Tarte • treasure chest • Palettes

rated 4.7(29 reviews)

Average Rating.4.7
Would buy this product again.86%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 chelsealovee on 9/8/2010 7:55:00 PM more reviews by chelsealovee

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Olive, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I use at least one thing in this palette every day. The bronzer is absolutely my favorite. The eyeshadows go on very smooth and last all day With the darker shadows, a little goes a long way. The blushes are very pigmented so be careful! I ended up looking like a clown the first time I used them. My biggest complaint is the packaging is horrible. It's extremely hard to travel with this since the box just won't stay shut and all my trays slip out.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Amlymei on 8/13/2010 12:44:00 AM more reviews by Amlymei

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

I love this palette! I received it as a Christmas gift and I'm constantly going back to it. The only thing I hate about it is the container. It's super pretty and the eyeshadow is safe, but I've dropped the blush part 3 times and my blush has shattered. Lucky I still have 3 of the colors. I'd buy again, but be careful with it. I'd recommend!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 imagin4sian on 8/10/2010 1:14:00 AM more reviews by imagin4sian

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I hate to bring down the rating but this was terrible! The pigmentation was awful. The shadows did not apply smoothly and even with UDPP, the color payoff was awful. I do like the packaging and the size of the eyeshadows though.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Juls83 on 5/10/2010 11:14:00 AM more reviews by Juls83

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

Is this still available, if so where can I buy it as I've looked on the net??

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* tnlfraz0820 on 2/5/2010 8:58:00 PM more reviews by tnlfraz0820

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

When I saw this at Sephora this past November, I had to have it. The amount of product for that price was just amazing to me. However, after owning it for a few months, I find that I am disappointed with it and don't really reach for it too often.

First of all, the shimmery eyeshadows. I find that I generally use the two golden shades the most often, followed occasionally by the silver and peachy gold color. I have found some of the shadows to be slightly gritty and they don't apply very smoothly. I don't know if this is due to the formulation or what (I think Tarte is supposed to be all-natural or something??) Also, in my opinion, some of the darker shades, such as the deep plum with gold shimmer, look gorgeous in the pan, but just tend to look muddy and matte on my lids. HOWEVER, I am very, very pleased with the matte shadows, very creamy, apply smoothly and don't look chalky. I prefer those over the shimmery ones, which is something new for me.

I haven't really used the glosses much, but they do seem to be pretty sheer...this isn't really an issue for me, since I wasn't planning on using them much anyways.

The bronzer and pink luminizing powder are AMAZING! Honestly, they are my favorite part of the treasure chest. They both blend easily and provide a nice, healthy glow that is more low-key for wintertime. The blushes are just...ehh..

Overall, if you are just looking for a nice starter kit, I think this would fit the bill. Maybe I have just been too spoiled by other high-end shadows and glosses... I wouldn't repurchase this one, but I do like the bronzer and luminizing powder enough to buy individually.

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 fleetgoddess21 on 1/25/2010 1:19:00 AM more reviews by fleetgoddess21

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I absolutely adore this palette. I have huge quantities of makeup as a makeup artist and I find myself reaching for this palette all the time. The only cons I have for it are that the bottom drawer will come flying out if you aren't careful, and that the lipglosses are in a non portable form. But I absolutely love this otherwise. The eyshadows are wonderful and the blushes are very pigmented. Mind you, they are all shimmery, but very good blushes. I bought one of these for my sister because she is just starting to get into makeup and I wanted to get her a good quality set with lots of products to choose from and experiment with. This is also wonderful because it is natural! I feel that anyone would love this.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 PenelopePitstopKYD on 12/31/2009 4:09:00 PM more reviews by PenelopePitstopKYD

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm   Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This gets five lippies for the sheer amount of quality product in one package, the price was reasonable (especially during the F&F promotion), however the packaging is poor and I am trying to find a reasonable method to de-pot the contents. Oh, and because there's so much product there's absolutely no need to repurchase. So, yeah, overall great buy!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* KatieRoxx on 12/17/2009 11:26:00 AM more reviews by KatieRoxx

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

The amount of makeup contained in palette, along with the consistency (smooth, creamy, highly pigmented) make it a good value. I would have liked 2 of the blushes to be matte, all 4 have a slight shimmer to them, fortunately not so much that you can't pull them off by day. I think all the shadow and gloss colors will ultimately work well on my fair skin. Packaging is cheap and unwieldly. Trays slide out if you pick the thing up, the mirror inside the lid is useless. If you plan to travel a lot with this, keep the original plastic sleeve it is sold in so you don't wind up with makeup all over your luggage. If Tarte could create better packaging that would allow consumers to pop out individual shadows and glosses to carry in a separate case for touch ups, I'd definitely be willing to drop another $15-$20 on this palette in the future. Glosses are nice, but very sheer and have little staying power, so touch ups are really necessary and portability would be very useful here.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Jumaana on 12/11/2009 12:57:00 AM more reviews by Jumaana

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

LOVE THIS. I have had it for over a month. I really love the shadows. However, it fell down and two shadows broke. I called Tarte and they will replace them! The customer service was unreal! I am a loyal customer now.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Caprig on 12/10/2009 9:11:00 PM more reviews by Caprig

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Other   Eyes: Hazel    

I was on the verge of buying the Urban Decay Book of Shadows 2 when a friend told me to put it back and get the Tarte Treasure Chest. Let me tell you, I had never been impressed by Tarte and I thought she lost her mind.


I knew that look though, so I put the Urban Decay back and she brought out the Tarte Treasure Chest and I was SMITTEN. The colors are sophisticated and not like any other palette out there that I had seen up until then.


What I absolutely LOVE is that the top level is shimmery, but the 16 shimmer shades have a lot of unique colors in them. If patted on gently, they keep their shimmer. IF blended out too much, they will sheer right out.



The matte layer has 16 fabulous colors which look AMAZING on me and others I have tried it on. The quality is top notch. With a primer (without one forget it) they last all day long. The look is fabulous. I have had more compliments on my makeup when using the TARTE TREASURE CHEST than with any other palette yet (LORAC being in second place).


The lipglosses are FANTASTIC. Sheer, yet moisturizing- no peeling lips which is a problem I tend to have. The colors ALL look fantastic on me which is unusual. The problem is that the drawers might all come out of the unit, but there is no way to carry them with me to reapply when going out. I plan to try to get a case and remove some of the colors to put in the case if I can.

The blushes are deceiving at first- they look very light- but they aren't. VERY PIGMENTED- go easy.



All in all, despite the annoying case that I have to put a rubber band around to keep me sane, I totally LOVE this palette and use it more than any other palette I own. It really is amazing. Both shimmers and mattes are fabulous and I hated mattes until I got this kit. On me they looked awful- but Tarte is different. For $52 it is a fantastic deal. I can not be more excited.

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Tarte products

More Palettes products