Skinfood Black Sesame Hot Mask

3.2

13 reviews

53% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.0

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.0

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

PEG-400, SUCROSE, GLYCERINE, PEG-75, SESAMIUM INDICUM (SESAME) SEED POWDER, PPG-3, BENZYL ETHER MYRISTATE, LANOLIN WAX, SODIUM CHLORIDE, POLYSORBATE 20, DIMETHICONE, METHYL PARABEN, BUTYL PARABEN, PARFUM


on 4/6/2015 6:52:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I received this large sample sachet from the store with purchase. I was expecting a black grainy mud mask for some reason, so when I poured the contents out of the package, I was a little thrown off. The product texture was strange Ė a gel w/ black sesame seeds. I was guess my expectation was based off of the delicious Asian soup dessert I like to eat. Rubbing it onto my slightly damp face was even more strange, and I didnít know how long I was supposed to massage into my skin for since the English direction sticker wasnít too clear about it. The directions said to leave it on for 3-5mins, but I went with at least 5-7mins. The product didnít get hot at all, just slightly warm. While I waited, I browsed the internet for more information about this product. A blogger I follow, musingsofamuse.com, was spot on with describing a the scent Ė smelled like dirty peanut butter. It wasnít bad, but it wasnít good either.

Surprisingly though, the result I had was far better than what I read from others. I found smooth, soft skin, with slightly smaller pores, but the blackheads/dirt around nose was still visible. My skin didnít appear any brighter, the redness around my nose was still there, but skin felt very soft to the touch and clean. Would I purchase a full-sized bottle of this? Iíd probably try other masks before picking up a full-sized one of these since itís just a strange product and the results werenít amazing.



on 6/10/2014 12:08:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Other

Eyes: Brown

This is the best mask pack from skinfood mask pack family have. I love when i applied this onto my skin, this mask gives heat sensation, and of course the result after. I gives you healthy glow with soften skin for few days ahead. Not just after ou rinse off the mask, like the rice & black sugar did


on 11/23/2013 3:28:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brown, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Brown

This is what the Skinfood site claims about this mask:
"This highly moisturizing heating mask provides deep cleansing to skin with the thermal effect of roasted salt and granulated sugar. Black sesame seed nutrients leave skin soft and smooth."

The product itself is a sort of grey-ish gel with black beads in it. The first thing I noticed was the smell, to me, it stinks. I have never smelled black sesame before, so I can't tell you if it's a natural scent or not.
When you apply on your skin it does get slightly warm, but it isn't barely noticeable. I don't really care (if something makes your skin hot, I guess it isn't good for it) but if you're looking for something that really will heat up, forget about this one.
The consistency also feels weird for a face mask, I'm not sure why they didn't just call it a scrub.

I'm glad I got this as a sample, it doesn't suck, but it isn't worth buying either. It does leave the skin somewhat moisturized but it certainly can't "deep cleanse" the skin, as it claims.


on 8/26/2013 2:37:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Black

I bought this mask in Korea and although I've used it all, I would not buy it again. I liked the scent of sesame, liked the exfoliating texture of the product and also the heating it creates when on the skin but was not too imressed with it. It works well to deep clean but I am one of those people that will keep looking, although I may like a product. I have nothing negative to comment about it and it's cheap.


on 3/1/2013 1:07:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Other, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Very good. I use this more as a cleanser than a mask. I like the texture and love the smell. I don't leave it on my skin to allow dry I just rinse away with lukewarm water. Anyway-it's fantastic, I can really feel the scrubs. My skin is very smooth and lovely afterwards.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 12/17/2012 10:15:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Oily, Medium, Cool

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This was the first mask from Skinfood that I have tried and I was delighted by the results! Upon application, the mask warms up on my face but the heat doesn't last long which was a disappointment. The smell is quite good as well and there's no need to apply a lot since the product spreads really well. When rinsing, the little seeds acted as an excellent exfoliator and I could immediately tell how smooth my face was afterward.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 11/9/2012 6:51:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

Well, this literally does nothing to my skin, except maybe heating it for a minute or two (then it starts to cool down). I haven't noticed any, not even slight improvement of my blackeads (I have them on my nose and upper cheeks). Basically this acts as a BAD scrub. Will not purchase it.


on 8/4/2012 4:02:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I could not believe the bad reviews this mask has. I bought it alongside other products of Skin food and I find it great. It self warms, it smells funny at first, but it feels like really works through your pores.; When you wash it off your skin looks glowy and tight, it is incredible! Even my boyfriend asks me to borrow it cos it's so relaxing to put it on while it warms up! I love it, great stuff.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 4/19/2012 12:49:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Overall a great scrub mask. It heats up as you apply and my skin is so smooth and clean afterward. I would recommend to use this product just once in one week as it really cleanse skin, which means can be drying if over-using it. I would definitely buy this again. I also love the rice mask from Skinfood. ^_^

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 5/17/2011 11:50:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

I bought this for my mom and she is in love with it (esp in the Winter). Everytime after she applied this mask, she would tell me how smooth her skin is. I tried it myself and I see the result immediately. Hope they will open up a SkinFood store here in NYC.


Popular Masks


Mint Julep Masque
Mint Julep Masque
4224 Reviews
Back to Top