MAC • Lustre - Nude Rose • Lipstick

rated 4.5(27 reviews)

Average Rating.4.5
Would buy this product again.77%
Ingredients

This product has been discontinued

Read Reviews


rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* jiney17 on 2/7/2010 4:46:00 PM more reviews by jiney17

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Others have described this lipstick as a nude-y pink with peach tones, but I found it to be a neutral-cool-toned light pink without any warmth in it. It looks OK with a light layer, but if add more than one coat, it looks distinctly cool on me, with a slight lavender undertone. No peach at all. Maybe this is because my natural lip color is a mauve-berry-ish shade, which tends to amplify cool tones in lippies.



I think this would be best on people with cool or completely neutral undertones. I have olive-yellow undertones (about NC25) and found this didn't do much for me as it's about a shade too light to be a MLBB but too cool to be a good nude on me (I like yellow-based nudes like NARS' Belle du Jour).



Smooth, creamy texture and decent pigmentation. Slight satin shine. Nice vanilla scent and no taste. OK lasting power for a sheer lipstick. I like the lustre formula but I wouldn't get this particular shade again.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 stellar4217 on 1/29/2010 9:10:00 PM more reviews by stellar4217

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I wish I bought a backupof this because it's a great color for a pink nude lip. I though this color would be too similar to Way to Love but I think Nude Rose is a little warmer. I loved Way to Love initially but now it seems to frosty on my lips when i put it on. Nude Rose feels great on the lips and doesn't dry my lips out. I have to prep my lips by putting a light dust of powder on my lips to get Nude rose to show since my lips are pretty pigmented but the result is great. My go to nude lip consists of Nude Rose followed by Chanel's glossimer in Mica. Baby Sparks is a pretty good substitute for Mica.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 xMissFortunex on 1/5/2010 7:58:00 AM more reviews by xMissFortunex

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

Lovely colour. It's one of those lipsticks you can apply without a mirror, safe in the knowledge you don't look like you've been eating crayons.

I find this to be a similar colour to 3N which is great as I love this shade and is long d/c


Not very long lasting, however I feel this to be the case with most Lustre's

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 vgirlygirl on 12/30/2009 12:08:00 PM more reviews by vgirlygirl

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Olive, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy   Eyes: Green    

This color doesn't look like much in the tube, however, I saw it on a MA a the MAC counter and asked what she was wearing; it was exactly what I had gone to MAC to purchase--a really pretty nude pink lip. She said it was Nude Rose over Myth. I bought it immediately and tried the same combination and it's my go-to. Very pretty, I would highly recommend trying this over Myth if you have it in your collection. This color also looks great on its own, and I love that it's a luster because you don't have to be as precise. You can just swipe it on and go.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 DarkDreamer on 12/30/2009 11:59:00 AM more reviews by DarkDreamer

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Other    

This is my first MAC /nude lipstick ever.
With lip erase, it is a very light color, but without lip erase, it's a nice soft nude pink.
The only thing I don't really like, is that it's lustre. I loved it more if it was matte, but that just personal.
The color pay-off isn't that great...

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* lola88 on 12/4/2009 2:13:00 PM more reviews by lola88

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This is such an "eh" bland color. There really is nothing special about it. I'd suggest getting Way to Love over this lipstick.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 reveriepapillon on 11/30/2009 1:35:00 AM more reviews by reveriepapillon

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown, Wavy   Eyes: Brown    

This is the color I wore on my profile photo and I wanted to do a review on it since I got a few questions about this color.

I'm not a huge lipstick person but the reason why I love this color is because it enhances my natural lip color and it's easy because I don't have to conceal my lips or put lip liner. It's a very pretty peachy-pink that is semi-sheer sheen with one layer of of application. It's not matte/drying, so it won't be too unflattering if your lips are a bit dry although of course it'll look even more flattering on moist lips!

Unfortunately, by the time I went back to re-purchase, they have some OTHER limited edition stuff. ugh...estee lauder company marketing techniques~...! If only they had a half lippie option, I'd take half off just for this reason!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ingrid88 on 11/30/2009 12:10:00 AM more reviews by ingrid88

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

Nice nude-ish pink colour but nothing special about it. You can easily get a dupe from Maybelline for a fraction of the price.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* AmazonRises on 11/28/2009 12:42:00 PM more reviews by AmazonRises

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I was unable to get this online and was rabid for it so I purchased from an Ebay seller for $21 plus shipping. This color is a sheer light pink with a slight hint of peach. What MAC often calls yellow-pink; it doesn't have a purple or blue undertone. This is similar to MAC Plink! but is more sheer. If you have Plink! and like it but wish it was more "natural" -- try Nude Rose. I have very pigmented (purple-pink) lips, and so this makes a very nice light neutral pink for a fresh daytime look. The more I use it the more I like it. If they bring it back I would certainly get it again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* pretty_please on 11/14/2009 11:31:00 PM more reviews by pretty_please

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

This lipstick is epic! I love love love it, Its a super wearable peachy nude that's just right...not too orange or too pink or too light or dark. Just perfection...And it looks great with my pale slightly cool complexion so I can see it flattering a lot of skin tones and also being able to take on the color of whatever lip liner you apply with it to make it more suited to the wearer. I don't have an HG peachy nude lipstick, only cool nudes...but Nude Rose could totally become that HG....to bad its limited edition. The only bad thing I can possibly find besides being LE though it that I was afraid this color might make my teeth sort yellow looking and it actually did in the dim lighting that i tried it on in. It was fine in other types of lighting though. Still, I'm giving this s 5/5 as I am not bothered enough to take off any points....Anyway, highly recommended color!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More MAC products

More Lipstick products