Kate Somerville • Eradikate Acne Spot Treatment • Skincare - Face

rated 4.2(67 reviews)

Average Rating.4.2
Would buy this product again.77%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 milanak7 on 10/29/2014 8:11:00 PM more reviews by milanak7

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I've been struggling with acne for years and years and I have tried soooooo many face washes, spot treatments, and even prescription acne treatments. I heard about this product and thought I would give it a try, so I splurged and spent the $32 at Sephora. I found that this worked okay, but not as good as it should considering the price. For me, it works better on "new" pimples/spots, but it does not work on reoccurring spots (pimples that have come back). So it's an okay product, but not great. Personally, I found that the worst part of it is that it makes your skin fairly dry, because it's a peeling type of treatment so it just peels off your face. I put it on before I go to bed and then wash off what is left on my face in the morning and it makes my skin kind of flaky and dry. I hate to say that I would not purchase this again and was not very impressed.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 LiseC on 10/11/2014 1:59:00 AM more reviews by LiseC

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Red, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Yay Kate!!! Not a miracle worker but so far my HG product for painful cystic acne - it definitely shortens the lifespan of those suckers. A little pricey for the bottle but it lasts a long time and hey, if it works...have repurchased twice and almost on my 3rd bottle.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 meredithtaylor on 7/25/2014 10:23:00 AM more reviews by meredithtaylor

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I find that this is mainly meant for really stubborn blemishes. It does typically help to dry them out and heal them, but it doesn't always work. You never know if it's going to actually work and make the blemish go away really fast or do nothing. When it works though, it really works and I love that. The only other thing is that it's kind of hard to get out of the bottle once you've used up most of it. I like to try to use every last bit since it is so expensive, and in the beginning it's fine, but once all the liquid part is gone you're just left with the pink stuff on the bottom and it's really hard to get out. Overall, even though it doesn't always work, when it does it's great!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Songbird222 on 6/11/2014 11:01:00 AM more reviews by Songbird222

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I use this almost nightly on blemishes. It works well to dry up pimples quickly, and greatly reduces the time it takes to get rid of cystic acne blemishes. I like to use sulfur products as opposed to benzyl peroxide at night to avoid bleached out pillow cases. Keep in mind that sulfur is not a pleasant odor, but that's the trade off for this fast working spot treatment.
The only thing I don't like is that once the surface liquid dries up and the product gets down to the bottom, it becomes difficult to reach with a cotton swab. If you add a little rubbing alcohol, you can extend the use of the product. Seems like simply a shorter bottle would alleviate this issue. If you can find the long wooden swabs like they have in medical facilities, I would think they would be perfect to use with this product.
I will still continue to buy and use this product. It lasts a long time, too.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 feistydoll on 4/27/2014 3:51:00 AM more reviews by feistydoll

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Oily, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Black    

I bought this product out of recommendation from a salesgirl at Sephora. At first I liked using this product. It helped sped up my acne recovery. I don't like the smell and so does my boyfriend. It was a hassle to use because it left a pink goo on your face which can't be covered with make up. It's also flaky and made my pillowcase and bed sheets stained with pink flakes and sulfur smell.

I noticed after few weeks of using, I started to develop cystic acne around my whole face. During that time, I was also using Philosophy Purity and this product. So I stopped using both product and after that, my acne is reduced to just normal ones. However I am still left with acne scars.

Will never repurchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 brittclow69 on 3/22/2014 4:30:00 PM more reviews by brittclow69

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I get a lot of hormonal acne on my chin.. The under the skin pimples that never want to fully pop up.. I was using proactive mask for the longest time which contains 6% sulfur.. I heard of this and read the reviews.. I know sulfur helps my pimples more then anything but the proactive wasn't cutting it anymore.. I tried this last night and a pimple Ive been trying to get rid of for weeks was gone by the morning.. If the product works like this all the time I found my new HG Spot treatment.. Price doesn't bother me at all! So far so good!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Rawlins1 on 3/7/2014 11:20:00 PM more reviews by Rawlins1

