MAC • Cremesheen - Black Knight • Lipstick

rated 3.9(14 reviews)

Average Rating.3.9
Would buy this product again.57%
Ingredients


rated 1 of 5 booshaynay on 7/10/2012 10:19:00 PM more reviews by booshaynay

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Honestly, this lipstick is total crap. The nice reviews on here confuse me. I adore the dramatic look that comes with black lipstick and I had high hopes for this one. I was sadly disappointed.
This lipstick is sheer. That's just not what I look for in any lipstick, most especially dark colors. I tried my hardest to make it opaque, but no amount of coats could achieve that. To top it all off, even with only one thin coat, this lipstick bleeds. I wore it around the house to test it out and this sheer, ugly formula started bleeding within 15 minutes.
Awful, awful, awful.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 NancyGlitter on 5/15/2012 10:47:00 PM more reviews by NancyGlitter

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Red   Eyes: Brown    

This has been a classic to me for a long time, and it still is. It is one of the few black lipsticks existing out there, among available brands, and also one of the best, if not the best of them all.

As any other MAC lipstick, I make sure to apply the primer first. Being black it also has the tendency to smudge a bit. Actually maybe the smudging or fading is the same in every MAC lipstick, but since this one is black, it's not the most perfect one to go out and eat dinner.

But know what, I don't care. If I happen to smudge it I just reapply it. Solved.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 kabukiKILLER on 4/1/2012 6:06:00 PM more reviews by kabukiKILLER

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I like the formula of cremesheens because they're more lip-butter-ish. However, this concept only seems to work for lighter, more natural shades like peach, pinks and nudes where the lack of opacity isn't that big of a deal. I have light lips, like the rest of my light skin and if my lipstick is patchy after I press my lips together, it's very obvious.

I wish this was slightly less glossy and more opaque. If it was a satin finish with just the slightest sheen, I would be sold. Otherwise, there are better black lipsticks out there.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 CosmeticPlague on 1/23/2012 12:53:00 PM more reviews by CosmeticPlague

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Dry, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

To be honest I'm very surprised by the rave reviews here on MuA. I agree with the previous review that MAC is tricking buyers into thinking they're getting something better than they are.
In no way does this lipstick apply opaque. Perhaps if it was a Lustre formula it would be opaque after a few coats, but given it's Cremesheen formula it's very glossy, thin and not very buildable. It's not true to colour at all, on my pigmented lips it pulls more of a dark eggplant colour and swatched on my hand it pulls more of a brownish-black.
The lasting power isn't there for me either, one sip of coffee and half the colour is pulled off my lips, leaving it patchy and uneven (even after pressing my lips together).
MAC re-released this on Black Friday 2011, online only, and I was beyond excited to order it as I had missed out on most things I wanted from the Style Black collection. When it arrived, I noticed it seemed smaller than most MAC lipsticks and indeed after comparing it to another MAC lippie I had recently purchased, it was a few centimeters shorter and not at all wider. What's the deal, MAC?
This is the most disappointing MAC lipstick I've purchased to date and I don't recommend it to anyone. You're better off filling your lips in with a black eyeliner and topping it off with a dab of clear lipgloss.
If you're looking for a nice black lipstick I recommend the Fantasy Makers (by Wet 'n' Wild) black lipstick that comes out around Halloween for $3 or Illamasqua's Pristine lipstick (currently on sale on their website for 7.50).

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 kidamnesiac on 3/6/2011 11:58:00 PM more reviews by kidamnesiac

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

This is another example of the promo photos tricking buyers into thinking they're getting something more fantastic than they really are. This shade is not opaque in the least. Rather, it applies as a semi-opaque gunmetal sort of shade. Lucky for me, I rather like the shade... it's nice to have a black lipcolour that looks less angsty and more grown-up. But I can't give it full props when it didn't deliver what I was expecting.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* sunnyisland on 8/5/2010 1:33:00 AM more reviews by sunnyisland

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This is a limited edition black coloured lipstick with no shimmer. Cremesheen formula went on smoothly but as it was cremesheen, it wasn't very opaque and looked a bit dark grey instead of the intense black I was expecting even with several layers. Also looked slightly glossy on its own. Probably won't buy it again as I rarely use it anyway.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 LustreBonBon on 12/5/2009 3:35:00 PM more reviews by LustreBonBon

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

A good choice to change the tone of other lipsticks. Over the top of those powdery pinks that make me look childish it adds just the correct depth. If i didn't already own it, I would certainly buy it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 MissNice on 10/31/2009 8:13:00 PM more reviews by MissNice

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Dark   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Black Lipstick?!Hell yes
This is a functional product, the main purpose is to layer with other lipsticks that's why it's a creamsheen finish if u want a straight black go for Mattene
Since the moment it's more Vamp dark look i had to buy this
It's one of those things that instantly changes a look, u can layer with loads of colors
Lily Allen's makeup, on her video 22, had this vamp lipstick, a mix of knight violet and black lipstick, she looked FAB
So if u are creative enough u willl not look as THE GOTH LOOK
CHANNEL ads, and on their line they had a very dark vamp lipstick it reminded me of Mia's, from PULP fiction, lipstick and nail polish
MOST OF THE STUFF U SEE ON ADS AND RUNWAY SHOWS ARE IDEAS THAT CAN BE DECONSTRUCTED AND ADAPTED TO EACH INDIVIDUAL
BELIEVE IF U R SMART ENOUGH THAT THIS WILL SAVE U MONEY AND CHANGE U WILL BUY THIS
HALLOWEEN??THIS WAY MUCH MORE

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* medicredfearn on 10/17/2009 11:23:00 PM more reviews by medicredfearn

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I got this for Halloween as I don't see myself wearing this at my next PTA meeting! But I have to admit, I do like it. I already like the cremesheen formula, so if you do as well, this should not disappoint. It has a nice texture with good pigmentation. It is a true black, unlike other 'black' lippies. And it has the signature MAC vanilla scent.


Even though some say it's not justifiable to buy a black lippie for halloween, let me just say this. I have MAC lipsticks from 2005 that I'm still wearing today and have not yet turned. So $14 for the next few years to me is worth it.


I would like to add however that applying it lightly gave me an uneven application with patches of color here and there. I applied it over my Cargo Reverse Lip Liner and applying it with a heavier hand gave me the desired result. I wore it for about 3 hours to test it out and am happy to say that there was no feathering or black teeth stains during that time frame. Here is pic of it in direct sunlight. It's the one on the left.

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Violet912 on 10/11/2009 10:46:00 AM more reviews by Violet912

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Other    

The one thing that would have made Black Knight better for me would be for it to have been an amplified creme rather than a cremesheen. I really have to layer this to make it look like a nice, smooth black color. If applied lightly, it looks patchy and grayish.

I would purchase this again just because of the uniqueness of the product - every other black lipstick I've seen is either not a true black, or a $1.99 waxy odd-smelling product from a halloween store. I think that even for those who would only wear this on halloween, it's nicer to wear Black Knight for halloween the next few years than it is to wear bad black lipstick and would be worth it just for that.

Also for those who are wary of black lipstick - this would be a great lipstick to try blending with bright red and berry shades to make them more vampy for the fall.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More MAC products

More Lipstick products