Wet 'n' Wild • Craze - Nocturnal • Polishes

rated 4.5(13 reviews)

Average Rating.4.5
Would buy this product again.84%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Jexka on 3/5/2012 11:47:00 AM more reviews by Jexka

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I LOVE navy blue nails, so I picked this up on my quest for the perfect navy polish. Sadly, this shade was quite disappointing.
The bottle is what first caught my eye. It's very squat and cute with the swirly designs on the lid. This polish looked like a very dark navy in the bottle, but I was very excited that it had no glitter or shimmer. I was surprised when I first used this to discover that this was actually a jelly finish, as I was expecting it to be a cream. But I love me some jelly polishes, so that wasn't a problem.
The first issue I had with this polish was application. The cap is very wide and it is difficult to grip it the way I normally hold a cap when painting my nails. Along with that, the brush is sooo short. It's probably half the size of a regular brush, if not even shorter. Because of the thick, bulky cap and the itty-bitty brush, this polish is such a pain to apply. I'm pretty good at doing my own nails, but I always end up with a huge mess from this.
After applying, this doesn't last very long. I usually get chipping within 3-4 days, and that's with using a base coat and a top coat. I could deal with a polish that doesn't last very long if I really liked the color, but this shade it just too dark. Even in the brightest lights, it's very hard to tell that this is navy and not black. I'm not docking points for the color, because that's just personal preference, but this is not the navy I was looking for.
Luckily this was a cheap polish (only $2 I believe). I definitely won't be buying any more Wet n Wild polishes unless they change the awful bottle.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 minusthegirl on 5/11/2011 1:35:00 AM more reviews by minusthegirl

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Olive, Neutral   Hair: Black, Fine   Eyes: Black    

I am not the kind of girl who paints her nails. As a matter of fact, I only paint my nails dark colors(yes, even in the summer) and I CANNOT STAND the color purple, so that leaves me with few choices as to what to wear. Picked up a bottle of this nail polish at my local Rite Aid, and I think I paid $0.75 cents for it, as it was on clearance. I got home, put this on my nails and WOW.

This is now the only dark blue that I will wear on my nails. I have olive toned skin with black hair and black eyes and I find that this color is quite striking with my skin and hair color. One swipe has the color at a nice, dark navy, but to get the intensity I like, I always put on two coats. That does the trick. On me the color is a very dark, intense navy blue. It actually looks black but if you look carefully in certain lights you can tell that its actually dark blue.

For some reason, this polish did not chip on me as much as I had expected it to. This was a pleasant suprise. One of my other favorites, an NYC New York Minute nail color, begins to chip after only two days on my nails, even when I use a strong topcoat. I thought this would chip after a few days as well, but oh no! I was shocked when after four days this stuff stayed put(and I am a part time nanny and my hands are constantly in water or hand sanitizer, so I figured this polish was a goner).

The short handle is annoying, especially since my hands shake like crazy and my nail job usually ends up looking like something that a retarded four year old did.

I'm so upset that Wet n' Wild is discontinuing their craze line. Right after I bought this I ran around town trying to find another bottle, to no avail. I finally broke down and bought two bottles of the color online. I really have nothing bad to say about the product, other than the fact that Wet n' Wild have my contempt forever for putting out this gorgeous color, then discontinuing it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* kitten14 on 1/12/2011 6:17:00 PM more reviews by kitten14

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I really love the look of dark polishes, especially during the winter months. This is a gorgeous, dark navy blue... almost black with a slight blue tint, but I can tell it's not black. It is glossy without a topcoat (although I still recommend one) and it applys very opaque. The best part is that it is ridiculously inexpensive and it is comparable to some very high end nail polishes. I can't say that is doesn't chip easily but a no chip top coat will definitely help with that. It is the best color (in my opinion) that Wet 'n wild makes for nail polish and I will most likely repurchase it, if I ever run out.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* GimpyPoop on 12/26/2010 3:27:00 PM more reviews by GimpyPoop

