Paula's Choice • RESIST Barrier Repair Moisturizer • Moisturizers

rated 3.9(103 reviews)

Average Rating.3.9
Would buy this product again.67%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Eire1 on 7/30/2014 2:14:00 PM more reviews by Eire1

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I HAD THE SAMPLE.
This is a lightweight lotion suitable for dry skin. Someone with minimal oiliness could use this and someone with combination skin could use this on dry patches. I found the ingredients to be up to 'Paulas' standards. It is fragrance free which is a bonus.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 srhgts on 7/12/2014 7:23:00 PM more reviews by srhgts

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Perfect moisturiser for my skin, I just love it. Hydrating but not heavy or pore clogging, no silicone (which breaks me out horribly,) and it has antioxidants and cell communicating ingredients. If my cheeks are drier than usual I add a little drop of almond oil into the cream, otherwise it keeps my skin happy all on its own. It's pretty expensive in the UK, about £27, which is a lot when it doesn't last that long. It's worth it though, it's my one indulgence since I can't find any other moisturiser my skin likes as much.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 JCS772 on 5/27/2014 8:52:00 PM more reviews by JCS772

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I've been using this almost a year and a half now and absolutely love it. The entire RESIST line has been great for my post-40 sensitive skin. I regularly get compliments on my skin these days and believe this is at least partially responsible for reversing fine lines.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 LE9180 on 5/14/2014 5:55:00 AM more reviews by LE9180

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight   Eyes: Brown    

My HG evening moisturizer. I have dry, sensitive skin and eczema. Most products just make the eczema angry, but this soothes it. I've gone from having flaky skin with scaly patches to supple, glowing skin. Seriously, I'm glowing. It also evens tone like Estée Lauder's Idealist, a benefit I hadn't expected. My skin is so improved that I can wear foundation and blush again, something my dry, irritated skin had made almost impossible for years. I haven't experienced breakouts, but I'm not prone to them. If only they offered it with SPF for day use!!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 PlantStrong on 5/10/2014 4:01:00 PM more reviews by PlantStrong

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I tried a sample of this and it caused breakouts -- might be problematic for those with sensitive skin. As others have noted, it has a thin, lightweight texture, more like a serum than a lotion.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* alina08 on 4/27/2014 8:45:00 AM more reviews by alina08

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I do not think that this moisturizer is particularly moisturizing. It is, as noted by others, more of a serum. That being said, it is not a bad moisturizer, although I am not impressed by it. I have a couple of gripes about the product in general, since Paula Begoun is so apt to judge others' products. I do not like how the percent of retinol is not indicated on the packaging. I think that it is foolish to by a retinol product without a firm idea of the concentration. Secondly, for those who use this moisturizer during the daytime, where is the SPF? Paula is the first one to complain about how sun protection should be incorporated into creams, and yet this product requires that you use a second product in tandem. Also, I bought this product twice and both times the pump arrived damaged, so I got tired of replacing it. I think that, overall, this cream is not that special.

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 wendylee526 on 4/1/2014 10:16:00 AM more reviews by wendylee526

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

Great product. The best thing about this particular product is that it keeps my skin from being dry... and I have VERY dry skin. VERY dry. It doesn't make my skin feel like it drank it all in where it leaves a greasy feel. It does what it needs to by keeping my skin from being dry, but just feels soft and dry. So I kinda love it. And I'm a product junkie! I've tried EVERYTHING under the sun. I literally spend thousands of dollars a year keeping up w/ new products. Always trying to find that HG product line. I have faith in this product line and I have never loved taking care of my dry skin so much!! :)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Athena2 on 3/31/2014 11:56:00 PM more reviews by Athena2

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

A number of reviews have indicated that this moisturizer is very light, and is more like a serum than a moisturizer. That may be true, but it's the perfect moisturizer for me. I have always had very dry skin, but I haven't really done anything about it. My skin has been easy to keep up all my life; I've never had acne, my pores were invisible, my skin is very fair, and I have never washed my face, let alone applied sunscreen or anything else, unless I was going to the beach or working in the yard all day. I have, however, avoided the sun as much as possible. Now, at 42, I have some brown spots on my cheeks and crow's feet around my eyes. Plus, I can see my pores now. I finally decided to do something about it.

