Illamasqua • Cream - Rude • Blush

rated 4.5(42 reviews)

Average Rating.4.5
Would buy this product again.78%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Andi2010 on 8/25/2014 6:11:00 AM more reviews by Andi2010

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

Illamasqua cream blushers are beautiful and so easy to use. The formula is really creamy and so easy to blend that if you do get a little heavy handed they are very easy to buff down and melt into the skin.

I wanted a nice peachy coral for summer and to go with a natural eye look and red / coral lip colour - I picked up two corals/oranges: Dixie and Rude, hands down Rude has been the winner, on my NC 15 yellow under toned skin, I tend to go a little fairer than this in winter. Dixie is too dark and too hard work for me, they both look quite orange in the pan. However Rude melds into the skin and gives me the most pretty peachy light coral. I have experimented with different application techniques but find the easiest way to apply this is with my fingers. The colour can be built up if you want it to look a little more intense and obvious.

Stays put and lasts all day. For an extra bit of shimmer to high light the cheekbones this looks stunning with a very light layer of benefit Coralista applied lightly with a fanbrush or small fluffy brush over the top.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Anera on 2/6/2014 8:29:00 AM more reviews by Anera

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Green    

NEW REVIEW:
The blush comes in the Illamasqua signature packaging. The lid is see through so you don't have to open the compact to see the color, unlike their palettes and powders. Initially the color is definately coral and not peachy, as it is in the store, which disappointed me completely. I didn't want to wear the blush at all because the color looked boring. With the time passing, getting a very very light tan (sadly, still am NC15) and using the blush from time to time I am starting to like the color more. Underneath the surface film looks like there is a peachy blush after all. The blush looks more peach on medium skintone or tanned skin.
The blush lasted on me 12 hours today. It may be that it disappeared a little during the day but it was still there (not a hint of color but really really there!) when I wanted to remove my makeup. I am not heavy handed when it comes to blushes and have oily skin so this should be taken in account. I remember hating if for not lasting long on me. I used wrong cream underneath the foundation so the blush and the foundation didn't last on me. The creams that worked and prolonged the wear of my makeup (for now): Sephora Acne Solution with Salicilic Acid and San Souicis Aqua Clear.
I apply it with a cheap synthetic angled blush brush from IQ Cosmetics and it works fine. The blush isn't hard to blend for whichever brush or technique you use.
The blush is advertized to be used on lips too, but it lacks of pigmentation and quality consistency. It feels very greasy and unpleasant on lips that I would recommend pairing this blush with MAC's Coral Bliss lipstick, which has the same overall effect as if the very same blush was used on lips.

I wouldn't repurchase. It isn't that I don't like the blush. I just can't start truly love the color. I really hope it will turn out peach and that I will be able to re-review and say that I will repurchase it. Until then, it is just another nice blush in my stash. The color is universally flattering for yellow undertoned (wo)men. It is not pink and not orange but creamy peacy coral.

OLD REVIEW:
I thought the color would have more peach in it. The color is exactly how I thought Dixie would look like, which is why I am disappointed with Rude's color. They've said it's similar to Lover, but I couldn't disagree more! Lover is a nice peach while Rude has a lot of coral in it. The only peach they've added is to make the color look warmer. On my cheeks it's a true coral, and if I may add, I am very very pale:
Chanel B10, Illamasqua SB06, Bourjois 31/51, MAC 1.0

Beside the color, I like everything, the sleek packaging, the pigmentation (I had to get used to applying this one because a teeny tiny dab goes a long way), the finish (semi dewy)....

I think the best Illamasqua can offer are: Blushes > Lipsticks > Eye shadows. These are the only things I like. I've sold my Skin Base and Matte Primer, and the Highlighting brush I use seldom, while the angled eye brush I haven't used not even once (I'm having almost 7 months).

