Laura Mercier • Mineral Pressed Powder SPF 15 • Powder

rated 3.5(63 reviews)

Average Rating.3.5
Would buy this product again.57%
Ingredients


rated 2 of 5 angelia68 on 10/23/2014 1:07:00 PM more reviews by angelia68

Age: 44-55   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This is by far the worst powder foundation that I have ever used. It separates and cakey even during the application. It is worst than the drugstore ones such as Loreal true match powder foundation and Za powder foundation. Don't waste your money on this.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 riceboxes on 6/21/2014 8:59:00 AM more reviews by riceboxes

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I originally went to the LM counter to purchase the loose mineral foundation, but since they were out of my color I decided to give this one a try.

This is a very natural looking powder foundation that provides minimal/light coverage! I usually apply this first with my real techniques buffing brush, then go over blemishes with a concealer and the end result is a natural looking foundation.

I have the color natural beige which is a spot on match to my nc30-35 skin.

I don't know if I'm gonna repurchase this because I still want to try the loose version but we'll see.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* frootloop75 on 6/8/2014 3:08:00 AM more reviews by frootloop75

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Olive   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I'm a NC40 (MAC), Barcelona (NARS) and have been using the Rich Vanilla shade in LM's Mineral Pressed Powder range for 3 months now. I often interchange between this and MAC's Studio Finish compact but I'm starting to lean towards this Mineral Pressed Powder these days.

Pros:
- medium coverage
- bit of glow, not mask like
- doesn't dry out my skin, make it flake or emphasise my pores
- I dust it over my face with a puffy Sigma brush and it looks polished first time, every time
- my current winning face is Garnier's BB cream followed by L'Oreal's Magic Blur and a dusting of LM's Mineral Pressed Powder over the top.

Cons:
- bit exxy but it's lasted well so far
- smallish mirror in the compact.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 shanan on 1/29/2014 1:49:00 PM more reviews by shanan

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

I need to preface my comments by stating my skin is sensitive to silicone and it is extremely difficult to find any high-quality foundations (or skin care for that matter) that are silicone free. I also don't like the "glow" or mess associated with loose MMU and most pressed versions actually add silicone (or significant oil) to improve texture (just like 99% of liquid foundations). LM Mineral Pressed Powder addresses all these issues - and does so with a formula that is smooth, lasts reasonably well (I have normal skin, moderate pores, no real issues), and leaves behind a nice semi-matte finish. I apply this with a LM powder puff (small & square, flocked, however not the one that comes in the compact) and then run a large, fluffy brush over my face to ensure a light finish. I would give this five stars if it didn't tend to emphasize my pores later in the day.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Tygerlilee84 on 1/11/2014 5:47:00 AM more reviews by Tygerlilee84

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Straight   Eyes: Brown    

I wanted to love this product. It's one of the few talc free pressed powder foundations I've found (talc makes me itchy). It has a lovely satiny finish so it's not a flat looking powder. But it realy emphasized my pores on my cheeks. That's a deal breaker for me, sadly. I think if you don't have an issue with big pores, go for it.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* LittleRussianDoll on 12/6/2013 1:11:00 PM more reviews by LittleRussianDoll

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I usually use the loose powder version, but I'd thought I'd give this a try just because its more convenient to travel with. I use real sand in both. The pressed version is slightly lighter than the loose version, but both are a good match for me. The pressed powder has amazing buildable coverage and a matt finish that doesn't look too 'flat' or unnatural. It doesn't have the glowy effect of the loose, which isn't a bad thing. I have oily skin so its great on those extra shiny days! It lasts all day and I've started to use a light dusting of the Laura Mercier mineral finishing powder over it which gives a flawless finish.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Emma13 on 9/30/2013 9:30:00 AM more reviews by Emma13

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

According to the LM website, this is a powder foundation, offering “a natural, buildable foundation for sheer to full coverage”. Unfortunately I was looking for a sheer, light setting and mattifying powder, and instead I was sold this not knowing it was actually a mineral foundation product. (This is the last time I will ever listen to the SAs at Space.NK!) I was incredibly angry when I found out what had been sold. But, to the product itself – to be fair I have to judge it on its own merits.

