Paula's Choice • CLEAR Pore Normalizing Cleanser • Cleansers

rated 3.8(34 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.67%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 brookevw on 2/27/2014 11:26:00 PM more reviews by brookevw

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

Love this stuff! Gets my skin clean and keeps it clear and even.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* redmakeup on 11/6/2013 1:40:00 PM more reviews by redmakeup

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Green    

Did not like this at all. I love what Paula stands for, but this cleanser was not what I expected it to be. If you use BP you have surface dryness and this added to the dryness on my skin. It also didn't have any slip to it. I felt like I had to constantly re-wet my skin just so it would have more slip and lather. I know she doesn't believe in foaming cleanser, but when you are used to everything your whole life foaming and to have a cleanser that only very slightly foams if that, just doesn't feel like its working. It didn't do a good job in removing my makeup after a day and I didn't look forward to using it. It was such a let down for me that I called for a refund. I use Purpose Cleansing Face Wash which is my HG face wash. I gave it 2 stars, because I like what she stands for and I'm sure someone might like it, just wasn't at all what I expected it to be.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* PianoGirl1985 on 10/7/2013 10:15:00 AM more reviews by PianoGirl1985

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

If I could give this product 10 stars, I would.
I tried two of the cleansers from Paula's line and this one for me personally is a keeper.
I tried the Hydralight with lactic acid and Skin Balansing oil-control wash which were both quite nice, but dried my skin just a little bit (I am oily/combo). I got a sample of this cleanser and realized that it was best suited for my skin type. It makes your face feel so so soft and nice. I don't feel like it is drying (although you'd think it would be since it is suppose to be for acne prone skin), but I also put a moisturizer on right away.
I really cannot say anything bad about this product and already repuchased a full size. I have not tried the benzol peroxide treatment from the line yet, but I do use the anti-redness BHA exfoliator from the same Clear line and I LOVE it. Thumbs up Paula! Keep em coming :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 breton on 10/2/2013 3:24:00 AM more reviews by breton

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Other, Wavy   Eyes: Green    

I hate that I love this product. On first use--and on the rare occasion sometimes later--this product burns my skin after using it, especially drying out my lips & around my nose.

However, 90% of the time this is the only cleanser that leaves my skin looking calm (albeit tight & dry, but a moisturizer helps with that). I've been using it for a few months now and it hasn't broken me out and has helped my acne/marks.

Having said that, the ingredients are problematic (how long until this is either discontinued or changed due to the tricolsan I don't know) and my skin never feels great after using it...even though it looks great.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Tindra78 on 9/8/2013 2:08:00 PM more reviews by Tindra78

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

My skin is very, very oily and acneprone. I wanted to try this along with some other products from PC. So I bought the travelsize.

Pros:

- overcoming price
- available here in Europe

Cons:

- I just don't feel clean after I've used this!! Along with that it doesn't foam well enough, the skin doesn't feel completely clean. Yes, I want the skin to feel almost "dry" to be able to consider it as "clean"... Might be cause I've had had oily skin and acne the past 20 years, but you really need that feeling when your skin is constantly unbalanced.... For example: Avene cleanance and Murad clarifying cleanser does give that clean feeling! :)


This con is enough for me, not buying this.... But I think that if you have combination skin, this would maybe suit you.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 mildewonrice on 9/4/2013 4:13:00 PM more reviews by mildewonrice

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Black    

I bought a sample size of this cleanser and will definitely not even use it up. I have never had a reaction to a cleanser before (despite having used some heavy duty stuff, like Clean & Clear, bootleg Proactiv, etc) but the second I put this on my face it stung horribly and made my skin really tight and red. I stupidly used it for 2 days, thinking I would get used to it, but this last time it was way too painful for me to rationalize. I haven't broken out or anything, but reading the reviews here it seems other people have reacted similarly. I just thought it would be helpful to contribute my story because of the line's branding as non-irritating.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* CordulaM on 8/2/2013 5:01:00 PM more reviews by CordulaM

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

A sample of this was sent to me after the oil balancing cleanser broke me out like all hell. It's pretty decent. Maybe like a 3.5. Not my most favorite cleanser, it could take makeup off better, but at least gets through some where other cleansers don't budge makeup at all. It doesn't make me feel too dry or tight, but haven't broken out at all. I have a friend who just ordered me some Murad, but if that doesn't work I might consider this. But for now I feel like I'd rather have a stronger one for night and a creamier one for am. It's good, but not my favorite.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* scopingforyou on 7/23/2013 3:04:00 AM more reviews by scopingforyou

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

PROS: My teen that has moderate acne uses this. It's the best cleanser she's ever found that works this well and still doesn't irritate her sensitive skin. No artificial scents. No animal testing. Price is decent.


CONS: Absolutely none for her. I guess it would be nice for me if it came in a huge bottle too, to save money on.


APPLICATION TIPS: She uses the regular strength toner after this (in the day) and the extra strength toner after this (at night.) She then applies Paula's 2.5% benzoyl peroxide (in day) and 5% benzoyl peroxide (at night.) She then follows up with Clean & Clear Oil-Free Dual-Action Moisturizer in the white bottle to keep flakes away. (She likes it more than any in the Paula's Choice line.)


ALTERNATES: We've tried Neutrogena for acne, Proactive (old and new version), Clean & Clear, Kiehls, Peter Thomas Roth, Oxy, Philosophy, and many other acne solutions. We always still had to struggle to help her keep it somewhat under control. She is now virtually clear faced because of Paula's products.





4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 thyme2sow on 7/13/2013 9:52:00 AM more reviews by thyme2sow

Age: 44-55   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

This is a great cleanser, every time that I stray my face ends up in a mess (sorry Cerave). Lesson learned. Now I always keep spare bottles. It is a clear liquid that foams and rinses easily. If I am lazy and don't use an eye makeup remover first, it will do a good job of removing my BB gel liner and mascara. I do lather, rinse and repeat at night just to make sure that all my makeup is removed. It claims to reduce redness and I do find that to be true. My face seems to do better when I use the entire Clear line from Paula's Choice. I use this in combination with the Clear regular/extra strength 2% exfoliating solution/toner and the regular strength 2.5% benzoyl peroxide. For sun protection I use Paula's Choice Skin Balancing ultra-sheer daily defense SPF 30. I also use a prescription tretinoin cream, 0.025% every other night. This routine helps to keep my skin soft, smooth and clear. For reference I have very sensitive, oily, acne/blackhead prone skin. OSPW (baumann).

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 33Lisa on 6/17/2013 4:58:00 AM more reviews by 33Lisa

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I love the feel of this, it's like washing your face with silky expensive luxury in a bottle.

Keyword expensive. I'm planning to make my second bottle last as long as possible and then buy no more. But it works very nicely - high quality, non-irritating, non-drying, non-fragranced yet doesn't smell bad. I used it with the rest of the CLEAR system and was very happy with the results. If I could find a cheaper equivalent I would use it instead though.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Paula's Choice products

More Cleansers products