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 madamemaquillage on 11/4/2013 1:01:00 AM more reviews by madamemaquillage

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I'm not a big makeup-user, but I got this because my skin is dry and getting kind of "mature," and I read that I shouldn't be using powder blush. The color in the pan is ghastly -- a bright orange -- but it looks absolutely natural once I apply a small amount to my cheeks. Really nice. I used to use Nars Deep Throat, and this is an even nicer pink-coral color -- much more natural looking than the Nars. I agree with the reviewer below that it looks like a flush after a light run.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 x3rjessikers on 8/16/2013 3:47:00 AM more reviews by x3rjessikers

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I really do like this cream blush. It is one of the very few cream blushes I actually like using. I would describe the color as a peachy coral. The texture is very creamy and very pigmented. I barely have to tap my fingers into the product to get enough. However, if I put on too much, it'll easily blend down to something more wearable. And can easily be built up to be more of a pop of color. I like using this on its own on my bare skin on the days I don't feel like doing a full face of makeup. It doesn't settle into pores or bring out imperfections. It doesn't break me out if I use it directly on my cheeks. And it feels nice when applied. It gives a nice "I just quickly ran over here" flushed look. It also makes for a great cream base for a powder blush to go over to give your top color a little more umph. Definitely going to venture off and try the other cream blushes Illamasqua has to offer. I would definitely repurchase this if i were to ever run out (which i doubt) but that's just goes to show much great this product is.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 joanne150406 on 4/13/2013 8:16:00 AM more reviews by joanne150406

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Black, Relaxed, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This is such a gorgeous colour. I bought this shade after seeing a lot of girls raving about it online, and it certainly didn't disappoint.

This was my first cream blush and I do not regret it at all. I think it is quite reasonably priced because there is a lot of product and it is very good quality.

When I first got it I wore it daily and it is perfect for the office. It's quite an adorable peach pink apricot colour. It isn't dewy like I expected and sort of dries to a powdery finish and blends very well. I can see this colour working on a lot of skin tones.

This was my first illamasqua product and I'd be very happy to try out more of their products after this. There aren't really any cons for me with this! Super happy with my purchase :) I recommend this very highly.

EDIT July 2014: I swapped this blush because I realised that I much prefer powder blushes over cream blushes and they work much better with my skintype. I've downgraded one lippy because of this.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 pandagrl90 on 1/26/2013 9:46:00 PM more reviews by pandagrl90

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I really like this blusher. It is a rather frightening orange in the pan, but it goes on a lovely pop of coral. It can be very natural if you only apply a bit. The product is quite soft and it can be applied directly onto skin or over powder, which is something I appreciate. The packaging is nice and sturdy, typical Illamasqua.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* LadyKolie on 12/6/2012 11:10:00 AM more reviews by LadyKolie

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

For Reference my skin is NC/NW 07-10 or Nars Sheer Glow Mont Blanc or illamasqua 3.5. I have Acne prone, extremely sensitive, combination, oily skin. I have a lot of topical and internal allergies/ intolerances. (wheat, soy, msg (yes it is in some makeup), beeswax, bismuth oxychloride)


Highlight/quick REVIEW this product:
Versatile (eyes, lips, cheeks, anywhere, heavy or light application)
Can be long wearing when set with a powder
Emollient, smooth, and creamy
Wonderful pigmentation
Easy Application
A little goes a long way (on pale skin)
Expensive
Crap packaging (though interesting to look at because of shape)


Detailed REVIEW:

This product does not break me out, thankfully, and I have worn it many times since I purchased it last month. I recently decided I wanted to try a cream blusher for the first time. I was on an illamasqua product hunt because I really wanted to try the brand out. This blush in Rude I purchased from Sephora at $26 for 0.14oz of product. Because I am on the Pale end, a little goes a long way. I gently dab my brush in the product and stipple on both cheeks, blending one side and then the other back and forth until I get even coverage. I choose the brush because I felt I couldn't not control the product as well with my fingers (a common problem for me with any cream product).


