Paula's Choice • CLEAR Pore Normalizing Cleanser • Cleansers

rated 3.9(39 reviews)

Average Rating.3.9
Would buy this product again.71%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 morgannicole on 8/16/2014 10:07:00 PM more reviews by morgannicole

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

This is the only acne-targeted cleanser I've ever used that doesn't dry out my skin. I've been using this cleanser for about a year, and I've altered my routine a bit since I've used it. Since my skin can tend to be dry at times, but also acne- prone, I alternate using this cleanser at night, with a more hydrating cleanser in the morning. With PC products I am completely acne free for the first time in 10 years.
This cleanser is a gel-like consistency, but it doesn't lather up like a lot of acne-cleansers. I think that helps make it not as drying. I think the price for this product is on-point since it lasts a very long time (6 months or more for me using 1x per day)
The only downside I would point out are that for me it doesn't always remove my makeup completely unless I double cleanse, or use a clarisonic. I think if you're using a proper makeup remover before cleansing, you wouldn't have this problem, but either of the previously mentioned techniques work fine.
I think some people with dry-tendancy skin might steer away from this, but I think it does a really good job of keeping acne at bay, along with not drying out the skin.
Will definitely continue to repurchase in the future.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Eire1 on 7/25/2014 8:46:00 AM more reviews by Eire1

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I HAD TWO OF THE DELUXE SAMPLES WICH LASTED ABOUT A MONTH.
This cleanser will not change your pores in anyway despite what the label says. Despite the label though this is gentle and will not make your pores any worse.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 yazmin77 on 6/29/2014 10:18:00 AM more reviews by yazmin77

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I've been only using this cleanser for a week but I'm loving it already, it's similar to the consistency of the hydralight cleanser, and it refreshes skin, leaves it smooth, bright and comfortable, all without dryness.
It somewhat helps with blemishes alongside the bha liquid, I really like this cleanser, a must have for oily, acne prone skin.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 4truth on 6/5/2014 11:16:00 PM more reviews by 4truth

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I started using Paula' Choice a few years back when I decided it was time for anti aging products. I was really hoping to like the Resist cleanser, but it just didn't seem to leave my skin feeling clean/refreshed enough. So I got samples of a bunch of the other cleansers and actually fell in love with this one!

I do not have acne prone skin. Quite frankly my skin is on the drier side and most of my skin concerns are dark spots and wrinkles. While this cleanser is not targeted for my skin type, I found it worked really well for me.

What I like most about it is that it is fragrance free and leaves my skin feeling refreshed, without feeling stripped. In my opinion, it is a really good basic cleanser. You can't beat the price and I love the flip top packaging. This has been the only cleanser I have used for a while now. My skin continues to be normal and predictable.

The other thing I really like is that it is available in a 'trial' size that is perfect for travel. I've continued to refill my small bottle so I always have this cleanser with me when I'm away from home.

I can't recommend this cleanser enough! Even though it is targeted for acne prone skin, it doesn't have any harsh ingredients that will irritate normal or dry skin. It really has normalized my skin and leaves it prepped for the anti aging products I use after I wash my face.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Project25 on 5/17/2014 7:59:00 AM more reviews by Project25

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I am loving this cleanser. I got this part of the 3 step Clear extra strength trial set which included BHA 2% and benzoyl peroxide. My skin became very dry at first using all 3 and then I started skipping the BHA and my skin calmed down. I now just use the cleanser, BP, then EltaMD clear everyday in the AM. I plan to buy the full size, my only gripe is the bottle, I don't mind flip top for use at the sink, but I prefer a pump for the shower and I don't like to transfer products out of their original containers.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 brookevw on 2/27/2014 11:26:00 PM more reviews by brookevw

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

Love this stuff! Gets my skin clean and keeps it clear and even.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* redmakeup on 11/6/2013 1:40:00 PM more reviews by redmakeup

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Green    

Did not like this at all. I love what Paula stands for, but this cleanser was not what I expected it to be. If you use BP you have surface dryness and this added to the dryness on my skin. It also didn't have any slip to it. I felt like I had to constantly re-wet my skin just so it would have more slip and lather. I know she doesn't believe in foaming cleanser, but when you are used to everything your whole life foaming and to have a cleanser that only very slightly foams if that, just doesn't feel like its working. It didn't do a good job in removing my makeup after a day and I didn't look forward to using it. It was such a let down for me that I called for a refund. I use Purpose Cleansing Face Wash which is my HG face wash. I gave it 2 stars, because I like what she stands for and I'm sure someone might like it, just wasn't at all what I expected it to be.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* PianoGirl1985 on 10/7/2013 10:15:00 AM more reviews by PianoGirl1985

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

If I could give this product 10 stars, I would.
I tried two of the cleansers from Paula's line and this one for me personally is a keeper.
I tried the Hydralight with lactic acid and Skin Balansing oil-control wash which were both quite nice, but dried my skin just a little bit (I am oily/combo). I got a sample of this cleanser and realized that it was best suited for my skin type. It makes your face feel so so soft and nice. I don't feel like it is drying (although you'd think it would be since it is suppose to be for acne prone skin), but I also put a moisturizer on right away.
I really cannot say anything bad about this product and already repuchased a full size. I have not tried the benzol peroxide treatment from the line yet, but I do use the anti-redness BHA exfoliator from the same Clear line and I LOVE it. Thumbs up Paula! Keep em coming :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 breton on 10/2/2013 3:24:00 AM more reviews by breton

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Other, Wavy   Eyes: Green    

I hate that I love this product. On first use--and on the rare occasion sometimes later--this product burns my skin after using it, especially drying out my lips & around my nose.

However, 90% of the time this is the only cleanser that leaves my skin looking calm (albeit tight & dry, but a moisturizer helps with that). I've been using it for a few months now and it hasn't broken me out and has helped my acne/marks.

Having said that, the ingredients are problematic (how long until this is either discontinued or changed due to the tricolsan I don't know) and my skin never feels great after using it...even though it looks great.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Tindra78 on 9/8/2013 2:08:00 PM more reviews by Tindra78

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

My skin is very, very oily and acneprone. I wanted to try this along with some other products from PC. So I bought the travelsize.

Pros:

- overcoming price
- available here in Europe

Cons:

- I just don't feel clean after I've used this!! Along with that it doesn't foam well enough, the skin doesn't feel completely clean. Yes, I want the skin to feel almost "dry" to be able to consider it as "clean"... Might be cause I've had had oily skin and acne the past 20 years, but you really need that feeling when your skin is constantly unbalanced.... For example: Avene cleanance and Murad clarifying cleanser does give that clean feeling! :)


This con is enough for me, not buying this.... But I think that if you have combination skin, this would maybe suit you.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Paula's Choice products

More Cleansers products