E.L.F. • Studio Lip Stain • Lip Gloss

rated 3.0(91 reviews)

Average Rating.3.0
Would buy this product again.50%
Ingredients


rated 1 of 5 Mimielle on 10/9/2013 2:43:00 PM more reviews by Mimielle

Age: Unknown   Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

A completely unusable product for me, returned.
Thin and streaky or thick and goopy.
Did not stay set when gloss was applied, it got smeary even with a lip pencil.
I let it set, even blotted gently to be sure...but the color transferred to the gloss wand, making the clear gloss look cloudy and dirty.
The colored portion smelled odd and astringent, separated in the tube and the gloss has an unpleasant texture and taste.
The stain used alone was drying and it feathered,
The gloss is not pleasant enough to use alone or over other colors.
My store had just put up this ELF kiosk the week I purchased so I know it was not old product.

Wet n Wild Megalast Liquid Lip Color is the same price and actually works well.
Any WnW Lipstick with a NYC gloss over is nicer.

A product that doesn't work well enough to use without extraordinary measures or a lot of compromises or excuses is not a bargain at any price.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* MrMontyBurns on 10/6/2013 1:01:00 PM more reviews by MrMontyBurns

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

I got this in Lady Luck, which is a pretty warm rose on me. Love the color, but staying power was no more than any old lipstick or even lip balm.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* judy46970 on 4/11/2013 5:04:00 AM more reviews by judy46970

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Works good, but dried my lips out, so I will not repurchase. :(

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 xCarrieex on 4/6/2013 10:57:00 PM more reviews by xCarrieex

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I have five of these colors: Birthday Suit, Heartbreaker, First Date, Lucky Lady and Red Carpet.

Pros:
Beautiful colors and well pigmented. Red Carpet is my favorite red to wear on my lips.
Natural looking colors as well (with the exception of red carpet).
Aren't very drying, if at all.
As with all e.l.f. products, cheap.

Cons:
Take a while to dry before you can put on the clear gloss.
Isn't exactly a stain, it comes off fairly easy.

I found when applying the stain, you have to be very light handed. If you slather on a ton of it, it will take longer to dry.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Babymutt01 on 2/26/2013 6:11:00 PM more reviews by Babymutt01

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Other    

This is a great lip stain! Long lasting color and a cute clear gloss. Not drying but exactly the opposite. I like First Date personally. You do have to order this online however but a very nice lip stain to own.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Paintedlily62 on 2/7/2013 11:13:00 PM more reviews by Paintedlily62

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Colors were nice, packaging was ok.....smelled strongly of heated plastic and that smell didn't go away. Had to return them.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 moushka26 on 2/1/2013 12:27:00 PM more reviews by moushka26

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I bought this in Fashionista and was so pleased, I immediately ordered two backups and two more colors. This is a moderately pigmented lip cream that dries to a soft matte finish, which you follow with a clear gloss. You should wear it over a lip balm, as it can be drying, but it lasts for several hours. Fashionista is a clear, rosy pink, very flattering on my NW20 skin. It's a great basic if you want more than a nude lip but not screaming color. I've had good luck with e.l.f. products. Their Studio Line offers some great values, although somewhat limited color ranges.

I don't get the negative reviews on this product. First, it's dirt cheap at $3. How much cheaper can you get? Second, the packaging is nice, not high end but this IS e.l.f., not Guerlain! You're not paying for fancy packaging. Thirdly, while this isn't a stain in the sense of those hideous pencil lip stains (which all seem to turn bright fuchsia on me) it does stay in place much better than a regular lipstick or gloss, doesn't get all over your DH when you kiss him, and doesn't leave a colored imprint on your cup when you drink your coffee, all things I require of a stay-on lipstick.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* stream27 on 11/25/2012 6:01:00 PM more reviews by stream27

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Not sure why this is called a "stain." There is no staining in the sense that, once the layer of product wears off, colour is still left on the lips. because the layer of colour dries, it's going to dry out your lips somewhat, regardless of whether you use the included gloss or a balm under the colour. Additionally, because it dries, any moisture that comes in contact with it, be it saliva or balm or gloss is going to turn it pasty.



I have this in 2 colours, the hot pink and a rosey nude, and I don't care for either. Due to the chalky nature of the colour, it highlights any lip imperfections, so any dryness or fine lines are immediately visible. The drying, I mentioned, feels a little gross and, once you add the gloss to the dry colour, it just feels heavy and thick. The colours are nice and, if these worked like an actual stain (think balm stain), I think they would be beautiful, but the formula is just bad. The only time I use these now is to use the clear gloss on it's own with other products. Would not repurchase, as I've found much better products that are true "stains," even if they're a tad more pricey.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 sannt on 8/2/2012 3:09:00 PM more reviews by sannt

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I don't get all the negative reviews. This product is awesome! The trick is the wait till the lipstain is dried first because it goes on like a lip gloss. You'll know it's dried when it's matte. Once it's completely dried, it's definitely a lip stain. What I really like to do is to add the clear gloss on the center of the bottom lip for a more finished look. But if I'm going for a more natural look, I would just skip the gloss completely.
If you're concerned with it being a little drying, putting on a lip balm first usually helps.
However, the one thing that I don't like about this product is that it can be streaky. But it's nothing that you can't work with.
I have the colors heartbreaker and birthday suit, but I'm definitely going to purchase more!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ladysonoma on 5/29/2012 2:25:00 PM more reviews by ladysonoma

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Red   Eyes: Brown    

Amidst all the negative reviews, I actually liked this product. It's very natural, and with the gloss looked really lovely.

The stain goes on like liquid and does not not burn or smell funny, or terribly dry and feathering, like Benetint or any others. The stain goes on like liquid, but dries with a cream feel that is similar to the NYX lip cream, except this is a thinner cream feel.

Anyway, with/without gloss, the look is very natural, healthy looking lips that reminded me of the NYX lip cream, and it was only $3, I think, on the website. I would buy more if I didn't already have a gazillion lip stains that I'm trying to use at the moment. This one is definitely a keeper!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More E.L.F. products

More Lip Gloss products