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

So it turns out that I am pretty terrible at applying darkened jellies. Which sucks, because I love the look of them. Anyway, Nocturnal is a very blackened navy – it might as well be “black” to the laywoman, but it’s definitely a dark dark navy, but much darker than say NARS Midnight Express.
Application is tricky with this one – you have to be conscientious to apply all your coats smoothly throughout or you’ll get light blue patchy spots around the corners (or maybe that’s just me and my novice skills). But it is a very sophisticated dark hue with high shine – perfect for the fall months.
I am giving this three lippies because it wasn’t the easiest to apply, but I’m glad to have swapped for it. $1.99 retail for a lovely color like this is nothing to scoff at (although I wouldn't repurchase this in all earnestness). Too bad this line is now discontinued. Maybe WnW will reintroduce the shades in a better bottle - the stumpy cap/handle is so lame.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* LolaBlue on 11/12/2010 6:06:00 AM more reviews by LolaBlue

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

Love this. Easily my favourite polish of the Craze line. It's an almost black, blue polish. It's totally opaque in one coat, dries quickly, and wears well. I have been on a blue kick recently and this is one of the few d/s polishes I found that just a nice basic creme finish. For $1.99 you can't go wrong w/ this one!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 catahstrophic on 6/28/2010 4:18:00 PM more reviews by catahstrophic

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Dark   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Other    

I love the Wet 'n' Wild Craze nail polish brand. I now have four colors. Besides Nocturnal, I have Morbid, Shield, and Rustic. I will probably eventually buy Inferno and Lust even though I have quite a few pink nail polishes. I will not buy Jade due to the fact I have another nail polish in the same color.

Anyway - Nocturnal at first glance looks like a basic black. But it's not! It's a beautiful dark blue, very deep and not glittery or metallic. I got one coat on my nails and it was a nice blue. These colors are great where you don't have to apply tons of coats for color, which is great for a quick 5 minute manicure if you need to get some color on and go!

The price is amazing to! I purchased mine for just under $2 but I know some places may charge $2.50. These colors are great, even if they are Wet 'n' Wild! The packaging is cute. It's not a whole lot of polish, but it's not a mini bottle either. I do hope this Craze line introduces new colors soon because I will sure be there to buy them!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 HaydenGabba on 5/12/2010 10:09:00 PM more reviews by HaydenGabba

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Other, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Hazel    

Kay so the design is super cute, and the color is very pretty Its good, the only problem is it comes off a little easier then some other nail polishes. :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 beaglebaileysmom on 4/16/2010 2:42:00 PM more reviews by beaglebaileysmom

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

YEAH!!! I can't tell you how excited I am about this color. I looked high and low for a dark navy polish with no shimmer. This was all I found, and I was worried about it being cheap Wet n Wild. I was especially skeptical of the brush. But it is great, applies perfectly in a single coat (just as dark as the bottle). Most polishes don't wear well, so I won't bother to judge it on that (use Gelous as base and Rush Shine or Seche or some other quality top coat, and it will be fine). Perfection!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 joeyjojo864 on 4/16/2010 11:21:00 AM more reviews by joeyjojo864

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Super cute dark navy color. It looks so good on my olive skin. I like that it doesn't have any glittery bits or any of that silly stuff. Sometimes a girl just wants a simple creme nail varnish. Definitely an interesting color to have in your collection

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 jcl925 on 12/2/2009 4:28:00 PM more reviews by jcl925

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I love the color and formula of this polish! I applied one coat and it came out as dark as it looked in the bottle with a smooth application. Not one streak! Very impressive compared to higher end polish that comes out goopy and streaky. The brush is a little stumpy and the bottle is smaller than your standard nail polish but at $2 per bottle (or less if you find it on sale at your local drug store) it's a great buy! I hope Wet N Wild adds more colors of their Craze line.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Wet 'n' Wild products

More Polishes products