Being a cream product, it is emollient, and I think it has a lovely texture. This is particularly easy to spread, not too dry not too emollient. I haven't had any issues with it transferring (though I do not rub my face on things or people) I have not been setting my face with a powder, do to it being a very dry fall where I am living. We shall see how the product acts once summer arrives again. I have had no problems, so far, with this product lasting all day or staying where I put it. Nor have I had any issues with it oxidizing or becoming darker or brighter or anything else. The color is a wonderful peach pink, and with a light hand looks absolutely natural. I quite enjoy this blush and I wear it quite often. This product will last me quite some time because of how pigmented it is and how little that means I have to use on my pale skin.


I am unsure I would purchase this again, Though the product is wonderful, the packaging is horrible and the price seems steep. It will take me quite a while to finish this container so I feel it is worth the money for this single purchase.


I also want to mention the packaging, I love black, and I like the odder shapes of illamasqua's products, and though I would like to complain about how light the packaging is, I think it is useful for travel, it keeps your bag from being too heavy if you are someone who applies makeup on the go, or travels a lot with your cosmetics. Because it is so light it feels like it maybe flimsy, however, I haven't had any problems with the packaging actually being flimsy, but it doesn't seal closed and I feel like this product may dry out quickly. It has a lip for easy opening and closing (unlike the cream pigments that do not have a grip or lip of any kind to aid in opening, and it irritates me to no end).

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 babyschla on 11/24/2012 9:02:00 AM more reviews by babyschla

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Red, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Blue    

I went into illasmasqua to have a look at Lover, but my partner came across this and asked me to try it on. It's a very natural pinky blushing colour that really blends in for a lovely creamy effect. I left with this instead and wouldn't get lover for a few more months. It's a great colour. Does not look the same on as it does in the box. Would not be without this little staple, for sure! Possibly my HG blush.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 loverlover1328 on 10/13/2012 1:43:00 AM more reviews by loverlover1328

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This colour is so gorgeous - peach pink - super natural for summer, and the formula is lovely. It is creamy, not sticky, and blends beautifully. Highly pigmented so you only need to touch once with your finger and that is enough for a whole cheek. I can see this one pan will last me forever.
I think it cost about AU$30 but I can't recall. Illamasqua recently dropped their prices and I really support their Fight for Fair campaign against Aust prices. I have put 2 lippies for price due to how little you need.
I am able to build this - layer upon layer - but be careful you don't overapply first go, because if you try and remove it, you may end up removing fdtn underneath.
Having said that, this looks gorgeous and natural over my liquid/creme fdtns.
I don't use this over powder fdtn.
The colour looks more natural on the skin than it does in the pan, like a healthy flush. When you first apply it, it looks crazy but blended out it is incredible. It works well for my yellow toned skin. It is pretty much a cream version of my powder blush Dior peach veil.
Nothing wrong with the packaging, standard plastic flip up lid. Very sturdy, clicks shut properly and stays shut.
If you aren't sure about cream blushes, give this one a try and you won't be disappointed!

More about me:
Asian normal skin - tending towards combination in summer
Was acne-prone for years
Foundation preference is to look as yellow as possible, absolutely nil pink
MAC NC-30, Shiseido O60, BeneFit Champagne, Bobbi Brown #4, MUFE Sand/Desert
Sunscreen everyday - alternating between Sofina and Invisible Zinc

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 leksibaby on 4/29/2012 6:59:00 AM more reviews by leksibaby

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I love this blusher by ! The only downfall being its price!
It leaves a nice glow on the skin and you can control the coverage- I usually prefer a light finish!

As well as owning Rude, I also own Crush which is dark purple in colour and is slightly harder to control!

I double both shades up as a lip colour, although lip liner is required for the darker shades as they tend to bleed, the lighter ones are really unnoticeable!

It's a really versatile product overall and Rude gives a beautiful sun-kissed finish!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Illamasqua products

More Blush products