Sunday Riley • Good Genes • Treatments (Face)

rated 3.6(38 reviews)

Average Rating.3.6
Would buy this product again.60%
Ingredients


rated 1 of 5 makeupmehappy on 11/16/2014 12:46:00 AM more reviews by makeupmehappy

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Blue    

I heard and read great things about this, so I was excited to get a sample. Unfortunately it did not work for me. What it did do was burn, to the point that a few days later my skin actually peeled like I had a sunburn. My skin isn't generally super-sensitive and I try a lot of different things so it was really surprising. This definitely seems like a YMMV product, get a sample before shelling out the big bucks.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Swho06 on 11/16/2014 12:24:00 AM more reviews by Swho06

Age: 44-55   Skin: Very Dry, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Black    

Disappointing & does nothing for my skin, it doesn't moist or provide any hydration whatsoever. It's such a waste & a shame that this product is such a let down. For hydration and plumping up my dry skin I now use the Bergman moisturiser

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* UDMAC on 11/9/2014 2:10:00 AM more reviews by UDMAC

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Tan   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Other    

I also received a promotional sample from sephora like many other reviewers, and was left disappointed. To sum this up, this didn't do anything but leave me greasy. its a very runny milky serum with a light sour scent that fades easily. Packaging is a glass pump bottle, very lux, but so is the the price tag. Will not be purchasing.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 zcselman on 10/30/2014 7:02:00 AM more reviews by zcselman

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Love this product! Honestly is like glow in a pump bottle. I use it about twice a week - it's particularly great to pop on as a mask before an event because it makes your skin super smooth and plump. About a minute after you put it on your face gets a bit tingly (from the lactic acid) and red (from the circulation effects of the liquorice) but it goes away pretty quickly. I also leave it on overnight sometimes (underneath a moisturiser) if my skin is congested or feeling a bit dull and wake up looking bright and refreshed!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Wilhelmina01 on 10/11/2014 12:16:00 AM more reviews by Wilhelmina01

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

My Holy Grail skincare product! I received a one week sample of the product and I couldnt get back to Mecca fast enough for the actual bottle.
I have hormonal acne and have tried a lot of products in my lifetime and Good Genes is the only product which has stopped my acne. In the 3 months that I have been using the product I have only had 2 piffly little pimples which is a dramatic decrease from what I used to get.
The quality of my skin has also gotten a lot better and feels smoother and brighter.
The smell is a quite chemical but as long as the product works I dont care.
I use this after toning once a day with an alcohol free cleanser and toner followed by a moisturiser.

From the reviews here, it doesnt seem like it works for everyone so get a sample and try it first.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 earthlili on 8/26/2014 1:41:00 AM more reviews by earthlili

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brown, Kinky, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

pretty dreadful results. my skin has broken out in red lumps. the absolute LAST thing I needed to happen.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 mayantastic on 8/14/2014 11:32:00 PM more reviews by mayantastic

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Feels oily and slimy so you don't want to sleep with it on but you also don't want to wear it during the day, so i don't really know when you would be able to use it?! I used it anyways (I had a free sample from sephora) and I think my skin might have gotten a little more moisturized? Certainly not worth it though. It isn't bad, but I wanted a treatment that would plump my skin and give it a glow, which it did not.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* mspicky on 7/7/2014 7:53:00 AM more reviews by mspicky

Age: Unknown   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

Clogged pores and irritated skin. It's pricey but this is not for me at all. Left sticky film on skin after applying as well. Woke up with lumps all over cheeks and clogged pores on nose. Boooo

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Hawko on 6/15/2014 12:37:00 PM more reviews by Hawko

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I got a sample pack from Sephora.
This product is filled with plant phenol (wrongfully called as essential oil), a very strong smell of herbal/woodsy fragrance. It reminds me of some men's cologne, and at the same time leaves a tacky feeling on the skin for about an hour.
It may make a good yet very expensive insect repellent, but for skin care, hmmm, no thanks, not at $110 nor any price.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 queenofthenile on 6/14/2014 3:50:00 PM more reviews by queenofthenile

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Oh dear, I think I've made a very costly mistake by purchasing this product. I mainly wanted to try it because I have moderate hyperpigmenation and scarring from the terrible acne I experienced a few years ago. I've used one pump each night for the last 4 nights after cleansing, but so far it has only made my skin look so much more red and inflamed. My face is covered in tiny irritation bumps. They're very small and hard to see unless you're standing right next to me, but I'm afraid they're only going to get worse. My cheeks and forehead look like they've been sunburned, but it's really just this product that's caused the terrible redness. And to top it all off, the skin along my jawline is unbearably itchy. I've never considered myself to have sensitive skin, so I'm quite surprised by my reaction to this product. I haven't introduced any new skincare products to my regime other than Good Genes, so I'm certain that it's this stuff that's the culprit.

Now I just have to decide if I should continue to use this serum in the hopes that it will eventually do what it's supposed to, or if I should cut my losses and toss this before it gets any worse. I will update this review if necessary, but for the time being, I would advise you to avoid Good Genes!

**UPDATE** I've been using this nightly for well over a month now. The irritation bumps and itchiness I experienced initally are no longer an issue, but this product still makes my skin greasy and red after application. I have yet to see any improvement in my skin in terms of acne scars and hyperpigmentation, nor does my skin have a glow. My face feels smooth but I could get the same result from using a microdermabrasion scrub (Kiehl's is my favourite). I can't believe Sunday Riley can get away with charging 85 for this bottle of nothing!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Sunday Riley products

More Treatments (Face) products