Cover Girl Professional Super Thick Lash Mascara

4.0

589 reviews

75% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.7

Price: $

Package Quality: 3.7

Price: $

INGREDIENTS

Water , Glyceryl Stearate , Ammonium Acrylates Copolymer , Disteardimonium Hectorite , Propylene Glycol , Stearic Acid , Copernicia Cerifera Wax Carnauba , Triethanolamine , Acrylates Copolymer , Synthetic Wax , Polyvinyl Alcohol , Lecithin , Propylene Carbonate , Oleic Acid , Alcohol Denat , Xanthan Gum , Benzyl Alcohol , Phenoxyethanol , Trisodium EDTA , Methylparaben , Glycerin , Panthenol , Ethylparaben , Sodium Laureth Sulfate , Simethicone , Propylparaben , Iron Oxides , Ultramarines May Contain , Titanium Dioxide May Contain


on 3/20/2015 4:47:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I bought all three CG Professional mascaras on a sale day at the drugstore--and still spent less than I would on one of my usual Sephora/dept store choices. Crazy! The Super Thick (pink tube) is a very good mascara, but it isn't my favorite. I'm a minimalist when it comes to mascara, or you could just say lazy, and I find this one a little hard to use. The brush is very similar to the original Professional (which I love--blue tube), just a bit bigger in diameter, but the formula is different--this goes on wetter and heavier. I needed to go in with the spoolie on the first coat, and though that's more than I want to do, it's probably what has to happen to get real thickness and drama without clumps. I'd love to find a mascara that magically makes my lashes thick, long, and perfectly fanned out with a couple of casual swipes and no tinkering, but no luck so far. Since I'm okay with a natural look, I look for dryer formulas I can apply with one or two quick coats and forget about. But if you are looking for drama, and this is the kind of mascara you normally work with, it is definitely worth a try, because it is a high quality mascara, as good as ones that cost 5 times as much or more (Armani Eyes to Kill comes to mind). So I'll keep it for those rare evening occasions when the extra effort is needed.



on 2/1/2015 11:38:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I have been using this off and on since the late 90s. This is in my top 3 mascaras and the only reason why I stray is because I get distracted by other mascaras' cute packaging. I always forget what an awesome mascara this is. It seems like the brush might have something to do with it. It's the perfect size to reach ALL my lashes, even the tiny ones in the corners. It's also buildable, so I can apply one coat for a more natural look or 2-3 for a more dramatic look. I found it at Meijer for 2 for $4. For the money it is the best mascara I have ever used, and like I said its in the top 3 of my all time favorites. Don't let the boring packaging sway you away from purchasing this. It's AMAZING.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 1/9/2015 5:25:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

OK, I am unsure what exactly happened to what was once an excellent product. Prior to the repackaging I would have given this product 5 lippies. The brush is still an old fashioned style wand but thicker. The formula is wetter now and not as easy to work with. Two coats of the old formula in Very Black offered an almost a perfect display of light, feathery long lashes. The newer wetter formula the takes forever to try and does not hold a curl as well as the old school version. Wanting for this to work, I even tried drying out the mascara (leaving the cap open overnight) but this experiment proved useless. :( So my friends, for these reasons my beloved favorite has now been downgraded to a 3. ELF Mineral Infused will now be my everyday cheapie, along with my long standing favorite waterproof L'Oreal Voluminous ( original).

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 10/26/2014 12:11:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Curly, Coarse

Eyes: Other

This was just an average mascara, doesn't give me great length or volume, my lashes look pretty natural with this on. It smudged just a touch once, not really enough of a smudge to complain about though, probably would be an issue for someone with watery eyes. It doesn't clump and I like the brush. Price is good $4.99 at target. It just doesn't really do enough for me to buy again. There's a lot better out there. Would not repurchase.


on 10/23/2014 3:33:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Not that anyone else probably remembers this...but this mascara used to come in a solid red tube from CG, under the same name, back in the 90's when I was (gasp) a teenager. It was my absolute favorite go-to mascara. After I had been using it a few years, they changed the tube to this pink (and I thought the formula got a little bit thinner) and then it seemed to completely disappear from the market (at least in my area).
I then spotted it at Walgreen last week and HAD to buy it, if for no other reason, for old times sake. It still works better than 90% of the mascaras I have used in the 20 years since loving this product the first time, and I am a lash junkie to say the least. I have baby fine almost white (so embarrassing) lashes that have been largely damaged from wearing a variety of extensions for almost 7 years straight (don't do this). This mascara really builds volume and has a great black color. My two biggest criteria for a mascara are that it builds volume and it's not a pain in the a** to remove. This mascara checks both boxes. I love a thick, dark lash look and this product really lets me pile it on. And then it easily lets me take it off with just water and a washcloth.
I could not even begin to guess how many tubes of this I have bought over the years, and now that it's back in my area, I am sure I will be buying plenty more.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.


on 10/23/2014 11:23:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Just bought this yesterday and love the way it made my eyelashes look! I would recommend to try this product especially for the price! Its great to find a product that is good quality for the price!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 8/29/2014 12:17:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

If I recall correctly, I tried this mascara when it was in the skinny/slender pink tube and didn't care for it. Now that it has been repackaged (and potentially reformulated?), I'm really enjoying it. I have long but thin lashes and need a highly volumizing mascara to make my lashes pop. This does the trick without giving me spider lash or crusty lash. My lashes feel soft and natural all day with zero flaking or smudging.

Excellent find at the DS for only a few bucks.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 8/24/2014 7:18:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Dry, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

This mascara doesn't give the biggest lashes but it does give nice volume after a couple of coats. It's not a very wet formula, been open for 3 months now and still applies well. I have long, abundant lashes and I am not looking for a lot, but it is an easy to use mascara that makes my lashes look better than normal. the price is also good, under $7, I would totally buy it again.


on 8/21/2014 5:16:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

What?! You have failed me, positive reviews. I am an avid user of CG Lash Blast but am always a bit stingy with wanting just a bit more volume + length. Discovered this mascara a few days ago and always look up reviews before I buy. Decided to give it a go.....am I missing something? Very little volume, no length, nothing. I'll stick with lash blast until I find something better.


on 8/20/2014 12:37:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Black

Cover Girl's Clump Crusher delivers clump free, long lashes and that's it. With Cover Girl's Super Thick Lash mascara, my eyelashes become thicker (hence the name) and curled. The difference is incredible as I see it unfold while I put on mascara. My lashes almost begin to look like false lashes! I also like how I do not get any clumps from thick lash either. I love the doll eye look so the combination of clump crusher and thick lash mascara is ideal. Pairing up mascaras works like magic, you have to see it yourself.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.




Back to Top