Dolce & Gabbana • Fragrance Anthology - 1 - Le Bateleur (The Magician) • Fragrances

rated 4.4(13 reviews)

Average Rating.4.4
Would buy this product again.76%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 Vaas on 6/15/2013 12:24:00 AM more reviews by Vaas

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Blue    

Love it. I haven't worn another fragrance since I got it. It's citrus-woodsy, which makes it incredible that it smells great on me because I can never wear citruses on my skin. I think it's fine for a woman or men. It lasts about 7 hours, and has medium silage. I WILL be purchasing another.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* saarahkb4 on 9/1/2012 3:17:00 PM more reviews by saarahkb4

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I love this unisex fragrance! I'm not the type to love floral scents or anything at all with rice powder, so this wood citrus goodness was right up my alley. Yes it is masculine, but I have been told it is an incredibly sexy smell by many men as well as women! I feel powerful when I wear it and the simple packaging appeals to me. The scent does fade but the simple bottle and sturdy cap will hold up in your purse!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* leGingbot on 8/29/2011 1:06:00 AM more reviews by leGingbot

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

“The Seducer-provocative and playful-ragingly passionate, yet enviably cool-this is a man who gets what he wants. Dominant and distinctive, resolutely direct, Le Bateleur is an accomplished Mediterranean lover.”

What I like about this scent is although it contains elements of fieriness, fluidity, and earthiness, three elements that couldn’t be more different, each seems only to further compliment the next. I can smell each note independent from another, but with only slight concentration, I can smell them merging into what I can only describe as wood soaking in salt water.What I dislike about it is how quickly it turns into a generic “sport scent”, that really has no distinction, and doesn’t stand out.

It opens with aggressive notes of citrus, spice, and something slightly sweet…melon maybe? It’s not quite an assault, but it’s very up-front and in-your-face. This blends with a pure aquatic heart with a salty tang to it. It then makes a complete 180 at the dry down, when the cedarwood and vetiver take over and it becomes slightly sporty, and almost professional; as though once the brilliance and unique notes were unleashed, it becomes business as usual. Like a one-night-stand, maybe? It would make sense, since this is a perfume based on a seductive Mediterranean horn-meister.

Despite this, it’s not an unpleasant scent. It’s clean, it’s spicy, and it’s conventionally sexy. Le Bateleur certainly resonates confidence, and I can definitely see it evoking a naughty smile the morning after.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Leralina on 7/19/2011 1:08:00 PM more reviews by Leralina

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I love it! LOVE! when I try it the first time, I began wanting the sex ( or how is it in English??). I remembered the most crazy my love-story and fall in atmosphere of it. I wanted to buy it at the same time, but I realized, that my husband bislike fragrances like this. But, after a year or more, I made my husband a small present... Yes, Le Bateleur. And, yes, he put it on the remote shelf just after opening the box. Well, now I use it myself and I absolutely happy with it. Yes, I love it!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 happywoman28 on 6/12/2010 8:33:00 AM more reviews by happywoman28

Age: Unknown   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

This smells like a lumbaryard, in a good way.
Fresh cut boards, all sappy and green. You can smell the sap running in the damp forest. Yes I will buy a bottle. Of all the anthology scents in this line this is my favorite. I didn't care for the rest. I am always on the hunt for green chypres and woods and grass scents and this one delivers. This is the smell of juniper berries of all things! Oh so foresty, fresh, and delicious.
Plus it is very sexy. If I ever smelled this on a man I would get my thrill off. It is wonderfully unisex. It doesn't last long but none do on me except Allure. I will carry this simple rectangular bottle with me in my tote and spray every hour. It's worth it.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 rrcoolmama on 4/30/2010 2:39:00 PM more reviews by rrcoolmama

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I love this watery wood scent. I'm a 37yo female. And pull this off with amazing ease. It's not ultra masculin for my nose. On my skin it's as if I spent the day in a forest where it rained the night before and the trees are still damp the sunshine is warming up the leaves. A beautiful wood scent with water. I SSSSSOOOOO LOVE THIS!!

The bottle is simple vintage medicine cabinet looking but hey.
I won't buy this again because there is so many others to try:)
85$CDN.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 BlueStar79 on 4/14/2010 4:28:00 PM more reviews by BlueStar79

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Black    

I smelled a sample from a Macy's catalog and couldn't get it out of my mind! I held myself back from purchasing it for a couple of months until recently. Stopped by Sephora after work and decided to purchase it! It was a bit on the pricey side (as with a lot of the fragrances) but that obviously didn't stop me. It does smell a bit on the masculine side with a twist of a feminine touch and it's extremely light that it doesn't bother me that I might smell like a man! I have it on now and it's almost 5pm (the time I get out of work) when I've spritz it on this morning around 7:30am. That's over 9 hours and I can still smell it! Very faint though but very pleasant. I smell like a very hot, and pretty young guy. =) The packaging was a bit disappointing. The bottle looked more manly than I had imagined. What do you expect from a unisex fragrance, right? Overall, not shabby at all! Love the clean scent!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 jsATC on 2/28/2010 10:29:00 PM more reviews by jsATC

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I just bought this today at Ulta...got a gift card for my birthday, otherwise, I normally never buy perfume this expensive for myself.

I asked my fiance to help me pick out a new scent and his favorites were this and the D&G #6. Tough choice, but we decided that #6 was powdery and slightly flowery, but #1 was woodsy and citrusy but light. Loved it immediately, and loved it more after walking around the store wearing it for 10 more minutes.

I think I like this so much because of what the other reviewers have said - it's slightly masculine. It was with all the women's fragrances at Ulta so I never really considered that it might be unisex, but yeah, my former favorites are unisex scents (Versace Baby Blue Jeans, CK ONE, Cool Water) so it's no wonder that I love Le Bateleur. It's just funny because before we went shopping I said "Hey, I'm tired of all my perfume, help me pick out something light and more girly!" Oh, well. I guess I need to stick with what works for me.

That said, this is a nice clean scent. It's not overpowering, it's fresh, light, citrusy, and earthy. Very nice. It'll quickly turn into my new favorite for sure.

ETA: I just wanted to add that I wore this a few days ago and the fiance said "mmmm...you smell like sex!"
So, if that's what you're going for, this is the scent! lol.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 marnif on 1/18/2010 8:01:00 PM more reviews by marnif

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

A sample strip in a Sephora mailer intrigued me, so I tried it out on my own wrist at the store. Even better in person, but it really struck me as a men's scent.
Smells wonderful on my boyfriend: nice balance of notes, including herb, wood, a little spice, citrus, and a bit of vanilla. It may not be what he would have picked for himself, but as he says, I'm the one who has to smell him!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* mtycer on 1/14/2010 11:13:00 PM more reviews by mtycer

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Smells like a slightly less masculine version of men's aftershave or Old Spice? As the first reviewer said, herbal, slightly woodsy, a bit of citrus. Very very fresh and clean. It's very nice. I think I'd absolutely love it on a guy--it's a bit too masculine for me, but I do love it. :) My only complaint is that it fades too quickly, within an hour or two.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Dolce & Gabbana products

More Fragrances products