Sunday Riley • Good Genes • Treatments

rated 4.2(26 reviews)

Average Rating.4.2
Would buy this product again.76%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Ferrishyn on 3/30/2014 4:28:00 PM more reviews by Ferrishyn

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

This is a great serum but I feel like it's a bit overpriced for what it did for me. It worked similar to my Rosehip oil so I am fairly picky now about serums. Rosehip is so cheap and natural that anything priced in this range that does the same thing annoys me. I wish it did more for the price.

It did soften my skin and make it a little brighter, but so does my Rosehip. I didn't find the smell bad at all, it smells citrus to me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 HollyWould123 on 3/7/2014 1:38:00 AM more reviews by HollyWould123

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Firstly, I only used this product for about a week or two, so I'm not sure about the long term effects of using this..but I will say the smell is absolutely atrocious. Unbearable. I'm not sensitive to most scents, it's something I am able to overlook 99% of the time. But this was one I could not get used to! However, I did notice my skin softer and overall a little nicer when using this product at nighttime before bed with my moisturizer. It's extremely expensive and definitely not worth the money in my opinion!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Foxglove08 on 2/28/2014 2:25:00 PM more reviews by Foxglove08

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Red   Eyes: Brown    

This is one product that has really made a difference to my skin. First impressions were not great: the smell is distinctive (to put it politely - though I find after a couple of weeks that I'm getting used to it) and it tingles rather alarmingly on application. But, after two or three days of using it every morning after cleansing and toning, my skin started to feel soft, plump and smooth. I haven't noticed an effect on pores, but will keep looking!
Finally I understand what the Sunday Riley hype is all about.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 ChloePappas on 1/21/2014 2:13:00 AM more reviews by ChloePappas

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Red   Eyes: Brown    

I use "Good Genes" one or two evenings a week under a moisturiser when I'm not using retinol. I don't like to mix too many actives. In the morning my skin is smooth and fresh.

This product cannot be used during the day as it is sticky and shiny.

I do feel it is over-priced, but since I am not using it every evening, it lasts.

Update: After having used it for a couple of months, my neck and decollete have developed an allergy towards "Good Genes". I still get very good results on my face, but my neck and decollete go really red, and the redness takes about 3 days to go away.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ssnyder324 on 1/7/2014 8:09:00 PM more reviews by ssnyder324

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I did not want to fall in love with this product because it is expensive for me, but it has been a miracle for my oily, acne-prone skin. I use it every other night, alternating with Retin-A, and this seems to be the magic formula for my skin. I do stray and try other products when I get samples, but I keep returning to this. I would like to point out that if you don't live near a Barneys, you can order this from Nordstrom and Sephora--If you are unhappy, you can return it to the store nearest you with no hassle.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Vatty on 11/18/2013 11:35:00 PM more reviews by Vatty

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Black, Straight   Eyes: Brown    

love this product.. put it on after the shower and then some moisturiser or face conditioner on top!.. really helps calm the skin down

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* BayRidge on 9/17/2013 9:22:00 PM more reviews by BayRidge

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

About me - I have generally pretty decent skin with the exception of hyperpigmentation on my forehead, close to my hairline. Which really bothers me. A LOT. Nothing that I tried really worked (retinol, Mad Hippie Vitamin C serum, various exfoliators) to get rid of it. And its difficult to cover by the hairline, because the layers of concealers would get stuck in hair, etc etc - its a PITA.

So this past summer, I stopped all retinols & chemical exfoliators (with the exception of a weekly application of REN resurfacing complex to keep those pesky pores clean). I was working in Europe and spending a lot of time outside, so despite being fanatical about wearing SS I didn't want to aggravate my skin or make it any more susceptible to further sun damage. It didn't get worse, but it didn't get better. So perhaps my skin was due for a shake up.

Within 3 weeks of once a day usage at night (and continual religious use of SS during the day), this has faded my hyperpigmentation to the point that I can wear a tinted SS, a dusting of powder and forgo layers of concealer. For me, that's a serious win. While its not completely gone, the transformation has been substantial & remarkable.

I can understand why people love the glass packaging - personally I hate it because I travel constantly so would much prefer a more streamlined practical approach (the same with the tinted primer from the same line - why oh why does it have to be so bulky?). I don't believe there are any benefits for the product, its purely for branding purposes, another reason for the high price point.

Having said that, as much as it pains my wallet that my skin responds so well to this product, but I will continue to buy once I run out, even if its only to use a few times a week to keep my skin in check. (I find one pump sufficient for my entire face.) Just need to make sure I don't run out before a 20% off coupon comes through....

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 GirlieGirl5 on 8/5/2013 2:47:00 AM more reviews by GirlieGirl5

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

Yes, this is expensive but I will buy it again and again. Shrinks pores like nothing else, clears up pimples, gives a polished appearance with tons of radiance. It does smell really strong, kind of a lemon or lime type of smell, but this does fade rather quickly. HG!!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Squeezeweasel on 7/22/2013 12:16:00 PM more reviews by Squeezeweasel

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I'm on my second bottle. I had a little panic when I realised the first one was running out. That should say it all.

I use Good Genes as a serum under my moisturiser at night, and sometimes under makeup in the day if I feel I need a little boost in radiance. A single pump is more than enough for the whole face; I use a full pump if I'm using it at night, and a half-pump if it's going on in the day. The lactic acid does sting a little on application, but I don't mind; it means it's working. My skin is much clearer, acne scars have vanished, the giant hormonal zits I usually get mid-cycle clear up within days (rather than the weeks they used to take), the small wrinkles around my eyes are diminished, blackheads have just vanished (Ceramic Slip cleanser applied with a Clarisonic, followed by Good Genes has been nothing short of miraculous for my blackheads), and my face is so smooth that makeup applies easier, and even my husband has noticed that stroking my cheeks feels different.

I also need less foundation; my skintone is more even (still not perfect; I need a little concealer for redness around the nose, but now I can get away with only a tinted moisturiser, where before I started using the Sunday Riley line I had to use a full-coverage foundation).

Unfortunately it only takes me about ten weeks to get through a bottle, and at £80 a throw that's a little painful.

I really can't emphasis how good this has been for my skin; if you'd told me a product would do this for me I don't think I'd have believed you. HG, sadly. Sadly because of the price; the whole range is hell on the wallet, but everything I've tried from it so far has been wonderful.

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* italiana800 on 7/15/2013 12:11:00 AM more reviews by italiana800

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I have samples of this & I've been using it for a while. I have to say, I have not noticed any major differences in my skin. This serum does feel & look oily, but it wasn't a problem for me, & I don't mind the smell too much either. This tingles initially when you first put it on. I apply this at night after I wash my face with my usual cleanser & use toner, & when I wake up in the morning there is no difference. I really wanted this to work, but I just can't justify spending over $100 on a serum that I don't see any result/difference with. My skin texture actually became bumpy after using this. I've since stopped using this, & my skin has improved. I much prefer Dior's capture totale skin boosting super serum, over this. It is the same price, but works MUCH better.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Sunday Riley products

More Treatments products