BeneFit Cosmetics • BADgal Brown • Mascara

rated 3.2(34 reviews)

Average Rating.3.2
Would buy this product again.29%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 mmmaggie on 4/6/2014 3:31:00 PM more reviews by mmmaggie

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I don't know if they repackaged this but my BADgal Brown has a completely different brush when compared to the one in the picture. I was a little miffed myself when the BADgal Brown brush was different, it had a nylon dyeing wand which maybe why it was different? Maybe this was an old one they threw in a kit? It was alright? Meh...

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 secondlaw94 on 9/17/2013 5:25:00 PM more reviews by secondlaw94

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

I DEFINITELY did not enough to repurchase it. I wanted a simple, non clumping, long lasting brown mascara, but I got a clumpy, mediocre, pricey one instead :/
I really liked this in the start - it lengthened my lashes and coated them evenly. THEN two weeks later... It went all clumpy D:
First, it's WAY to expensive for what it is. There are so many good drugstore ones.... Don't waste your money.
Secondly, it clumps IN THE TUBE and dries up super quick. The result? Clumpy, thick, messily coated lashes...
I think the only thing I liked was the colour - a really nice, deep brown. I've never liked black mascara.... It's too bold for me ;)
Anyway... The conclusion? Don't waste your money - pop to Boots and get a cheap one.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 theeviemeister on 7/30/2013 2:02:00 PM more reviews by theeviemeister

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Oily, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

an okay mascara, waaaay too expensive for the amount and quality, but does a good(ish!) job of lengthening. lovely colour though, rich brown that in my opinion, looks better than black. im going with a cheaper brand next time though.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Dolly444 on 6/27/2013 2:15:00 PM more reviews by Dolly444

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Initially, I was warned by my favourite assistant not to purchase the Brown Bad Gal and instead go for They're Real. I was feeling stubborn as I really wanted a nice brown shade of mascara. I went ahead and purchased the brown version of Bad Gal and tried it the very next day.

First impressions weren't great. The wand was really tiny and the mascara dried really quickly on my lashes, making it really difficult to distribute the mascara on my lashes and they were prone to clumping! I gave it a few more days but had to admit defeat in the end!

I returned to the shop and had to admit I wasn't happy and should have listened to the assistant in the first place! Following her advice, I went for the Bad Gal Lash in black. This has a bigger wand and it the best mascara I've ever had. It's the same price as the brown version but miles better on my lashes! Sorry Benefit, Brown Bad Gal didn't win me over!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* PaleBrunette on 4/23/2013 12:01:00 PM more reviews by PaleBrunette

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Grey    

Sometimes I like a brown mascara, this isn't the one. Did not hold a curl and dried out rather quickly.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Amolly on 4/12/2013 3:27:00 PM more reviews by Amolly

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

You are wrong if you think this is the same formula as BADgal lash in brown (like its coloured siblings was with plum and blue) the formula is rather dry and it is also a different brush.

I've already owned the the original BADgal Lash, which at first I loved, but after time I thought the formula was too wet, although it did hold a curl and didn't smudge, I wasn't a fan of the weight it had on my lashes when it first applied I thought I'd try out the BADgal brown.

I got this for 4.77 on the Benefit UK website with a 15% discount. So major bargain. Although I probably wouldn't pay full price for it as there a many more great mascaras for the full retail price.

It makes a good daytime mascara providing moderate thickness and length, but if you are looking for drama, this is not the mascara to go for. It doesn't seem to flake even on my oily eyelids. It also holds a curl pretty well.

The sleek packaging is nice, but I wouldn't repurchase this as its not one of those mascaras that will look nice every time, I need to put the effort into making sure it doesn't look uneven/clump.

EDIT: I have come to the conclusion that this mascara is the best for your lower lashes if you like the natural minimalist approach. The formula is dry so that it doesn't weight down your lashes, and just thickens it naturally.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 clarebc1 on 3/26/2013 5:54:00 AM more reviews by clarebc1

Age: 44-55   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

This mascara is amazing.....for about a week, then it changes into a thick, waxy unmanageable consistency that is impossible to put on. It almost pulled me eye lashes out it got so thick!

What a shame Benefit! I thought it might have been a bad batch then looked here at the reviews and saw many people had the same problem! It's such a tease as when I first used it I was blown away by how it made my lashes look, and I did like the slightly waxy texture too (before it went thicker than thick). I do think that Benefit don't seem to care about their customers much given that they expect us to pay $25 for a 0.19oz mascara that lasts less than a month and clearly have not changed the formula!

I should say that before it went so thick it gave a wonderfully natural glossy look to the lashes whilst making them look super long and luscious, like no other mascara I've used before - it was perfection - but what a price to pay for 2-4 weeks of perfect mascara to then have to throw it in the bin!

Don't waste your money!


    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 bnanaphone246 on 1/26/2013 7:26:00 PM more reviews by bnanaphone246

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Blue    

THE WEIRDEST mascara formula I've ever tried. It's super thick, almost like molasses. They should just call it something else because its nothing like the other bad gal formulas. It doesn't even have the same packaging, and it certainly doesnt deliver the same look. That being said, it does give a very pretty, natural look. I pulled the wand out of the tube and put it on one eye and I thought I was going to hate it but I really liked it. No flaking, no clumpiness on my bottom lashes, certainly not fake lashes in a tube, but there is something to be said for natural looking lashes. I really like it but I can see how it wouldn't be everyone's cup of tea.
UPDATE: this has become my favorite mascara. It does this pretty, really natural wispy thing, BUT I've discovered that if I scrape a bit of excess product off the brush I can get a lot of really nice length. I wish it came in a tube so I could choose how much product to keep on the brush, but its still an excellent formula.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 theopenwindowmaniac on 1/23/2013 12:04:00 AM more reviews by theopenwindowmaniac

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Grey    

The only reason I have this mascara was because it's included in benefit's "Legally Bronze" kit sold at Sephora. That kit includes this mascara, hoola bronzer, high beam, and a gilded highlighter pencil. All full size for only $38. I was really only interested in hoola and high beam, but I thought I would like to try this mascara as well. I like using brown eye makeup, since I'm very fair and blonde, so I thought this mascara might be a good product to have.
I first noticed that it's different than original BADgal. Which I thought was a good thing. I have deep set eyes, so large mascara wands don't work well for me. This mascara has a narrow, natural bristle (maybe not 'natural' but it's not rubber) wand, but it's also a spiral wand, like Maybelline Great Lash. No good.
I thought the wand was kinda blah, but the mascara itself was even worse. It's like the thickest mascara ever and it just stays clumped up on the brush. It's not only thick, but almost sticky. Another reviewer likened it to honey. I'd say that's pretty accurate. After the initial try out, however, I added several drops of contact solution, and the mascara is now wearable.
I was only going to give this mascara one lippie, but I added one back because I'm hoping I just got a bad tube. To me, a mascara in this price point shouldn't be even close to this lackluster. I mean, when do you ever need to add contact solution to a brand new mascara?

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* sharee20 on 5/10/2012 9:22:00 PM more reviews by sharee20

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

OK this would work for an everyday mascara, application is tricky though, it's almost a honey-like formula, reallllly drags the lashes, great for getting the lashes to stand up and getting into the base of the lashes, real good at lengthing, not so good at adding any volume.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More BeneFit Cosmetics products

More Mascara products