For the past month, I went from doing absolutely nothing to my skin (and I mean nothing), to applying 6-7 products to my skin twice a day. It's quite a change. And, while my skin is very dry, I'm finding that it does better with products that aren't designed for people with dry skin (maybe because it's being bombarded with multiple products now). After cleansing, toning, sometimes using an AHA, applying an antioxidant, vitamin C serum, and a skin brightening treatment, this moisturizer is just right for me. It is not thick and luscious. It soaks in quickly and my skin feels baby soft after I've used it.

I don't want shiny skin that looks like moisturizer has been applied to it; if that's what you want, you won't find it here. My skin is struggling a little bit with AHA products, but it feels much better after applying this, even though it has some retinol.

Ultimately, I am seeing an amazing change in my skin; it looks significantly better. Given the number of Paula's Choice products I'm using, I can't attribute the change to this moisturizer. However, I can say that my skin FEELS great after I've put this on.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* MsVengeance on 3/3/2014 6:29:00 PM more reviews by MsVengeance

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I usually only use Paula's toners bc her moisturizers always seem to irritate and/or break my skin out (though I did like her "anti-aging clear skin hydrator" for awhile). I only got this one out of desparation when my old pm moisturizer (la roche's Effaclar H) got reformulated and I noticed they had similar ingredients.

This is a really light moisturizer--so light that I think it's almost dishonest of them to label it as such bc I can't see it providing sufficient moisture for any but those with oily skin--or at least, it's not gonna be enough unless you use like, 4+ pumps. Considering the price that's a lot. It's more like a serum despite the lotion texture. My skin is currently on the oilier side of combo and if I didn't use the Skin Balancing toner it would'nt be enough.

I've been using about 2-3 pumps every night since the beginning of Jan (thinking I'm nearing the end of the bottle btw) and I have recently noticed my skin looks slightly more refined and what I like about this is that it's come without the cost of the irritation and breakouts that retin a can give me (I've recently tried to start using it again and omg it's so evil).

I think it actually did break me out and irritate me initially. I know I know I just said it wasn't like retin a and it isn't: my skin's reaction was really mild compared to retin a--plus it might not even be typical considering I had not exfoliated in any form for several months due to an accutane course so my skin was all sensitive. At this point I think it actually helps with acne. I can't say whether it helps with skin discoloration or redness cause the Skin Balancing toner already does that a lot for me.

Ultimately, this stuff reminds me of Estee Lauder's Advanced Night Repair serum--though it doesn't make my skin as glowy and dewy. Still, I think it would be perfect if it actually provided sufficient moisture but I guess you can't have everything (probably if she put moisture in there I'd break out anyways).

This "moisturizer" is now $27 but I plan to repurchase--though I will do so full of resentment bc I am still pretty disgusted with Paula's ever rising prices....Can I just say that I found it HIGHLY ironic when I saw a picture of her in the little pamphlet that came with this product--ironic, bc our girl Paula is obviously a user of botox and fillers...she's got a great profile but straight on her face is frozen, waxy and kind of creepy (it appears to belong to a much older woman than you'd think from the profile so it's just weird). BTW, she admits to it so on the other hand, at least she's honest about it, right?

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* HWL on 2/20/2014 7:01:00 PM more reviews by HWL

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Blue    

This is very good, though I would not say it is good for very dry skin as stated. But is good for dry combo skin and does not break me out. It i has some retinol and doesn't break me out and is a light moisturizer. Not bad but too expensive. I cannot tolerate much retinol, so it's not a bad way to start. .It helps a bit with dark spots and clarity and dryness. It doesn't do much but doesn't claim to. I get no irritation and no breakouts, but it's expensive. Many PC products have broken me out. This isn't for dry skin , despite the claims, it's for normal or combo. But when you compare it to the Resist Hydrator it is moisturizing. I have bought this one again, so that says something. I got it more for light moisturizing and to break into retinol. I bout it twice because the only other moisturizser I can use is Neutrogena's oil Free for combo skin which is super basic. Sometimes I like a little retinol helps my skin. But don't expect real changes. Is it worth it? Not sure. Trying some drugstore brands.

Pros:
no irritation, gentle
helps redness
doesn't break me out
no fragrance
pump is cute and stable and hygienic

Cons:
Over priced
no real changes in skin
hard to tell when it's empty


2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Paula's Choice products

More Moisturizers products