Simple • smoothing cleansing scrub • Scrubs

rated 3.1(28 reviews)

Average Rating.3.1
Would buy this product again.46%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 xoslshopaholic on 8/19/2014 4:02:00 PM more reviews by xoslshopaholic

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Wavy   Eyes: Hazel    

This is a very gentle product, maybe even too gentle for my skin, but it's a nice scrub. My skin feels smooth, but hydrated, and it's gentle enough for me to use a few times a week, rather than once. I don't think I'll be repurchasing it because I prefer more exfoliating scrubs for my face, but it would be nice for someone with oily or sensitive skin.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 flowerpan10 on 8/10/2014 12:38:00 AM more reviews by flowerpan10

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I really do not care for this scrub. I use to only use a plain bar of Dove Soap for my face and body until I realized I wasn't cleaning my face properly. Then I went on to purchase this scrub & used this to wash my face only until I later on realized that you need to cleanse with a cream product first and then exfoliate to really clean the skin. I choose this because I have really sensitive, oily and acne-prone skin. I do like that this doesn't leave my face tight & dry but that it doesn't over moisturize as well. Those are the only good things I can say about it. Other than that this stuff doesn't spread well at all even if my face is soaking wet. I find myself having to put on massive amounts of this in random small areas of my face and neck just to get the product everywhere that's needed. After 2-3 months I have a little less than half the bottle left & haven't seen any brightening or even textured skin yet. I have moved onto the St. Ives Even and Bright scrub that is more natural in ingredients (this Simple scrub contains parabens) and after one week I saw that my face was actually more even textured & not as red. I really want to use this up so that I won't be wasting my money but as of right now it's just been collecting dust in my bathroom cabinet.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 daisybeewee on 8/9/2014 4:37:00 PM more reviews by daisybeewee

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

I think it depends on the individual.. I have combination skin it's oily and dry. After the first time using this product my skin instantly felt smooth and my skin looks more radiant and healthy, even the day after my skin still felt nice. The exfoliator wasn't rough and I didn't mind the smell at all. I will be buying this product again :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 avencill on 7/6/2014 9:11:00 PM more reviews by avencill

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

first of all, I love the Simple skin care line. my skin is pretty sensitive and it's hard for me to find skin care products that don't break me out or dry my skin out more than it already is. After getting past the smell of this scrub I really liked it until it started to break me out. maybe better for people with not- so sensitive skin

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* flairgirl8 on 4/22/2014 2:47:00 PM more reviews by flairgirl8

Age: 36-43   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

While I do not like the geranium oil scent in this product, it is an effective scrub. I have used this on my face and neck and on my DH itchy, dry back and it works fine. Contains parabens. I like St. Ives Black head clearing Green tea scrub more than the Simple brand scrub as it has more scrubbies in it, and it smells better.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 laurenfaine on 2/8/2014 10:12:00 PM more reviews by laurenfaine

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I bought this cleanser because I ran out of my Aveeno exfoliating face wash and I like to try new things. MISTAKE. This stuff stinks. I find myself holding my breath when I use it... It smells super chemical-y, like Windex. I also don't like the rice granules in it, they seem sharp and it can hurt to use it, even if I don't press hard. It doesn't dry my skin out too bad but it does have mineral oil as the second ingredient, plus some vegetable oil. I'm not surprised it breaks other people out. I think it works well enough, my face is nice and smooth, but the scent is awful and I will never buy this product again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* eadinsmo on 1/22/2014 12:27:00 PM more reviews by eadinsmo

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Red, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I bought this product to keep in the shower when I ran out of my Clean & Clear exfoliator. My review is full of positives but I'm not effusively thrilled about the product. I'd buy it again, but I'm a pretty fickle buyer and would more likely try something else first. (Which might work against me!)

This is a VERY non-irritating exfoliator. Great for daily or near-daily use in the shower on my face and chest. My skin is pretty sensitive, and I use a lot of products that can play poorly with exfoliators (glycolic acids, retinols). This didn't irritate me or break me out at all.

But it's also....not a very special experience. Maybe I'm looking for too much in a product, but the scentlessness makes it boring. Non-irritating but boring. It was also pretty cheap, about $6 at Publix. Packaging is a tube that stays closed - good. Also, the tube is translucent so you can tell when you're running out. I think Simple products are often on sale at CVS.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* fabmac1 on 12/23/2013 12:00:00 PM more reviews by fabmac1

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this along with a couple other things from this line (soothing toner and the replenishing rich moisturizer). I have to admit... the rice grain scrubs are a bit different and more gentle on my face than the St. Ives (apricot) one i was using prior to this. Unfortunately, i'm not a huge fan of this scrub. it does an OK job in exfoliating my skin, but i also felt it left a filmy residue on my skin (perhaps from the rice?). I kept rinsing my face, but still felt the film there. Too bad, my search for a good facial exfoliator continues!

Update - this scrub also made me break out. I'm guessing it's from the rice granules. They leave a filmy residue that i can't seem to get rid of. will be returning.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 carotan on 9/15/2013 10:38:00 PM more reviews by carotan

Age: 44-55   Skin: Sensitive, Olive   Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I was scared when I read all the negative reviews. But I went ahead and bought it because it promised to be a soft, gentle exfoliant with no chemicals. Since I have very sensitive, thin skin, I was looking for something that won't scrub or scrape like my current one by Ole Henriken. I used it once so far, but aside from the slightly plastic-ky smell, I really liked it! I just know that it left my face soft and it was not harsh.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 XOXkay on 8/26/2013 4:28:00 PM more reviews by XOXkay

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

YUCK! I hate this stuff and I hate the simple skin care line! I was so excited when this finally came to the US, it was finally a drugstore product that wasn't harsh (or so it claimed). I tried the vital vitamins lotion and at first I loved it. Well a few days after I started it, my skin was breaking out like it never does. Horrible cystic acne everywhere...it was a nightmare. Then, I removed it from my skincare and tada! Acne went away. Now I thought it was just that product, and I decided to give it another go. I bought this and used it twice a week. At first, no reaction (a good thing), but then I started breaking out and I wasn't sure if this was the cause. So one night I decided to use ONLY this product on my nose.. and lo and behold.. the next morning I had a huge zit on my nose. So disappointing, and this stuff smells awful. And I won't even mention how not simple this skincare line is....some nasty ingredients. stay away!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Simple products

More Scrubs products