Paula's Choice CLEAR Pore Normalizing Cleanser

3.8

42 reviews

69% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$$

Not tested on animals

INGREDIENTS

Water, Sodium Lauroyl Sarcosinate (detergent cleansing agent), Acrylates/Steareth-20 Methacrylate Copolymer (polymer thickening agent), Glycerin (skin-identical ingredient/slip agent), PEG-200 Hydrogenated Glyceryl Palmate (thickener), Sodium Laureth Sulfate (detergent cleansing agent), Butylene Glycol (slip agent), PEG-7 Glyceryl Cocoate (emulsifier), Panthenol (skin conditioning agent), Triclosan (antibacterial agent), Disodium EDTA (chelating agent), Citric Acid (pH adjuster), PEG-60 Hydrogenated Castor Oil (solubolizing agent), Phenoxyethanol, Caprylyl Glycol, Chlorphenesin (preservatives)


on 4/26/2015 6:02:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This product is absolutely a MUST HAVE for me. This does the job as a gentle cleanser and does not break me out. A lot of these reviews state that it doesn't wash off makeup, but it's not really intended for washing off makeup. I use a makeup wipe then use this cleanser and works wonders. This is by far the best cleanser and I defiantly recommend to those acne-prone skin types. The only down side is the price and is a bit pricey for a cleanser, but I think it's worth it and they also come in trial size, so if you are still not sure, you can try it out. :D

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



on 4/17/2015 1:08:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium Brown, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Its a very basic cleanser and rather drying. It does NOTHING to your pore size and doesn't have anything helpful for skin. The packaging is annoying and it doesn't really foam well. Not worth the price at all.


on 3/28/2015 12:58:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I can't believe all the good ratings for this cleanser. I have to use it twice to remove make up. Even then, after using a toner, there is still make up and dirt on my face. When I am not wearing make up, I still find that my face does not feel clean and I still have dirt that shows up on my cotton pads when toning. I understand the benefits of a gentle cleanser but I think this is too gentle. I have oily acne prone skin and would not recommend this to someone with my skin type. It does not remove your make up or dirt and/or oil. It is also quite pricey for such a crappy product. I love Paula's toners and exfoliants though, not sure what happened with this one.


on 8/16/2014 10:07:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

This is the only acne-targeted cleanser I've ever used that doesn't dry out my skin. I've been using this cleanser for about a year, and I've altered my routine a bit since I've used it. Since my skin can tend to be dry at times, but also acne- prone, I alternate using this cleanser at night, with a more hydrating cleanser in the morning. With PC products I am completely acne free for the first time in 10 years.
This cleanser is a gel-like consistency, but it doesn't lather up like a lot of acne-cleansers. I think that helps make it not as drying. I think the price for this product is on-point since it lasts a very long time (6 months or more for me using 1x per day)
The only downside I would point out are that for me it doesn't always remove my makeup completely unless I double cleanse, or use a clarisonic. I think if you're using a proper makeup remover before cleansing, you wouldn't have this problem, but either of the previously mentioned techniques work fine.
I think some people with dry-tendancy skin might steer away from this, but I think it does a really good job of keeping acne at bay, along with not drying out the skin.
Will definitely continue to repurchase in the future.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 7/25/2014 8:46:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I HAD TWO OF THE DELUXE SAMPLES WICH LASTED ABOUT A MONTH.
This cleanser will not change your pores in anyway despite what the label says. Despite the label though this is gentle and will not make your pores any worse.


on 6/29/2014 10:18:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I've been only using this cleanser for a week but I'm loving it already, it's similar to the consistency of the hydralight cleanser, and it refreshes skin, leaves it smooth, bright and comfortable, all without dryness.
It somewhat helps with blemishes alongside the bha liquid, I really like this cleanser, a must have for oily, acne prone skin.


on 6/5/2014 11:16:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

I started using Paula' Choice a few years back when I decided it was time for anti aging products. I was really hoping to like the Resist cleanser, but it just didn't seem to leave my skin feeling clean/refreshed enough. So I got samples of a bunch of the other cleansers and actually fell in love with this one!

I do not have acne prone skin. Quite frankly my skin is on the drier side and most of my skin concerns are dark spots and wrinkles. While this cleanser is not targeted for my skin type, I found it worked really well for me.

What I like most about it is that it is fragrance free and leaves my skin feeling refreshed, without feeling stripped. In my opinion, it is a really good basic cleanser. You can't beat the price and I love the flip top packaging. This has been the only cleanser I have used for a while now. My skin continues to be normal and predictable.

The other thing I really like is that it is available in a 'trial' size that is perfect for travel. I've continued to refill my small bottle so I always have this cleanser with me when I'm away from home.

I can't recommend this cleanser enough! Even though it is targeted for acne prone skin, it doesn't have any harsh ingredients that will irritate normal or dry skin. It really has normalized my skin and leaves it prepped for the anti aging products I use after I wash my face.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 5/17/2014 7:59:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I am loving this cleanser. I got this part of the 3 step Clear extra strength trial set which included BHA 2% and benzoyl peroxide. My skin became very dry at first using all 3 and then I started skipping the BHA and my skin calmed down. I now just use the cleanser, BP, then EltaMD clear everyday in the AM. I plan to buy the full size, my only gripe is the bottle, I don't mind flip top for use at the sink, but I prefer a pump for the shower and I don't like to transfer products out of their original containers.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 2/27/2014 11:26:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

Love this stuff! Gets my skin clean and keeps it clear and even.


on 11/6/2013 1:40:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Green

Did not like this at all. I love what Paula stands for, but this cleanser was not what I expected it to be. If you use BP you have surface dryness and this added to the dryness on my skin. It also didn't have any slip to it. I felt like I had to constantly re-wet my skin just so it would have more slip and lather. I know she doesn't believe in foaming cleanser, but when you are used to everything your whole life foaming and to have a cleanser that only very slightly foams if that, just doesn't feel like its working. It didn't do a good job in removing my makeup after a day and I didn't look forward to using it. It was such a let down for me that I called for a refund. I use Purpose Cleansing Face Wash which is my HG face wash. I gave it 2 stars, because I like what she stands for and I'm sure someone might like it, just wasn't at all what I expected it to be.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


Back to Top