Sebamed Clear Face Care Gel


42 reviews

64% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$

Not tested on animals


Aqua, Aloe barbadensis leaf gel, Propylene Glycol, Glycerin, Sorbitol, Panthenol, Sodium Hyaluronate, Allantoin, Sodium Carbomer, Sodium Citrate, Phenoxyethanol, Sorbic Acid

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

I really really want to love this moisturiser. I love the consistency. The packaging and infos looks promising. Even many dermatologists talked about it. BUT, it doesnt really absorb into skin and causes break out on me. My friends noticed that my face become really red and bumpy. Its not enough for dry winter and become sticky and produces film during hot and humid weather.

on 4/19/2015 9:26:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This was recommended by my derma and so far the only moisturizer that doesn't break me out or irritates my face (I have super sensitive skin). I use this in conjunction with the Sebamed Clear Face Tone. Im currently on my 2nd bottle and will keep on repurchasing until I find a better one because it's really expensive in my country :(

on 4/9/2015 3:03:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Blue

The good: did not cause irritation or breakouts/closed comedones.

The bad: did not completely sink in, felt filmy, did not moisturize yet made me oilier (probably the glycerin), a little overpriced.

Back to my trusty Clinique DDMG I go.

on 3/12/2015 6:13:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

======UPDATE 05/26/2015======
I have been testing a new sunscreen (Levevis Sun Protection Ansigtscreme SPF 30) for the past few days. I thought at first it also irritates me (very mild burning sensation that lasts a few seconds, especially around the eyes), although much less so than other sunscreens I tested before. Either that, or the fragranced hydrating serum I'm currently using. After a few tries, I no longer saw the need to top my hydrating serum with this gel before the ss as it makes the ss takes longer to sink it and it doesn't provide much hydration anyway for me, so I dropped it off my routine.

Lo and behold. Those burning sensation and peelies disappeared. I avoid the eye area when applying the serum and the fragrance no longer bothers me. I will still find another hydrator to replace the serum, but I'm now sure that for some reason, this gel irritates my skin.

It's a good, no-frill hydrator for most people, especially oily and acne/clog-prone skins. Unfortunately, it no longer agrees with my skin.

======UPDATE 05/07/2015======
At the moment, my skin's moisture barrier is shot from irritation from avobenzone and high amount of alcohol in some sunscreens I'd been testing in the prior 3 weeks. I thought this gel would alleviate the uncomfortable tightness and stinging feelings on my face, so I was slathering this heavily before sealing with sunflower oil and Vaseline. However, I kept feeling warm uncomfortable sensation whenever I put this on. It turned out my face became so sensitive it cannot even handle something in this gel.

I'm not taking off any lippie as my prior experience with this was decent and my recent experience is based on my most fragile state of skin (which is bad). I'll still give this my recommendation for anyone, in a budget or not, especially for combo/oily/acne/clog-prone skin, looking for a good hydrating product.

My skin: Combo-oily, sensitive (among others, my skin takes the habit of breaking out in hives when it doesn't like something I eat or put on my skin), SD/PD-prone. OSPW. Fitzpatrick IV. Freckles and PIH from hives.

This gel feels quite nice on my skin. Sometimes, if I apply too much, I feel it doesn't completely sinks in, though, but make a film on my skin, instead. I don't particularly like it, but don't find it really bothersome, either.
But recently, my skin got so irritated and dehydrated that it just drinks up this gel, leaving no residue on my skin.

I remember when I used it many years back, it pilled on my skin. I haven't experienced it again now. It does feel my skin feels nicely hydrated and very calming whenever my skin gets irritated. The first couple uses, I feel like my skin gets a bit drier, but after that my skin feels comfortable, as if the benefit builds up on my skin.

It's a proper hydrator and generally safe for all skin types. It doesn't clog me or aggravate my SD/PD. In fact, it calmed down the SD reaction I got from SkinCeuticals B5 Gel.

I will repurchase as long as I don't find anything better. In any case, this makes my favorite list (read: list of SD/PD-prone safe/recommended products).

