Jo Malone • Vanilla Anise • Fragrances

rated 3.7(31 reviews)

Average Rating.3.7
Would buy this product again.64%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 susu19 on 11/12/2014 1:08:00 PM more reviews by susu19

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

First, I hate vanilla fragrance, normaly...
I prefer fresh, aquatic, citrus scents.
But this one I ADORE! The combination of anise ( fennel ) and vanilla is very pleasent for my nose. Not too sugary and sweet.

BUT I need to say, I mix it with Jo Malone Orange Blossom and I love the combination:
It is a mix of fresh and zippy bergamot, neroli, waterlily a bit of lilac and the sensual, feminin, elegant and prickling note of tonka, vanila orchid, frangipani and spiced anise.

No one in the ofice will ask you if you hide a fresh batch of cookies or ask for a pocket lighter to burn a glass of Sambucca.

It is amorouse and lively. It is the women that I want to be: Sensual, reliable with a great sense of fun.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* pennypencil on 11/8/2014 2:29:00 PM more reviews by pennypencil

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Kinky, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I quite like this scent. It's sweet and pretty, and somehow transparent and dense at once. The trio of vanilla, anise and tuberose/gardenia are all equally balanced to me, and with my nose a couple of inches from my spray-spot, it's sexy and intriguing. I'd love to smell this on a friend or acquaintance. If I had a bottle I would wear it from time to time.

I agree that Vanilla Anise has some scent sisters out there, and weirdly Jean Paul Gaultier Classique is one of them, as is Michael Kors (the tuberose/ gardenia). Another cousin is Acqua di Parma Mandorlo di Sicilia, I suppose, in that case, it's a floral oriental, with a hint of edible.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* alison_k on 9/30/2013 8:39:00 AM more reviews by alison_k

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

Sweet, creamy and warm, I don't smell and anise at first, just a hint of something floral. Vanilla is present but not the main note here. Anise comes through after a few minutes and turns the fragrance spicy. Then I start to smell jasmine and I am immediately turned off (I don't like jasmine scents).

It is a nice fragrance initially, and I would buy it if it remained the sweet vanilla floral, but the addition of the jasmine changes this fragrance into something nauseating to me.

From Fragrantica: 'Sicilian bergamot accords, along with Tunisian neroli, wild fennel and star anise. A heart blooms with tuberose, violet vanilla orchid, jasmine, frangipani and cloves, while a base incorporates ambergris, vetiver, Bourbon vanilla absolute and tonka. '

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 linz75 on 8/13/2013 12:51:00 AM more reviews by linz75

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I didn't think Jo Malone perfume would have a good staying power because similar kind of light perfume such as Diptyque, actually very unsatisfying.. yes they have unusual scent, very particular although not that easy to find something that I really like from their wide range. But Jo Malone has better range scent and the most important that with that price, the smell stays quite long.
I love Vanilla Anise, a musky vanilla scent, not so vanilla-ish actually but that's the way I like it since I don't think vanilla smell is better to put in the room than in people.
I also tried a few scent and really like a lot of them.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ferrery on 8/9/2013 1:27:00 PM more reviews by ferrery

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

fell in love with this perfume as soon as i tested it at the jo malone counter at holt renfrew (canada). unique and smells pleasant and clean. have received compliments from guys saying i smell nice. lasting power is quite decent!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* tessture on 6/28/2013 4:44:00 PM more reviews by tessture

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Lightly spiced vanilla with anise overtones. Very pretty, with a watery bergamot feeling first on. Quite sheer, though, for all its complicated build. Nice, but not a personality match for me

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* greenreed on 6/4/2013 9:29:00 PM more reviews by greenreed

Age: 36-43   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I am sampling and might purchase. I want to see how it is over a few days.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* shazzar on 4/4/2013 9:38:00 PM more reviews by shazzar

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

The first Jo Malone fragrance I have encountered that I would actually consider purchasing. Surprisingly non-sweet and fresh.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Nowheregirl on 1/29/2013 10:49:00 AM more reviews by Nowheregirl

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Blue    

I really want to like Jo Malone fragrances but I just can't. The combinations are unusual, and for the most part they just don't work with my body chemistry. Case in point: Vanilla Anise. Two of my favorite things, vanilla and licorice, in one fragrance. But when I spray it, all I get is straight-up Sambuca. No creamy warmth of sweet vanilla to temper the overpowering anise. And this particular scent is so strong it's cloying. I was disappointed.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* MaryEllen on 10/5/2012 3:18:00 AM more reviews by MaryEllen

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I was somewhat surprised that I really like this. It's a very comforting scent on me, opening with true notes of non-foody vanilla and star anise/fennel, which lasted quite a long time. The ultimate drydown was a subtle floral (and I usually hate florals) with a hint of anise and amber. It wears close to the body, which I prefer, and has great staying power (on me). This isn't a gourmand or sexy scent--just pleasant and comforting. I can imagine it being a go-to for fall/winter, especially on casual days. I will repurchase.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Jo Malone products

More Fragrances products