Boots • No7 Protect and Perfect Day Cream SPF 15 • Moisturizers

rated 3.2(19 reviews)

Average Rating.3.2
Would buy this product again.57%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 1 of 5 jademichelle9 on 2/28/2014 4:30:00 AM more reviews by jademichelle9

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I hate this day cream so much. For ages I wanted to try it and when I did, it ruined my skin. I do not have sensitive skin but this cream left my face feeling raw, as well as causing the skin to go red and splotchy. I took it back to boots and got a refund. It took me a while to get rid of the red blotches and I am never touching a No. 7 product again!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 supafob on 9/12/2013 9:15:00 PM more reviews by supafob

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Likes –
- Moisturizes throughout the day: even when I don’t stay hydrated with water, my face still feels moisturized
- Nice light jasmine scent
- Absorbs quickly

Price (3.5):
I got this on clearance at Target for $15 (compared to $20). They were getting rid of all the stock because Boots was re-vamping the product packaging for all their skincare lines.

Product Packaging:
This product came in a glass jar with a plastic screw on lid. A lot of people don’t like products in jars because each time you use it, you are exposing the product to bacteria and contaminating it by sticking your finger directly into the product. I haven’t done enough research to fully understand how much bacteria is actually getting in there and to determine if it is enough to affect my skin negatively. In general, there’s the option of using a mini spatula to scoop product out and keep it clean, but then you have to make sure you wash/clean that spatula after every use. At this point, for me, that’s too much work. It is already too much work for me to unscrew the lid and screw it back on each morning. A bit of a hassle when you are always running late to work! On the plus side of products in a jar is that I can actually scrape out every last bit of product I spent money on. I feel a little ripped off when I can’t get into a pump container to use every last drop of product.

Texture & absorption:
If there was a bar to show how light or how heavy this product feels on my face, I would rate this right in the middle. A bit like slightly melted whipped frosting on a cupcake, still stiff enough to maintain a shape after you dip your finger into it, but melts right onto your skin. It spreads easily, and absorbs relatively quickly after massaging it into your face a bit – apply a quarter-inch size drop (just stuck my fingertip into jar) on each cheek, one on forehead, spread, & massaging once is enough for me.

Moisturizing:
Overall, a decent regular daily moisturizer, if you are not expecting any additional benefits (brightening, anti-aging, decrease wrinkles, etc). I just switched over to test the very popular Aveeno Positively Radiant SPF 15 Moisturizer (~$15) and I can already tell you my face felt dry after 45 minutes. At least the Boots Day Cream moisturized all day (even when I forget to stay hydrated with water)! I probably will keep testing other options, since I’m not a fan of the container & there’s no additional benefits (unless it went on clearance for under $10!).

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Walko on 11/18/2012 8:06:00 AM more reviews by Walko

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Other   Eyes: Brown    

I used this for a long time when it first came out. I beleived all the no7 protect and perfect hype. Now I've done some reseach myself I know better.I'm no expert but there's so much wrong with this. It's perfumed, it contains alcohol denat(skin's enemy) and it's packed in a jar so any beneficial ingredients will not remain stable during use.Just today I was reading on the internet an article by a cosmetic dermatologist saying that most allergic reactions in skincare is caused by perfumes in the product and I beleive him.This is highly perfumed, the smell lingers all day. I could go on but I won't be buying this or any fragranced moisturiser ever again. Fragrance free is the way to go.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Starina27 on 6/1/2012 6:42:00 PM more reviews by Starina27

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I normally use L'Oreal products (used to use Lancome) but found out they both do animal testing so I decided to find another skin care line (which is difficult because I have oily skin that breaks out easily-yeah, never fun especially when I'd found products that worked for me in both these companies).
I went into target to purchase the simple skincare line to try because I had heard wonderful things about it, but Boots had a representative there and she talked me into trying this product. My normal skin care regimen is bar soap (used to be Dove but now I use Black African Soap and love it), toner, day cream with SPF and a night cream. So I bought this product as my day cream.

