Bare Escentuals • Refillable Buffing Brush (Black) • Makeup Brushes

rated 2.4(9 reviews)

Average Rating.2.4
Would buy this product again.33%
Ingredients


rated 1 of 5 BeatrixKiddo on 6/17/2012 5:08:00 PM more reviews by BeatrixKiddo

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I bought this on a whim to take on holidays without checking it out properly in store - big mistake!

I find this brush incredibly heavy and clunky, but worst of all it's really scratchy on my face. I will not be using it again. Unfortunately I bought it a while ago so it's now too late for me to return it. 22 down the drain...

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* savethemarianne on 6/1/2012 1:20:00 PM more reviews by savethemarianne

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I think Bare minerals must have updated this product, listened to the complaints and corrected the problems because I've had none of the problems others have mentioned. I bought this brush for my holiday as I didn't want to cart around a sifter tub. Firstly, it's important to note that I have the Click lock and go type bare minerals foundation. To get the powder out of this tube you don't go through the sifter lid, you turn it upside down and get in through the bottom. There's a little lip edge and this is easily liftable with a blunt scissor/spoon handle (forget the little bendy plastic thing they provide). Then, all I had to do was use their little plastic black spoon and spoon it into the clear tub, I didn't spill anything doing it this way. Secondly, the reason why I suspect I have the updated product is because my brush is labelled correctly, which sounds different from another MUA'r further down. Mine is set to close when it's in (I put it in this position to screw in the clear plastic tub holding the powder) then when you turn it anti clockwise half way along is "buff" (I believe this is for slow flow of the product) and then finally there's the open setting for getting more product out.

So I screwed in the plastic tub, turned the brush upside down and product came to the end of the brush with two shakes! I had read these reviews before so I was expecting it to be harder but no, for some reason for me it was dead easy! Also, someone mentioned the head comes off. The head comes off so you can wash the brush head, it's attached with a magnet so if you pull it hard it will come off and you can wash the brush head. This was crucial for me and if it didn't have this function I probably wouldn't have bought it cos a brush is useless if you can't keep it hygienic!

All in all this was a great innovative solution of a loose powder problem and I encourage those who have had bad experiences to go back and ask if the brush was updated. Also worth mentioning I'm from the UK so perhaps there's disparity between US UK production of the brush and this might be the problem? A lot of other reviewer's brushes sound faulty to me.

N.B my other reasn for suspecting there's been an update is that mine looks different to the photo for this review. The box looks the same but my brush has a clear powder contained sticking out the bottom which you should be able to see from any angle as it sticks out by nearly a cm

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 notfalling028 on 4/21/2012 3:23:00 PM more reviews by notfalling028

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

In my world, the main purpose of a refillable brush is to carry it in my purse for easy touch-ups during the day...however, this brush weighs more than my phone, it is unnecessarily big, heavy and bulky and I can't see what's the point of that.
The only way I found it working for me was when I loaded it with Bare minerals blush in "Beauty". It releases just the right subtle amount of blusher and I could mix it with other multi-tasking minerals etc if I wanted to.
Still, Sephora does a much cheaper and lighter refillable brush that makes much more sense.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 he11ogorgeous on 4/10/2011 7:04:00 PM more reviews by he11ogorgeous

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

Scratchy, the product gets jammed, the head falls off (and so does half of your product.) subpar.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 hockeygirl324 on 1/10/2011 6:55:00 PM more reviews by hockeygirl324

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Red, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

Okay, first off, filling this brush with your bare minerals foundation is an absolute NIGHTMARE. You're supposed to use the enclosed "spoon"s pointy end to pull the sifter off your bare minerals product. I don't know about you guys, but that wimpy plastic thing did nothing in the way of prying the sifter off my foundation. I had to use a metal tool for my nails...the powder got everywhere...might I mention that it's not cheap so I'm not happy about wasting it. Then you're supposed to fill up the clear container by scooping the powder into it. Yeah good luck with that. Then once you actually get all that stuff done, pretty much no product comes out of the brush head. Plus the brush is too long for me, I like to put my bare minerals on with a buki brush and this definitely was not. I'm really disappointed in this, it shouldn't be this difficult to make bare minerals portable. You would think with all the money they make from their best selling products, they would be able to research and develop a product that actually works for on the go, convenient make up application.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Sundaes on 7/6/2010 6:02:00 PM more reviews by Sundaes

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I wanted to LOVE this product so bad. I bought it to carry in my purse for touch ups through out the day but I couldn't even get the stuff to come out! I made sure it was in the "open" position I shook and shook and shook until finally a little tiny bit came out. I got enought for my cheeks and then I had to start the whole process over again. I returned it two days later. It's such a great concept and I really loved the look and feel of it but it just didn't work.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 enteneu on 6/8/2010 6:19:00 PM more reviews by enteneu

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Ceciliax3
(read all my reviews)(read all my reviews)
Location: Nothern Virginia
Eye Color: Brown
Skin Tone: Medium
Age: 18-24
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Dissapointed.
- 06.01.10
I am really on the fence about this product. I fell in love with the packaging while I was in the store (it is the same 'mini refillable buffing brush' as the mineral veil one). It's sleek, small, and compact. Unfortunately I did not try it in the store because I was in a rush. When I got home, I was pleasantly surprised that it was on sale online. I bought this regardless of the many complaints about the faulty packaging, hoping that I could prove those people wrong. I bought not only one, but two (one for my sister). The instructions were very easy to follow. As I tried it, I began to feel the aggravation of the many reviewers before me. I spent a good 5-7 minutes trying to get the powder out onto the brush. When I saw that there was product finally coming out, I began to apply it onto my face. The product stopped coming out after a few seconds of buffing my face. It took me a bit to notice that there was no more product coming out (and Bare Escentual brushes in general are not very soft to begin with) and once again I found myself spending another 5-7 minutes trying to get more powder to come out onto the brush. All in all, I gave up with only half my face done. The brush is a bit too abrasive. I really want to love this product, but I can't find anything to love about it (other than the packaging, but that's not going to do me any good). I'm going to save my sister the hassle and just return both of them.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 ktcolt on 3/23/2010 12:54:00 PM more reviews by ktcolt

