Maybelline Define-A-Line in Slate Gray

3.5

11 reviews

63% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS



on 5/19/2014 5:26:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I bought this in Navy Blue, but as my review has to do with the consistency and staying power, I figured it was okay to add to the "Slate Gray" review.
It has no staying powder and falls and smears like crazy! It gets everywhere it seems except where you want it to be!



on 1/16/2012 1:37:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Medium, Neutral

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I really enjoy this product overall.
First of all, the color is nice. It's not too dark, but not so light it won't even show up. It's even good for day wear; it adds a bit of definition without being too dramatic.
I am Asian, with double eyelids that kind of overlap. Therefore, I can't wear this as a normal eyeliner or else there will be horredous smudging. That's why I didn't give this five lippies...
However, the smudging end is perfect for me. All I have to do is put some of the liner on my lid, smudge it, and put dark eyeshadow over it to set it so it won't smudge. It's the easiest look ever to do. It doesn't look bad either - it's a simple, smoky type of look. All you need is this eyeliner and some dark eyeshadow, which is very easy to come across. It doesn't even need to be good quality - all I use it for is to set the liner after smudging it.
Overall, I recommend it if you want an easy smoky look, but if you want to create a clean line that won't smudge, this is NOT the product to get.


on 12/27/2011 7:57:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Other

Eyes: Brown

I love this eyeliner!!!! i bought it way back and its totally amazing!!! I just purchased slat gray and ebony black. the gray looks awesome and it just apply it to my waterline and it stays. perfect eyeliner. absolutely buying this again!


on 1/26/2011 12:38:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Dry, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

LOVE this product. Smooth creamy formula applies easily, smudger tip blends nicely, automatic pencil swivels up & never needs sharpening. Life is perfect.


Slate Gray is the right name for this color, it looks like its name. Not too dark yet strong enough to cast a color shadow for smoky blending. I use this when I want a sultry effect but don't want the intense dramatic moody black eye look. I have this in grey & black & I'd like to get more colors (especially purple if I find it).


Yes I do agree, this product travels on the face after an hour...



on 7/6/2010 11:39:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I bought this eyeliner because I wanted a nice grey that wouldn't look too harsh. Perfect color, but horrible product. Goes on very smooth--too smooth because it keeps sliding down your face. I was so embarrassed because I went to the bathroom at the end of my BIRTHDAY dinner and I had eyeline halfway down my cheeks. Terrible product. I will definitely stick with my Almay 16-hr eyeliner.


on 6/20/2010 4:18:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Why is this product getting such low ratings? I love this eyeliner! I like how you don't have to sharpen it you just twist and apply. So simple! I love the creamy texture. This is a dedinate must have!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 5/31/2010 9:51:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

This is the absolute worst eyeliner ever...I bought it on a $2 off special...The liner doesn't stay on...I mean from the time I put it on in the bathroom and walked into the hall where I have a big mirrow, the silly stuff was on my upper lid...I am used to applying soft liners...Please save your money...This product is insulting to the consumer...SHAME on you Maybelline...


Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I bought the Maybelline Define-A-Line eyeliner in a black color.
It was horrible!
I'm pretty new to makeup so I just wanted something simple that I can put on and not have to reapply 5 times a day. And I've seen the commercials so I decided to try this one.
Big mistake.
First of all the eye pencil kept breaking and while it was in the cap, it would smush against the cap and i would have to keep cutting it so it would be smooth again.
Second whenever I tried using the smudging thing, it didn't work, it would either wipe off the eyeliner completely or just make me look like I have a black eye.
Third, it doesn't last...at all!
I have to reapply every period after class. Each period is 45 minutes.....so it doesn't last very long.

I'm switching to Almay Amazing Lasting 16hr Eye Pencil because of the great reviews on MUA.

I would not recommend this to anybody! I threw this out after using it 5 times. I was too sick of trying to work with it.


on 3/20/2010 11:48:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I love this eyeliner! It goes on with barely any pressure, unlike some pencil eyeliners where I have to scrape the color onto my eye (ow). Then once the line is drawn, the smudging tool makes it look subtle and smokey. I love the grey color. I think I'll be going back and buying the other shades as well.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 12/9/2009 7:48:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

Good Ole Mabelline does it again. One of those simple eyeliners that really works. I bought this on a whim and seeing it did not need to be sharpend thought it could not hurt to buy. And I must say very happy. Gentle, no sharpening, stays, stays and stays. And does not pull, tug or hurt when putting on. Lasting power could be better I give it about 4 hours. The grey color looks beautiful on my eyes and I have rather flat boring khaki brown eyes. This color does the trick. The funny part is that I usually spend lots of money on good eyeliners from Estee Lauder but this is as good and for the price you can get three.

I went back and bought the Brownish Black and Brown all three colors work for my hazel eyes and light skin.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Back to Top