - if you see that it has been torn or it is missing, it is easy to tell that someone opened it. Or perhaps someone made a mistake when packaging the products. Regardless, always check the packaging on the makeup before you buy something.

My eyelashes are rather sparse, so I was a bit happy to see how the mascara applicator reached all spots and added volume to my eyes. It does work better than other mascara I have tried under different brands. I also really like how this mascara curled my eyelashes slightly, so if I am in a rush, at least I will not need to worry about using an eye curler.

Another pro here is that it did not clump - even when I added another layer after the mascara dried. It may be good for layering here.

However I do not like how it was messy to apply. I would rather not have to clean under my eyelashes with a Q-Tip every time I apply the mascara. The mascara also is not waterproof - I was fully aware of this when I made the decision to buy it, because the mascara was clearly not labelled as waterproof. However it still sucks, and I will still count that as a con here. The mascara came off my eyes so easily with just water - that's right, no soap, no makeup remover, nothing else. This mascara is not good news for anyone with watery eyes (which I am cursed with) or anyone who goes outside in hot weather, participates in sports like swimming, and so on.

At least this tube of mascara was cheaper than other brands in Walmart. $6 really isn't bad if you are only testing the makeup like me.

Overall I would say this is a sort of a miss rather than a hit. There were some positives, but I would say that the cons outweigh the pros here for me. The only reason why I am keeping this in my collection is because I am interested in the hobby of makeup art and creative modelling/photography, and if I need something that would run easily (i.e. for a crying or gothic shot), it'd come in handy then. Otherwise I will not use this everyday or buy it again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Jexka on 10/22/2013 5:00:00 PM more reviews by Jexka

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I'd give this a 2.5 if I could, but I'm being nice and bumping it up. This isn't the worst mascara ever, but I do have a few issues with it.
I originally bought this to pair with a lengthening mascara I had to help give me more volume. I did like it for that purpose...It layered well and does give a nice amount of volume. When my lengthening mascara ran out, I started using this on it's own, and I started liking it less and less.
My first problem with this that I've had from the get-go is that this formula is THICK. It's heavy and veryyyy inky. I do like that it gives a deep, solid black color, but it makes my lashes feel heavy and I always makes a mess all over my eyes, no matter what I do to try to prevent it. This stuff is just so gloopy and it ends up everywhere. I end up having to clean up with a Q-tip which isn't always a step I want to have to add in the morning. It also takes forever to dry and I hate that wet lash feeling.
Like I said, this is a nice mascara for layering, but on its own it's pretty lackluster. It gives OK volume, OK length, OK separation...I don't find it to be outstanding in any aspect. I like dramatic lashes, and this just didn't give me what I was looking for. I started using it when I did more minimal makeup for a more natural look.
Also, removing this is a pain. It's not waterproof, but you'd think it is when it comes time to take this off! I've used many different methods, from creams, to makeup wipes, to oil-based waterproof eye makeup remover. Every time I'll think I have all the product off, only to have black smears all over my eyes after I wash my face later, and then having black smudges all over my eyes again when I wake up in the morning! I told you, this stuff is thick and inky, and it just doesn't want to come off! At least it doesn't smudge throughout the day on me.
Overall, not impressed with this stuff. If you want a good Hard Candy mascara, get Flat to Fab. That stuff is awesome.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* kitty55 on 8/6/2013 12:13:00 AM more reviews by kitty55

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this mascara on a whim and like it very much. I got it in "carbon black," a very rich, dark, glossy black. The "blackout" is more of a soft black color. It goes on smoothly, lengthens and separates lashes, with no clumping, blobs or flaking. It adds a minimal (not Ginormous) amount of volume, which I happen to like, but some prefer a thicker lash. I find high volume mascaras like Dior, look like too much makeup. This also washes off with just soap and water. Can't beat it for 6 bucks!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Giqqles13 on 7/13/2013 1:20:00 AM more reviews by Giqqles13

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Very Oily, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I really LOVE this product hard candy has always been a good product I like how this mascara dosent flake dosent have clumps the brush is fairly big which is great for my many lashes it also seperates every lash makes them look long but natural dosent really need a lot to look your best I also love that this mascara has enough liquid and the tube is big . There's no doubt that I'm going to buy this again! (:

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 ixSNOWBUNNYx3 on 7/4/2013 8:41:00 PM more reviews by ixSNOWBUNNYx3

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

My friend gave this one to me, so I don't know what the original packaging is like. Let's just say I really won't spend any money on this...

I do like how this formula is practically 100% clump free, to the extent when it's like... watery almost. It takes forever to dry, and I don't find my lashes any more voluminous than it was before, and I have really less lashes. It kinda sticks all my lashes together, and it makes it all black... It doesn't layer on very well, and it feels like hair gel, but for your lashes...

I find this formula really easy to smear and come off as well. I was expecting the mascara to stay on, but it ran off the moment it touched any form of water/sweat/snow... It was a mess!!! I want to be able to wear a mascara without having to stress about the weather.

Not very happy with it, but if you want one just to fool around, go ahead :P

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Hard Candy products

More Mascara products