Jo Malone Vanilla Anise

3.7

32 reviews

65% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$$$

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$$$

INGREDIENTS



on 12/1/2014 7:42:00 PM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Other, Fine

Eyes: Brown

This is my favorite fall/winter scent. So fresh and clean, yet very warm, sensual and musky. I've bought this 4 times now and will wear it as long as Jo makes it! Tons of compliments on this one..



on 11/12/2014 1:08:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Normal, Fair, Warm

Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Blue

First, I hate vanilla fragrance, normaly...
I prefer fresh, aquatic, citrus scents.
But this one I ADORE! The combination of anise ( fennel ) and vanilla is very pleasent for my nose. Not too sugary and sweet.

BUT I need to say, I mix it with Jo Malone Orange Blossom and I love the combination:
It is a mix of fresh and zippy bergamot, neroli, waterlily a bit of lilac and the sensual, feminin, elegant and prickling note of tonka, vanila orchid, frangipani and spiced anise.

No one in the ofice will ask you if you hide a fresh batch of cookies or ask for a pocket lighter to burn a glass of Sambucca.

It is amorouse and lively. It is the women that I want to be: Sensual, reliable with a great sense of fun.


on 11/8/2014 2:29:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm

Hair: Blond, Kinky, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I quite like this scent. It's sweet and pretty, and somehow transparent and dense at once. The trio of vanilla, anise and tuberose/gardenia are all equally balanced to me, and with my nose a couple of inches from my spray-spot, it's sexy and intriguing. I'd love to smell this on a friend or acquaintance. If I had a bottle I would wear it from time to time.

I agree that Vanilla Anise has some scent sisters out there, and weirdly Jean Paul Gaultier Classique is one of them, as is Michael Kors (the tuberose/ gardenia). Another cousin is Acqua di Parma Mandorlo di Sicilia, I suppose, in that case, it's a floral oriental, with a hint of edible.


on 9/30/2013 8:39:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Sweet, creamy and warm, I don't smell and anise at first, just a hint of something floral. Vanilla is present but not the main note here. Anise comes through after a few minutes and turns the fragrance spicy. Then I start to smell jasmine and I am immediately turned off (I don't like jasmine scents).

It is a nice fragrance initially, and I would buy it if it remained the sweet vanilla floral, but the addition of the jasmine changes this fragrance into something nauseating to me.

From Fragrantica: 'Sicilian bergamot accords, along with Tunisian neroli, wild fennel and star anise. A heart blooms with tuberose, violet vanilla orchid, jasmine, frangipani and cloves, while a base incorporates ambergris, vetiver, Bourbon vanilla absolute and tonka. '

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 8/13/2013 12:51:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Sensitive, Medium, Neutral

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I didn't think Jo Malone perfume would have a good staying power because similar kind of light perfume such as Diptyque, actually very unsatisfying.. yes they have unusual scent, very particular although not that easy to find something that I really like from their wide range. But Jo Malone has better range scent and the most important that with that price, the smell stays quite long.
I love Vanilla Anise, a musky vanilla scent, not so vanilla-ish actually but that's the way I like it since I don't think vanilla smell is better to put in the room than in people.
I also tried a few scent and really like a lot of them.


on 8/9/2013 1:27:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

fell in love with this perfume as soon as i tested it at the jo malone counter at holt renfrew (canada). unique and smells pleasant and clean. have received compliments from guys saying i smell nice. lasting power is quite decent!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 6/28/2013 4:44:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Lightly spiced vanilla with anise overtones. Very pretty, with a watery bergamot feeling first on. Quite sheer, though, for all its complicated build. Nice, but not a personality match for me

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 6/4/2013 9:29:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

I am sampling and might purchase. I want to see how it is over a few days.


on 4/4/2013 9:38:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

The first Jo Malone fragrance I have encountered that I would actually consider purchasing. Surprisingly non-sweet and fresh.


on 1/29/2013 10:49:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Red, Straight, Coarse

Eyes: Blue

I really want to like Jo Malone fragrances but I just can't. The combinations are unusual, and for the most part they just don't work with my body chemistry. Case in point: Vanilla Anise. Two of my favorite things, vanilla and licorice, in one fragrance. But when I spray it, all I get is straight-up Sambuca. No creamy warmth of sweet vanilla to temper the overpowering anise. And this particular scent is so strong it's cloying. I was disappointed.


Popular Fragrances


Coco Mademoiselle
1358 Reviews
Chloe (EDP)
339 Reviews
Light Blue
1407 Reviews
Pink Sugar
1878 Reviews
No.5
939 Reviews


Back to Top