NARS • Sheer Matte • Liquid

rated 3.2(296 reviews)

Average Rating.3.2
Would buy this product again.48%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 cblackburn88 on 1/28/2015 12:14:00 PM more reviews by cblackburn88

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Warm   Hair: Red, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

This is without a doubt my Holy Grail foundation. My skin is so oily, I mean like, I look like I dipped my face in grease halfway through the day. I had tried a few different Matte foundations but this one works the best for me.
I always moisturize my skin before makeup, I apply my Too Faced Primed and Poreless Primer (again, my face is oily), I take maybe two pumps of this foundation and buff it into my skin with my Real Techniques Expert Face Brush.
Depending on how irritated my skin is that day I may have to stipple a little extra on my problem areas. What I like most about this product is that I don't have to touch up from shininess all day long. It gives me a very natural look to my skin, which I love, but it can be built up for those nights out when you want full glam.
I wish it was a little less expensive, but I would still pay full price for it, especially now that I purchased the pump.

love this foundation!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 freshneyz on 1/25/2015 3:29:00 PM more reviews by freshneyz

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This product was very disappointing. The consistency is so thin and difficult to get a nice even coverage. It is very streaky. It accentuates dry patches, but then again it is a matte foundation and I have combination skin. The best thing is the packaging and the wear time; it lasts about 6 hours without getting too oily. Although that's a plus, this product is not worth the cost. I won't be repurchasing.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 MeganDan on 1/9/2015 10:30:00 PM more reviews by MeganDan

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Let me start this off by saying I have oliy/combo skin but pretty damn oily in the Tzone. I wasnt to sure about this foundation at first but thought I'll never really know how it reacts to my skin unless I grab a bottle. Picked this up at Sephora for 57$.... yeah.... WAY over priced for this foundation, its a nice light weight blendable foundation but its staying power is ok with a setting pray/primer and the colour range is ok as well because it leans more to the yellow side (which works in my favour) and it doesn't come with a pump. For 57$ I dont want to pay extra for a freaking pump. All-in-all I dont think this foundation is worth the price, I would probably repurchase for an ever day foundation if it was a heck of a lot cheaper.

$57.00 CAD
Favours to yellow skin tones
Staying power 4/10
No Pump
Coverage is JUST barely medium but can layer until full (waste of product)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Elliebrennan on 1/4/2015 1:44:00 PM more reviews by Elliebrennan

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

I have oily skin and used a matte-ifying moisturiser and both Smash box light primer and Rimmel Stay Matte primer (both on different days; not together). Sunk into each pore despite trying it with two primers. Was SO PATCHY!!!! didn't blend well at all, looked awful! The formulation was very runny so when I tried to buff it into my skin it just smudged around my face. I wore it twice and then returned it for a refund. I would recommend NO7 lightweight foundation (in the black plastic squeeze bottle) or the MAC prolong wear foundation instead of NARS Sheer Matte foundation. So glad that I got a refund or it would have been a total waste if £31.00!!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 MakeupMonday on 12/10/2014 10:25:00 AM more reviews by MakeupMonday

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

Let me start by saying I'm a huge fan of NARS products in general. However, this product was a total fail for me. I have combination/normal skin. This went patchy and sunk into every single pore and fine line and accentuated dryness that I do NOT have. I can't believe this product is $45. It does not blend, looks cakey, and caused the rest of my makeup to slip down my face. Just horrendous. The only good thing was the color matched perfectly (NC15 - Gobi) but the product itself was awful. And it was not matte, at all. So disappointed in this product!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Maryangels96 on 12/2/2014 11:37:00 AM more reviews by Maryangels96

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

At first, i wasn't a fan because it looked pretty patchy on my face which was odd because i always moisturized and applied a primer. The perfect match was Punjab(3). Once i changed the moisturized, but still applied the same primer, MAGIC!

I can not get enough of this foundation. The coverage is very buildable which i like, so two pumps do me good.

It makes me look so naturally flawless and fresh and overall pretty without making me look dull. The best part is, i dont even have to set it! It lasts the whole day and after 6h, all i have to do is powder a little bit of my t-zone, but thats all!!

This is defiantly my new HG foundation! <3

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 MiOhMai on 10/29/2014 9:55:00 PM more reviews by MiOhMai

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium Brown   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I wanted to love this but it didn't love me back. I have combo skin and thought this would be perfect for my skin but it showed every spot I didn't even know I had dry skin patches. It felt cakey on my face and it was hard to blend. When I finally thought it was to an okay application I had to spray so much fix+ to try and make it look normal. I ended up returning it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Charlie20395 on 10/26/2014 2:54:00 PM more reviews by Charlie20395

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

When I first tried this foundation I hated it so much that is indescribable. It just looked terrible and it looked like it separated on my face and I ended up looking like a dalmatian. I tried sponges, beauty blender, foundation brush, my fingers and nothing worked so I just dropped it and stopped using it.

BUT for some reason I recently decided to try it again and I am in love with it, I think maybe was the primer that I was using. Now I use it without any primer and apply it with a sephora Classic Multitasker Powder Brush and it looks amazing, so natural, with an amazing glow without being greasy. I had to powder once after 5 hours of using.

Overall if you bought this foundation and you hate just give it another chance or use a different brush or primer and see what happens. If you are going to buy this foundation beware of what you are using because this foundation can look horrible if you use a bad moisturizer or primer.

The biggest downside to this foundation is the very expensive price and it doesn't have a pump but if you find a way to work with it looks beautiful.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 VictoriaNatalie on 10/1/2014 7:02:00 AM more reviews by VictoriaNatalie

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I was colour matched for Santa Fe in Nars Sheer Matte and I paid 31. I'm usually NC20-25 in Mac but have been colour matched to NW20 too. I've wanted a Nars foundation for ages but I don't live near to a counter so when I eventually found myself at a Nars counter I was so excited. I really really love the look of Sheer Glow but I have oily skin and figured that there's no point in buying a foundation that would quite possibly make me look more oily so I purchased the Sheer Matte. Well, for starters, I don't think the shade is correct for me. It just doesn't look quite right, I can't put my finger on it. I'm really not impressed with the foundation AT ALL. I hate the way it looks on my skin, powdery yet hardly any coverage at all. I have some freckles and some redness around my nose but nothing major and it just doesn't cover anything. I've tried to build the coverage up but it just looks cakey. I've tried using a primer and without, I've tried applying it with my fingers, brush and beauty blender, still looks horrible. As for the mattifying properties, well, I've had it on for 3 hours and I just checked in the mirror and my nose was shiny as can be, that's with primer, powder and setting spray. My Estee Lauder Double Wear Light which I was using before did a much better job at controlling oil. I wish I'd just bought the Sheer Glow and I could have dealt with the oiliness in my t-zone but still had the lovely coverage. Really disappointed.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 edmineralsgirl on 9/28/2014 5:25:00 PM more reviews by edmineralsgirl

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Tan, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I've been on the hunt for a medium coverage foundation for my oily/combo, acne-prone skin. I have been using a sample of Syracuse/Barcelona for a few weeks now. This foundation covered up my acne scars nicely. The dark circles around my eyes were also concealed nicely. I love that it looks so natural. No cakeyness! It almost looks like I'm wearing no foundation. Also love that it has buildable coverage for those pesky acne scarred spots. With primer + loose powder, I get about 8 hour wear plus oil control, which is perfect for me. I love that this foundation is one that I can wear daily, but can also wear it for fancy occasions. While I wouldn't call this my HG just yet, it is pretty close.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More NARS products

More Liquid products