Essie • Chinchilly • Polishes

rated 4.6(129 reviews)

Average Rating.4.6
Would buy this product again.85%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 savvyowl821 on 5/29/2014 9:46:00 AM more reviews by savvyowl821

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Relaxed, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Love this color! Soft, muted grey with a hint of lavender :) Reminds me of winter sweaters. It's a very work-appropriate color and would work well with most(if not all) skin tones! Remember to shake/roll the bottle thoroughly before you use it! My first and second coats glided on as smoothly as you please, and I forgot to roll the bottle before applying the third coat(it's a bit sheer but three thin coats will do the trick) and there were some bubbles and the polish thickened like it was ten years old. That was my fault for forgetting to shake it :P Great formula(it's a crelly so it's a bit sheer), fantastic drying time(this seemed to dry a lot faster than my Pretty Edgy bottle), and wonderful color! The lavender blush saves it from being an "ordinary" grey. Love!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Lushie101 on 2/20/2014 3:28:00 PM more reviews by Lushie101

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Best colour for the office and virtually anywhere. I'm currently on my second bottle of this grey/lavender polish and I love it!! It's my go to polish for work, casual and dressy events. Can't rave enough about this. I agree that 3-4 coats are needed for full colour without streaks but I'm more than willing to do it for this colour.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 nomorewars on 1/3/2014 3:31:00 AM more reviews by nomorewars

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Very Dry, Medium Brown   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I got this on sale in one of those christmas sets at Shoppers Drug Mart. My first Essies! Anyway, i LOVE THIS POLISH. The colour is soooo gorgeous and i dont know what those people were saying about the formula because its awesome. I have brown skin and it looks so sophisticated and lovely. GET IT.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 cactus2342 on 12/9/2013 8:50:00 PM more reviews by cactus2342

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

My bottle of Chinchilly has a watery and streaky formula. It also pulls very grey on me and makes my hands look dead. Fortunately I have been able to use it in frankens, so it won't go to waste.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 midorisour on 11/25/2013 1:32:00 AM more reviews by midorisour

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

very pretty color, but not the best formula. two coats still look patchy and needed the third. doesn't make my hands look dead. worth the effort. Essie got the shade just right

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ckb on 10/8/2013 4:51:00 PM more reviews by ckb

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I LOVE this color! It is such a muted purple/grey and looks very nice with fair skin.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 dukebdc on 10/8/2013 4:27:00 PM more reviews by dukebdc

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

Love this polish! It is the perfect soft dove-like gray for my cool-toned and very pale skin. I'd call this an edgy neutral given that it doesn't go unnoticed, but is still fairly conservative. I've found this polish also looks great with either SH Glass Slipper or OPI Pirouette My Whistle layered over it.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Cindi33 on 9/19/2013 4:47:00 PM more reviews by Cindi33

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I bought this last year and it sat in my untrieds in favor of brighter vivid colors like lime greens, neon pinks, and bright blues. Finally I dug this taupe colored polish out and thought I'd give it a try for fall. This is a pretty taupe-grey leaning shade and reminds me of a pair of khaki slacks. The formula is really thin and this goes on sheer and streaky. It did even out though with a second coat but it took 3 coats to get full opacity and cover any sheer or balded patches. Essie's brush is just a standard thin brush and it is easy to work with and it works especially great for small nail beds like I have. Those big pro brushes are too big and this one is sized just right! The Goldilocks of polish brushes. I love this color now that I have it on. I have been hesitant to wear it since I expected a boring mani and mannequin hands. This is like wearing a pair of khakis though, it just seems to fit and looks good and feels comfortable. I never would have expected I would like taupe polish but I am loving how pretty this creme looks on me. This is very classy and looks elegant and refined. Great for the office and being taupe instead of beige it is far from boring and even a little edgy. I can't believe I let this beauty sit for so long without showing it off. This is perfect for fall so I painted all ten digits!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 JhaynDoh on 8/16/2013 1:43:00 PM more reviews by JhaynDoh

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I've been avoiding this color. I weakened and went griege. omg, it looks wonderful with my jewelry, silver/gold. It does seem to change color slightly with differnt lighting I get the usually 3 days before chipping. the same with all my essie.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 AmyMendoza on 8/12/2013 3:45:00 AM more reviews by AmyMendoza

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

I have a friend who only wears pinks & reds but the moment she saw my nails she grabbed my hand & would not stop talking about this color! Its the perfect sublte neutral gray! It lasted about 4 days with a few chips that were easily fixable! With a good top coat it shines like glass!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Essie products

More Polishes products