OPI • Russian Navy Suede • Polishes

rated 4.1(17 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.64%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* maliciousdelicious on 12/16/2013 7:48:00 AM more reviews by maliciousdelicious

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Dark   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I got this as a swap so I can't say much about the price. I tend to apply nail polish somewhat sloppily and then scrape the rough edges off when its dry. This looked pretty awful when I first applied it - most polishes do but this was particularly awful. I must say though that it dried pretty fast which is really a blessing.

Anyway once it had been cleaned up, it looked much better. It's an unusual shade in that you don't usually find glitter polishes in a matte finish. I am a warm NC43 or so and I feel this may be a little better suited to cooler skin tones. Like many have said, it does chip after a couple of days. I didn't find it particularly hard to remove. The strange thing is that after your first swipe over the nail with remover, you're left with a lovely lavender shade with glitter. This is just as nice as the navy colour, if not nicer! Hmm....

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 missaah on 4/6/2011 7:02:00 AM more reviews by missaah

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy   Eyes: Brown    

AMAZING!
Its a shimmer matte and its a gorgeous navy blue to boot!
There are purple & silver flecks mixed in and I used 2 coats to completely cover my nails. Its super unique and every girl should have at least one OPI suede!
UPDATE: REMOVAL SUCKS.
I did my hands this weekend and I have used this before but removal was never this much of a hassle!
I've used 1 cotton removal pad so far and only 2 fingers are done... its taking AGES and its so HARD!
I dont think ill be wearing this one again anytime soon...

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 JanisM2011 on 2/1/2011 4:33:00 PM more reviews by JanisM2011

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Its kind of a strange color, never seen one like it blue purple and silver flecks in it, but it wears well and is really cool and unique i bought it because of that

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 shortnails on 12/13/2010 1:17:00 AM more reviews by shortnails

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I love this color more than anything!
My sister who isn't in to nail polish saw my fingers and said that this was the most gorgeous color she had ever seen!

The polish does not chip on me when I apply thin coats instead of thick coats. because I apply such thin coats I need 2 coats to make the polish opaque.

The application is smooth and the polish has small flicks of silver in it. It is very beautiful

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Dragoness57 on 10/13/2010 8:17:00 PM more reviews by Dragoness57

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

The color GORGEOUS, and I personally love how fast it dries, as generally, OPI products take quite a while..

It dries smoothly and evenly, and it looks quite.. sturdy? Like.. as if you colored your nails with a layer of sparkly navy granite (but in a good way)!

I think it's one of those colors that you just have to try at least once if you're a polish collector / addict.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 i0heart0yu on 5/11/2010 7:12:00 PM more reviews by i0heart0yu

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

OK...heres the deal.
This is a BEAUTIFUL color, I fell in love with it on the first sight.
I love how its so dark and daring and most of all, SPARKLY MATTE!
But, after I finish the rest of this, I probably wont be buying anymore for a while!
SOME PROBLEMS I FOUND WERE...
1. Drys Waaaaaayyyyy too quickly.
2. You have to act quickly when painting your nails and if you dont get an enormous glop on the paint brush, good luck.
3. Chips extremely easy no matter how many coats you put on.
4. Taking it off is a HUGE pain and takes forever! With the remover, it removes the dark blue coloring but leaves a glittery gold leftover messy color on your nails that trust me, IS NOT ATTRACTIVE!

Soooo, If you have a bunch of time and really enjoy colors like these, go ahead buy it...BUT I WARN YOU.You might not be too satisfyed with the outcome.

---TRUTH.BE.TOLD<3

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 moonRabbit on 4/30/2010 4:29:00 PM more reviews by moonRabbit

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

It gives a very fun nail finish that's matte but with small glitters. The dark blue color is very daring and noticeable...not really suitable for office wear in my opinion. I do like the color but the quality of this OPI polish is disappointing.

Cons:
1) First it dries too fast that application needs to be quick. You need to pick up enough polish on the brush and apply an even coat FAST or other wise you can end up with really ugly looking nails. My first attempt gave me some horrible looking nails that I had to re-do it.
2) It chips very easily...with 1, 2 or 3 coats.
3) removal is very difficult and time consuming, especially if you got polish on the edge of your nail/skin.

I don't think I'll buy another matte/suede polish from OPI again. I purchased the Essie matte about you top coat and it can turn any glossy polish into a matte finish. I rather spend money on other long lasting nail polishes and turn them matte with the top coat.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* alicia2kate on 4/26/2010 2:06:00 AM more reviews by alicia2kate

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

OPI Russian Navy Suede is a beautiful navy/dark blue with dense silver microglitter suspended in a base that dries almost matte. Add a topcoat and it is beautiful. Without the topcoat, it is matte-ish with the shimmer from the microglitter.
If you like the matte look (usually a creme color) with a dose of shimmer, the Suede Collection is perfect for you. (It is similar to the Zoya Matte Velvet Collection.)
The polish comes with a OPI pro-wide brush, which makes application very easy. It is a one-coater so you'll need to make sure you have picked up enough polish on the brush before applying.
Removal is not pretty. It is very easy to get blue fingers when removing the polish. Since it doesn't last quite as long as most polishes, removal occurs more frequently.
Unfortunately, I'm not a fan of the matte/suede look and cannot stand to have blue fingers.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 cutiebunny on 4/21/2010 2:01:00 AM more reviews by cutiebunny

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Got this a couple of days ago and since Earth Day is in 2 days, I decided to paint my nails with it (toes in OPI JitNB). Russian Navy Suede is just beautiful. The color is gorgeous, with tiny micro glitters that suspense when the polish is dry. The color was opaque with just one coat. Dries super fast too. However, I decided to try it with a top coat just because, and OMG!!! Russian Navy Suede with top coat is absolutely stunning!!! All the micro glitters popped and shine like crazy and the blue color deepens and intensifies. Holy cow! I wasn't expecting that. Now I can't stop looking at my nails. I'm happy I tried it with a top coat. Now, I can't wait to try a top coat with OPI Ink Suede and YDKJ Suede.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* loriyu on 1/19/2010 9:58:00 PM more reviews by loriyu

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

The OPI Suede collection is my new obsession. I LOVE this color! I like the suede version much more than the original! I got this from my roommate for Christmas, but I originally wanted the Suzi Skis Suede and so I wasn't expecting it. Totally a pleasant surprise. Just as with all the Suede colors, the texture is so unique. The Suede colors dry SUPER fast. The only downfall is how quickly they chip (reduce this by adding a couple layers of base coat an 2-3 coats of color), but I love it all the same!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More OPI products

More Polishes products