Moroccanoil • Intense Curl Cream • Styling Products

rated 3.1(36 reviews)

Average Rating.3.1
Would buy this product again.44%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 4 of 5 Sarahtashh on 8/19/2013 9:52:00 PM more reviews by Sarahtashh

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other, Olive   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Pros-
* lasts AGES one pump goes a long way for my medium length THICK curly hair
* tames my fuzzies
* defines my S shaped curls
* leaves hair looking soft and healthy
* pump bottle super handy
* smells delicious - not overwhelming

Cons-
* Silicones mean sulphate shampoo is required to get it out :(
* looks hideous the 2nd day even worse when you try to re-activate
* expensive as hell
* wouldnt repurchase because of the silicones & the 2nd day look is just ugh which means I need to wash and I dont want to wash my curly hair everyday and dry it out. Its a shame though because it looks so pretty the first day.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Oliveb412 on 4/11/2013 11:46:00 AM more reviews by Oliveb412

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

Maybe this just wasn't the right product for me since I have thin wavy hair, but it was HORRIBLE. What a waste of money! It made my hair dry, crispy, flat, and greasy. I've used better $3 drugstore products.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 keiki300 on 2/25/2013 9:57:00 AM more reviews by keiki300

Age: 36-43   Skin: Other, Fair-Medium   Hair: Red   Eyes: Hazel    

well i have a love hate relationship with this product.
hate: i hate the scent, it is very baby powderish and cheap smelling.
the pump does not work until the very end of the product so you have to deal with that. since it is so expensive i am pretty mad about that.
you have to be careful how much you use or it will be somewhat heavy ont he hair.
love: my long waves are well defined and shiney and this product reactivates the next day by just adding a water spray.
it works also as a leave in conditioner.
it laast forever so being expensive is not that much of a problem.
you can not feel it in your hair at all.
this is the only hair product i buy repeatedly and i am a hair junkie.
Ah, but the stupid scent. some just love it though.so you have to smell it for yourself. i guess i like the flowery more than baby powder.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 VictoriaStewart on 12/2/2012 7:02:00 PM more reviews by VictoriaStewart

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Blue    

The cream is fanstatic for my coarse curly hair and, if you can put up with the dispenser, it is well worth it - it really does perform wonders.

The dispenser is a disgrace for such an expensive product. It seems every second one I buy, the pump doesn't work - I have to keep my old pump and switch it between bottles. Also, the pump stops pumping out the cream when there is still a substantial amount left. Cue: mess in the bathroom as you have to try and extract the product from the bottle. I don't understand why they wouldn't have this product in some tube. I currently have 5 half empty bottles on my shelf because I can't bear to deal with the mess of using the remainder of the cream. A definite let down.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Ebelida on 9/6/2012 4:42:00 PM more reviews by Ebelida

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this product on a recommendation from my hairdresser, after LOVING the scent. She said it would work well on my curly, thick, often frizzy hair. It certainly has. The product lasts forever even though it is very expensive. I took off a lippie for the nasty parabens.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Missunlucky on 9/6/2012 4:08:00 PM more reviews by Missunlucky

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Blue    

This is by far the best product that is able to control my frizz in the summer time! I have thick wavy hair and I recently got it cut short, so now I don't have any weight to keep my hair tamed. I like to air towel dry my hair but when it's still damp I put a dime size of it in my hair, put it into braids and then go to bed. I wake up with my frizz contained and a little hair spray to keep it that way. Even though the price is kinda high, I would still buy this again. This product is definitely worth it. It lasted a long time too. I had this 3 years with my mom and I using it and there's still a little bit that will probably last for a few months. In conclusion, I love this stuff! :)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 maggiesafdari on 2/11/2012 8:07:00 PM more reviews by maggiesafdari

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I have always hated long reviews, so I'll make this one short and sweet.
Moroccanoil, although very hyped up, does deliver to its promise. It leaves curls shiny, bouncy and frizz free. KEEP IN MIND, if you have fine, thin hair, it will probably leave your hair greasy looking if you use more than a dime sized amount. I have very thick, dry hair, so I can use a lot of this product and it does not look oily. The price is ... expensive. Sally's beauty shop offers a knock off, One 'n Only Argon Oil curl cream, which is only about $15. I have yet to try it, but my hair dresser uses it on all her clients and says it works just the same.

IF YOU ARE WORRIED ABOUT SILICONES:
Please don't listen to complete strangers on the internet about what it does and doesn't do to your hair. They are not experts. I called my hair dresser and asked her what exactly silicones are and will do. She said that:
- yes, silicones coat your hair. That is what gives you the shine and soft feeling
- silicones WILL come off in the shower, even with a sulfate free shampoo. The only instance they will not come out in the shower is if you only wash your hair once per week, yet you apply moroccanoil every day. As long as you wash your hair 2-3 times a week, ITS OK.
- SILICONES WILL NOT DAMAGE YOUR HAIR GUYS. IT WILL NOT DO ANYTHING OF THE SORT. When I asked if they damage hair, she burst into laughter. "Of course they don't," she told me.


IN CONCLUSION (hm this turned out longer than I liked)
- moroccanoil lives up to the hype.
- SILICONES DO NOT DAMAGE YOUR HAIR.
- One 'n Only Argan Oil does the same job, yet it is half the price.

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 lblasucci on 1/9/2012 11:10:00 AM more reviews by lblasucci

Age: 44-55   Skin: Oily, Olive   Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I love this. Like another reviewer, I’m also surprised at the poor reviews. I have long 3a 3b curls. I towel dry my hair in soft tee shirt for maybe five minutes. I then use 2.5 to 3 pumps, distributing evenly from the bottom to the top. I then ramdomly place clips throughout my head, scrunching my hair up. I either dry naturally or diffuse. I recently discovered my new favorite method, the ‘drive and dry.’ Since its dark when I leave for work, I can hop in my car with my wet head in clips, looking ridiculous, and blast the heat full force…remove the clips and gently toss. I’ve also learned, as with any hair product, it’s best to change it up every couple of weeks for a few days…As far as the price, ouch, but but but, for me, it’s worth every penny.

UPDATE: 05/01/2012 - I am on my second bottle and still loving it. If you're not sure about this product because of the negative reviews, give it a try, but just keep your receipt in case you are truly disappointed.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Arachne on 1/7/2012 7:56:00 PM more reviews by Arachne

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Love the smell and the packaging is great, but sadly it's just too heavy for my hair. Although my hair didn't look greasy the day I used it, the next day my hair was gross. I don't like to wash my hair every day, so this isn't good for me. The price is outrageous. I truly feel there are much better, cheaper products out there.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 lillimariel on 8/8/2011 6:34:00 PM more reviews by lillimariel

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

VERY GOOD for thick CURLY hair. Its just sooo moisturizing which is the very best thing to define my curls beautifully. I was using Aveda curly style prep in the winter, but in the summer, the humidity made my hair super frizzy. So I switched to Moroccan oil and it works wonders. I also started highlighting my hair, which makes it more dry, so this is the only product that will tame it. I also love the smell.
*UPDATE* NOV 2012 - My hair is no longer responding so well to this product - maybe because the weather is more dry. I have alternated with DevaCurl Light Styling Gel and finish with Deva Curl Set it Free. Also I use Purpose by Mindset haircare. And switch these all around from time to time, which seems to be the best option for my hair.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Moroccanoil products

More Styling Products products