Jo Malone • Vanilla Anise • Fragrances

rated 3.6(29 reviews)

Average Rating.3.6
Would buy this product again.62%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* alison_k on 9/30/2013 8:39:00 AM more reviews by alison_k

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

Sweet, creamy and warm, I don't smell and anise at first, just a hint of something floral. Vanilla is present but not the main note here. Anise comes through after a few minutes and turns the fragrance spicy. Then I start to smell jasmine and I am immediately turned off (I don't like jasmine scents).

It is a nice fragrance initially, and I would buy it if it remained the sweet vanilla floral, but the addition of the jasmine changes this fragrance into something nauseating to me.

From Fragrantica: 'Sicilian bergamot accords, along with Tunisian neroli, wild fennel and star anise. A heart blooms with tuberose, violet vanilla orchid, jasmine, frangipani and cloves, while a base incorporates ambergris, vetiver, Bourbon vanilla absolute and tonka. '

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 linz75 on 8/13/2013 12:51:00 AM more reviews by linz75

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I didn't think Jo Malone perfume would have a good staying power because similar kind of light perfume such as Diptyque, actually very unsatisfying.. yes they have unusual scent, very particular although not that easy to find something that I really like from their wide range. But Jo Malone has better range scent and the most important that with that price, the smell stays quite long.
I love Vanilla Anise, a musky vanilla scent, not so vanilla-ish actually but that's the way I like it since I don't think vanilla smell is better to put in the room than in people.
I also tried a few scent and really like a lot of them.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ferrery on 8/9/2013 1:27:00 PM more reviews by ferrery

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

fell in love with this perfume as soon as i tested it at the jo malone counter at holt renfrew (canada). unique and smells pleasant and clean. have received compliments from guys saying i smell nice. lasting power is quite decent!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* tessture on 6/28/2013 4:44:00 PM more reviews by tessture

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Lightly spiced vanilla with anise overtones. Very pretty, with a watery bergamot feeling first on. Quite sheer, though, for all its complicated build. Nice, but not a personality match for me

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* greenreed on 6/4/2013 9:29:00 PM more reviews by greenreed

Age: 36-43   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I am sampling and might purchase. I want to see how it is over a few days.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* shazzar on 4/4/2013 9:38:00 PM more reviews by shazzar

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

The first Jo Malone fragrance I have encountered that I would actually consider purchasing. Surprisingly non-sweet and fresh.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Nowheregirl on 1/29/2013 10:49:00 AM more reviews by Nowheregirl

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red   Eyes: Blue    

I really want to like Jo Malone fragrances but I just can't. The combinations are unusual, and for the most part they just don't work with my body chemistry. Case in point: Vanilla Anise. Two of my favorite things, vanilla and licorice, in one fragrance. But when I spray it, all I get is straight-up Sambuca. No creamy warmth of sweet vanilla to temper the overpowering anise. And this particular scent is so strong it's cloying. I was disappointed.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* MaryEllen on 10/5/2012 3:18:00 AM more reviews by MaryEllen

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I was somewhat surprised that I really like this. It's a very comforting scent on me, opening with true notes of non-foody vanilla and star anise/fennel, which lasted quite a long time. The ultimate drydown was a subtle floral (and I usually hate florals) with a hint of anise and amber. It wears close to the body, which I prefer, and has great staying power (on me). This isn't a gourmand or sexy scent--just pleasant and comforting. I can imagine it being a go-to for fall/winter, especially on casual days. I will repurchase.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* myolderbrother on 3/12/2012 2:18:00 PM more reviews by myolderbrother

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

My HG! Will buy forever! I've searched high & low for a fragrance that would knock my socks off & was sadly starting to think that there would be many I liked but none that I positively loved... but, alas, I was wrong! This is soft & intimate enough that I can usually smell it, but it doesn't enter the room before I do. This is a scent than seems to be a natural extension of me & that lingers in the minds of those fortunate enough to hug me! I'm sure I'll wear bigger scents for big events, but for everyday life, this is the winner! I absolutely adore Jo's Orange Blossom, but it has no longevity. I know Jo's sales force encourages purchasing many scents to create a more custom blend, but this gorgeous vanilla anise floral is perfect just as it is! Beautiful :)

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 GalileosDaughter on 3/10/2012 4:11:00 PM more reviews by GalileosDaughter

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy   Eyes: Brown    

This is a fun, light, "interesting" vanilla. Not foody or creamy or boozy, just sweet vanilla tempered with anise, with a little orange blossom. The orange blossom gives it a little "lift," but the fragrance is not a floral by any means. The anise is not prominent to me, and it's not like a licorice anise, but more like star anise. It is sheer but wafts beautifully. Alone it's great, but layers well with Orange Blossom.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Jo Malone products

More Fragrances products