Apple Cider Vinegar for Hair

4.4

120 reviews

90% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.7

Price: $

Package Quality: 3.7

Price: $

INGREDIENTS



on 5/17/2015 11:28:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I use this and baking soda about once a week on my hair. The solution that works best for my 2b thick hair is 2 tbsps of ACV with 1 cup water. This leaves my hair soft, shiny, and tangle-free. It's especially awesome because while the baking soda definitely deep cleans my hair, it dries it out a lot, too. So following it with ACV rinse is perfect because it gets that moisture back right away. You can't get much cheaper for such good quality!



on 5/13/2015 9:37:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

Long story short I suffer from scalp psoriasis, I have thyroid issues and all the meds and imbalances gives me a very dry, irritated scalp that actually peels sometimes. Needless to say my hair isn't always very shiny or manageable and it sheds a lot.. I read about the benefits of Apple Cider Vinegar for hair a while ago and in my local health food store I found a bottle and used it that night and I have never gotten better results from any other product in my life. If you're using it for your hair/skin remember it needs to be RAW ORGANIC and UNFILTERED. It needs to contain what's called "the mother" which is basically the nutrients that is filtered out in other apple cider vinegars. I apply it by mixing half the vinegar, half water into a spray bottle and I spritz it all through my scalp and whatever is left I put on my hair and ends. I leave it in for 15 mins top, remember it is very acidic so you don't want to leave this on too long. Then I get into the shower and I like to shampoo twice, the scent is very strong and shampooing twice seems to do the trick of getting out any smell. Sometimes I use a conditioner but most of the time it isn't necessary because the vinegar does such a great job of detangling and conditioning itself. This is also great for removing product buildup that can happen in the scalp from using oils, styling products, heavy conditioners ect. Really gets the scalp clean without dehydrating it. I did this routine once a week for about a month and my scalp has changed dramatically! No more itchiness, no more redness, no more flakes and my hair hasn't been shedding as much. I take my showers at night and the next morning my hair is so shiny and soft! As smooth as my satin sheets. It's so easy to brush through and I just want to touch it all day. My friends started telling me how shiny it was all through the week. I've tried so many shampoos for scalp problems and this is the only thing that has ever worked for me. I found mine at Whole Foods for about 6 dollars I got 16 oz worth of product. All in all, I will be using this forever, its saved my scalp and saved my hair. The price you can't beat, I'd pay 16 dollars for this stuff considering the results. So impressed!

TLDR;
-great for irritated scalps that suffer from dandruff, psoriasis or product buildup.
-conditions, detangles and ads shine and softness to the hair.
-best used once a week for 15 mins, rinse and shampoo twice to get rid of the smell.
-mix together half vinegar and half water so it's not too acidic or too strong.
-available mostly at health food stores; whole foods, fresh market, or where organic foods are sold.
-16oz bottle runs around 6-10 dollars. One bottle lasted me about 4-6 months.
-All around a 10/10 product.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 5/8/2015 10:27:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

i love ACV for hair,
i mix 1/3 ACV with distilled water in a spray bottle
spray my hair with it after shower
it makes hair shiny and easier to comb
the smell goes away in about 5 minutes


Age: 30-35

Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool

Hair: Other, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

*NO!* Why? Because it stinks! No, no, no, it doesn't just smell while your hair dries, it smells all day, and into the next day, and other people can smell it, until you shampoo a few more times. If you wet your hair (get caught in the rain or sweat from a workout), the smell returns (if you couldn't smell it before) or it becomes stronger. I have no clue how people are using this and not having stomach cramps from the scent.

Does it work on hair and do all those wonderful things that people talk about: bouncy, shiny, strong hair? YES, it's amazing! No other hair product has ever made my hair look so beautiful. But you'll have to find the ratio and frequency that works for *your* hair.

It needs to be said that I am very sensitive to scent and my hair is very porous. I've tried using this with everything from a 1:5-1:1 ratio, (Bragg's with NYC city water) once a week and just cannot take the lingering vinegar smell. No way.


on 1/12/2015 5:57:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

I recently started using ACV with water to clarify my hair. I didn't want to use clarifying shampoos any more and was looking for a more natural way to remove build up from my hair.

The first few times I used a mixture of 50% ACV and 50% water. My hair hated it and I swore to never try it again. My hair was so dry and brittle. It was not pretty.

A few weeks later I decided to try it again. This time I put only 1/4 cup ACV with 450mL of water. I put it in a spray bottle and sprayed my hair with it making sure to rub my scalp and work it into my hair (to make sure you get almost every strand). I left it on for 15-20 minutes while I washed the rest of me, shaved, etc. I rinsed it out with cool water and towel dried my hair.

This time my hair and scalp felt so clean, but not stripped or dry. It felt much better than when I used clarifying shampoos, plus its cheaper (that's always a bonus).

If you've tried ACV and ended up with dry hair, I suggest using less ACV and more water next time.

