Stila • Barbie Loves Stila Smudgepot - Little Black Dress (2009) • Eyeliner

rated 4.5(17 reviews)

Average Rating.4.5
Would buy this product again.76%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 kaatiex on 3/16/2012 4:37:00 PM more reviews by kaatiex

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I LOVE Little Black Dress - my first smudge pot and I'm in love. I thought it would be black with a hint of purple, but the purple glitter overpowers the black base which I really like. It's perfect as an eyeliner or a base and it reminds me of MAC's Young Punk when used wet.
I find application easy, and no migration.. takes a few seconds to dry but when it does it stays in place. A fantastic product!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 blackblackblack on 2/5/2011 6:28:00 PM more reviews by blackblackblack

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

My dislike for this product is based on personal preference.

A friend got this for me as a gift, knowing I am a die-hard devotee of Smudge Pots. I dislike glitter (ANY glitter) in my eye makeup, but I read that the purple glitter was very fine, so I figured I'd give it a whirl anyway.

As it turns out, the glitter overpowers the black base. I applied a few layers and still could not get it black enough. It just looked too 'soft' for me. Disappointing, because the glitter itself didn't actually look too bad. Additionally, the glitter made the application a bit more difficult than regular Smudge Pots, since it clumped on my brush a bit. Handed this product off to another friend who adores it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 tori8780 on 11/8/2010 8:51:00 PM more reviews by tori8780

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Ok, for starters, I absolutely love smudge pots, so it goes without saying that as far as the product goes, I love this. Great consistency, great staying power (even on my oily lids), great color! This is black with fine, purple glitter. It looks really nice on my fair skin and brown eyes. It stays put really well with very little smudging throughout the day. These are great eyeliners.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 chell on 5/30/2010 3:10:00 PM more reviews by chell

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brown, Straight   Eyes: Brown    

i do have an oily lid, so when i use this gel liner im so impressed.
when i opened it it's just like black-is a bit purple-is color,
then when i sweep it once, there you can see the purple glitter,,
and i didn't know it'll have purple glitter,,
then i applied it, and it long lasting for about 10 hours.
so totally love it

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 weemanmum on 5/1/2010 4:00:00 AM more reviews by weemanmum

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

The only reason I would not repurchase is because it will take me so long to use up this pot I am sure I will have some new eyeliner to be 'lusting' over!

I love Stila products and do have a bit of a problem with the smudge pots - I have Kitten, Barbie Purple Pumps (absolute fav), Black Cat and now this one.

When I first tried it out of the pot on the back of my hand I did freak a tad as was very glittery and I am 36, a little bit of glitter is OK but this was potential overload. But, once on is very subtle (but buildable, could be less subtle) and I even wore it to work without freaking everyone out.

It is a soft black but not as soft as Black Cat (which I have sold onto a friend as even I think maybe 2 black smudge pots might be crossing a line LOL).

I always use the #28 brush to apply as a liner ot shadow. Have not yet tried this as a shadow - might have a go for a party tonight.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 carmenci99 on 3/24/2010 10:29:00 PM more reviews by carmenci99

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

It's quite rare for me to love a product (I'm a very picky person :)), but I'm in love with this liner! I have quite a few gel liners from BB, MAC , R&R, Stila and some Asian brands and this is the best one I have out of all of them. The previous reviews describe the color perfectly: it's a soft black, nowhere near as harsh as MAC's Blacktrack, with tiny pink/purple glitter. I really dislike it when companies describe gel liners as "this color with this other color undertones or this other color specks/glitter" and then you put it on and it's all one color, flat and boring. This lives up to the description and you can actually see the pinkish glitter sparkle, but it's no garish sparkle, just a soft, subtle one, IMO.
The texture is quite nice: not too creamy as BB and MAC liners can be sometimes, but not too dry like some other Stila smudgepots are (the grey one). I'm not too happy with the Barbie packaging (I don't like Barbie in general, and I definitely don't wanna see her winking at me off the top of the liner :P), but since I love the actual product, I'll live with the silly packaging. I'd definitely repurchase if I ever ran out.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 stellar4217 on 3/4/2010 2:06:00 AM more reviews by stellar4217

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I LOVE Little Black Dress! This is a great eyeliner. It's a black color with specks of pinkish/purple glitter. At first glance it looks like a dark purple/eggplant color. Once you dip your brush in you can see the glitter. I use this mainly as an eyeliner. I haven't really tried it as a base yet but as an eyeliner it's great. It's great when I want to venture from doing the basic black liner. It gives my eyes a little pop. The glitter is not garish but it gives a nice sparkle. The liner dries pretty quickly and is very smudgeproof. It is definitely one of the nicest eyeliners that I own.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 xMissFortunex on 1/5/2010 8:23:00 AM more reviews by xMissFortunex

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

The little jar is so cute! Thats the main reason I bought this. However the product is great. its very versatile. I use it as a liner, a cream shadow & a base.

It really reminds me of MAC Young Punk mes. If you missed out on that, you need to try this as an eyeshadow. They are very similar colours.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* PinkSyringes on 12/28/2009 2:29:00 AM more reviews by PinkSyringes

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Olive, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

First off, I love the Barbie packaging which was really the reason why I bought this gel liner to begin with. The color is really great though, it's black with purple shimmer. It lasts a long time, so it's not exactly easy to remove. I only need a very small amount because if you use too much it can get very clumpy looking because of the shimmer, not as smooth as mac trackline but i would definitely buy again because of the fun combo, but I probably won't need to because there is just so much product and a little really does go a long way!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 shopaholic18 on 12/27/2009 9:43:00 AM more reviews by shopaholic18

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black, Fine   Eyes: Black    

this is my very first gel liner, i purchased this because its so unique plus its Barbie packaging, its black with purple and pink glitters...you can't see the glitters from afar...i use it everytime i go out...if not this being limited edition i would definitely repurchase but i don't see myself using this up coz you only need a very small amount...just store properly to prevent drying...

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Stila products

More Eyeliner products