Essie • Chinchilly • Polishes

rated 4.6(133 reviews)

Average Rating.4.6
Would buy this product again.85%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 juliamour on 11/22/2014 5:38:00 PM more reviews by juliamour

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Adore this color. Perfect for fall and winter, and totally approriate for both a night out and for the office. I really like the formula, not too runny, really easy to get a perfect application. For some reason 99% of nail polishes chip within 24 hours on my nails, this one, however, I've been wearing now for 4 days and only minimal chipping started to appear today. Get lasting power, beautiful color, very versatile and easy formula to work with! Love it

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Leah2014 on 11/16/2014 10:05:00 AM more reviews by Leah2014

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Tan   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I was so skeptical buying this color as I never thought much of gray nail polish. But it is an essie classic so I decided to give it a try and I'm sure glad I did! On my brown hands it looks more smoky purple than gray. Very good for fall and winter and actually work appropriate. Only thing is that it can kind of make my hands look a bit ashy,but that's alright I just keep moisturizing. Formula was good but you do need multiple coats for opacity.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Bevlar on 9/12/2014 2:24:00 AM more reviews by Bevlar

Age: 44-55   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Essie Chinchilly is a very pretty dove grey polish, which leans towards a soft lavender colour in certain lights. This neutral colour polish will go with anything! Applied smoothly in just 2 coats and stayed chip free until I took it off a week later. It was beautifully shiny but I added Essies Good to Go top coat for good measure!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ladylazarus on 8/19/2014 2:33:00 AM more reviews by ladylazarus

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I got a mini version of Chinchilly in a set (alongside a mini Forever Yummy and a full-sized Ballet Slippers) called "Forever Young" on clearance at SDM. As with the other mini, Chinchilly had a perfect brush and a ball bearing inside. 2-3 coats left me with a glossy, even manicure. This grey polish with lavender and taupe notes is perfectly-named, and it makes me want to snuggle up with a blanket and a warm beverage! :) This is the best grey polish I've tried. Would repurchase as a mini or, ideally, as a full-sized polish!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 savvyowl821 on 5/29/2014 9:46:00 AM more reviews by savvyowl821

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Relaxed, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Love this color! Soft, muted grey with a hint of lavender :) Reminds me of winter sweaters. It's a very work-appropriate color and would work well with most(if not all) skin tones! Remember to shake/roll the bottle thoroughly before you use it! My first and second coats glided on as smoothly as you please, and I forgot to roll the bottle before applying the third coat(it's a bit sheer but three thin coats will do the trick) and there were some bubbles and the polish thickened like it was ten years old. That was my fault for forgetting to shake it :P Great formula(it's a crelly so it's a bit sheer), fantastic drying time(this seemed to dry a lot faster than my Pretty Edgy bottle), and wonderful color! The lavender blush saves it from being an "ordinary" grey. Love!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Lushie101 on 2/20/2014 3:28:00 PM more reviews by Lushie101

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Best colour for the office and virtually anywhere. I'm currently on my second bottle of this grey/lavender polish and I love it!! It's my go to polish for work, casual and dressy events. Can't rave enough about this. I agree that 3-4 coats are needed for full colour without streaks but I'm more than willing to do it for this colour.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 nomorewars on 1/3/2014 3:31:00 AM more reviews by nomorewars

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Very Dry, Medium Brown   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I got this on sale in one of those christmas sets at Shoppers Drug Mart. My first Essies! Anyway, i LOVE THIS POLISH. The colour is soooo gorgeous and i dont know what those people were saying about the formula because its awesome. I have brown skin and it looks so sophisticated and lovely. GET IT.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 cactus2342 on 12/9/2013 8:50:00 PM more reviews by cactus2342

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

My bottle of Chinchilly has a watery and streaky formula. It also pulls very grey on me and makes my hands look dead. Fortunately I have been able to use it in frankens, so it won't go to waste.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 midorisour on 11/25/2013 1:32:00 AM more reviews by midorisour

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

very pretty color, but not the best formula. two coats still look patchy and needed the third. doesn't make my hands look dead. worth the effort. Essie got the shade just right

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ckb on 10/8/2013 4:51:00 PM more reviews by ckb

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I LOVE this color! It is such a muted purple/grey and looks very nice with fair skin.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Essie products

More Polishes products