* Im going to update when I use it on my face, in a mixture with bentonite clay. *

UPDATE(03/18/2015): I wrote about using this with bentonite clay, in my review for the Aztec bentonite clay. Any ways, I LOVE this in a mixture with clay for my acne prone, oily, clogged skin! Right after doing my mask, my skin is red from the ACV but it calms down a while later. I would HIGHLY recommend trying this rather than using the clay with water.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 12/7/2014 9:03:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Deep Dark, Neutral

Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Black

I love this for my hair i have very dry unruly curly and very long hair (past my waist) that's very difficult to manage especially since iv stopped using silicones on it my hair doesn't like shampoo it dries it out and causes splits so iv jumped on the co washing band wagon and ACV has been a god send for the flakies,dandruff and build up that conditioner only washing caused me to have it makes my hair so soft and clean and I can go up to four days after co washing without washing my hair.

it also got rid of the crunchy hair Iv had for months now the crunchy hair was so bad I had to cut off 6 inches of it i was devastated My long hair is my crowning glory if id known earlier ACV was the answer I wouldnt have cut it. this would be great for people whose scalp reacts to co washing and also if u get the awful crunchy hair from over use of natural oils and conditioners with protien my hair doesnt like protein or oils by themselves oils mixed in with conditioner or a little bit of shea butter works great though.

I'm only giving it three stars because I tried it on my face and it was an AWFUL DISASTER 3 months later and I'm still recovering from the reaction i broke out all over my face in tiny angry red dots I have very sensitive skin that reacts to everything I should'nt have put vinegar on it. The smell does linger so I mix in some essential oils I add spearmint, tea tree, sweet orange and eucalyptus and the vinegar smell is almost completely gone leaving in its wake wafts of freshness.


Age: 36-43

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

It doesn't like me. Le sigh.

It doesn't matter what ratio I'm using - today I used a teaspoon of vinegar and an entire cup of water - I'm left with straw. I've tried it as a regular rinse, and a rinse on my freshly henna'ed noggin and it just refuses to play nicely.

No flouncy bouncy, no curly wurly, no shiny whiny.

.Maybe it's just me though. I'll give it another couple of tries before have a mini tantrum and it ends up being poured down the sink.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 10/15/2014 3:28:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I have been using ACV on my hair for years! It makes my hair shiny, bouncy, strong, clean, feels light.
It cleans my scalp. It helps a lot if you live in a hard water area , which I do. I grew up in a soft water area but I moved to a hard water area some years ago and then I started to have itchy scalp, oily hair, dandruff and ACV helped me a lot.
I use 50% water 50 ACV. I also used other measures and my hair still smells like vinegar even the next day and even if I rinse my hair very well. When I wash few days after, I can still smell vinegar. Or if I sweat. But it is alright for me as long as it makes my hair nice and I dn't have itchy scalp or dandruff!
I am never without.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 9/24/2014 5:00:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Other, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

After reading so much about the goodness of apple cider vinegar, and having annoying buildup in my hair and large bumps/zits on my scalp (both curtsy of Agadir Argan Oil shampoo & conditioner), I decided to try this as a hair rinse.

I have so far only used it once. But am thinking this will be a weekly thing.
I put about 50% ACV and 50% water in a spray bottle (the filtered kind from Heinz). Spray my hair thoroughly after shampooing, let sit while shaving legs, rinse and condition.

My hair feels softer, smoother, with less buildup, and there is a definite effects on those bumps on my scalp! After just one use! I sprayed my back in the shower as well, as I have uneven colored skin on my upper back from scarring.

I also bought the unfiltered kind and took a tbls of this with water. Will see if it is a miracle worker ;)

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.


on 6/23/2014 5:55:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

Been using Bragg's acv for a while now and finding lots of uses for it. The price is great and I can get it right on my supermarket, so it's very convenient.

1 - I have used it as a toner. Half acv, half filtered water and about 10 drops tea tree oil. It worked alright, especially in spring and fall when my skin is the least dry or oily.

2 - i've used it as a mask with powdered milk. Just create a paste of the 2 products and apply a light layer to clean face. Let dry and remove with a wet washcloth. It can be tough to remove, so I make the water very warm and lay the wet cloth over my face for about 30 seconds to soften first. The lactic acid is strong, so I only do this about once every couple of weeks and follow up with pure aloe vera gel to soothe afterwards.

3 - My fave use is as a hair conditioner. My hair is coarse, curly/wavy and dark brown. Ends are dry but scalp can get oily. I bought a clean squirt bottle at the $ store (like for ketchup) and use half acv and half filtered water with about 8 drops EACH of tea tree oil, rosemary oil and lavender oil. Shake before each use. I use this every other time I wash my hair. It makes my hair super shiny and curly without frizz.

The one drawback is the smell, esp. with the mask, but I quickly got used to it and use so many other fragranced products that it's not noticeable.

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.


Popular Hair Products


Moroccan Oil
812 Reviews
Deep Repair Mask
315 Reviews


Top Rated No Brand (DIY or homemade) Products

image

Epsom Salt Bath

112 reviews
image

Sugar

251 reviews
image

Ice Cubes

44 reviews
Back to Top