Bobbi Brown • Metallic Long-Wear Cream Shadow in Black Pearl • Eye Shadow

rated 4.4(15 reviews)

Average Rating.4.4
Would buy this product again.93%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 Cheungc on 1/31/2014 12:01:00 PM more reviews by Cheungc

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Tan, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight   Eyes: Brown    

I think there may be a new shade with the same name in the current Bobbi Brown Long Wear Metallic cream shadow range, but the one I mean is the charcoal-grey colour which has since been discontinued.

This colour and the Starry Purple (also discontinued) we're my daily staples and the appeal of the colours had dragged me out of my safety zone of powder shadows into the creams. I used them to finish off my daily cool smokey eye look and the Black Pearl added a complex dimension to the complementary base colours.

Out of the Starry Purple and Black Pearl, the Black Pearl had a creamier texture (possibly due to the lack of glitter) and glided on to dry into a metallic sheen. I always wore layers of this, so the product seems highly pigmented to me. But I can see how it could have been smudged on with a finger for those wanting to use it a sheer base colour.

Since both these colours were discontinued, I've stopped using the Long Wear Cream Shadow products as none of the current colours are dark enough for the results I'm looking for: the new Black Pearl and the Antique Gold looks pigmented in the pot but, once applied to the skin, look more like a transparent glitter wash. The NARS Eye Paints in Tartar, Snake Eyes and Ubangi are now new must-haves.

The Bobbi Brown sales assistants have been very pragmatic with alternative suggestions, but I've just widened my exploration of the other powder colours and mixed together different looks instead.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* violetmist on 8/18/2010 2:23:00 PM more reviews by violetmist

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

BB hit one out of the park with this one. And I don't usually rave about BB products because they are so timid. I apply this as a wide eyeliner, covering most of my lid, and it is edgy yet clean and can even be worn during the day. I don't adhere to corporate looking makeup but I have to stay within the lines so to speak and this enables me to be expressive yet business like. I apply it with the BB cream shadow brush starting in the middle and winging it out (after first applying a thin line of caviar gel eyeliner and following the shape of the wing). Then I complete the inner corner. Next a touch of BB beach honey cream shadow on the center of the lid to bring dimension - and it does that beautifully and not clownishly.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* coletteJ on 4/13/2010 8:00:00 PM more reviews by coletteJ

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

This is a nice light purple with sparkle. I like it alot but I only wish it had more pigment, its pretty sheer so layering is a must for me. Lots of glitter, great for a night out. It really does last forever. My friend wore it out in vegas and surprise surprise it was still on the next morning....it survived a vegas party night. must be good haha

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* CoonieR on 1/1/2010 8:48:00 AM more reviews by CoonieR

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I know that the BB Metallic Cream Shadows haven't received a lot of love on MUA, but now that I've figured out how I prefer wearing them, they're getting a lot of use.

First and foremost, these are not highly pigmented on their own, but look fabulous under or over other shadows. BP is not black, as the name would imply, but sheer with beautiful neutral and violet/purple shimmer. This is one that I would wear on its own, if I just want a simple slightly-made-up look, but this would also work over other cream shadows (I wore it over Cement w/Violet liner, for example, on Christmas for a polished and festive look).

Even without UDPP and on my oily eyelids it resists creasing and I find that it lasts almost 8-10 hours w/o creasing--a complete surprise from a cream shadow.

Overall, I'm impressed after being underwhelmed by other shadows in this line. It's worth a second look, IMO, when they're used to highlight other colors or add a little sparkle. At $22, though, this is more of a splurge than a must-have, but I have to say that I'm loving Black Pearl.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* sweetcg49 on 11/14/2009 11:19:00 AM more reviews by sweetcg49

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

I have no idea why this is called Black Pearl because it's a beautiful shade of sheer sparkly violet. I find that it is best when worn as an accent. I like to use it just on the outer edge of the lid over matte powder or cream. It adds just a touch of subtle sparkle. So far I haven't found any shade that it doesn't compliment: browns, greys, greens, violets. I own all of Bobbi's long wear creams and like them very much. I don't know where the idea that cream shadow doesn't last came from because Bobbi's lasts wonderfully, hence the name "long wear." Thank you, Bobbi, for another great product.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* colettenoelle on 10/25/2009 6:17:00 PM more reviews by colettenoelle

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

Black Pearl is a very unique color. On me it is a steely lavender grey with pink and gold shimmer that looks lovely with my greenish hazel eyes. I find the finish to be more iridescent than glittery, as many have described this product. The color is fairly sheer, but can be layered very easily for more intensity without clumping up and creasing like so many cream shadows. It goes on very smoothly, almost like silk. I like this shadow worn all by itself a lot, but I also love to set it with light dusting of a powder shadow, like a pink or a grey, for a different look. I don't have a problem with this shadow not lasting on my lids or creasing, but that could be because my lids are not anywhere near oily. Overall I think that this shadow is an excellent product and I'm very happy to have it in my make-up collection.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* LUVrascal on 9/10/2009 4:05:00 PM more reviews by LUVrascal

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

This is such a beautiful color! I had no intention of buying this because cream eyeshadows never last very long, but after watching my friend try on every metallic cream shadow at the BB counter I just couldn't walk away without this one. Immediately afterwards I was kicking myself thinking I'd never wear it since I hate dealing with the creases from cream formulas. But to my surprise it stays put all day without creases or build up. Even though the texture feels rather dry, I do wait about a minute after applying to add any other makeup, just so it can set.

In the pot the color is an iridescent shade that leans towards violet. But depending on how thickly its applied it can be a fleshy golden tone or a deep purple. The versatility is fantastic. Truly the color is unique and very flattering. There is glitter in this but not to such an excess that it looks odd during the day. I've been wearing this all over my lid with Nars Duo in All About Eve as a base and the combo is so stunning.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* chanelmontes on 9/9/2009 10:57:00 PM more reviews by chanelmontes

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I purchased Black Pearl, which is a medium purple with sparkle and I absolutely love it. It's somewhat sheer, but I use it as a base on my lid so that's not a problem for me at all. I put BB Fawn e/s on top of Black Pearl and the sparkle from the Black Pearl shows through the pigmentation from Fawn leaving my eyes looking so glamorous yet wearable for daytime. This look definitely makes my brown eyes pop. Not to mention since I used Black Pearl as a base, I don't have a single crease all day even with very humid weather. So overall the look is gorgeous yet long wearing.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* sweetcg49 on 3/10/2009 11:56:00 PM more reviews by sweetcg49

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

Black Pearl is described on the Bobbi Brown website as "black with bluish undertones and a hint of shimmer." It looks like a dark charcoal in the pot, but it goes on much sheerer, especially when I use a light hand. It can be built, though. It's very pretty. I like silvers and greys, and this one complements them nicely. Edited to add: I have actually found that Black Pearl goes will with most shades. I have worn it with greens, browns, and purples, as well as greys, and it enhances them all.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Eolo on 3/12/2008 7:35:00 AM more reviews by Eolo

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

I wanted a creamy black/shimmery eyeshadow for a black smokey eye look and finally decided to get this, the color is beautiful but application requires a bit of skill, the cream dries to a powdery finish very finish so you should apply it little by little to allow enough blending time otherwise it just won't budge. Lasts all night and looks amazing. You need a decent brush that is firm enough to apply the product but soft enough to allow you to blend. I got a mini version of the cream shadow brush but you can find other brushes that achieve the same end. I will buy this again, but you need so little that it'll last me a good time.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Bobbi Brown products

More Eye Shadow products