E.L.F. • Studio Blush Mellow Mauve • Blush

rated 3.9(78 reviews)

Average Rating.3.9
Would buy this product again.69%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 sarahrose53 on 11/28/2014 9:27:00 PM more reviews by sarahrose53

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I've heard great things about these E.L.F. Studio blushes, and this is the first one I've tried. I'm not impressed. This particular shade is just not pigmented at all and even though I have fair skin, I find that I really have to dig my brush into it to get anything to show up. I'll still wear it, and it looks okay on my cheeks, but I definitely won't repurchase this shade.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 stacymarie1200 on 11/10/2014 1:02:00 AM more reviews by stacymarie1200

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Black, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I honestly don't get the hype with this and the tickled pink color in this blush line. They're both so sheer and take work to show up on you're skin, this one is better than tickled pink though. I love the color, it's like a warm rosy mauve, and when I pack it on I think it looks nice. What I do to get it to show up how I'd like is I take a slightly scratchier brush, swirl it in the pan a couple times and then pack it onto unset foundation and I get color. I just can't get enough pigment on my skin if I don't do this and I'm super fair haha. staying power seems to be pretty decent for me. Pigmentation is weak but it's an okay blush and a very pretty color.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 mcr428 on 11/3/2014 12:41:00 PM more reviews by mcr428

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I've used this blush every fall season for the past 4 years, it's the perfect blush to use when transitioning from summer to fall. The color is a pinkish/brownish mauve with purple undertones. It's an extremely complex color which I can appreciate from such an inexpensive brand. As with most elf blushes, you get more than your money's worth with this blush.
Pros:
Easy to blend
Buildable
Pigmented
Gives a subtle glow from within

Cons:
I can see this blush coming off a bit chalky on deeper skin tones

Overall I think this is a great blush that everyone should own, as it offers a beautiful complex flush of color on the cheeks that is hard to find in the drugstore! As far as longevity, as with most blushes it really depends on the foundation I'm wearing. With my MAC prolongwear it last about 16 hours. (6 am-10pm) it lasts all through my classes and work. When I wear my bb creams, or mineral foundation it lasts about 7 hours. I apply it with with my sigma blush brush (f10) or elf complexion brush, both give the same result.
NC25 for reference.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* shanhal on 10/23/2014 11:57:00 PM more reviews by shanhal

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Tan, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I love this blush for fall/winter! It's the perfect colour. Not too red, and not too pink. It brightens my face up and looks fresh. The powder is soft and silky without being powdery.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 CurvesAhead on 9/25/2014 4:08:00 PM more reviews by CurvesAhead

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

When you look at this product in the package, you see that it's very light colored and expect it to be so on your face, which it is. It's highly pigmented, but light colored. I love this cool color for fall!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* lushlife505 on 8/27/2014 10:44:00 PM more reviews by lushlife505

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Oily, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I really like how this looks in the pan but on my skin it does not look as good. It looks sorta orangy and turns more orange as the day goes on.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Alliecat333 on 8/3/2014 2:06:00 AM more reviews by Alliecat333

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

Mellow mauve hello there, you look so beautiful in the pan my dear. Let's go home together ok ?
The next morning, You didn't " preform" as I expected honey , but your still beautiful.

Mellow mauve is well, mellow. She looks quite dark in the pan but when applied is a very subtle beauty. This would be perfect for those geared toward natural makeup. I found I could not easily over do. Not a ton of pigmentation.

Light pink/ mauve. Buffing it on the back of my hand I notice the slight light purple irradiance and very very small silver glitter. I didn't notice until I was in low lighting and up close. But it's ok because it's beautiful. I'm really liking this especially since I love bold lips and clean liner, this goes well with that.
The texture is somewhat dry but workable and blendable. I found this is a lot like cover girls soft mink, except cover girls has a lot more shimmer/sheen and pigmentation .Color wise they are extremely close. I love soft mink, but wished sometimes I could have the color without the shimmer. Mellow mauve, hey honey!
Around 6 hrs wear, 3 dollas, pretty face, worth it.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 angelajj74 on 8/2/2014 3:08:00 AM more reviews by angelajj74

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Black, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I absolutely LOVE this blush! quality, color, packaging.....it had it all and for a GREAT $

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 shiry7 on 6/27/2014 3:04:00 PM more reviews by shiry7

Age: 30-35   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I read an article that said Tarte Exposed is a great natural-looking blush on most Asians. I was curious, but don't have a Tarte-sized budget at the moment so I looked into dupes and found out about ELF's Mellow Mauve. I must say the color really is super natural looking on me. As someone who's struggled with trying to figure out why those beautiful pink and peach blushes never quite looked right, this is a revelation! It does have an ever so slight iridescent glow to it though. Honestly, I'd prefer it to be matte, but it's barely noticable. This is a great everyday, natural look type of blush, and yes, the color looks great on Asians (or at least this one!).

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 crystaldw on 4/25/2014 2:01:00 AM more reviews by crystaldw

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight   Eyes: Brown    

When I first brought this home I was really diggin the color from inside the box but once I got it out&opened the compact It was a bit of a let down..it looked darker in the store&in the package.i tried it& didn't really see anything.seriously didn't look like I applied any blush, so I put it back in the package&bagged it up& promptly forgot about it.a month later I found the bag&decided to give it another go.i found I actually kinda like it. If u are dark tan I don't know if you will see anything but mabey a slight sheen. I'm my winter shade around nc30ish & this gives just the tinyist hint of color just a hint no mater how much I swirl or dig my brush in, I cant get anything other then the barest hint of color..on me its almost like a very unpigmented bronzer. But even so it does actually look pretty expecially for light makeup days or if you don't want your blush competing with anything.it has a slight sheen(none of that glitter crap) that you don't expect in the pan that makes it glow a bit.it looks healthy..It doesn't last super long mabey 4hrs. This 1 suprized me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More E.L.F. products

More Blush products