Illamasqua Matt Primer

3.6

28 reviews

57% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Aqua (Water), Nylon-12, Octocrylene, Homosalate, Cyclopentasiloxane, Glyceryl Stearate, Glycerin, Octyldodecanol, Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride, Butyl Methoxydibenzoylmeth-Ane (Avobenzone), Ceteareth-12, Ceteareth-20, Tocopheryl Acetate, Phenoxyethanol, Xanthan Gum, Cetearyl Alcohol, Methylparaben, Allantoin, Cetearyl Glucoside, Ethylparaben, Propylparaben, Parfum (Fragrance).


on 4/23/2015 2:48:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I first bought this after reading loads of positive reviews online. I get a really oily T-zone and usually my makeup sinks into my naselobial crease and the creases under my eyes. The first tube I used I thought it worked wonders and then I bought my second tube and I realised that actually doesn't keep my face matt for as long as I'd like. I wear makeup from 8 in the morning until 6 at night and this primer just doesn't hold my makeup until 12 even. Unfortunately I won't buy again. Pros- good packaging in that the bottle allows you to get all the product out so none goes to waste. Cons- doesn't hold makeup or prevent shine.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



on 8/7/2014 11:56:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

Better than drugstore but 3 times the price. I have very oily skin and within 2 hrs or so I would be looking shiney and need to repowder. It's very watery, better off going for smashbox or MAC.


Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Normally my foundation will melt and disappear during the day. But this one helps my face less oily. But i use this one with matte veil though. If u have an extremely oily face like me you should check it out. It really helps.


on 8/3/2013 3:32:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Oily, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

This is amazing! My skin is so oily and shinny and really hard to control, this has now become my holy grail! Every girl needs this, its goos for those summer days when you need to control the shine


on 6/17/2013 4:19:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I love using this with my illamaqua skin base foundation. It has uva and uvb filters which is a bonus and keeps my skin matt for a long time.


on 6/16/2013 8:47:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Green

I was convinced I should buy it since I have oily skin and have bought the Skin Base fnd. I think it doesn't make anything except the fnd glides nicer. I wouldn't buy it nor recommend it. The good thing it is silicone free, and no silicone derivatives: I haven't found a not silicone based primer at other brands.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I use this to mix with my skin base foundation to thin it out, and it's okay. Not the best primer I have tried, I have oily skin around my t zone and this primer feels quite greasy on my face and doesnt seem to dry at all. The bottle is great though because it's squeezy, but it coems out more like a liquid so you've got to be careful not to squeeze too much! I'm 50/50, sometimes I like it sometimes I don't! although it smells like caramel, lovely!


on 4/5/2013 5:42:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I was impressed overall with the the SA at Selfridges in Birmingham and very impressed with her make up and her overall knowledge about the products. I am a primer junkie - having tried so many and always on the look out for the HG product. The first problem I noticed was that my foundation changed to an orange colour and took about 5 minutes to tone down again! Very odd and slightly disconcerting as it changed the overall colour without a doubt. I noticed that one other reviewer mentions the same problem! This is not a problem I have ever noticed before with other primers such as MAC, Urban Decay, Lancome, Daniel Sandler, Estee Lauder etc.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 10/2/2012 3:42:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Blond, Curly, Other

Eyes: Blue

So far my favourite primer. No silicone, non-slick, non-greasy. I use it under Skin Base.
Pros: Says Matt finish, but has a nice subtle sheen to it still. Makes make-up last ALL day. Smells lovely (vanilla), doesnt break me out. Great container that will allow you to use up all the product. Made in Germany.
Cons: Its got the consistency of glu (-1 lippie)
VERDICT: Love it, holding out the title of HG (just in case) but will definitely buy again

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 8/30/2012 11:19:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I was looking for a new primer after my Urban Decay pore perfecting one ran out. and since I knew Illamasqua is a great brand with great products, I decided to give this a try.

I chose the matte primer because I want my primer to make my makeup last longer, rather than look luminous (plus I have slightly oily skin).

this feels quite light and runny when you apply it, but if you put too much on it can feel heavy. it also doesn't spread too great either so you have to be careful and try to make it spread as far as you can with as little product as you can get away with.

this primer makes my foundation (Illamasqua skin base) last the whole day when teamed with Illamasqua's matte loose powder. it also makes makeup go on smoother. it doesn't give you an absolute no shine matte finish, which I love, you still have your natural glow, even with matte powder on top. but then again, skin base has a semi-matte finish so that might be why. but if you wear this on its own, it will give you a no shine matte finish.

it also has a nice vanilla scent, like all Illamasqua products. though the scent in the primer is stronger than other products, but I don't mind because I like the smell :)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Popular Primer/ Correctors


Back to Top