Jo Malone Vanilla Anise

3.7

32 reviews

65% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$$$

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$$$

INGREDIENTS



on 12/1/2014 7:42:00 PM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Other, Fine

Eyes: Brown

This is my favorite fall/winter scent. So fresh and clean, yet very warm, sensual and musky. I've bought this 4 times now and will wear it as long as Jo makes it! Tons of compliments on this one..



on 11/12/2014 1:08:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Normal, Fair, Warm

Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Blue

First, I hate vanilla fragrance, normaly...
I prefer fresh, aquatic, citrus scents.
But this one I ADORE! The combination of anise ( fennel ) and vanilla is very pleasent for my nose. Not too sugary and sweet.

BUT I need to say, I mix it with Jo Malone Orange Blossom and I love the combination:
It is a mix of fresh and zippy bergamot, neroli, waterlily a bit of lilac and the sensual, feminin, elegant and prickling note of tonka, vanila orchid, frangipani and spiced anise.

No one in the ofice will ask you if you hide a fresh batch of cookies or ask for a pocket lighter to burn a glass of Sambucca.

It is amorouse and lively. It is the women that I want to be: Sensual, reliable with a great sense of fun.


on 11/8/2014 2:29:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm

Hair: Blond, Kinky, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I quite like this scent. It's sweet and pretty, and somehow transparent and dense at once. The trio of vanilla, anise and tuberose/gardenia are all equally balanced to me, and with my nose a couple of inches from my spray-spot, it's sexy and intriguing. I'd love to smell this on a friend or acquaintance. If I had a bottle I would wear it from time to time.

I agree that Vanilla Anise has some scent sisters out there, and weirdly Jean Paul Gaultier Classique is one of them, as is Michael Kors (the tuberose/ gardenia). Another cousin is Acqua di Parma Mandorlo di Sicilia, I suppose, in that case, it's a floral oriental, with a hint of edible.


on 9/30/2013 8:39:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Sweet, creamy and warm, I don't smell and anise at first, just a hint of something floral. Vanilla is present but not the main note here. Anise comes through after a few minutes and turns the fragrance spicy. Then I start to smell jasmine and I am immediately turned off (I don't like jasmine scents).

It is a nice fragrance initially, and I would buy it if it remained the sweet vanilla floral, but the addition of the jasmine changes this fragrance into something nauseating to me.

From Fragrantica: 'Sicilian bergamot accords, along with Tunisian neroli, wild fennel and star anise. A heart blooms with tuberose, violet vanilla orchid, jasmine, frangipani and cloves, while a base incorporates ambergris, vetiver, Bourbon vanilla absolute and tonka. '

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 8/13/2013 12:51:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Sensitive, Medium, Neutral

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I didn't think Jo Malone perfume would have a good staying power because similar kind of light perfume such as Diptyque, actually very unsatisfying.. yes they have unusual scent, very particular although not that easy to find something that I really like from their wide range. But Jo Malone has better range scent and the most important that with that price, the smell stays quite long.
I love Vanilla Anise, a musky vanilla scent, not so vanilla-ish actually but that's the way I like it since I don't think vanilla smell is better to put in the room than in people.
I also tried a few scent and really like a lot of them.


on 8/9/2013 1:27:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

fell in love with this perfume as soon as i tested it at the jo malone counter at holt renfrew (canada). unique and smells pleasant and clean. have received compliments from guys saying i smell nice. lasting power is quite decent!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 6/28/2013 4:44:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Lightly spiced vanilla with anise overtones. Very pretty, with a watery bergamot feeling first on. Quite sheer, though, for all its complicated build. Nice, but not a personality match for me

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 6/4/2013 9:29:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

I am sampling and might purchase. I want to see how it is over a few days.


on 4/4/2013 9:38:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

The first Jo Malone fragrance I have encountered that I would actually consider purchasing. Surprisingly non-sweet and fresh.


on 1/29/2013 10:49:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Red, Straight, Coarse

Eyes: Blue

I really want to like Jo Malone fragrances but I just can't. The combinations are unusual, and for the most part they just don't work with my body chemistry. Case in point: Vanilla Anise. Two of my favorite things, vanilla and licorice, in one fragrance. But when I spray it, all I get is straight-up Sambuca. No creamy warmth of sweet vanilla to temper the overpowering anise. And this particular scent is so strong it's cloying. I was disappointed.


Popular Fragrances


Coco Mademoiselle
1363 Reviews
Si
36 Reviews
Chloe (EDP)
341 Reviews
Gucci Guilty
127 Reviews
Light Blue
1411 Reviews


Top Rated Jo Malone Products

Back to Top