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

This has worked out great for me! I just keep it in the open position. It has worked out really good for me so far. I tap the brush handle against my palm to get it flowing and it gives enough coverage in a pinch. I dont use this as my initial application as I find the BE brushes to be horrible, this brush is no exception. However, I really like the containment of the mineral foundation. Others have found that it leaks. I think it is user error. Yes, the directions are not clear at all, but if you set it to open prior to putting the mineral foundation in the tube, I found that I have NONE of the problems or issues others have had. I like the large size, its easy to hold and find in the makeup bag or purse. I would buy again, in fact I did, I bought the refillable mineral veil brush. I dont have it yet, but will rate that when I get it!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 indychic on 10/9/2009 3:12:00 PM more reviews by indychic

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I stalled on ordering this for months due to all the bad reviews it's received on sites that sell it like QVC, Sephora & Drugstore.com, plus I hated the LE Mineral Veil filled brush that came out earlier this year because the powder went everywhere and had no flow control that I could tell. But I had a coupon & decided to bite the bullet and try it for myself since everyone's experience differs and I really wanted it to work.

INITIAL IMPRESSION: I can understand the frustration noted in some of the bad reviews I've read - as they have mentioned, I too think there is something off between the directions & the labeling on the brush handle mechanism. It's hard to explain without being able to show in person but my brush settings start with CLOSED where the brush head is fully retracted and the powder flow is off, then next as the handle is turned is OPEN where the brush head is just starting to rise up and I'm assuming the flow is on but the brush is still too low in the handle to use properly so I'm not certain, then about halfway around the next setting is BUFF where the brush head is fully extended and the flow is on but my brush head doesn't feel like it is 'locked' up like if I buff hard enough the pressure will push it back into the handle while I'm applying. Since it didn't feel like the brush head was going to stay extended I kept turning the handle and it clicked/locked just prior to it getting all the way back around to the CLOSED position but there is no label here to note a setting. I was able to get decent powder flow at this point but I cannot tell if the flow is ever actually off while the brush head is fully extended in either this position or the BUFF position as the directions state should be the case. I think the setting labels should actually go: CLOSED with the brush fully retracted and the flow off, then halfway around should be BUFF with the brush head fully extended and the flow off, and then right before the handle gets back to CLOSED the OPEN setting should be last with the brush fully extended and the flow on. In other words, I think perhaps the OPEN label is on the wrong side of the CLOSED label (should be just to the left of closed rather than to the right). I hope this makes sense and is helpful.

PERFORMANCE: Regarding the actual application performance, I've only had this a day (wanted to get an initial review posted since there wasn't one) but unlike some reviews I read, I get a nice powder flow through my brush that provides the same coverage I get using the swirl, tap, buff method. The flow does come only through the center of the brush but it distributes nicely for me while buffing. The brush head on mine is soft - not as much as say my Trish McEvoy brushes but softer than my other BE brushes (flawless application, handy buki and body buki) and is similar in shape to a kabuki. The brush head is removable (via magnetic base) so it can be cleaned which is a nice feature, however, be careful how hard you shake the brush to get the flow going as I shook the brush head right off the first time. There is also a cap that secures over the brush when it is retracted.

PORTABILITY: This is marketed as a travel tool but I bought it to keep on my vanity for my main makeup application rather than taking it with me for touchups (I don't need to touch up my BE foundation usually). But I will say this is not a small component, it is fairly short (about 4 inches when retracted) but really fat like the Nars #19 bronzer brush or any decent sized kabuki (about 1 1/2 inches in diameter). I don't think that qualifies as an especially portable size, however, it is less messy and more convenient than carrying the jar & brush so as long as you're not looking to throw it in your pocket or a small wristlet it is ok. I would prefer the flow to be controlled via a push button on the end like the Susan Posnik refillable foundation brush rather than just tapping/shaking the powder through but I can deal with it since the brush is so much nicer.

All in all, I would give this an initial 3.5 lippies if possible but would like to play with it for awhile prior to adding/subtracting lippies. The label issues absolutely need to be addressed by the company but if you're expecting them in advance like I was, I think this can be a really handy loose powder application tool. BE has also just released a shiny hot pink version of this brush that is pre-loaded with Mineral Veil but I have not seen it in person to know if the label problems have been corrected. I'll update in a few weeks . . .

UPDATE: Hmm. This is another product I'm torn on scoring. I think it is a decent product & is probably fine for taking on the go for touchups as is marketed. However, I wanted it to use as my main application component & I think it falls short there. After using awhile here are my issues:
* I do get the same coverage as with the normal method but it takes longer so it kind of outweighs the benefit.
* Powder gets into every crevice of this thing - under & around the brush head and inside the handle's turning mechanism which makes it stick & become hard to turn so it constantly needs to be cleaned & it leaks a bit eventually if carried to go.
* I end up using a ton more product with this than with the normal method - partly due to the leaking and partially due to how much product 'gets lost' in the brush head in order to get it full enough to do a decent application.

So, I'm marking this down from a 4 to a 3 and would probably score a 2.5 if allowed but YMMV depending upon how you want to use it. I still prefer the original round refillable compact w/a brush.

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No




More Bare Escentuals products

More Makeup Brushes products