I think it is a decent mineral powder foundation for someone with no skin texture issues, it is not overly shiny, and it holds fairly well through the day. However, it looks quite obviously made up, and it is not really possible to get that naturally polished look. The product is so soft that a huge amount of product comes off on the brush I use to apply it with (forget the sponge, it is useless), so I have to tap off the excess to avoid applying waaay too much. The colour “natural beige” is a good match, but will probably be a bit too dark in the winter.

One thing that loses this product points big time is that it really emphasises pores – not only on my nose, but also on my cheeks – they look like little craters! No other powder has ever done this. If I try to buff, it just makes things worse so I have to apply sheer finishing powder on top of this product to hide them.

I would not buy this product again, but it is possible option if you are looking for medium to full coverage mineral foundation powder and either have no issues with pores or do not mind having to apply another powder on top of this powder foundation. Lastly, a word about the packaging – it is the standard square LM compact but why can they not make the mirror bigger?

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 chipsy on 8/21/2013 3:32:00 PM more reviews by chipsy

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

This has been a staple in my makeup bag now for about a year. I bought it because I wanted a pressed powder that had a heavier coverage that I could use over foundation for extra coverage (My skin was quite bad), and also for touch-ups during the day. The sales assistant at Space NK recommended this to me, and the ingredients list didn't look offensive so I bought it.

Now that my skin has improved, I can get away with wearing this on it's own, but most of the time I use it to keep away oiliness over my BB cream during the day. I take it with me everywhere! The packaging is brilliant and I even love the little sponge that is included. It never looks cakey on me and in fact has a really lovely blurring effect. If I do have a bad breakout, I can put quite a few layers on of this over my concealer and it doesn't look thick.

I will repurchase this for as long as it is around. Even though it is pricey, I think it is worth it, and one compact lasts me about six months with daily usage.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Tashi09 on 1/30/2013 7:28:00 PM more reviews by Tashi09

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I have to put in a good word for this. Yes, I have bought this item multiple times, even though I have also spent a lot of time and money trying to chase down a more perfect mineral makeup (without much success). For awhile I just carried this around to touch up my Alima Pure during the day. Then I realized that LM just plain looks better on me and seems to last longer.

Real Sand is one of the better color matches I have ever lucked into in any foundation. (Even though a Bobbi Brown rep assured me that the LM foundations are tragically brown-based, which is alleged to give a muddy look all through the color ranges. Just thought I would share that, though I don't think I agree.)

The coverage is good, and I much prefer the soft matte finish of the pressed powder to the fairly sparkly loose version (which can definitely go gray on me). The pressed mineral powder gives a nice glow when it warms to my skin. I do have to apply it carefully; it's easy to get too much in one spot and make a mess. I get the best results using the Sephora mineral powder brush -- now in a mini version for touch ups.

I like that this only uses zinc oxide (no titanium) as the sunscreen. My skin is pretty sensitive. And while this does have the dread bismuth oxychloride, it has never bothered me.

EDIT: I just gave the loose version another whirl, and hated it all over again. It seemed to have far too much metallic shine and not enough pigment to cover my redness. I would catch a glimpse of myself and feel like I was coated with some kind of transparent glassy layer that let every flaw shine through. Not a good look at my age!



3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 mpshouse on 12/11/2012 8:07:00 AM more reviews by mpshouse

Age: 44-55   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

The first thing I noticed about this product was how finely milled it is. The powder feels luxuriously soft, and tends to get all over the compact when I touch a brush to it. A puff may work better, but I personally prefer brushes. The finish is softly matte, not shiny or glowy like some mmu. I use Replenix Physical ss spray under my mu these days, and this powder tends to cake in spots over it, especially when I try to build up coverage. A very thin dusting works without caking, but offers no real coverage or blurring of imperfections. So it's not the best choice for going on moist-ish skin, as it wants to stick and cake up on those places. I bought this in Soft Porcelain, which is too yellow for me ( about NW5-10), so I can't comment too much on shade selection. I will say that while Soft Porcelain is too yellow for general wear, I like it's palest yellow hue for my purple under eye circles and for helping correct redness on my chin. Not a bad powder at all, just not quite right for me.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Laura Mercier products

More Powder products