E.L.F. Studio Lip Stain

3.0

94 reviews

50% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.7

Price: $

Package Quality: 3.7

Price: $

INGREDIENTS



on 2/17/2015 10:45:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Very Dry, Medium, Neutral

Hair: Black, Curly, Coarse

Eyes: Black

I really like this product and am surprised by the bad reviews. Firstly, I don't understand why companies label products like this a stain. There is no staining effect at all. It is more like a thin liquid lipstick. It is very long lasting, though. The formula is smooth, creamy, pigmented, and lasts quite a while on me. It does emphasize dry patches after a few hours, though. Also, the packaging broke on me. I would recommend it, though, as it is a very nice product.



on 1/26/2015 1:56:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Very Oily, Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Just ok
Not the best at a stain but it looks nice on the lips.
Not drying and did not peel off like some long wearing lip products.
They need more shades.


on 12/5/2014 1:35:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

This is a very inexpensive product and behaves like one. I have the shade Heartbreaker.

PROS
The color of the stain is nice, looks quite tan in the tube but applies a very neutral, soft pink. In fact, I love the color, hence my 3 star review.
The clear gloss is actually pretty decent. Not over drying, no discernible smell, not too sticky.

CONS
The formula of the stain is terrible. Firstly it's very creamy, not very pigmented, and I can't see any staining effects on my lips. Basically there is no stain.
The formula applies terribly, it clumps, balls up and is in no way a smooth application.
In order for it to be wearable, I apply it with the doe foot and then have to rub and smooth in with finger tip. Then I do another layer, same thing. Then another. Once I've got it smooth, or as smooth as it will get, then I put a layer of gloss.
As far as wear, I get about an hour out of it, with the gloss over top.
This is definitely not a 'lip stain', nor is it a long wearing color/gloss combo.

WHY I DONT COMPLETELY HATE IT: It was cheap, I wasted almost no money. I have little expectations of cheapo product lines like elf and nyc, sometimes I'm pleasantly surprised and that's great. Never let down though. And lastly, once I've gone though the bitch that is the application process, I like how the color and gloss look on my lips, very much so. I will use this up happily because I paid 2$ for it :)


on 10/9/2013 2:43:00 PM

Age: Unknown

Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

A completely unusable product for me, returned.
Thin and streaky or thick and goopy.
Did not stay set when gloss was applied, it got smeary even with a lip pencil.
I let it set, even blotted gently to be sure...but the color transferred to the gloss wand, making the clear gloss look cloudy and dirty.
The colored portion smelled odd and astringent, separated in the tube and the gloss has an unpleasant texture and taste.
The stain used alone was drying and it feathered,
The gloss is not pleasant enough to use alone or over other colors.
My store had just put up this ELF kiosk the week I purchased so I know it was not old product.

Wet n Wild Megalast Liquid Lip Color is the same price and actually works well.
Any WnW Lipstick with a NYC gloss over is nicer.

A product that doesn't work well enough to use without extraordinary measures or a lot of compromises or excuses is not a bargain at any price.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 10/6/2013 1:01:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I got this in Lady Luck, which is a pretty warm rose on me. Love the color, but staying power was no more than any old lipstick or even lip balm.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 4/11/2013 5:04:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Dry, Medium, Warm

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

Works good, but dried my lips out, so I will not repurchase. :(


on 4/6/2013 10:57:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

I have five of these colors: Birthday Suit, Heartbreaker, First Date, Lucky Lady and Red Carpet.

Pros:
Beautiful colors and well pigmented. Red Carpet is my favorite red to wear on my lips.
Natural looking colors as well (with the exception of red carpet).
Aren't very drying, if at all.
As with all e.l.f. products, cheap.

Cons:
Take a while to dry before you can put on the clear gloss.
Isn't exactly a stain, it comes off fairly easy.

I found when applying the stain, you have to be very light handed. If you slather on a ton of it, it will take longer to dry.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 2/26/2013 6:11:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

This is a great lip stain! Long lasting color and a cute clear gloss. Not drying but exactly the opposite. I like First Date personally. You do have to order this online however but a very nice lip stain to own.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Colors were nice, packaging was ok.....smelled strongly of heated plastic and that smell didn't go away. Had to return them.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 2/1/2013 12:27:00 PM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I bought this in Fashionista and was so pleased, I immediately ordered two backups and two more colors. This is a moderately pigmented lip cream that dries to a soft matte finish, which you follow with a clear gloss. You should wear it over a lip balm, as it can be drying, but it lasts for several hours. Fashionista is a clear, rosy pink, very flattering on my NW20 skin. It's a great basic if you want more than a nude lip but not screaming color. I've had good luck with e.l.f. products. Their Studio Line offers some great values, although somewhat limited color ranges.

I don't get the negative reviews on this product. First, it's dirt cheap at $3. How much cheaper can you get? Second, the packaging is nice, not high end but this IS e.l.f., not Guerlain! You're not paying for fancy packaging. Thirdly, while this isn't a stain in the sense of those hideous pencil lip stains (which all seem to turn bright fuchsia on me) it does stay in place much better than a regular lipstick or gloss, doesn't get all over your DH when you kiss him, and doesn't leave a colored imprint on your cup when you drink your coffee, all things I require of a stay-on lipstick.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.


Recommended for Medium Skin

Back to Top