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

on 1/22/2015 12:14:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Oh, I wanted to love this much! The consistency was watery-gel sort and I could tell it would feel light enough on my super sensitive, acne prone skin. I had been using the normal moisturizing cream from Sebamed which so far had been great on my skin and hadn't broken me out. But I wanted to try this one more because it was aimed specifically for acne prone skin. However, the next day itself I had new red bumps all over my face and by the evening, I had whiteheads on the red bumps! I immediately knew this was to blame as this was the only new product in my skin care regime. Suffice to say, I wouldn't be buying this again!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

on 9/23/2014 6:44:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This is the only moisturiser that I can use without worrying about it irritating or causing breakouts (it's oil and fragrance free). It has allantoin which I find to be very soothing on my acne prone sensitive skin. It is a very simple and effective moisturiser which does a good job of moisturising my face in both summer and winter (I live in Sydney where its not too cold/drying). I do sometimes feel like I could use something a bit heavier in Winter but mostly this suffices year round. It would work very well with a serum like argan or rose hip oil underneath. It's very hard to find effective, basic products that are oil and fragrance free with nice ingredients like allantoin. So that is another reason I am giving this a glowing review. I hope they never discontinue it as I would have nothing equally as good to replace it with.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

on 8/1/2014 1:48:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

My dry, sensitive, SD-prone skin did not like this at all. It dried it out and made my SD patches much worse. I guess I need something more moisturizing.

on 5/13/2014 1:28:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

Very expensive given it's only 50ml. BARELY, barely moisturizes, have to reapply every few hours, if you have a drier skin. The only good thing about it is that it's in a gel'y consistency, so it's not greasy and doesn't leave residue.

Would NOT recommend.

on 4/22/2014 3:13:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

My skin: I have very pale, oily, acne prone skin. My forehead is the most oily area on my face, but I rarely break out there. My upper cheek area and chin are my problem areas for blackheads, clogged pores, or hormonal acne.

Initial reaction to product: I recently ordered this from, it got here fairly quickly! The product looks like a clear and has a sort of liquidy/gel like consistency to it. It is very easy to rub into the skin. When I first opened the product I put some on the back of my hand and timed how long it took to sink in. It took about 1 minutes and 30 seconds to completely sink into my skin, leaving NO shiny or sticky residue.

The product has no scent really, other then a mild hint of the Aloe Vera.

The product has very few ingredients, all seem to be very mild for the skin, which is why I got this product. I have oily skin, and wanted a light gel type moisturizer with no frills to it. I don't want products on my skin that exacerbate my clogged pores, etc.

The ingredients analysis for this product can be found here:

Please don't let the reviews for this product scare you away from it. It has a 5.5 PH, and is free from oils or emulsifiers. I think as long as you are not allergic to ALOE VERA, this product would be great for those with sensitive/acne prone skin.

(This review will be updated in a few days with more information) :)

Update: August 10,2014:

It took me about 4 months to go through the 50ml tube, which is pretty good. I have now ordered two more of these tubes!

I have found this moisturizer works great under sunscreen, but not so much under liquid foundations. A few months ago I attempted to use this moisturizer under my colorstay liquid foundation, but all it did was make the moisturizer ball up, so I wouldn't recommend using it under foundation.

I think it's a decent, no frills moisturizer for the spring/summer months for sure. I find it is quite moisturizing, if you apply a decent amount to damp skin. In the last few weeks I have started using Benzoyl Peroxide gel on my cheeks/chin, and the moisturizer seems to keep the dryness at bay. I wasn't sure if it'd work well with the BP, but it seems to be fine :)

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

on 4/18/2014 1:44:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I started to have adult acne, and my face gets very oily. despite of so many good reviews, but this gel totally doesn't work on my skin. I applied this after my sk 2 essence, and it left quite serious residue on my face. It just doesn't absorb. It took more than15 minutes for it to fix, but still kinda sticky. It makes my cc foundation uneven and I sweat more than normal. No, I wont buy this anymore.

Back to Top