It's very greasy, no, really, my skin looked like someone had thrown grease on it. It was disgusting. I used it for a week and didn't notice any improvement in skin quality. The package says results in two weeks, but I really couldn't continue to use it because it broke my face out so much. Also it comes in a jar instead of a pump so you contaminate the product the minute you start using it. :-(

Also, when I got home in the evening and washed my face with a cloth and used the toner a brown layer would come off on the cotton ball...I've never experienced that with any other product. It happened in the morning after using the night cream as well... 8-/

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 rach90 on 2/11/2012 4:35:00 PM more reviews by rach90

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I don't like that it's not in a pump dispenser, but it doesn't bother me too much as I just make sure to wash my hands with a antibacterial soap. It's a great base for make up, and is hydrating. However, it's no miracle worker for the price. Luckily I got it as a gift. I doubt, I'd splurge on it though. I appreciate that it doesn't break me out though, thus gave it a 4. The night version seems to though.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 LuHu82 on 2/10/2012 12:09:00 PM more reviews by LuHu82

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I've been using the No.7 P&P Intense day cream twice daily (am & pm) with the P&P Intense eye cream & the P&P Intense serum once daily (am only) for about 5 months, having bought the trio on a 3 for 2 offer. I bought it as a budget (ha ha) replacement for my much loved Dior at 42. This No7 jar is almost half the price so was a good deal, as a comparison.

I like the day cream itself. It's light enough for my fussy, spot prone skin and only a very small amount is needed, so the pot lasts a long time. The packaging is smart and I've had no problem getting the last dregs out of the jar. My skin feels soft and moisturised all day without feeling greasy. Overall, I do feel it is a good replacement for my previous moisturiser.

I didn't bother with the night cream because I find night creams are too rich and greasy and cause me to break out. For me and my skin, a light touch with the day cream is perfect for both morning and evening use.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* AnnKB on 12/23/2011 9:08:00 AM more reviews by AnnKB

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

got a sample of this and although it feels nice to apply it's fragrance is too strong for me. doesn't seem anything special for the high price
Texture is lighter than the P&P 'serum' which clogs my pores.
As it was only a small sample tube I wasn't able to use it long enough to tell if there was any improvement in skin.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 danyellec on 12/19/2011 2:45:00 PM more reviews by danyellec

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Olive, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I LOVE this. I'm 23 and used sunbeds for 4 years, I had really wrinkly eyes and around my mouth there were lines, I started using this 2 years ago, along with the serum & night cream and the difference is amazing. I no longer have lines, my skins texture has vastly improved and is very smooth. My mother also uses this, her skin looks better too. I would just like to add I haven't used sunbeds for 3 years now and never will again- you might have a great colour but your skin will be awful, I noticed the damage when I was 18!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 phuonglanh on 7/28/2011 10:14:00 AM more reviews by phuonglanh

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight   Eyes: Brown    

Great product! Does not make me break out (which is very rare!). Sinks in straight away and looks good under makeup. And it has 5 star UVA. It's expensive, though, so I will buy when it's on offer only.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 iodine on 5/7/2011 10:24:00 AM more reviews by iodine

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Red, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I've used them ALL! so price is relative--even the ones from the dermatologists, this is Cheap after paying big bucks for all those. I would prefer a pump instead of a jar--just cleaner than sticking a finger into the jar. My previous moisture began giving me zits (at 67?? noooo) and I needed a lighter moisture. I have few wrinkles, even at my advanced age(thanks, Mom for the genes) , so I needed the smoothing of moisture. This really does the trick! Quickly absorbed, smooth skin, just right! So glad Boots is in the USA now and I don't have to buy from ??bay or get friends to haul it back from UK for me. I love the under eye luminous concealer, too. All the others I tried (expensive) caked up and looked awful.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Boots products

More Moisturizers products