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I just bought this product last week because I have been having horrible breakouts all over my face, and within the first use, I could already tell a huge difference in my skin! Not only could I tell, but my mom and my boyfriend also commented on how much clearer my skin looked! I am so impressed! Like several other reviewers have said, I too have used Murad's Anti Aging Acne Spot Treatment and found that it does get rid of acne after a couple uses, but it is far too drying for my skin. I even used it with several different moisturizers (not at the same time lol!) but I still found that my skin was very flaky and it just didn't work for me. And often times the acne wouldn't actually go away, it would just get dry and flaky on top and then flake off, and the pimple would still be there. So I am very glad to have found a product that works for me and my sensitive skin! Also, I am perfectly fine with paying the $22 dollars for it, because it's not often I find a product I really like and that works! Plus, the 30 mL or 1 ounce bottle will last until the expiration date on the bottom, which for me, is 09/2015! Honestly, this bottle could last me half my life! Lol! Others are saying that the smell is bothering them, but it really doesn't bother me at all, and I am extremely sensitive to scents! I guess that's just a preference thing though. My only complaint is that the bottle doesn't have a built in brush of some sort. But I know that would be unsanitary, so it's best not to have one. Maybe if the bottle was just a tad bit shorter or something, it would make it a lot easier to dip a Qtip down to the bottom!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* mousquerader on 2/27/2014 9:45:00 PM more reviews by mousquerader

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

A sulfur, zinc oxide, salicylic acid, and camphor solution is a great addition to any skin care arsenal when a stubborn pimple arises despite your best efforts in preventative skin care. If you've got a nasty zit that you can't get rid of, this concoction is great for reducing the severity of the breakout. I wouldn't say to expect miracles, like how some people claim it makes their pimples go away overnight, but it definitely can help reduce the size, swelling, and duration of the acne spot. Simply use a cotton swab to apply to the affect spots and leave on for as long as possible or overnight. Don't be too eager and apply this more than once a day you'll just end up drying out your skin which could potentially increase irritation and make the breakout worse.

INGREDIENTS:
Active Ingredient: Sulfur 10%; Inactive Ingredients:Isopropyl Alcohol, Water/Aqua/Eau, Camphor, Magnesium Aluminum Silicate, Salicylic Acid, Iron Oxides (CI 77489, CI 77491, CI 77492, CI 77499), Zinc Oxide (CI 77947).

NOTE: You'll want to take extra care if you're going to apply this solution anywhere near or above your eye area as this product will dry into a crust and flake off. I once treated a spot in between my eyes and the product flaked off and got into one of my eyes, causing it to burn. It took a lot of effort to wash out I could see a small crust of pink literally stuck to my eyeball. This is why, if I am applying this product anywhere near my eyes, I will make sure I leave it on for a while and then wash it off instead of going to sleep or laying down, so I have less of a chance of the product flaking into my eyes. Please be careful!

TIP: I noticed that in my bottle of Eradikate, the clear liquid/solution of water and alcohol that floats about the pink substance evaporated completely after a few months. I didn't want the product to eventually dry out completely, so I poured in witch hazel, which is also pretty effective on its own for combatting acne. I noticed this combinations is even more effective on stubborn breakouts. If your bottle is drying out and you want to salvage it, try this!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Michaelajmag on 11/25/2013 12:24:00 AM more reviews by Michaelajmag

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I have sensitive acne prone skin and this treatment has been the only way I've shortened the life span of my breakouts. If I feel a cystic acne bump forming on my chin I put this on and it actually stops it from emerging. I have suffered with acne for quite some time and have tried salicylic acid, benzoyl peroxide, and tea tree oil spot treatments but none are as effective for me as this sulfur product. Will buy this over and over.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 bethin on 11/8/2013 3:55:00 PM more reviews by bethin

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I'm really annoyed because when I first bought this brought, I thought it was my life saver. It did significantly help me with breakouts and pimples. People would come up to me and say my skin looked amazing. Recently though, it has done to close to nothing. Maybe reduced swelling? Maybe. Maybe my pimples atm are the wrong type of pimples? Ill purchase this again under the context that I know it previously worked and there is small reduced swelling but I'm on the fence/leaning a little backwards. A product as such, you would think when applied properly and regularly would work always.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Kate Somerville products

More Skincare - Face products